Investment Funds in Canada and Consumer Protection

Author

Glorianne Stromberg

Organization

Office of Consumer Affairs

Published

1998

Summary

The rapid expansion in the consumer investment market has outpaced the regulatory and supervisory system, and no one regulatory group or sector of the financial services industry, acting alone, has the mandate or authority to implement comprehensive solutions.

Given the importance and complexity of this industry, the evident lack of knowledge and expertise on the part of consumers, and the growing tendency to sell investment funds in the same manner as any other consumer goods, together with Canada’s lack of common regulatory standards respecting investment funds and money management services generally, it is appropriate to consider what improvements would enhance investor protection and better meet the needs of consumer/investors.

This report identifies core problems that affect consumer protection. These problems are not unique to any type of institution within the sector, nor are they unique to any particular region of the country. They cross all boundaries. Canadian governments and industry should act together to deal with them.

Improving consumer protection requires action in several areas:

• better disclosure related to fees and other essential information;
• concerted efforts to improve the knowledge and awareness of consumer/investors;
• agreements among governments and key industry stakeholders leading to an integrated regulatory regime including appropriate self-regulation; and
• the modernization, simplification, coordination and harmonization of provincial and federal laws.

These approaches must be based on the assumption of leadership by those at the highest levels of industry and government, both federal and provincial.

This document is available in the following language(s):

Third-Party Information Liability Disclaimer

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

English only

Contact information

Address
Office of Consumer Affairs
Industry Canada
C.D. Howe Building
235 Queen Street, 2nd Floor, West Tower
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0H5
Telephone
(613) 952-2534
Fax
(613) 952-6927

Source: Consumer Policy Research Database

Date Modified:

Les fonds d'investissement et la protection du consommateur au Canada

Auteur

Glorianne Stromberg

Organisation

Bureau de la consommation

Publication

1998

Sommaire

L’expansion rapide du marché des produits de placement destinés aux consommateurs a devancé le système de réglementation et de supervision, de sorte qu’aucun groupe ou organisme de réglementation de l’industrie des services financiers, agissant seul, n’a le mandat ni le pouvoir de mettre en oeuvre des solutions globales.

Devant la taille et la complexité de cette industrie, le manque évident de connaissances et d’expérience des consommateurs, la tendance croissante à vendre des fonds d’investissement comme on vend tout autre bien de consommation et l’absence de normes communes pour encadrer ces produits et les services de gestion de l’argent au Canada, il est opportun de se demander quelles initiatives permettraient d’améliorer la protection des investisseurs et de mieux répondre aux besoins des consommateurs dans ce domaine.

L’étude décrit les principaux problèmes liés à la protection du consommateur. Ces problèmes ne sont pas exclusifs à une groupe d’institutions au sein du secteur, ni à une région du pays en particulier. Ils chevauchent toutes les frontières. L’industrie et les gouvernements au Canada devraient agir ensemble pour tenter de les solutionner.

L’amélioration de la protection du consommateur nécessite une initiative dans plusieurs domaines :

• une meilleure divulgation des frais et des autres renseignements essentiels;
• des efforts concertés en vue d’améliorer les connaissances et la sensibilisation des consommateurs-investisseurs;
• des accords entre les gouvernements et les principaux intervenants de l’industrie en vue de mettre en place un régime de réglementation intégré comportant une fonction d’autoréglementation appropriée;
• la modernisation, la simplification, la coordination et l’harmonisation des lois provinciales et fédérales.

Ces stratégies requièrent un leadership aux plus hauts niveaux de l’industrie, du gouvernement fédéral et des provinces.

Ce document est disponible dans la (les) langue(s) suivante(s) :

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant l'information provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

anglais seulement

Renseignements

Adresse
Bureau de la consommation
Industrie Canada
Édifice C.D. Howe
235 rue Queen, 2e étage, Tour Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H5
Téléphone.
(613) 952-2534
Téléc.
(613) 952-6927

Source : Répertoire de la recherche sur les politiques en consommation

Date de modification :