Stakeholder Consultation Summary

Improving Performance and Data Collection of Business Accelerators and Incubators

Objective

This paper summarizes consultations with business and accelerator stakeholders that took place between late September and early November 2016. The paper is intended to support continued discussions with stakeholders as to how government, entrepreneurs, investors, and industry can work together to establish a national performance measurement framework for business accelerators and incubators (BAIs).

Background

The Government is engaging Canadians in developing an Innovation Agenda that can drive growth, create jobs, and allow Canadians to seize the opportunities of the transformative times we live in. The goal is to ensure that Canada will be globally competitive in promoting research, translating ideas into new products and services, accelerating business growth and propelling entrepreneurs from the start-up phase to international success.

A key element of the Innovation Agenda is to strengthen Canada's network of BAIs across the country. Most entrepreneurs now consider accelerators and incubators part of the start and scale journey. This has driven the demand for the launch of hundreds of BAI programs around the world, prompting questions on how differences across programs influence start-up performance.

The Department of Innovation, Science and Economic Development (ISED) invited BAI stakeholders to participate in three informal roundtables to discuss how government, entrepreneurs, investors, educators, and industry can work together to establish a national performance measurement framework for BAIs. The roundtables took place in Montréal (September 27th), Vancouver (October 4th), and Toronto (October 19th). In addition, ISED received input in writing or in conference calls as requested from stakeholders who were unable to participate in the roundtables.

A discussion paper was shared in advance with participants to frame the discussion into three themes:

  • Objectives and Principles—Benefits of a performance measurement framework to governments, BAIs, and firms; and principles for its design and operation.
  • Governance—Data exchange and consolidated collection
  • Standardization of Data—Consistent performance metrics, data points, and definitions.

Overall 44 stakeholders provided input. There was diverse representation from regions, gender, sector, investors, academia, accelerators, and incubators.

Summary of Discussion

The Government consulted with BAI stakeholders actively collecting, tracking and reporting on data that enables evidence-based identification of gaps, opportunities and impact. Stakeholders provided input on: the benefits and challenges of a national performance measurement framework for BAIs including the sharing and standardization of data and, the viability of BAIs to share data to determine a) how BAIs influence start-up performance, and, b) how to establish an appropriate performance measurement framework for BAIs across Canada.

BAI stakeholders were forthcoming with suggestions on how performance collection and analysis could be used to most effectively support start-ups through accelerators and incubators. In relation to the three overarching themes of discussion, the following input was received.

Objectives and Principles

What should be considered so that key stakeholders in Canada's BAI ecosystem (BAIs, angel and venture capital investors, research centres, government programs, and entrepreneurs) could benefit from a national performance measurement framework?

Input Received:

Stakeholders can benefit from a national performance measurement framework.
Stakeholders agreed that there is opportunity to make better use of performance data on BAI and the firms they support. The goals of each stakeholder are different. BAIs could use this information to identify potential clients and benchmark their performance. Companies could use the data to identify BAIs to support their start and scale-up journey. Private investors could use the information to support funding decisions. Governments could use the aggregated information to inform policy direction to most effectively support innovative growth-oriented firms through business accelerators and incubators.

BAIs share similar principles but operate with different objectives.
Performance indicators that are relevant for some stakeholders are not relevant for others. Therefore, a national performance measurement framework would need to collect several categories of metrics. Factors specific to different BAIs need to be considered to appropriately benchmark and evaluate different organizations.

Consistent data indicators would help simplify reporting requirements by BAIs and firms.
Stakeholders suggested that a common set of indicators among the various government organizations supporting accelerators and incubators would help simplify reporting requirements. Some stakeholders suggested that they would like an online portal to enter, update and access their information.

Governance—Data Exchange and Consolidated Collection

What should be considered so that key stakeholders in Canada's business accelerator and incubator ecosystem would participate in data sharing as part of a national performance measurement framework and coordinated reporting on how BAIs influence start-up performance?

Input Received:

The BAI community is willing to work together towards a national solution.
There was consensus among all stakeholders that analysis and reporting on aggregate national performance of firms that participated in BAIs would be valuable. While there was willingness among stakeholders to participate in a data sharing as part of a national performance measurement framework, there was no obvious immediate solution for an organization or combination of organizations that could take on the role(s) of collecting, housing and analyzing the data on a national level.

Various data sharing approaches already in place should be taken into consideration.
Data collection and analysis efforts already in place across Canada, such as the Ontario Network of Entrepreneurs and British Columbia Innovation Council's data sharing and reporting initiatives, as well as experience within established reporting practices of some BAIs, should be leveraged and aligned to a national performance measurement framework.

The organization(s) responsible for consolidated collection and analysis would need to be neutral.
To support data exchange and consolidated collection, stakeholder concerns related to confidentiality and neutrality need to be addressed. The organization(s) responsible for collecting, housing and analyzing the data on a national level must be impartial given the potential impact on funding decisions. “Buy- in” of BAIs across Canada is critical to a national solution.

Stakeholders are interested in engagement with national counterparts.
Beyond performance measurement, BAI stakeholders from each region expressed a strong interest in engaging with national counterparts to exchange best practices on improving performance and data collection. Suggestions included having a content-driven conference for program managers of BAIs, an online forum for ongoing discussion, and a national workshop for performance metrics collection and analysis experts.

Standardization of Data

What metrics, data points and definitions should be considered to enable reliable data aggregation and comparison across Canada's business accelerator and incubator ecosystem?

Input Received:

Data aggregation and comparison across Canada should include metrics on firm growth.
Stakeholders agreed that the essential measures for success of start-up assistance programs are linked to the growth and competitiveness of the firms they support. If BAIs are successful in selecting and nurturing business ideas, incubated firms, on average should enjoy higher survival rates, grow revenues faster, employ more people, and attract more capital than non-incubated firms.  Ultimately, the long-term impact of BAIs benefits the overall ecosystem and the short-term impact is evident in firms successfully achieving business development milestones.

BAIs produce a variety of outcomes that are not captured in conventional firm performance metrics.
Performance indicators that are not typically reported on, specifically those related to company performance and ecosystem collaboration would show a more complete picture of how BAIs effectively support firms, and be more inclusive of BAIs with objectives specific to impacting demographic groups and niche sectors. These indicators include, for example: founder development, developing an entrepreneurship culture, collaboration among BAIs, and attracting new talent and investment to a region.

Reporting fatigue among BAIs and firms is increasingly become an issue.
As more and more firms participate in multiple start-up assistance programs during their start and scale up journey, reporting to different supporters is a challenge. A national performance measurement framework will need to explore options for one-stop reporting and alignment with business income tax reporting.

A common set of performance metrics could be reached given existing best practices.
There was consensus among stakeholders on the value of a common definition of metrics for BAIs. Stakeholders proposed developing a common set of a minimum viable set of metrics with consistent definitions with flexibility for additional metrics specific to the unique objectives of each BAI.

The following list includes suggested performance indicators that were consistent at each roundtable consultation.

Suggested performance indicators consistent at each roundtable consultation.
Framework Indicator
Ecosystem performance
  • Job creation/retention
  • Follow-on funding/capital raised
  • Revenue
  • Company creation
Company performance
  • Exports  (New global markets)
  • Profitability
  • New customers
  • R&D conducted
  • Valuation, exit performance
  • Survival
BAI performance
  • Intake company information (e.g.: demographics)
  • Program quality as assessed by clients
  • Milestones and graduation
  • Attribution for company performance
Skills, Cluster development, Entrepreneurial culture
  • Collaboration with other BAIs
  • Other support received
  • Quality of mentors
  • Social impact
  • Demographics of founders, employees
  • Serial entrepreneurship

Next Steps

In response to stakeholder advice and willingness to collaborate on a national scale to develop a performance measurement framework, the following next steps are proposed.

1.  Advance Discussion on Best Practices from a Regional to National Scale
Stakeholders across Canada demonstrated a strong interest for a forum for the BAI community to come together to share best practices on program content and reporting. There was consensus that efforts to share best practices be driven by the community itself. During consultations, stakeholders proposed convening BAIs through initiatives such as: an online forum for ongoing discussion, a content-driven conference for program managers of BAIs, and a national workshop for performance metrics collection and analysis experts.

2. Advance Discussion on a National Data Sharing Model
Several organizations demonstrated a willingness to share and report information on the performance of their organization and its clients with other BAIs across Canada. Participating organizations would explore a governance model and seek consensus on:

  • A consistent set of data indicators,
  • Definitions of data indicators,
  • The nature of data sharing agreements,
  • Data collection platforms, and
  • Characteristics of a third party to compile and analyse this information.

3. Ongoing Data Collection, Reporting and Analysis
As ISED explores options for a long-term national solution for data collection and performance reporting of BAIs with stakeholders, it will continue to seek advice on a model to govern ongoing data collection and reporting, and a community-led, online resource of BAIs in Canada to report results to Canadians.

In the coming months, on behalf of the Government of Canada, ISED will engage with the BAI community to begin to implement these steps.

Date modified:

Résumé sur la consultation des intervenants

Amélioration de la mesure du rendement et de la collecte de données des accélérateurs et des incubateurs d'entreprises

Objectif

Le présent document résume les consultations des entreprises et des accélérateurs menées à la fin de septembre et au début de novembre 2016. Il vise à favoriser des discussions continues avec les intervenants au sujet de la façon dont le gouvernement, les entrepreneurs, les investisseurs et l'industrie peuvent travailler ensemble pour établir un cadre national de mesure du rendement des accélérateurs et des incubateurs d'entreprises (AIE).

Toile de fond

Le gouvernement est en train de mobiliser les Canadiens pour élaborer un programme d'innovation favorisant la croissance et la création d'emplois qui permette aux Canadiens de saisir les possibilités qu'offre l'ère transformatrice que nous traversons actuellement. On vise ainsi à s'assurer que le Canada sera concurrentiel à l'échelle mondiale en faisant valoir la recherche, en transformant les idées en produits et en services nouveaux, en accélérant la croissance des entreprises et en faisant rapidement progresser les entrepreneurs de l'étape du démarrage à celle du succès international.

L'un des éléments clés du Programme d'innovation est le renforcement à l'échelle du pays du réseau d'AIE du Canada. La plupart des entrepreneurs considèrent maintenant que les accélérateurs et les incubateurs font partie intégrante de leur cheminement, du démarrage à la prise d'expansion. Cela a motivé la demande de lancement de centaines d'AIE partout au monde et a amené à se demander comment les différences entre les programmes influent sur le rendement des entreprises en démarrage.

Le ministère de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique (ISDE) a invité les AIE à participer à trois tables rondes pour discuter de la façon dont le gouvernement, les entrepreneurs, les investisseurs, les éducateurs et l'industrie peuvent travailler ensemble pour établir un cadre national de mesure du rendement des AIE. Les tables rondes se sont tenues à Montréal (27 septembre), à Vancouver (4 octobre) et à Toronto (19 octobre). De plus, ISDE a recueilli des commentaires, par écrit ou lors de téléconférences, comme l'ont demandé les parties prenantes qui étaient dans l'impossibilité d'assister en personne aux tables rondes.

Un document de travail avait été communiqué d'avance aux participants, pour structurer les discussions selon trois thèmes :

  • Objectifs et principes — Avantages d'un cadre de mesure du rendement pour le gouvernement, les AIE et les entreprises; et principes pour sa conception et son fonctionnement.
  • Gouvernance — Échange de données et collecte concertée.
  • Normalisation des données — Indicateurs, points de données et définitions cohérents.

En tout, des observations ont été formulées par 44 intervenants divers sur les plans de la religion, du sexe et du secteur et comprenant des investisseurs, des universitaires, des accélérateurs et des incubateurs.

Résumé des discussions

Le gouvernement a consulté les AIE pour recueillir et suivre activement des données permettant, à partir d'éléments probants, de relever les lacunes, les possibilités et les incidences, et de rendre compte à cet égard. Les intervenants ont formulé des commentaires sur les sujets suivants : avantages et difficultés d'un cadre de mesure du rendement pour les AIE, y compris en ce qui concerne le partage et la normalisation des données, et la viabilité des AIE pour échanger les données afin d'indiquer : a) comment les AIE influent sur le rendement des entreprises en démarrage; b) la manière d'établir un cadre efficace de mesure de rendement pour les AIE d'un océan à l'autre.

Les AIE n'ont pas hésité à formuler des suggestions sur la façon dont la collecte et l'analyse des données sur le rendement pourraient être utilisées pour soutenir de façon optimale les entreprises en démarrage par le truchement des accélérateurs et des incubateurs. Les commentaires ci-après ont été recueillis concernant les trois thèmes généraux des discussions.  

Objectif et principes

Qu'est-ce qui doit être pris en compte pour que les principaux intervenants dans l'écosystème des AIE du Canada (AIE, investisseurs providentiels, investisseurs de capital de risque, centres de recherche, programmes gouvernementaux et entrepreneurs) puissent profiter d'un cadre national de mesure du rendement?

Commentaires recueillis :

Les intervenants peuvent profiter d'un cadre national de mesure du rendement.
Les intervenants convenaient qu'il était possible de mieux utiliser les données sur le rendement des AIE et des entreprises que ces derniers appuient. Les objectifs de chaque intervenant sont différents. Les AIE pourraient utiliser cette information pour répertorier des clients potentiels et comparer leur rendement. Les entreprises pourraient utiliser les données pour déterminer quels AIE pourraient favoriser leur cheminement, du démarrage à la prise d'expansion. Les investisseurs pourraient utiliser l'information à l'appui de leurs décisions en matière de financement. Les gouvernements pourraient utiliser l'information regroupée pour éclairer leur orientation stratégique afin d'étayer le plus efficacement possible les entreprises novatrices axées sur la croissance par le truchement des accélérateurs et des incubateurs d'entreprises.

Les AIE ont des principes en commun mais visent des objectifs différents.
Les indicateurs de rendement pertinents pour certains intervenants ne le sont pas pour d'autres. Par conséquent, un cadre de mesure du rendement devrait recueillir plusieurs catégories de données. Les facteurs particuliers aux AIE doivent être pris en considération pour comparer et évaluer adéquatement des organisations différentes.

Des indicateurs de données cohérents aideraient à simplifier les exigences de reddition de comptes des AIE et des entreprises.
Les intervenants estimaient qu'un ensemble d'indicateurs communs aux diverses organisations gouvernementales à l'appui des accélérateurs et des incubateurs aiderait à simplifier les exigences en matière de rapport. Certains intervenants ont indiqué qu'ils souhaitaient un portail en ligne pour entrer, mettre à jour et consulter leur information.

Gouvernance — Échange de données et collecte concertée

Qu'est-ce qui doit être pris en compte pour que les principaux intervenants dans l'écosystème des accélérateurs et des incubateurs d'entreprises du Canada prennent part au partage de données en vertu d'un cadre national de mesure du rendement et d'une reddition de comptes concertée sur la façon dont les AIE influent sur le rendement des entreprises en démarrage?

Commentaires recueillis :

La collectivité des AIE est prête à travailler à l'unisson en vue d'une solution nationale.
Les intervenants étaient d'accord sur le fait que l'analyse et la reddition de comptes liées au rendement national combiné des entreprises soutenues par les AIE seraient utiles. Même si certains intervenants étaient prêts à partager des données en vertu d'un cadre national de mesure du rendement, il n'y avait pas de solution immédiate manifeste pour une organisation ou une combinaison d'organisations capable(s) d'assumer la(es) fonction(s) de collecte, d'hébergement et d'analyse des données à une échelle nationale.

Diverses approches de partage de données utilisées actuellement devraient être prises en considération.
Les efforts déjà en cours pour recueillir et analyser des données au Canada, tels que les initiatives de partage et de production de rapports en matière de données du Réseau ontarien des entrepreneurs et du Conseil d'innovation de la Colombie-Britannique, de même que l'expérience acquise dans le cadre des pratiques de reddition de comptes établies dans certains AIE, devraient être mis à profit et harmonisés avec un cadre national de mesure du rendement.

La ou les organisation(s) responsable(s) de collecte concertée et de l'analyse devra(ont) être neutre(s).
Pour faciliter l'échange et la collecte concertée de données, il devra être tenu compte des préoccupations des intervenants en matière de confidentialité et de neutralité. La ou les organisations chargée(s) de la collecte, de l'hébergement et de l'analyse des données à l'échelle nationale devra(ont) être impartiale(s), compte tenu de l'incidence potentielle sur les décisions en matière de financement. L'acceptation par les AIE à l'échelle du Canada est essentielle à une solution nationale.

Les intervenants sont intéressés à travailler avec leurs vis-à-vis nationaux.
Au-delà de la mesure du rendement, les AIE de chaque région qui sont intervenus se sont dits vivement intéressés à travailler avec leurs vis-à-vis nationaux pour échanger des pratiques exemplaires ayant trait à l'amélioration du rendement et à la collecte de données. On a suggéré notamment la tenue d'une conférence axée sur le contenu pour les gestionnaires de programme d'AIE, un forum en ligne pour des discussions continues et un atelier national pour la collecte de données sur le rendement et des experts en analyse.

Normalisation des données

Quels indicateurs, quels points de données et quelles définitions doivent être pris en compte pour permettre un regroupement et une comparaison fiables des données de tout l'écosystème canadien des accélérateurs et des incubateurs d'entreprises?

Commentaires recueillis :

Pour le regroupement et la comparaison des données à l'échelle du Canada, on devrait inclure des données sur la croissance des entreprises.
Les intervenants convenaient que les paramètres essentiels de succès des programmes d'aide des entreprises en démarrage sont liés à la croissance et à la compétitivité des entreprises appuyées. Si les AIE réussissent à sélectionner et à soutenir des idées commerciales, les entreprises incubées devraient en moyenne survivre plus longtemps, produire plus rapidement des revenus, employer plus de gens et attirer plus de capital que les entreprises non incubées. Au bout du compte, l'incidence à long terme des AIE profite à l'ensemble de l'écosystème et l'incidence à court terme se manifeste par le fait que les entreprises franchissent avec succès les étapes du développement commercial.

Les AIE produisent divers résultats qui ne sont pas pris en compte par les indicateurs habituels du rendement des entreprises.
En général, les indicateurs du rendement ne font pas l'objet de rapport. Cependant, ceux en particulier liés au rendement de l'entreprise et à la collaboration de l'écosystème dresseraient un portrait plus complet du degré d'efficacité avec lequel les AIE appuient les entreprises, et ils incluraient davantage les AIE qui visent particulièrement à influer sur des groupes démographiques et des créneaux particuliers. Parmi de tels indicateurs, mentionnons le perfectionnement des fondateurs, la mise en place d'une culture de l'entrepreneuriat, la collaboration entre les AIE et les mesures visant à attirer de nouveaux talents et des investissements dans une région.

La lassitude liée à la production de rapports est un problème croissant.
Étant donné que de plus en plus d'entreprises participent à de multiples programmes d'aide au démarrage pendant leur cheminement jusqu'à la prise d'expansion, les rapports à l'intention des différents parrains posent une difficulté. Pour un cadre national de mesure du rendement, il faudra examiner les options concernant un guichet unique de reddition de comptes et l'harmonisation avec les déclarations relatives à l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés.

Un ensemble commun d'indicateurs devrait être établi en tenant compte des pratiques exemplaires existantes.
Les intervenants convenaient de la valeur d'une définition commune des indicateurs pour les AIE. Ils ont proposé l'élaboration d'un ensemble commun d'indicateurs minimums viables définis avec cohérence et assez souples pour inclure des indicateurs additionnels pour les objectifs particuliers à chaque AIE.

La liste ci-après comprend des indicateurs de rendement suggérés de manière constante à chaque table de consultation.

indicateurs de rendement suggérés de manière constante à chaque table de consultation
Cadre Indicateur
Rendement de l'écosystème
  • Création/maintien d'emplois
  • Financement ultérieur/capital obtenu
  • Revenus
  • Création d'entreprises
Rendement de l'entreprise
  • Exportations (nouveaux marchés mondiaux)
  • Rentabilité
  • Nouveaux clients
  • R-D effectuée
  • Valeur, rendement au retrait
  • Survie
Rendement de l'AIE
  • Information sur les sociétés participantes (p. ex. données démographiques)
  • Qualité du programme telle qu'elle est évaluée par les clients
  • Étapes et progression
  • Attribution quant au rendement des entreprises
Compétences, développement de grappes, culture de l'entrepreneuriat
  • Collaboration avec d'autres AIE
  • Autre soutien reçu
  • Qualité des mentors
  • Incidence sociale
  • Données démographiques sur les fondateurs, les employés
  • Entrepreneuriat en série

Étapes suivantes

Pour faire suite aux conseils des intervenants et au souhait de collaborer à l'échelle nationale à l'élaboration d'un cadre de mesure du rendement, les étapes ci-après sont proposées.

1.  Faire progresser les discussions sur les pratiques exemplaires de l'échelle régionale à l'échelle nationale
Les intervenants de partout au Canada ont manifesté un vif intérêt envers un forum pour la collectivité des AIE, où se rassembler pour échanger des pratiques exemplaires en matière de contenu de programme et de rapport. On convenait que c'était la collectivité même qui devait amorcer les efforts pour partager les pratiques exemplaires. Lors des consultations, les intervenants ont proposé de rassembler les AIE par le truchement d'initiatives telles que les suivantes : un forum en ligne pour des discussions continues, une conférence axée sur le contenu pour les gestionnaires d'AIE et un atelier national sur la collecte de données et des experts en analyse.

2. Faire progresser les discussions sur un modèle national de partage des données
Plusieurs organisations se sont dites prêtes à échanger et à communiquer de l'information sur leur rendement et celui de leurs clients avec d'autres AIE d'un bout à l'autre du pays. Les organisations participantes examineront un modèle de gouvernance et tenteront d'établir un consensus au sujet des éléments suivants :

  • Un ensemble cohérent d'indicateurs de données
  • Les définitions des indicateurs de données
  • La nature des ententes de partage des données
  • Les plateformes de collecte des données
  • Les caractéristiques d'un tiers pour compiler et analyser l'information.

3. Collecte continue de données, rapports et analyses
Pendant qu'ISDE examine avec les intervenants les options pour une solution nationale à long terme pour la collecte des données et rendre compte du rendement des AIE, il continuera à solliciter des conseils au sujet d'un modèle pour encadrer la collecte continue de données et la reddition de comptes, ainsi que d'une ressource en ligne dirigée par la collectivité pour que les AIE au Canada rendent compte des résultats aux Canadiens.

Dans les mois qui viennent, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique, au nom du gouvernement du Canada, mobilisera la collectivité des AIE pour commencer à mettre en œuvre les étapes susmentionnées.

Date de modification :