The new mortgage products: easy access to deeper indebtedness (in French only)

Author

Jean-François Vinet

Organization

Option consommateurs

Published

2009

Summary

Beginning in the 1990s, the changes brought to the mortgage insurance guarantee framework by the federal government made it possible for Canadians to gain access to new mortgage products. Prominent among these are loans requiring small down payments and loans with longer amortization periods. These new financial products have made it possible for younger Canadians with little accumulated savings and for lower-income Canadians to buy a home on credit, which would have been impossible until then. Another such product is the hybrid loan, which is a home equity loan combined with a line of credit.

Our study made it abundantly clear that buying property is a complex exercise requiring first-time buyers to assimilate a great deal of information in a short time. Also, the terminology used to define mortgage products is difficult to understand for novices in the world of banking.

A survey carried out by the firm Environics on behalf of Option consommateurs showed that consumers between the ages of 18 and 29 and households that earn less than $60,000 a year have more difficulty understanding these products than other groups in the population. Option consommateurs believes that groups such as these, which will have easier access to mortgages from now on, should get special educational support in financial matters.

Canadian consumers have found the credit made available by means of the new mortgage products extremely attractive. One of the consequences of this infatuation is that their level of indebtedness has risen dramatically. In 1990 the overall mortgage debt stood at $250 billion; by
2007, this sum had risen to nearly $800 billion.

As mortgage credit to Canadians homeowners increases, their level of indebtedness makes them ever more vulnerable to a rise in interest rates. In our view, this increased vulnerability raises questions about the public policy objectives that need to be adopted with regard to housing. In other words, does public policy have to continue to support access to ownership by increasing accessibility to mortgages? This is a question to which Option consommateurs has not yet found an answer.

This research project provided an opportunity to analyze three new mortgage products and to survey Canadians' knowledge of them.

This document is available in the following language(s):

Third-Party Information Liability Disclaimer

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

French only

OCA Funded Research
This research received funding support through the Office of Consumer Affairs' Contributions Program.


Contact information

Address
50 Sainte-Catherine street West, Suite 440
Montreal, Quebec
H2X 3V4
Telephone
(514) 598-7288
Fax
(514) 598-8511

Source: Consumer Policy Research Database

Date Modified:

Les nouveaux produits hypothécaires : entre accessibilité et endettement

Auteur

Jean-François Vinet

Organisation

Option consommateurs

Publication

2009

Sommaire

À partir des années 1990, les changements apportés au régime de garantie de l'assurance hypothécaire par le gouvernement fédéral ont permis aux Canadiens d'avoir accès à de nouveaux produits hypothécaires. On pense notamment aux prêts requérant une faible mise de fonds et aux prêts à amortissement prolongé. Ces nouveaux produits financiers ont permis à des Canadiens plus jeunes ayant accumulé peu d'épargne et à des Canadiens moins fortunés d'acheter une propriété à crédit, ce qui aurait été impossible auparavant. À cela s'ajoutent, entre autres, les prêts hybrides où une marge de crédit accompagne le prêt hypothécaire.

À la lumière de cette recherche, nous constatons que l'achat d'une propriété est un exercice complexe qui oblige les premiers acheteurs à assimiler, en peu de temps, une quantité importante d'information. D'ailleurs, pour les néophytes du monde bancaire, les expressions utilisées pour définir les caractéristiques des produits hypothécaires sont difficiles à comprendre.

De plus, un sondage effectué par la firme Environics pour le compte d'Option consommateurs indique que les consommateurs de 18 à 29 ans et les ménages qui gagnent un revenu de moins de 60 000 $ par an ont plus de mal que les autres groupes de la population à comprendre les caractéristiques de ces produits. En ce sens, Option consommateurs croit que l'on doit favoriser l'éducation en matière financière spécialement pour ces groupes qui ont, désormais, plus facilement accès au crédit hypothécaire.

Les consommateurs canadiens ont été friands du crédit disponible par le biais des nouveaux produits hypothécaires. L'une des conséquences de cet engouement est que leur niveau d’endettement est monté en flèche. Alors qu'ils avaient globalement emprunté 250 milliards de dollars en crédit hypothécaires en 1990, cette somme s'élevait à près de 800 milliards de dollars
en 2007.

Si, le crédit hypothécaire au nombre de Canadiens propriétaires d'augmenter, leur endettement les rend plus vulnérables à une augmentation des taux d'intérêt. Selon nous, cette vulnérabilité accrue soulève un questionnement concernant l'objectif vers lequel doit tendre les politiques publiques en matière d'habitation. Autrement dit, les politiques publiques doivent-elles continuer à favoriser l'accès à la propriété en augmentant l'accessibilité au crédit hypothécaire? Voilà une question à laquelle Option consommateurs n'a pas encore trouvé de réponse.

Ce projet de recherche a permis d'analyser trois nouveaux produits hypothécaires et de sonder les connaissances des Canadiens.

Ce document est disponible dans la (les) langue(s) suivante(s) :

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant l'information provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

français seulement

Recherche subventionnée par le BC
Cette recherche a reçu du soutien financier dans le cadre du Programme de contributions du Bureau de la consommation.


Renseignements

Adresse
50, rue Ste Catherine Ouest, buerau 440
Montréal (Québec)
H2X 3V4
Téléphone.
(514) 598-7288
Téléc.
(514) 598-8511

Source : Répertoire de la recherche sur les politiques en consommation

Date de modification :