Summary of the Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium Enterprises, 2014

November 2015

The 2014 Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium Enterprises (SFGSME) was designed to determine the types of financing used by small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), and to collect information on recent attempts by SMEs to obtain new financing. In addition, the survey gathers data on firm growth, government contracting, exporting, innovation and intellectual property as they relate to SMEs, as well as business owner characteristics. This latest questionnaire was adapted from the 2011 Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium Enterprises, as well as from past questionnaires for the Survey on Financing of Small and Medium Enterprises and the Credit Conditions Survey.

Summary of results

The key results from the 2014 Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium Enterprises are described below. More detailed descriptive statistics by business size, region, census metropolitan area, industry, export status, age of business, innovation activity, as well as owner age, education, and gender are provided in the data tables.

Introduced in the 2014 tables are statistics by growth characteristics, intellectual property holdings, government procurement activity, co-operative status and business owner place of birth. The 2014 questionnaire also provides new insight into obstacles faced by exporting SMEs, allowing for a deeper understanding of the challenges faced by firms selling abroad.

Similar statistics from previous surveys are available for the years 2000, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013.Footnote 1

Financing characteristics

In 2014, 51 percent of SMEs requested external financing. Twenty nine percent of all SMEs requested trade credit, 28 percent requested debt, 8 percent requested lease financing, 4 percent requested government financing and 1 percent requested equity financing.Footnote 2

Eighty-eight percent of SMEs that did not request financing did not require financing. Three percent of SMEs not requesting financing were unaware of available sources of financing, 2 percent considered applying to be too difficult, 2 percent believed their request would be turned down and 1 percent thought financing would be too costly.Footnote 3

Seventy-two percent of SMEs that received debt financing obtained it from chartered banks, the main suppliers of financing to SMEs in 2014. Twenty-five percent and 6 percent of SMEs received debt financing from credit unions and government, respectively.Footnote 4 Smaller businesses were more likely than larger businesses to obtain debt financing from credit unions (see Table 1).

Table 1: Suppliers of Debt Financing by Size of Business, 2014 Note * referrer of Table 1
Domestic Chartered Bank Credit Unions Government Institution
Note * of Table 1: Percentages are of SMEs that received debt financing.
All SMEs 71.6% 24.7% 6.2%
Size of Business 1–4 employees 69.0% 27.6% 5.8%
5–19 employees 70.1% 24.7% 7.2%
20–99 employees 78.3% 20.1% 5.2%
100–499 employees 89.5% 10.7% 4.1%

In 2014, 86 percent of the amount of debt financing requested by SMEs was authorized. Both request and approval rates for debt financing increase with business size, suggesting that the larger the business, the more likely it is to request and to obtain debt financing (see Table 2).

Table 2: Debt Request and Approval Rate by Size of Business, 2014 Note * referrer of Table 2
Request Rate Approval Rate Amount Authorized/ Requested
Note * of Table 2: A request that was fully or partially approved was considered "approved".
All SMEs 28.1% 82.1% 86.1%
Size of Business 1–4 employees 22.6% 80.5% 82.8%
5–19 employees 31.8% 81.4% 81.2%
20–99 employees 41.0% 86.1% 87.8%
100–499 employees 44.9% 96.1% 98.2%

On average, SMEs paid an interest rate of 5 percent for nonresidential mortgages, lines of credit and term loans, and 17 percent for credit card financing. Two-thirds of SME debt financing was secured by collateral, with business assets and personal assets being provided as collateral by 51 percent and 27 percent of SMEs respectively.Footnote 5

Owner characteristicsFootnote 6

In 2014, 59 percent of SME owners were 50 years of age or older, 26 percent were between 40 and 49 and 15 percent were younger than 40.

Seventy-five percent of SME owners had over 10 years of management or ownership experience.

Most SME owners were male: 65 percent of SMEs were majority male-owned, 16 percent were majority female-owned and 20 percent were owned equally by men and women.Footnote 7

Seventy-six percent of SME owners were born in Canada. Owners born outside Canada had resided in Canada, on average, for 29 years.

The majority of SME owners had received post-secondary education. Thirty-one percent had completed a college, CEGEP or trade school education, 24 percent a bachelor's degree and 14 percent a master's degree or above. For 23 percent of owners, high school was the highest level of education obtained, while 8 percent of owners had not completed high school.

Sales destinations

In 2014, 12 percent of SMEs exported to other countries. Eighty-nine percent of exporters sold to the United States, 31 percent to Europe, 17 percent to Latin America, 13 percent to China and 16 percent to Asian countries other than China. Ninety-three percent of non-exporting SMEs reported that they did not sell abroad because of the domestic nature of their businesses.

Most exporters did not face major obstacles to exporting. No more than 7 percent of exporting SMEs considered any single issue, including those related to administration, border, logistics, market knowledge and intellectual property, to be a major obstacle to selling abroad.

Many SMEs sold beyond their local markets, with 50 percent selling outside of their municipality/region and 21 percent selling to other provinces or territories.

Larger SMEs were more likely to sell beyond their local markets and export, while businesses with fewer than 100 employees were more likely to sell in their local markets (see Table 3).

Table 3: Sales Destinations by Size of Business, 2014
Within local municipality or region Outside of local municipality or region but within province/ territory Rest of Canada Outside Canada (export sales)
Propensity (Percentage of Businesses)
All SMEs 94.2 50.2 21.0 11.8
Size of Business 1–4 employees 93.6 46.4 16.7 9.1
5–19 employees 96.1 52.8 23.0 12.4
20–99 employees 92.9 58.9 33.0 20.7
100–499 employees 86.6 62.9 43.1 28.0

Growth characteristics

Seventy percent of SMEs reported increased average yearly growth in sales over the 2012-2014 period. During that period, fifty percent experienced average sales growth of between 1 and 10 percent per year. Sales of 11 percent of SMEs grew, on average, between 11 and 20 percent. Nine percent of SMEs were considered high-growth firms, with average annual sales growth of more than 20 percent. The sales of 19 percent of SMEs did not grow, while sales declined for 12 percent of firms.

The most common major obstacles to growth in 2014 were increasing competition and fluctuations in consumer demand (each cited by 19 percent of SMEs), recruiting and retaining skilled employees and rising costs of inputs (each cited by 17 percent of SMEs), and government regulations (15 percent). Only 9 percent of SMEs found obtaining financing to be a major obstacle.

Innovation activity and intellectual property

Forty-two percent of SMEs introduced at least one type of innovation over the 2012-2014 period. Twenty-six percent introduced a product innovation, 20 percent a marketing innovation, 19 percent an organizational innovation and 18 percent a process innovation.

Twenty-one percent of SMEs held intellectual property. Twelve percent were party to non-disclosure agreements,Footnote 8 the most commonly held intellectual property. Ten percent of SMEs held trademarks, five percent trade secrets, 2 percent patents and 1 percent industrial designs.

Larger SMEs were more likely than smaller SMEs to innovate and to hold intellectual property (see Table 4).

Table 4: Innovation and Intellectual Property Holdings by Size of Business, 2014
Introduced at least one type of innovation Held at least one type of intellectual property
All SMEs 41.6% 21.4%
Size of Business 1–4 employees 34.4% 16.6%
5–19 employees 49.6% 23.8%
20–99 employees 52.8% 35.4%
100–499 employees 58.3% 51.1%

Methodology

The target population for the survey was private sector, for-profit, SMEs employing between 1 and 499 people and generating over $30,000 in annual revenues in 2014. The target population was stratified by geography, employment and industry, with random samples selected from these strata. The survey was conducted by Statistics Canada from February to May 2015. The sample size was 19,998 businesses with a response rate of 61%.

Notes

For more information, or to enquire about the concepts, methods or data quality of the survey results, contact Statistics Canada (toll-fee 1-800-263-1136; STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca).

For additional information on related research topics and data sets, consult the SME Research and Statistics website or contact Richard Archambault (343-291-1798) or Lyming Huang (343-291-1792) at the Small Business Branch.

Acknowledgements

The Small Business Branch would like to thank its many partners for their contributions. In particular, we are grateful to the Centre for Special Business Projects Team at Statistics Canada for their role in developing and conducting the survey, and for survey funding from our Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada partners: Canada Small Business Financing Program, Canadian Intellectual Property Office, Cooperatives Policy Unit, Information and Communications Technologies Branch, Internal Trade Directorate and Tourism Branch; as well as from our external partners Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, Business Development Bank of Canada, Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development, Export Development Canada, Federal Economic Agency for Southern Ontario, Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario, Ontario Ministry of Economic Development, Employment and Infrastructure, Public Works and Governmental Services Canada, Quebec Institute of Statistics.

Date modified:

Résumé de l'Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises, 2014

Novembre 2015

L'Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises de 2014 (EFCPME) vise à déterminer les types de financement qu'utilisent les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) et à recueillir des données concernant les tentatives récentes des PME pour obtenir du nouveau financement. En outre, l'enquête permet de recueillir des données touchant la croissance des entreprises, la passation de contrats au gouvernement, l'exportation, l'innovation et la propriété intellectuelle en ce qui concerne les PME, de même que les caractéristiques des propriétaires d'entreprises. Le plus récent questionnaire a été adapté à partir de l'Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises de 2011, ainsi que des questionnaires antérieurs de l'Enquête sur le financement des petites et moyennes entreprises et de l'Enquête sur les conditions de crédit.

Sommaire des résultats

Les principaux résultats de l'Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises de 2014 sont décrits ci dessous. Des statistiques descriptives plus détaillées selon la taille de l'entreprise, la région, la région métropolitaine de recensement, l'industrie, le statut en matière d'exportation, l'âge de l'entreprise, les activités d'innovation ainsi que l'âge, le sexe et le niveau d'instruction du propriétaire sont fournies dans les tableaux de données.

Les tableaux de 2014 comportent de nouvelles statistiques selon les caractéristiques de croissance, les actifs de propriété intellectuelle, les activités en matière d'approvisionnement au gouvernement, le statut de coopérative et le lieu de naissance du propriétaire de l'entreprise. En outre, le questionnaire de 2014 fournit un nouvel éclairage au sujet des obstacles qui se posent aux PME exportatrices, ce qui offre une meilleure compréhension des difficultés auxquelles font face les entreprises qui vendent à l'étranger.

Des statistiques semblables découlant d'enquêtes antérieures sont disponibles pour les années 2000, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 et 2013Note de bas de page 1.

Caractéristiques du financement

En 2014, 51 % des PME ont demandé du financement externe. Vingt-neuf pour cent d'entre elles ont demandé du crédit commercial, 28 % ont demandé du financement par emprunt, 8 % du financement par location-acquisition, 4 % du financement gouvernemental et 1 % du financement par capitaux propresNote de bas de page 2.

Quatre-vingt-huit pour cent des PME qui n'ont pas demandé de financement n'en avaient pas besoin. Trois pour cent des PME qui n'ont pas demandé de financement n'étaient pas au courant des sources de financement disponibles, 2 % estimaient qu'il était trop difficile de présenter une demande, 2 % croyaient que leur demande serait refusée et 1 % croyaient que le financement serait trop coûteuxNote de bas de page 3.

Soixante-douze pour cent des PME qui ont reçu du financement par emprunt l'ont obtenu de banques à charte, qui représentaient les principaux bailleurs de fonds des PME en 2014. Vingt-cinq pour cent et 6 % des PME ont reçu du financement par emprunt de coopératives de crédit et du gouvernement, respectivementNote de bas de page 4. Les petites entreprises étaient plus susceptibles d'obtenir du financement par emprunt de coopératives de crédit que les grandes entreprises (voir le tableau 1).

Tableau 1 : Sources de financement par emprunt selon la taille de l'entreprise, 2014 Référence de la note * du tableau 1
Banques à charte nationales Coopératives de crédit Institutions gouvernementales
Note * du tableau 1 : Pourcentage des PME qui ont reçu du financement par emprunt.
Toutes les PME 71,6 % 24,7 % 6,2 %
Taille de l'entreprise 1-4 employés 69,0 % 27,6 % 5,8 %
5-19 employés 70,1 % 24,7 % 7,2 %
20-99 employés 78,3 % 20,1 % 5,2 %
100-499 employés 89,5 % 10,7 % 4,1 %

En 2014, 86 % des montants de financement par emprunt demandés par les PME ont été autorisés. Les taux de demande et d'approbation de financement par emprunt augmentent avec la taille de l'entreprise, ce qui donne à croire que plus une entreprise est grande, plus elle est susceptible de demander et d'obtenir du financement par emprunt (voir le tableau 2).

Tableau 2 : Taux de demande et d'approbation de financement par emprunt selon la taille de l'entreprise, 2014 Référence de la note * du tableau 2
Taux de demande Taux d'approbation Ratio entre le montant autorisé et le montant demandé
Note * du tableau 2 : Une demande entièrement ou partiellement approuvée était considérée comme « approuvée ».
Toutes les PME 28,1 % 82,1 % 86,1 %
Taille de l'entreprise 1-4 employés 22,6 % 80,5 % 82,8 %
5-19 employés 31,8 % 81,4 % 81,2 %
20-99 employés 41,0 % 86,1 % 87,8 %
100-499 employés 44,9 % 96,1 % 98,2 %

En moyenne, les PME ont payé un taux d'intérêt de 5 % pour les prêts hypothécaires sur un immeuble non résidentiel, les marges de crédit et les prêts à terme et de 17 % pour le financement de carte de crédit. Les deux tiers du financement par emprunt des PME faisaient l'objet d'une garantie : des actifs de l'entreprise et des biens personnels ont été donnés en garantie par 51 % et par 27 % des PME, respectivementNote de bas de page 5.

Caractéristiques des propriétairesNote de bas de page 6

En 2014, 59 % des propriétaires de PME étaient âgés de 50 ans ou plus, 26 % étaient âgés de 40 à 49 ans et 15 % avaient moins de 40 ans.

Soixante-quinze pour cent des propriétaires de PME avaient plus de 10 ans d'expérience à titre de gestionnaire ou de propriétaire.

La plupart des propriétaires de PME étaient des hommes : 65 % des PME appartenaient en majorité à des hommes, 16 % appartenaient en majorité à des femmes et 20 % appartenaient à parts égales à des hommes et à des femmesNote de bas de page 7.

Soixante-seize pour cent des propriétaires de PME étaient nés au Canada. Les propriétaires nés à l'étranger résidaient au Canada, en moyenne depuis 29 ans.

La plupart des propriétaires de PME avaient reçu une éducation postsecondaire. Trente et un pour cent d'entre eux possédaient une éducation de niveau collégial ou d'école de métiers, 24 % étaient titulaires d'un baccalauréat et 14 % étaient titulaires d'une maîtrise ou d'un diplôme supérieur. Pour 23 % des propriétaires de PME, le secondaire constituait le niveau de scolarité le plus élevé atteint, tandis que 8 % des propriétaires n'avaient pas terminé leurs études secondaires.

Destination des ventes

En 2014, 12 % des PME ont exporté des produits ou des services vers d'autres pays. Quatre-vingt-neuf pour cent des exportateurs ont vendu des produits ou des services aux États-Unis, 31 % à des pays d'Europe, 17 % à des pays d'Amérique latine, 13 % à la Chine et 16 % à des pays d'Asie autres que la Chine. Quatre-vingt-treize pour cent des PME non exportatrices ont déclaré qu'elles n'avaient pas réalisé de ventes à l'étranger en raison du caractère national de leur exploitation.

La plupart des exportateurs n'ont pas fait face à des obstacles importants en matière d'exportation. Tout au plus 7 % des PME exportatrices considéraient un aspect particulier, notamment les aspects liés à l'administration, à la frontière, à la logistique, à la connaissance du marché et à la propriété intellectuelle, comme un obstacle important à la vente à l'étranger.

De nombreuses PME ont vendu des produits ou des services au-delà des marchés locaux; 50 % d'entre elles ont réalisé des ventes en dehors de leur municipalité ou de leur région et 21 % ont vendu des produits ou des services à d'autres provinces ou territoires.

Les grandes PME étaient plus susceptibles d'avoir réalisé des ventes au-delà des marchés locaux et d'avoir exporté, tandis que les entreprises comptant moins de 100 employés étaient plus susceptibles d'avoir vendu des produits ou des services dans les marchés locaux (voir le tableau 3).

Tableau 3 : Destination des ventes selon la taille de l'entreprise, 2014
Dans la municipalité ou la région Hors de la municipalité ou de la région, mais dans la province ou le territoire Reste du Canada À l'extérieur du Canada (ventes à l'exportation)
Propension (pourcentage d'entreprises)
Toutes les PME 94,2 50,2 21,0 11,8
Taille de l'entreprise 1-4 employés 93,6 46,4 16,7 9,1
5-19 employés 96,1 52,8 23,0 12,4
20-99 employés 92,9 58,9 33,0 20,7
100-499 employés 86,6 62,9 43,1 28,0

Caractéristiques de croissance

Soixante-dix pour cent des PME ont déclaré une augmentation de la croissance annuelle moyenne de leurs ventes pour la période de 2012 à 2014. Pendant cette période, 50 % d'entre elles ont vu leurs ventes augmenter, en moyenne de 1 % à 10 % par année. Les ventes de 11 % des PME ont augmenté, en moyenne de 11 % à 20 %. Neuf pour cent des PME étaient considérées comme des entreprises à forte croissance, affichant une croissance annuelle moyenne de leurs ventes de plus de 20 %. Les ventes de 19 % des PME n'ont pas augmenté, tandis qu'elles ont diminué pour 12 % des entreprises.

En 2014, les principaux obstacles à la croissance étaient liés aux facteurs suivants : accroissement de la concurrence et fluctuation de la demande des consommateurs (chacun cité par 19 % des PME), recrutement et maintien d'effectifs qualifiés et hausse des coûts des intrants (chacun cité par 17 % des PME) et réglementation gouvernementale (15 % des PME). Seuls 9 % des PME ont trouvé que l'obtention d'un financement constituait un obstacle important.

Activités d'innovation et propriété intellectuelle

Quarante-deux pour cent des PME ont mis en oeuvre au moins un type d'innovation pendant la période de 2012 à 2014. Vingtsix pour cent d'entre elles ont mis en oeuvre une innovation liée à la création de nouveaux produits, 20 % une innovation liée au marketing, 19 % une innovation organisationnelle et 18 % une innovation en matière de processus.

Vingt et un pour cent des PME détenaient de la propriété intellectuelle. Douze pour cent d'entre elles avaient conclu des ententes de non divulgationNote de bas de page 8, la forme la plus courante de propriété intellectuelle détenue. Dix pour cent des PME détenaient des marques de commerce, 5 % des secrets commerciaux, 2 % des brevets et 1 % des dessins industriels.

Les grandes PME étaient plus susceptibles d'avoir mené des activités d'innovation et de détenir de la propriété intellectuelle que les petites PME (voir le tableau 4).

Tableau 4 : Activités d'innovation et propriété intellectuelle selon la taille de l'entreprise, 2014
Ont mis en oeuvre au moins un type d'innovation Détenaient au moins un type de propriété intellectuelle
Toutes les PME 41,6 % 21,4 %
Taille de l'entreprise 1-4 employés 34,4 % 16,6 %
5-19 employés 49,6 % 23,8 %
20-99 employés 52,8 % 35,4 %
100-499 employés 58,3 % 51,1 %

Méthodologie

La population ciblée par l'enquête était composée des PME à but lucratif du secteur privé comptant entre 1 et 499 employés et qui ont réalisé un chiffre d'affaires annuel de plus de 30 000 $ en 2014. La population cible était stratifiée selon la région géographique, le type d'emploi et l'industrie, et des échantillons aléatoires étaient choisis en fonction de ces strates. L'enquête a été menée par Statistique Canada de février à mai 2015. L'échantillon comptait 19 998 entreprises et le taux de réponse s'est établi à 61 %.

Remarques

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, ou pour en savoir davantage sur les concepts, les méthodes ou la qualité des données liées aux résultats de l'enquête, communiquez avec Statistique Canada (sans frais au 1-800-263-1136 ou à l'adresse STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca).

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur des sujets de recherche et des ensembles de données connexes, consultez le site Web Recherche et statistique sur la PME, ou communiquez avec Richard Archambault (343-291-1798) ou Lyming Huang (343-291-1792) à la Direction générale de la petite entreprise.

Remerciements

La Direction générale de la petite entreprise souhaite remercier ses nombreux partenaires de leurs contributions. En particulier, nous remercions l'équipe du Centre des projets spéciaux sur les petites entreprises de Statistique Canada pour son rôle dans le cadre de l'élaboration et de l'exécution de l'enquête et les partenaires d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada pour leur contribution financière à l'enquête, notamment le Programme de financement des petites entreprises du Canada, l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada, l'unité de la Politique sur les coopératives, la Direction générale des technologies de l'information et des communications, la Direction du commerce intérieur et la Direction générale du tourisme, de même que nos partenaires externes, soit l'Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique, la Banque de développement du Canada, le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement, Exportation et développement Canada, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, l'Initiative fédérale de développement économique pour le Nord de l'Ontario, le ministère du Développement économique, de l'Emploi et de l'Infrastructure de l'Ontario, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada et l'Institut de la statistique du Québec.

Date de modification :