How Young People View Credit: Predictable Debt Overload?

Author

Sophie Roussin

Organization

Union des consommateurs

Published

2012

Summary

Considering the increasing indebtedness of young people, the ubiquitous advertising of credit, their possible ignorance of how credit operates, etc., the present project examines, notably through discussion groups, young people’s perception of credit, the factors that have moulded that perception, and the latter’s consequences on credit use by young people.

The present report presents the results of that research among young people aged 15 to 21. For the purpose of analysis, Union des consommateurs formed groups of young people who do not usually use credit yet (aged 15 to 17) and groups of young people who use credit (aged 18 to 21). It should be mentioned that the purpose of this research is to identify certain trends in young people’s perception of credit. Given the limited sampling, the results of this study should be considered only as an overview of certain realities.

The first chapter of the present report draws a portrait of young people’s indebtedness and credit use. It discusses the general financial situation of young people, the types of credit they use, etc. Finally, it analyses available data on young people’s attitude toward and perception of credit. The second chapter presents the workings of the discussion groups: methodology used, minutes of the discussions, etc. The discussion groups attempted to discern young people’s perception of credit, the sources of that perception, the ability of young people to understand credit advertisements, etc. Based on data collected in a review of the literature and in the discussion groups, the third and final chapter considers the necessity of modifying young people’s perception of credit, and how and when it would be best to do so. The study’s conclusions are followed by recommendations intended to be useful in current and future discussions on the subject.

This document is available in the following language(s):

Third-Party Information Liability Disclaimer

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

English and French

OCA Funded Research
This research received funding support through the Office of Consumer Affairs' Contributions Program.


Contact information

Address
Union des consommateurs
7000 Parc Ave, Suite 201
Montreal, QC  H3N 1X1
Telephone
(514) 521-6820
Fax
(514) 521-0736

Source: Consumer Policy Research Database

Date Modified:

La perception du crédit par les jeunes : chronique d’'un surendettement annoncé?

Auteur

Sophie Roussin

Organisation

Union des consommateurs

Publication

2012

Sommaire

Considérant la hausse de l’endettement chez les jeunes, la publicité omniprésente sur le crédit, leur possible méconnaissance du fonctionnement du crédit, etc., le présent projet vise, par le biais notamment de groupes de discussion, à tenter de cerner la perception qu’ont les jeunes du crédit, des facteurs qui ont modelé cette perception et des conséquences que cette perception peut avoir sur l’utilisation du crédit chez les jeunes.

Le présent rapport présente les résultats de cette enquête auprès de jeunes de 15 à 21 ans. Aux fins d’analyse, Union des consommateurs a formé des groupes de jeunes qui n’utilisent normalement pas encore de crédit (de 15 à 17 ans) et des groupes de jeunes qui utilisent le crédit (18 à 21 ans). Il est important de mentionner que cette recherche a pour objectif d’identifier certaines tendances dans la perception du crédit chez les jeunes. Étant donné l’échantillonnage réduit, les résultats de cette recherche ne doivent être considérés que comme le survol d’une certaine réalité.

Le premier chapitre du présent rapport trace un portrait de l’endettement chez les jeunes et de leur utilisation du crédit. Il y sera question de la situation financière générale des jeunes, des types de crédit qu’ils utilisent, etc. Enfin, il y sera brièvement question des quelques données disponibles concernant l’attitude des jeunes envers le crédit et leur perception du crédit. Le deuxième chapitre présente, relativement aux groupes de discussion tenus, la méthodologie utilisée et les résultats obtenus. Les groupes de discussion ont visé à cerner la perception du crédit chez les jeunes, les sources de cette perception, la faculté des jeunes à comprendre des publicités sur le crédit, etc. Le troisième et dernier chapitre propose, au regard des données recueillies dans la revue de la littérature et dans les groupes de discussion, des pistes de réflexion sur la nécessité de modifier la perception qu’ont les jeunes du crédit ou d’agir sur cette perception, et les meilleurs moyens et moments pour ce faire. Les conclusions de la recherche sont suivies de recommandations qui pourront être utiles en vue d’alimenter les discussions en cours et à venir sur le sujet.

Ce document est disponible dans la (les) langue(s) suivante(s) :

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant l'information provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

anglais et français

Recherche subventionnée par le BC
Cette recherche a reçu du soutien financier dans le cadre du Programme de contributions du Bureau de la consommation.


Renseignements

Adresse
Union des consommateurs
7000, avenue du Parc, bureau 201
Montréal (Québec)  H3N 1X1
Téléphone.
(514) 521-6820
Téléc.
(514) 521-0736

Source : Répertoire de la recherche sur les politiques en consommation

Date de modification :