Reforming Canada's Financial Services Sector - A Framework for the Future

Organization

Department of Finance Canada

Published

1999

Summary

The legislation governing Canada's federally regulated financial institutions is subject to review every five years. At the time of the last review in 1996, Canada's financial services sector was undergoing rapid change. In recognition of this, the government announced that the Task Force on the Future of the Canadian Financial Services Sector would be established to provide advice on the future of the sector.

The Task Force's report was intended to serve as the basis for the next round of revisions to the legislation regulating the sector, scheduled for no later than 2002. Its mandate was to assess and evaluate public policies affecting the financial services sector and to make recommendations to enhance:

• the sector's contribution to job creation, economic growth and the new economy;
• competition, efficiency and innovation;
• the international competitiveness of the sector in light of the globalization of financial services, while at the same time maintaining strong, vibrant domestic financial institutions;
• the ability of the sector to take full advantage of technological advances as they occur and to meet the competitive challenges resulting from the introduction of new technologies; and
• the contribution of the sector to the best interests of Canadian consumers.

In September 1998, after nearly two years of study and consultation, the Task Force concluded that Canada is, for the most part, well positioned to meet and benefit from the changes occurring in the sector. Still, it identified a number of measures that could be implemented to help Canadians and their financial institutions better meet the challenges wrought by change. To that end, the Task Force offered 124 recommendations for enhancing competition and competitiveness, improving the regulatory framework, meeting Canadians' expectations and empowering consumers.

This document is available in the following language(s):

Third-Party Information Liability Disclaimer

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

English and French

Contact information

Address
Department of Finance Canada
19th floor, East Tower
140 O'Connor Street 
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0G5
Telephone
(613) 992-1573
Fax
(613) 943-0938

Source: Consumer Policy Research Database

Date Modified:

La réforme du secteur des services financiers canadien - Un cadre pour l'avenir

Organisation

Ministère des Finances Canada

Publication

1999

Sommaire

La législation régissant les institutions financières sous réglementation fédérale est revue tous les cinq ans. Lors du plus récent examen, en 1996, le secteur des services financiers canadien traversait une période de changement rapide. C'est pourquoi le gouvernement avait annoncé la mise sur pied du Groupe de travail sur l'avenir du secteur des services financiers canadien, chargé de fournir des conseils concernant l'avenir du secteur.

Le rapport du Groupe de travail devait servir de point de départ pour la prochaine ronde de modifications de la législation régissant les institutions financières, prévue pour 2002 au plus tard. Le Groupe de travail avait pour mandat d'examiner les politiques publiques s'appliquant au secteur des services financiers et de faire des recommandations pour renforcer :

• la contribution du secteur à la création d'emplois, à la croissance économique et à la nouvelle économie;
• la concurrence, l'efficience et l'innovation dans ce secteur;
• la compétitivité internationale du secteur, compte tenu de la mondialisation des services financiers, tout en maintenant des institutions financièères canadiennes solides et dynamiques;
• la capacité du secteur de tirer pleinement profit des progrès technologiques et de relever les défis qu'entraîne, sur le plan de la concurrence, l'instauration de nouvelles technologies;
• la contribution du secteur au mieux-être des consommateurs canadiens.

En septembre 1998, après avoir mené des études et des consultations pendant près de deux ans, le Groupe de travail a conclu que, pour l'essentiel, le Canada est bien placé pour tirer profit des changements que connaît le secteur. Néanmoins, il a déterminé un certain nombre de mesures qui permettraient d'aider les Canadiens et les Canadiennes ainsi que leurs institutions financières à mieux relever les défis qu'entraîne le changement. C'est pourquoi le Groupe de travail a formulé 124 recommandations visant à renforcer la concurrence et la compétitivité, à améliorer le cadre de réglementation, à répondre aux attentes des Canadiens et àà accroître le pouvoir des consommateurs.

Ce document est disponible dans la (les) langue(s) suivante(s) :

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant l'information provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

anglais et français

Renseignements

Adresse
Direction des consultations et des communications Ministère des Finances
19e étage, tour Est
140, rue O'Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G5
Téléphone.
(613) 992-1573
Téléc.
(613) 943-0938

Source : Répertoire de la recherche sur les politiques en consommation

Date de modification :