Discounts at What Cost? Communication Services and Promotional Pricing: A Closer Look

Author

Anaïs Beaulieu-Laporte

Organization

Union des consommateurs

Published

2018

Summary

Canadian consumers are paying an increasingly large percentage of their income in fees to communication services. Unfortunately, the fees paid by consumers do not always reflect the fees consumers agreed to upon signing their contracts. Some communication services engage in deceptive practices that hinder a consumer’s ability to learn accurate information about the services they are purchasing. In this study, Union des consommateurs first explored the experiences of Canadian consumers by reviewing complaints obtained from various consumer agencies. Next, Union des consommateurs examined the regulatory framework governing the disclosure of information in the communications service industry. Finally, they evaluated the clarity, exhaustiveness, and accuracy of online offers from service providers.
According to the findings of this study, communications service providers regularly use price or discount disclosure methods that contain subtle nuances that consumers may not grasp. When searching for information online it was discovered that important facts were scattered across multiple tabs, or hidden at the bottom of the page, thus limiting the consumer’s ability to obtain the true prices needed to make informed purchasing decisions. While at first glance the current legal framework appeared to be quite robust, there is a great deal of uncertainty about how this framework should be applied. To ameliorate this situation, Union des consommateurs has identified a couple recommendations. Firstly, government should penalize industries who fail to disclose accurate pricing information by improving the clarity of existing regulations. The lack of standardization in the current legal framework could be corrected by providing authorities with interpretation guidelines that provide clarity on key issues, such as what constitutes non-misleading information or adequate disclosure. It is also recommended that communication service providers always ensure that they are providing customers with accurate information on the prices they offer.

This document is available in the following language(s):

Third-Party Information Liability Disclaimer

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

English and French

OCA Funded Research
This research received funding support through the Office of Consumer Affairs' Contributions Program.


Contact information

Address
Union des consommateurs
7000 Parc Ave, Suite 201
Montreal, QC  H3N 1X1
Telephone
(514) 521-6820
Fax
(514) 521-0736

Source: Consumer Policy Research Database

Date Modified:

Des rabais à quel prix ? Services de communication et prix promotionnels : l’heure des bilans

Auteur

Anaïs Beaulieu-Laporte

Organisation

Union des consommateurs

Publication

2018

Sommaire

Les consommateurs canadiens versent un pourcentage de plus en plus important de leur revenu en frais de services de communication. Malheureusement, les frais payés par les consommateurs ne reflètent pas toujours les frais acceptés par les consommateurs lors de la signature de leurs contrats. Certains services de communication adoptent des pratiques trompeuses qui empêchent le consommateur d’obtenir des informations précises sur les services qu’il achète. Dans cette étude, Union des consommateurs a d'abord exploré les expériences des consommateurs canadiens en examinant les plaintes déposées par diverses agences de défense des consommateurs. Ensuite, Union des consommateurs examine le cadre réglementaire régissant la divulgation d'informations dans le secteur des services de communication. Enfin, ils ont évalué la clarté, l’exhaustivité et la précision des offres en ligne des fournisseurs de services.
Selon les conclusions de cette étude, les fournisseurs de services de communication utilisent régulièrement des méthodes de divulgation des prix ou des remises contenant des nuances subtiles que les consommateurs ne peuvent pas comprendre. Lors de la recherche d’informations en ligne, il a été découvert que des faits importants étaient disséminés dans plusieurs onglets ou cachés au bas de la page, limitant ainsi la capacité du consommateur à obtenir les prix réels nécessaires pour prendre des décisions d’achat éclairées. Bien que, à première vue, le cadre juridique actuel semblait assez robuste, son application reste très incertaine. Premièrement, le gouvernement devrait pénaliser les industries qui omettent de divulguer des informations précises sur les prix en améliorant la clarté de la réglementation existante. L'absence de normalisation dans le cadre juridique actuel pourrait être corrigée en fournissant aux autorités des lignes directrices en matière d'interprétation qui éclairciraient des questions clés, telles que la définition d'informations non trompeuses ou d'une divulgation adéquate. Il est également recommandé aux fournisseurs de services de communication de toujours s’assurer qu’ils fournissent aux clients des informations précises sur les prix qu’ils offrent.

Ce document est disponible dans la (les) langue(s) suivante(s) :

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant l'information provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

anglais et français

Recherche subventionnée par le BC
Cette recherche a reçu du soutien financier dans le cadre du Programme de contributions du Bureau de la consommation.


Renseignements

Adresse
Union des consommateurs
7000, avenue du Parc, bureau 201
Montréal (Québec)  H3N 1X1
Téléphone.
(514) 521-6820
Téléc.
(514) 521-0736

Source : Répertoire de la recherche sur les politiques en consommation

Date de modification :