Do Tradition and Innovation Mix? The benefits and risks of peer-to-peer insurance for consumers

Author

Annik Bélanger-Krams

Organization

Option consommateurs

Published

2018

Summary

In recent years, digital peer-to-peer (P2P) insurance platforms have become prominent in Canada. There are primarily three categories of P2P platforms: those that act like brokers, those that act like insurance companies, and those that follow a self-governance model. The self-governance model is made up entirely of consumers. It is they who make all the decisions and assume all the risks. P2P platforms offer consumers a wide array of advantages, including faster service, greater savings, and more autonomy. However, they also leave consumers vulnerable to several risks, including misunderstanding about the product being offered, hasty decision making, and even fraud. These risks can be greatly intensified if the P2P platform is not registered with the regulator and subject to the requisite oversight. Consumers may find themselves without recourse options in cases where a majority of the group opposes compensation.

The regulation of the insurance industry has three primary objectives: to guarantee the stability of the financial system, to oversee certified representatives, and to ensure that consumers are protected by providing them with opportunities for remediation. This study conducted by Option consommateurs (OC) reveals that P2P platforms do perform services reserved for insurance companies, but are not always registered as such. Option consommateurs recommends that regulators take a more proactive role in ensuring that no P2P platform operates without the necessary permits, that all P2P platforms respect the regulations, and finally, that consumers exercise a high degree of caution when using these services.

This document is available in the following language(s):

Third-Party Information Liability Disclaimer

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

English and French

OCA Funded Research
This research received funding support through the Office of Consumer Affairs' Contributions Program.


Contact information

Address
50 Sainte-Catherine street West, Suite 440
Montreal, Quebec
H2X 3V4
Telephone
(514) 598-7288
Fax
(514) 598-8511

Source: Consumer Policy Research Database

Date Modified:

Tradition et innovation font-elles bon ménage ? Les avantages et les risques de l'assurance pair à pair pour les consommateurs

Auteur

Annik Bélanger-Krams

Organisation

Option consommateurs

Publication

2018

Sommaire

Au cours des dernières années, les plateformes d'assurance numérique poste à poste (P2P) sont devenues importantes au Canada. Il existe principalement trois catégories de plates-formes P2P : celles qui agissent comme des courtiers, celles qui agissent comme des compagnies d’assurance et celles qui suivent un modèle d’auto-gouvernance. Le modèle d’auto-gouvernance est entièrement constitué de consommateurs. Ce sont eux qui prennent toutes les décisions et assument tous les risques. Les plates-formes P2P offrent aux consommateurs un large éventail d'avantages, notamment un service plus rapide, des économies plus importantes et une plus grande autonomie. Cependant, elles laissent également les consommateurs vulnérables face à plusieurs risques, notamment une incompréhension quant au produit proposé, une prise de décision hâtive et même une fraude. Ces risques peuvent être considérablement intensifiés si la plate-forme P2P n'est pas enregistrée auprès de l'autorité de réglementation ni soumise à la surveillance requise. Les consommateurs peuvent alors se retrouver sans recours possible dans les cas où une majorité du groupe s'oppose à une indemnisation.

La réglementation du secteur des assurances a trois objectifs principaux : garantir la stabilité du système financier, superviser les représentants agréés et garantir la protection des consommateurs en leur offrant des possibilités de réparation. Cette étude réalisée par Option consommateurs (OC) révèle que les plates-formes P2P offrent des services réservés aux compagnies d’assurance, mais ne sont pas toujours enregistrées en tant que telles. Option consommateurs recommande que les régulateurs jouent un rôle plus proactif en s'assurant qu'aucune plate-forme P2P ne fonctionne sans les autorisations nécessaires, que toutes les plates-formes P2P respectent la réglementation et enfin, que les consommateurs fassent preuve d'une grande prudence lorsqu'ils utilisent ces services.

Ce document est disponible dans la (les) langue(s) suivante(s) :

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant l'information provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

anglais et français

Recherche subventionnée par le BC
Cette recherche a reçu du soutien financier dans le cadre du Programme de contributions du Bureau de la consommation.


Renseignements

Adresse
50, rue Ste Catherine Ouest, buerau 440
Montréal (Québec)
H2X 3V4
Téléphone.
(514) 598-7288
Téléc.
(514) 598-8511

Source : Répertoire de la recherche sur les politiques en consommation

Date de modification :