An Evaluative Framework For Voluntary Codes

Organization

Office of Consumer Affairs

Published

2000

Summary

The purpose of this document is to further this objective by providing firms, industry organizations, non-governmental organizations and governments with a framework to evaluate how well existing voluntary codes are working and how they could be improved. Through its questions and organization, the framework is also potentially useful to those who are developing or revising codes. The framework thus can be used in a number of ways:

•Code adherents can use the evaluation framework to assist in structuring the code and its development processes, and in integrating evaluation criteria and information collection into the terms of the code at an early stage.

The question can be asked: What are the elements that should be built into an effective code? How should a code be developed?

•Government, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), targeted beneficiaries (e.g., workers, the community), investors, competitors, academics, think tanks, and independent evaluators can use the framework to assist them in determining the effectiveness of a code in protecting the public interest (e.g., consumer protection, worker protection, environmental protection, promotion of respect of human rights, etc.), its impact and interaction with legislation, and its effects on the particular interests of code proponents and other affected parties.

This document is available in the following language(s):

Third-Party Information Liability Disclaimer

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

English and French

Contact information

Address
Office of Consumer Affairs
Industry Canada
C.D. Howe Building
235 Queen Street, 2nd Floor, West Tower
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0H5
Telephone
(613) 952-2534
Fax
(613) 952-6927

Source: Consumer Policy Research Database

Date Modified:

Un cadre d'évaluation pour les codes volontaires

Organisation

Bureau de la consommation

Publication

2000

Sommaire

Le présent document a pour objet d'atteindre cet objectif en offrant aux entreprises, aux organisations industrielles, aux organisations non gouvernementales et aux gouvernements un cadre pour évaluer à quel point les codes volontaires existants fonctionnent bien et comment ils peuvent être améliorés. À travers ses questions et sa structure, le cadre risque aussi de s'avéérer utile à ceux qui élaborent ou révisent des codes. Le cadre peut donc être utilisé de diverses
façons :

• Les adhérents au code peuvent utiliser le cadre d'évaluation pour les aider dans la structuration du code et ses processus d'élaboration, ainsi que dans l'intégration des critères d'évaluation et de la collecte d'information dans les modalités du code le plus tôt possible. Les questions à se demander seront, entre autres, les suivantes : Quels sont les éléments qui doivent être incorporés dans un code efficace? Comment un code devrait être élaboré?

• Le gouvernement, les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG), les bénéficiaires visés (p. ex., les travailleurs, la collectivité), les investisseurs, les concurrents, les universitaires, les groupes de réflexion et les évaluateurs indépendants peuvent utiliser le cadre pour les aider à déterminer l'efficacité d'un code sur le plan de la protection d'intérêt public (p. ex., protection des consommateurs, protection des travailleurs, protection environnementale, promotion du respect des droits de la personne, etc.), son impact et son interaction avec la législation et ses effets sur les intérêts particuliers des promoteurs du code et les autres parties concernées.

Ce document est disponible dans la (les) langue(s) suivante(s) :

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant l'information provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

anglais et français


Renseignements

Bureau de la consommation
Industrie Canada
Édifice C.D. Howe
235 rue Queen, 2e étage, Tour Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H5

Courriel

info.consommation@ic.gc.ca

Site Web

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/oca-bc.nsf/fra/accueil

Tél.

(613) 952-2534

Téléc.

(613) 952-6927

Source : Répertoire de la recherche sur les politiques en consommation