Paradise at the end of your days: A review of the retirement planning tools offered by financial institutions

Author

Alexandre Plourde

Organization

Option consommateurs

Published

2015

Summary

Despite the importance of preparing for retirement, Canadians do not have all the knowledge they need to understand such a complex subject. To obtain information, they mostly turn to financial institutions, which provide them with tools such as brochures, websites or online videos.

Option consommateurs’ (OC) analysis of a sample of these retirement planning tools, conducted with the aid of experts, brought us to the conclusion that they are most often written in general terms designed to lead consumers to begin thinking about the topic. They all suggest that the consumer should make an appointment with a representative of their financial institution, yet give little information on how to identify a competent professional.

In semi-structured interviews, Canadian consumers said that although the tools provided by financial institutions give them the opportunity to begin tackling a complex subject, they need personalized advice to help them reach a financial decision. Despite a certain wariness, several said they trusted the information given out by the financial institutions, some even declaring that they had followed their recommendations, or at least intended to do so.

Finally, the tools OC analyzed raise the issue of a conflict of interest between the purported educational role of these tools and their role in the institution’s sales strategy.

This document is available in the following language(s):

Third-Party Information Liability Disclaimer

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

English and French

OCA Funded Research
This research received funding support through the Office of Consumer Affairs' Contributions Program.


Contact information

Address
50 Sainte-Catherine street West, Suite 440
Montreal, Quebec
H2X 3V4
Telephone
(514) 598-7288
Fax
(514) 598-8511

Source: Consumer Policy Research Database

Date Modified:

Le paradis à la fin de vos jours : Coup d’oeil sur les outils de planification de la retraite offerts par les institutions financières

Auteur

Alexandre Plourde

Organisation

Option consommateurs

Publication

2015

Sommaire

Malgré l’importance de préparer sa retraite, les Canadiens n’ont pas toutes les connaissances requises pour comprendre ce sujet complexe. Pour en savoir davantage, ils se tournent majoritairement vers les institutions financières, qui donnent de l’information avec des outils tels que des brochures, des sites Internet ou des vidéos en ligne.

L’analyse, avec l’aide d’experts, d’un échantillon de ces outils de planification de la retraite montre qu’ils sont rédigés en termes généraux et visent souvent à amener le consommateur à amorcer une réflexion sur le sujet. Systématiquement, on l’invite à rencontrer un représentant de l’institution financière. Cependant, on lui donne peu d’information sur la façon d’identifier un professionnel compétent.

Lors d’entrevues semi-dirigées, les consommateurs canadiens ont dit que les outils des institutions financières leur procurent l’occasion d’aborder un sujet complexe, mais qu’il leur faut des conseils personnalisés avant de prendre des décisions financières. Malgré une certaine méfiance, plusieurs ont dit prêter foi à l’information véhiculée par les institutions financières; certains ont même dit avoir déjà suivi leurs recommandations, ou du moins souhaiter les suivre.

Finalement, les outils analysés par Option consommateurs soulèvent la question du conflit d’intérêt entre le rôle d’éducation et de vente de produits de l’institution financière.

Ce document est disponible dans la (les) langue(s) suivante(s) :

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant l'information provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

anglais et français

Recherche subventionnée par le BC
Cette recherche a reçu du soutien financier dans le cadre du Programme de contributions du Bureau de la consommation.


Renseignements

Adresse
50, rue Ste Catherine Ouest, buerau 440
Montréal (Québec)
H2X 3V4
Téléphone.
(514) 598-7288
Téléc.
(514) 598-8511

Source : Répertoire de la recherche sur les politiques en consommation

Date de modification :