Start, build, and grow a social enterprise: Start your social enterprise

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

On this page

What is a social enterprise?

A social enterprise is a revenue-generating organization whose objective is to have a social impact. Definitions of "social enterprise" vary, but there is no unified definition in Canada. For our purposes, social enterprises fall into a wide spectrum of business models.

A social enterprise does not have a specific corporate form. Social enterprises include "non-profit organizations" or "registered charities" who operate revenue generating related businesses, and include organizations that operate as "for-profit" businesses with a social goal.

You can operate a social enterprise in the corporate form that suits you best, whether it is more socially or commercially focused. In the graph below, social enterprises fall anywhere between a "charity operating a related business" and a "business corporation with social purpose."

Do you have what it takes?

A social enterprise is a business. Before choosing what corporate form suits you best, there are a number of personal, business and financial factors to consider — having a good idea is not enough.

The Business Development Bank of Canada, the Futurpreneur platform (targeting socially minded business owners aged 18 to 39), and the Government of Canada offer guidelines to help entrepreneurs accomplish their goals of starting a business. For instance, it is important to know your client base, and if there is a need for the product or service you would be offering.

These guidelines apply equally to social entrepreneurs and can help with:

A social enterprise that reflects your project Footnote 1

Social enterprises are not restricted to a corporate form. Therefore, like any business, you need to choose a corporate form that best reflects your project.

You can either establish an unincorporated entity or an incorporated entity. Unincorporated businesses are sole proprietorships and partnerships. Incorporated businesses are business corporations, not-for-profit corporations, and co-operative corporations.

Once you have chosen a corporate form, you could consider operating as a non-profit organization or applying to become a registered charity as defined under the Income Tax Act.

It is important to consult legal and tax professionals to make the best decision possible. For more information on the taxation of the various corporate structures discussed, please see Staying on top of your tax obligation.

Is incorporating right for you?

Your decision to incorporate or not will influence your social enterprise's ownership structure and governance structure, but also your ability to attract investments and scale your business. You can incorporate as a business corporation, a not-for-profit corporation, or as a co-operative. Please refer to Annex 1 for a comparison chart of federally incorporated entities.

At a basic level, incorporating creates a legal entity distinct from its owners/members which protects its owners/members from personal liability, and allows directors elected by shareholders/members to run the business.

In contrast, unincorporated entities like sole proprietorships and partnerships are not distinct from their owners, which means that the owners of sole proprietorships and partnerships are directly liable for the debts and obligations of their business.

While unincorporated entities are administratively less burdensome to operate, incorporated entities have many advantages. For instance, corporations are often better suited to attract investments, receive government funding, and scale their business.

Note that incorporating at the federal or provincial/territorial level has different implications. For instance, federally incorporated companies can use their business names across Canada and can do business in all provinces/territories — although you may need to register your business name in certain provinces.

What ownership structure best reflects your project?

As an unincorporated entity, you alone, or with your partners, own your social enterprise. This provides you with the ability to shape your social enterprise without many formalities.

As an incorporated entity, ownership is either shared between shareholders or collectively shared amongst members:

Members and shareholders are the backbones of your social enterprise.  Members and shareholders are your sources of financing, can be the community you are trying to help (especially in the case of cooperatives), and hold the organization accountable by electing and removing directors, requesting corporate records and passing resolutions.

Therefore, it is important to think about the type of ownership structure you want, whether it is shareholders who may be seeking returns on their investments or members who have no economic stake in your project.

Who will run your social enterprise?

As the owner of an unincorporated social enterprise, you alone, or with your partners, call the shots.

If your social enterprise is an incorporated entity, directors are the elected representative of your corporation. Federal not-for-profits and business corporations are required to have at least one director, and federal co-operatives are required to have at least three directors.

If you are a federal co-operative or for-profit corporation, at least 25% of the directors are required to be "resident Canadian"; there are no such restrictions for federal not-for-profit corporations.

If you are a federal not-for-profit or business corporation, directors are not required to be members or shareholders. In contrast, at least two-thirds of the directors of a federal co-operative, or a higher proportion set in the articles, must be members or shareholders.

What is the primary goal of your social enterprise?

All social enterprises have a social goal, but some are more social ventures and others are more commercial ventures.

Socially focused social enterprise

For social enterprises with a more focused social objective, incorporating as a co-operative or a not-for-profit are good options.

As a not-for-profit, members do not have a financial stake in the corporation and do not receive dividends. After incorporating, some not-for-profits seek "non-profit" status or apply to be "registered charities" under the Income Tax Act to benefit from income tax and/or property tax exemptions.

As a co-operative, there are legislative limits to the amount of dividends members can receive, and you can put additional conditions on the distribution of dividends in your by-laws.

Commercially focused social enterprise

For social enterprises with a more commercial objective, incorporating as a business corporation, a co-operative, or using a provincial social enterprise model are good options. As a commercial enterprise, you need to have flexibility in exploring various commercial and financing opportunities.

Business corporations and co-operatives are typically the ideal vehicles. Not-for-profit and unincorporated social enterprises are also "for-profit" structures, however, they cannot seek equity financing and may experience other barriers once the venture grows.

It is important to remember that regardless of its corporate form, your social enterprise needs to be profitable or its survival will be short.  Revenues are essential to cover operational costs, pay employees and commit to a social cause.

Will you need outside financing?

Depending on the scope of your operations, you may or may not need access to outside capital.

If your social enterprise's goal is limited in scope, not too costly to operate, and you have the means, you could rely on your own capital or small institutional loans to finance your social enterprise. In this case, you may choose to use an unincorporated entity or you may incorporate as a federal not-for-profit to operate your social enterprise. Your need for financing may evolve as your social enterprise grows.

If your social enterprise's goal is more ambitious in scope and access to private and institutional investors is crucial for your social enterprise to achieve sustainability and growth, incorporating as a business corporation or as a cooperative may be more beneficial. In addition to the traditional financing means available, a business corporation can raise capital by issuing shares, and a co-operative can rely on members' shared capital and even issue non-voting investment shares to grow their business.

Do you want to operate as a tax-exempt entity?

If you plan on operating solely for social reasons, and revenues are a means for a greater goal, you may consider seeking a "non-profit organization" status or may apply to become a "registered charity" under the Income Tax Act.

Seeking these special statuses may alleviate some financial strain as you could be exempt from income tax and/or property tax. For more information on the criteria to be considered a "non-profit organization" or the process to become a registered charity, please see Registered charities and Non-profit organizations.

It is important to distinguish "not-for-profit corporations" from "non-profit organizations." A "not-for-profit corporation" or "society" is a corporate form that your business acquires upon incorporation — see Not-for-profit. In contrast, a "non-profit" is a legal status that any organization can acquire by fulfilling certain requirements under the Income Tax Act — see Non-profit organizations.

Because not-for-profit corporations and societies are entities without share capital, many of them operate as non-profit organizations or as registered charities.

The information provided is to assist you in understanding more about social enterprises. It is not intended to replace legal advice. Consider consulting a lawyer or another professional advisor to ensure that the specific needs of your corporation are met.

Date modified:

Démarrer, créer, et assurer la croissance d'une entreprise sociale : Lancer une entreprise sociale

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Sur cette page

Qu'est-ce qu'une entreprise sociale?

Une entreprise sociale est une organisation génératrice de revenus dont l'objectif est d'avoir des retombées sociales. Les définitions d'« entreprise sociale » varient, mais il n'y a pas de définition unifiée au Canada. Pour nos besoins, les entreprises sociales s'inscrivent dans un large éventail de modèles d'affaires.

Une entreprise sociale n'a pas de structure d'entreprise particulière. Les entreprises sociales comprennent les « organismes sans but lucratif » ou les « organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés » qui exploitent des entreprises qui génèrent des revenus, et comprennent les organismes « à but lucratif » ayant un objectif social.

En bref, vous pouvez exploiter une entreprise sociale avec la structure d'entreprise qui vous convient le mieux, qu'elle soit davantage à vocation sociale ou commerciale. Dans le graphique ci-dessous, les entreprises sociales se situent entre un « organisme de bienfaisance exploitant une entreprise sociale » et une « société par actions à vocation sociale. »

Êtes-vous prêt?

Une entreprise sociale est une entreprise comme les autres. Donc, avant de choisir une structure d'entreprise qui vous convient, il faut vous demander si vous avez les capacités personnelles, commerciales et financières pour exploiter une entreprise — il ne suffit pas d'avoir une bonne idée.

La Banque de développement du Canada, la plateforme Futurpreneur (qui s'adresse aux entrepreneurs socialement responsables âgés de 18 à 39 ans), et le gouvernement du Canada offrent des lignes directrices pour aider les entrepreneurs à atteindre leurs objectifs. Par exemple, il est important d'identifier votre clientèle et s'il existe un besoin pour le produit ou le service que vous voulez offrir.

Ces lignes directrices s'appliquent également aux entrepreneurs sociaux et peuvent aider à:

Une entreprise sociale qui reflète votre projet Note de bas de page 1

Les entreprises sociales ne se limitent pas à une seule structure d'entreprise. Par conséquent, comme pour toute entreprise, vous devez choisir la structure d'entreprise qui reflète le mieux votre projet.

Vous pouvez établir une entité non constituée en société ou une entité constituée en société. Les entreprises non constituées en société sont les entreprises individuelles et les sociétés en nom collectif. Les entreprises constituées en société sont les sociétés par actions, les organisations à but non lucratif et les coopératives.

Une fois que vous avez choisi une structure d'entreprise, vous pouvez ensuite choisir d'exploiter votre entreprise comme un organisme sans but lucratif ou faire une demande pour devenir un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré au sens de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Il est important de recevoir des conseils d'experts en droit des affaires et en fiscalité pour prendre la meilleure décision possible.  Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la fiscalité liée aux diverses formes corporatives, veuillez consulter la section Garder la maîtrise de vos obligations fiscales.

La constitution en société est-elle pour vous?

Votre décision de constituer votre entreprise sociale en société influera sur la structure de propriété et sur la gouvernance de votre entreprise sociale, mais aussi sur votre capacité à attirer des investissements et de mettre à l'échelle votre entreprise. Vous pouvez constituer une société par actions, une organisation à but non lucratif ou une coopérative. Veuillez consulter l'annexe 1 pour consulter un tableau comparatif des entités constituées en vertu des lois fédérales.

La constitution en société crée une entité juridique distincte de ses actionnaires ou membres, ce qui limite la responsabilité des actionnaires et des membres à la valeur de leurs actions ou de leur adhésion et permet aux administrateurs, élus par les actionnaires ou membres, de diriger l'entreprise.

En revanche, les entités non constituées en société, les entreprises individuelles et les sociétés en nom collectif, ne sont pas distinctes de leurs propriétaires, ce qui signifie que les propriétaires d'entreprises individuelles et de sociétés en nom collectif sont directement responsables des dettes et des obligations de leur entreprise.

Même si les entités non constituées en société sont plus faciles à exploiter, les entreprises constituées en société présentent de nombreux avantages. Par exemple, les sociétés sont souvent mieux placées pour attirer des investissements, recevoir des fonds du gouvernement et pour réaliser des mises à l'échelle.

Notez que la constitution en société au niveau fédéral, provincial ou territorial a des répercussions différentes. Par exemple, les entreprises constituées en vertu d'une loi fédérale peuvent utiliser leur nom commercial partout au Canada et faire des affaires dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires — notez qu'il est possible que vous devrez enregistrer votre nom commercial dans certaines provinces.

Quelle structure de propriété reflète le mieux votre projet?

En tant qu'entité non constituée en société, vous êtes, seul ou avec vos associés, propriétaire de votre entreprise sociale. Vous pouvez ainsi exploiter votre entreprise sociale sans beaucoup de formalités.

En tant qu'entité constituée en société, la propriété de l'entité même est soit partagée entre les actionnaires, soit partagée collectivement entre les membres :

Les membres et les actionnaires constituent l'épine dorsale de votre entreprise sociale. Les membres et les actionnaires sont votre source de financement, peuvent constituer la communauté que vous essayez d'aider (surtout dans le cas des coopératives), et tiennent l'organisation responsable en nommant les administrateurs, en demandant les comptes de la société et en adoptant des résolutions.

Par conséquent, il est important de réfléchir au type de structure de propriété que vous désirez, qu'il s'agisse d'actionnaires qui recherchent un retour sur leurs investissements ou de membres qui n'ont aucun intérêt économique dans votre projet.

Qui dirigera votre entreprise sociale?

En tant que propriétaire d'une entreprise sociale non constituée en société, vous êtes, seul ou avec vos partenaires, celui ou celle qui prend toutes les décisions.

Si votre entreprise sociale est une entité constituée en société, les administrateurs sont les représentants élus de votre société. Les organisations à but non lucratif et les sociétés par actions fédérales doivent avoir au moins un administrateur, et les coopératives fédérales doivent en avoir au moins trois.

Si vous êtes une coopérative ou une organisation à but lucratif de régime fédéral, au moins 25 % des administrateurs doivent être des « résidents canadiens »; il n'y a pas de telles restrictions pour les organisations à but non lucratif au niveau fédéral.

Si vous êtes une organisation à but non lucratif ou une société par actions de régime fédéral, les administrateurs ne sont pas tenus d'être membres ou actionnaires. En revanche, au moins deux tiers des administrateurs d'une coopérative de régime fédéral, ou une proportion plus élevée fixée dans les statuts constitutifs, doivent être membres ou actionnaires.

Quel est le but premier de votre entreprise sociale?

Toutes les entreprises sociales ont un objectif social, mais certaines ont davantage un penchant sociale, et d'autres, un penchant commerciale.

Entreprise sociale à vocation sociale

Pour les entreprises sociales qui ont un objectif principal social, la constitution en coopérative ou en organisation à but non lucratif sont de bonnes options. En tant qu'organisation à but non lucratif, les membres de l'entreprise sociale n'ont pas d'intérêt financier dans l'entreprise et ne reçoivent pas de bénéfice financier.

Après la constitution en société, certaines organisations à but non lucratif cherchent à obtenir le statut d'« organisme sans but lucratif » ou font la demande pour être des « organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés » en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu pour bénéficier d'exemptions d'impôt sur le revenu et/ou d'impôt foncier.

Dans le cas des coopératives, il y a des limites législatives au montant des ristournes que les membres des coopératives peuvent recevoir, et des conditions supplémentaires peuvent être imposées à la distribution des ristournes dans les règlements administratifs.

Entreprise sociale à vocation commerciale

Pour les entreprises sociales ayant un objectif plus commercial, la constitution en société par actions, en coopérative ou l'utilisation d'un modèle provincial d'entreprise sociale sont de bonnes options. En tant qu'entreprise commerciale, vous devez avoir la souplesse nécessaire pour exploiter diverses possibilités commerciales et financières.

Les sociétés par actions et les coopératives sont généralement les structures idéales. Les entreprises sociales qui sont des organisations à but non lucratif et non constituées en société sont également des structures « à but lucratif », mais elles ne peuvent pas obtenir de financement par actions et peuvent se heurter à d'autres obstacles lorsque l'entreprise essaie d'étendre ses activités.

Il est important de se rappeler que, quelle que soit sa forme, votre entreprise sociale doit être rentable ou elle ne survivra pas. Les revenus sont essentiels pour couvrir les coûts de fonctionnement, payer les employés et s'engager pleinement dans une cause sociale.

Aurez-vous besoin de financement externe?

Selon la portée de vos services ou de vos activités commerciales, vous aurez besoin, ou non, d'accéder à un financement externe.

Si la portée de votre entreprise sociale est limitée, qu'elle n'est pas trop coûteuse à exploiter et que vous en avez les moyens, vous pourriez compter sur votre propre capital et sur des petits prêts institutionnels pour la financer. Dans ce cas, vous pouvez opter pour une entité non constituée en société ou vous pouvez constituer une organisation à but non lucratif de régime fédéral pour exploiter votre entreprise sociale. Votre besoin de financement peut évoluer à mesure que votre entreprise sociale prend de l'ampleur.

Si votre entreprise sociale a une portée plus ambitieuse et que l'accès à des investisseurs privés et institutionnels est essentiel à la croissance de votre entreprise sociale, la constitution en société ou en coopérative pourrait être plus avantageuse. En plus des possibilités de financement traditionnels, une société par actions peut mobiliser des capitaux en émettant des actions et une coopérative peut compter sur le capital partagé de ses membres et émettre des « parts de placement » pour assurer leur croissance.

Voulez-vous avoir le statut d'une entité exonérée d'impôts?

Si la raison d'être de votre entreprise sociale est purement « sociale » et que les revenus sont un moyen d'atteindre votre fin sociale, vous pouvez envisager de répondre aux demandes d'un « organisme sans but lucratif » ou présenter une demande pour devenir un « organisme de bienfaisance enregistré » en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Obtenir ces statuts spéciaux peut atténuer certaines contraintes financières, car vous pourriez être exempté de l'impôt sur le revenu ou de l'impôt foncier. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les critères pour être considéré un « organisme sans but lucratif » ou sur le processus pour devenir un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré, veuillez consulter les sections Organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés et Organismes sans but lucratif.

Il est important de faire la distinction entre les « organisations à but non lucratif » et les « organismes sans but lucratif ». Une « organisation à but non lucratif » ou « société » est une structure d'entreprise que votre entreprise acquiert au moment de sa constitution en société — voir Organisation à but non lucratif. En revanche, un « organisme sans but lucratif » est un statut juridique que tout organisme peut acquérir en remplissant certaines exigences de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu — voir Organismes sans but lucratif.

Étant donné que les organisations à but non lucratif sont des entités sans capital-actions, bon nombre d'entre elles opèrent comme organismes sans but lucratif ou comme organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés.

L'information fournie vise à vous aider à mieux comprendre les entreprises sociales. Il n'est pas destiné à remplacer un avis juridique. Songez à consulter un avocat ou un autre conseiller professionnel pour vous assurer que les besoins particuliers de votre société sont satisfaits.

Date de modification :