Summary of the Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium Enterprises, 2017

PDF Version

Content


December 2018

The 2017 Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium Enterprises was designed to determine the types of financing used by small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), and to collect information on recent attempts by SMEs to obtain new financing. In addition, the survey gathers data on SMEs' growth activities and on business owner characteristics.

The 2017 survey questionnaire was adapted from questionnaires used for previous iterations of the Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium Enterprises (2011 and 2014), and from questionnaires used for the Survey on Financing of Small and Medium Enterprises (2000, 2004 and 2007).


Summary of Results

Key results from the 2017 Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium Enterprises are described below. The data tables (PDF document, 1.77 MB, 43 pages) provide detailed statistics by business size, region, census metropolitan area, industry, export status, growth characteristics, age of business, innovation activity, intellectual property (IP) holdings, government procurement activity and co-operative status, as well as owner age, education, place of birth and gender.

The 2017 tables introduce a range of new statistics. In particular, the tables offer new information on SME financing and growth by intellectual property awareness and legal incorporation status, and for Clean Technology firms and Social Enterprises. The tables also provide new insight into alternative lenders, international business activities, technology adoption, external consultants and succession planning, as well as majority ownership by person(s) with a disability and family members. Finally, the tables present a wider range of statistics on SME exporting than was available in past survey iterations, expanding the list of export destinations, and re-introducing export intensities and the breakdown of exports between goods and services.


Financing Characteristics

In 2017, 47 percent of SMEs requested external financing. Twenty six percent of all SMEs requested debt financing, 26 percent requested trade credit, 7 percent requested lease financing, 4 percent requested government financing and 1 percent requested equity financing.Footnote 1

Of the 53 percent SMEs that did not request financing, ninety-one percent did not require financing. Two percent of SMEs not requesting financing considered applying for financing to be too difficult or time consuming, 1 percent were discouraged borrowers (i.e. believed their request would be turned down), 1 percent were unaware of available sources of financing and 1 percent thought financing would be too costly.Footnote 2

In 2017, 93 percent of the dollar amount of debt financing requested by SMEs was authorized (Table 1). Financing was more often requested by and approved for larger firms, for which the request rates, approval rates and ratios of amount authorized to amount requested were higher than those of smaller firms.

Table 1: Debt Financing Request and Approval Rates by Size of Business, 2017Footnote *
Request rate Approval rate Amount authorized/ requested
%
All SMEs 25.6 89.2 92.8
Size of Business
(number of employees)
1–4 19.7 87.1 89.8
5–19 31.6 88.7 91.0
20–99 35.4 94.5 94.6
100–499 36.7 98.8 97.7

On average, SMEs paid interest rates of 5 percent for non-residential mortgages, lines of credit and term loans, and of 18 percent for credit card financing.

Seventy percent of SMEs that received debt financing obtained it from chartered banks, the main suppliers of debt financing to SMEs in 2017. Twenty-four percent, 9 percent and 2 percent of SMEs that received debt financing were supplied, respectively, by credit unions, government and alternative lenders (e.g. online alternative lenders, crowdsourcing or peer-to-peer lenders).Footnote 3 Smaller businesses were more likely to obtain financing from credit unions, while larger businesses were more likely to borrow from chartered banks.


Owner Characteristics

In 2017, most SMEs were male-owned: 64 percent were majority male-owned, 16 percent were majority female-owned and 21 percent were owned equally by men and women.Footnote 4

Members of the same family, visible minorities, aboriginals and person(s) with a disability, respectively, held the majority ownership of 42 percent, 12 percent, 1 percent and 1 percent of SMEs.

The primary decision makers of SMEs tended to be older, with 59 percent being 50 years of age or older; to be well-established in Canada, with 75 percent born in Canada and the remaining 25 percent, who were born outside of Canada, having resided in Canada for an average of 27 years; to be experienced, with 72 percent having 10 or more years of management or ownership experience; and, to be well-educated, with 70 percent having attained a post-secondary diploma or degree.


Sales Destinations

In 2017, 12 percent of SMEs exported, of which 41 percent exported goods only, 47 percent exported services only and 12 percent exported both goods and services.

Eighty-seven percent of SME exporters sold to the United States, 26 percent to European countries (excluding the United Kingdom), 17 percent to the United Kingdom, 12 percent to Asian countries (excluding China, India and Japan), 9 percent to Mexico, 8 percent to China, 7 percent to Latin American countries (excluding Mexico and Brazil), 6 percent to Japan and 5 percent to India.Footnote 5 Of the 88 percent of SMEs that did not export, 94 percent did not export because of the local nature of their businesses.

Most exporters did not face major obstacles to exporting. No more than 8 percent of exporting SMEs considered any single issue (e.g. administrative, border, logistical, market knowledge, intellectual property and financial issues) to be a major obstacle to selling abroad.

Many SMEs sold beyond their local markets, with 45 percent selling outside of their municipality/region and 20 percent selling to other provinces or territories (Table 2). Larger SMEs were more likely to sell beyond their local markets and export. Likewise, larger SMEs had a higher proportion of sales outside their local area than did smaller SMEs.

Table 2: Sales Destinations by Size of Business, 2017
Within local municipality or region Outside of local municipality or region but within province/territory Rest of Canada Outside Canada (export sales)
Propensity (Percentage of Businesses)
All SMEs 92.5 45.4 19.8 11.7
Size of Business
(number of employees)
1–4 91.1 40.8 17.0 9.9
5–19 95.1 50.3 20.8 12.0
20–99 93.1 51.9 28.1 17.0
100–499 86.9 58.2 39.5 29.1

Growth Characteristics

Sixty-six percent of SMEs reported positive average yearly growth in sales or revenues between 2015 and 2017. In particular, the sales of 46 percent of SMEs grew by 1 to 10 percent per year, while the sales of 12 percent of SMEs grew by 11 to 20 percent per year. The sales of 8 percent of SMEs grew by more than 20 percent per year. The sales of 20 percent of SMEs did not grow, while sales declined for 13 percent of firms.

In 2017, the most common major obstacle to growth was the rising costs of inputs (reported by 20 percent of SMEs). Other major obstacles of growth included recruiting and retaining skilled employees (19 percent of SMEs), government regulations (19 percent), shortage of labour (18 percent), increasing competition (17 percent), corporate tax rates (17 percent), fluctuations in consumer demand (16 percent) and maintaining sufficient cash flow or managing debt (15 percent) and. Only 8 percent of SMEs considered obtaining financing to be a major obstacle to their growth.


Innovation Activity, Intellectual Property and Technology Adoption

Thirty-one percent of SMEs introduced at least one type of innovation between 2015 and 2017 (Table 3). Nineteen percent introduced a product innovation, 14 percent a marketing innovation, 13 percent an organizational innovation and 13 percent a process innovation.

Table 3: Innovation, Intellectual Property Holdings and Technology Adoption, by Size of Business, 2017
Introduced at least one type of innovation
(2015 to 2017)
Held at least one type of intellectual property
(as of December 2017)
Adopted at least one technology
(2015 to 2017)
%
All SMEs 31.1 26.9 46.3
Size of Business
(number of employees)
1–4 24.2 22.3 40.4
5–19 38.7 28.3 49.1
20–99 42.4 43.4 62.2
100–499 53.5 66.1 78.8

Twenty-seven percent of SMEs held intellectual property. Twenty-one percent were party to non-disclosure agreementsFootnote 6, the most commonly held intellectual property. Nine percent of SMEs held trademarks, five percent trade secrets, 2 percent patents and 1 percent industrial designs.

Forty-six percent of SMEs adopted at least one type of technology between 2015 and 2017. Twenty-nine percent adopted cloud computing, 21 percent data analytics, 16 percent customer/supplier relationship management software, 9 percent application programming interface and 7 percent enterprise resource planning software.Footnote 7 Fifty-four percent of SMEs had a website in 2017, most often used for listing marketing or contact information.

Larger SMEs were more likely than smaller SMEs to innovate, hold intellectual property and adopt technology.


Methodology

The target population for the survey was private sector, for-profit, SMEs employing between 1 and 499 people and generating over $30,000 in annual revenues in 2017. The target population of over 730,000 SMEs was stratified by geography, employment and industry, with random samples selected from these strata in order to generate representative estimates. The survey was conducted by Statistics Canada from February to May 2018. The sample size was 17,323 SMEs with a response rate of 59.7 percent.


Notes

For more information, or to enquire about the concepts, methods or data quality of the survey results, contact Statistics Canada (toll-free 1-800-263-1136).

For additional information on related research topics and data sets, consult the SME Research and Statistics website.

or contact Richard Archambault (343-291-1798) or Lyming Huang (343-291-1792) at the Small Business Branch.


Acknowledgements

The Small Business Branch would like to thank our many partners for their contributions. In particular, we are grateful to the Centre for Special Business Projects Team at Statistics Canada for their role in developing and conducting the survey, and for survey funding from and collaboration with our Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada partners: Automotive, Transportation and Digital Technologies Branch, Canada Small Business Financing Program, Canadian Intellectual Property Office, Co-operatives Policy Unit and Tourism Branch; as well as from our external partners Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, Business Development Bank of Canada, Global Affairs Canada, Export Development Canada, Employment and Social Development Canada, Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario, Institut de la statistique Québec, Natural Resources Canada, Ontario Ministry of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade, and Public Services and Procurement Canada.

Date modified:

Résumé de l'Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises, 2017

Version PDF

Table des matières


Décembre 2018

L'Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises de 2017 vise à déterminer les types de financement utilisés par les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) et à recueillir des données concernant les tentatives récentes des PME pour obtenir du nouveau financement. En outre, l'enquête permet de recueillir des données touchant les activités de croissance des PME et les caractéristiques des entrepreneurs.

Le plus récent questionnaire a été adapté des questionnaires utilisés pour les versions précédentes de l'Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises (2011 et 2014) et des questionnaires utilisés pour l'Enquête sur le financement des petites et moyennes entreprises (2000, 2004 et 2007).


Sommaire des résultats

Les principaux résultats de l'Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises de 2017 sont décrits ci-dessous. Les tableaux de données (version PDF, 1,5 Mo, 43 pages) fournissent des statistiques détaillées selon la taille de l'entreprise, la région, la région métropolitaine de recensement, l'industrie, le statut d'exportation, les caractéristiques de croissance, l'âge de l'entreprise, l'activité d'innovation, la propriété intellectuelle (PI), les marchés publics et le statut coopératif, ainsi que l'âge, la scolarité, le lieu de naissance et le sexe des propriétaires.

Les tableaux de 2017 présentent une série de nouvelles statistiques. En particulier, les tableaux offrent de nouvelles informations sur le financement et la croissance des PME en fonction de la sensibilisation à la propriété intellectuelle et du statut juridique d'incorporation, ainsi que pour les entreprises de technologies propres et les entreprises sociales. Les tableaux donnent également un nouvel aperçu des autres prêteurs, des activités commerciales internationales, de l'adoption des technologies, des consultants externes et de la planification de la relève, ainsi que de la propriété majoritaire des personnes handicapées et des entreprises familiales. Enfin, les tableaux présentent un plus large éventail de statistiques sur les exportations des PME que dans les enquêtes précédentes, élargissant la liste des destinations d'exportation et réintroduisant l'intensité des exportations et la répartition des exportations entre biens et services.


Caractéristiques du financement

En 2017, 47 % des PME ont demandé un financement externe. Vingt-six pour cent de toutes les PME ont demandé un financement par emprunt, 26 % ont demandé un crédit commercial, 7 % ont demandé un crédit bail, 4 % ont demandé un financement gouvernemental et 1 % ont demandé un financement par actionsNote de bas de page 1.

Sur les 53 % de PME qui n'ont pas demandé de financement, 91 % ont répondu ne pas en avoir besoin. Deux pour cent des PME qui n'ont pas demandé de financement estimaient que la demande de financement était trop difficile ou prendrait trop de temps, 1 % étaient des emprunteurs découragés (c. à d. qu'ils croyaient que leur demande serait rejetée), 1 % ne connaissaient pas les sources de financement disponibles et 1 % estimaient que le financement était trop coûteuxNote de bas de page 2.

En 2017, 9 % du montant en dollars du financement par emprunt demandé par les PME a été autorisé (tableau 1). Le financement était plus souvent demandé et approuvé par les grandes entreprises, pour lesquelles les taux de demande, les taux d'approbation et les ratios du montant autorisé par rapport au montant demandé étaient supérieurs à ceux des petites entreprises.

Tableau 1 : Financement par emprunt : taux de demande et d'approbation selon la taille de l'entreprise, 2017 Note de bas de page *
Taux de demande Taux d'approbation Ratio entre le montant autorisé et le montant demandé
% pourcentage
Toutes les PME 25,6 89,2 92,8
Taille des entreprises
(nombre d'employés)
1-4 19,7 87,1 89,8
5-19 31,6 88,7 91,0
20-99 35,4 94,5 94,6
100-499 36,7 98,8 97,7

En moyenne, les PME ont payé un taux d'intérêt de 5 % pour les prêts hypothécaires non résidentiels, les marges de crédit et les prêts à terme, et de 18 % pour le financement par carte de crédit.

Soixante-dix pour cent des PME qui ont reçu du financement par emprunt l'ont obtenu de banques à charte, les principaux fournisseurs de financement par emprunt aux PME en 2017. Vingt-quatre pour cent, 9 % et 2 % des PME qui ont reçu du financement par emprunt ont été fournies, respectivement, par des coopératives de crédit, le gouvernement et d'autres prêteurs (p. ex. des prêteurs en ligne, des prêteurs « crowdsourcing » ou des prêteurs entre pairs)Note de bas de page 3. Les petites entreprises étaient plus susceptibles d'obtenir du financement auprès des coopératives de crédit, tandis que les grandes entreprises étaient plus susceptibles d'emprunter auprès des banques à charte.


Caractéristiques des propriétaires

En 2017, la plupart des PME étaient détenues par des hommes : 64 % étaient majoritairement détenues par des hommes, 16 % par des femmes et 21 % à part égale par des hommes et des femmesNote de bas de page 4.

Les membres d'une même famille, les minorités visibles, les Autochtones et les personnes handicapées détenaient une participation majoritaire respectivement de 42 %, 12 %, 1 % et 1 % des PME.

Les décideurs principaux des PME avaient tendance à être plus âgés, 59 % ayant 50 ans ou plus, d'être bien établis au Canada, 75 % étant nés au Canada et les 25 % restants, nés à l'étranger, résidant au Canada en moyenne depuis 27 ans. De plus, ils sont expérimentés, 72 % ayant 10 ans ou plus d'expérience comme gestionnaire ou propriétaire et ayant fait des études supérieures, 70 % ayant obtenu un diplôme ou grade postsecondaire.


Destinations des ventes

En 2017, 12 % des PME ont exporté, dont 41 % ont exporté des biens, 47 % des services et 12 % des biens et services.

Quatre-vingt-sept pour cent des PME exportatrices ont vendu aux États-Unis, 26 % aux pays européens (à l'exclusion du Royaume-Uni), 17 % au Royaume-Uni, 12 % aux pays asiatiques (à l'exclusion de la Chine, de l'Inde et du Japon), 9 % au Mexique, 8 % à la Chine, 7 % aux pays d'Amérique latine (sauf au Mexique et au Brésil), 6 % au Japon et 5 % en IndeNote de bas de page 5. Sur les 88 % de PME qui n'ont pas exporté, 94 % n'ont pas exporté en raison de la nature locale de leurs activités.

La plupart des exportateurs n'ont pas rencontré d'obstacles majeurs à l'exportation. Pas plus de 8 % des PME exportatrices considéraient qu'un élément, tel que les questions administratives, frontalières, logistiques, de connaissance du marché, de propriété intellectuelle et financière, constituait un obstacle majeur aux ventes à l'étranger.

De nombreuses PME ont vendu à l'extérieur de leur marché local, dont 45 % à l'extérieur de leur municipalité ou région et 20 % à d'autres provinces ou territoires (tableau 2). Les grandes PME étaient plus susceptibles de vendre au-delà de leurs marchés locaux et d'exporter. De même, les grandes PME avaient une proportion plus élevée de ventes à l'extérieur de leur zone locale que les petites PME.

Tableau 2 : Destinations des ventes selon la taille de l'entreprise, 2017
Dans votre municipalité ou région À l'extérieur de votre municipalité ou région, mais dans votre province ou territoire Dans le reste du Canada À l'extérieur du Canada
(ventes à l'exportation)
Propension
(Pourcentage des entreprises)
Toutes les PME 92,5 45,4 19,8 11,7
Taille des entreprises
(nombre d'employés)
1-4 91,1 40,8 17,0 9,9
5-19 95,1 50,3 20,8 12,0
20-99 93,1 51,9 28,1 17,0
100-499 86,9 58,2 39,5 29,1

Caractéristiques de croissance

Soixante-six pour cent des PME ont déclaré une croissance annuelle moyenne positive de leurs ventes ou de leurs revenus entre 2015 et 2017. En particulier, les ventes de 46 % des PME ont augmenté de 1 à 10 % par année, tandis que les ventes de 12 % des PME ont augmenté de 11 à 20 % par année. Les ventes de 8 % des PME ont augmenté de plus de 20 % par an. Les ventes de 20 % des PME n'ont pas augmenté, tandis que celles de 13 % des entreprises ont diminué.

En 2017, l'obstacle le plus courant à la croissance était l'augmentation du coût des intrants (selon 20 % des PME). Parmi les autres obstacles majeurs à la croissance, mentionnons le recrutement et le maintien en poste d'employés qualifiés (19 % des PME), la réglementation gouvernementale (19 %), la pénurie de main-d'œuvre (18 %), l'intensification de la concurrence (17 %), les taux d'imposition des sociétés (17 %), les fluctuations de la demande des consommateurs (16 %) et le maintien de liquidités suffisantes ou la gestion des dettes (15 %). Seulement 8 % des PME considéraient l'obtention de financement comme un obstacle majeur à leur croissance.


Activité d'innovation, propriété intellectuelle et adoption des technologies

Trente et un pour cent des PME ont introduit au moins un type d'innovation entre 2015 et 2017 (tableau 3). Dix-neuf pour cent ont introduit une innovation de produit, 14 % une innovation de commercialisation, 13 % une innovation organisationnelle et 13 % une innovation de processus.

Vingt-sept pour cent des PME détenaient des droits de propriété intellectuelle. Vingt et un pour cent prenaient part à des accords de non-divulgationNote de bas de page 6, la propriété intellectuelle la plus couramment détenue. Neuf pour cent des PME détenaient des marques de commerce, 5 % des secrets commerciaux, 2 % des brevets et 1 % des dessins industriels.

Tableau 3 : Innovation, propriété intellectuelle et adoption de technologies, selon la taille de l'entreprise, 2017
A introduit au moins un type d'innovation
(2015 à 2017)
Possédait au moins un type de propriété intellectuelle
(en décembre 2017)
A adopté au moins une technologie
(2015 à 2017)
%
Toutes les PME 31,1 26,9 46,3
Taille des entreprises
(nombre d'employés)
1-4 24,2 22,3 40,4
5-19 38,7 28,3 49,1
20-99 42,4 43,4 62,2
100-499 53,5 66,1 78,8

Quarante-six pour cent des PME ont adopté au moins un type de technologie entre 2015 et 2017. Vingt-neuf pour cent ont adopté l'informatique en nuage, 21 % l'analyse des données, 16 % les logiciels de gestion de relations clients/fournisseurs, 9 % les interfaces de programmation d'applications et 7 % les logiciels de planification des ressources d'entrepriseNote de bas de page 7. Cinquante-quatre pour cent des PME avaient un site Web en 2017, le plus souvent utilisé pour l'établissement de listes de marketing ou de coordonnées.

Les grandes PME étaient plus susceptibles que les petites PME d'innover, de détenir la propriété intellectuelle et d'adopter la technologie.


Méthodologie

La population cible de l'enquête était les PME du secteur privé, à but lucratif, employant entre 1 et 499 personnes et générant plus de 30 000 $ en revenus annuels en 2017. La population cible de plus de 730 000 PME a été stratifiée selon la géographie, l'emploi et l'industrie, et des échantillons aléatoires ont été choisis dans ces strates afin de produire des estimations représentatives. L'enquête a été menée par Statistique Canada de février à mai 2018. La taille de l'échantillon était de 17 323 PME avec un taux de réponse de 59,7 %.


Notes

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou pour en savoir davantage sur les concepts, les méthodes ou la qualité des données de l'enquête, communiquez avec Statistique Canada au numéro sans frais 1-800-263-1136.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur des sujets de recherche et des ensembles de données connexes, consultez le site Web Recherche et statistiques sur les PME ou communiquez avec Richard Archambault (343-291-1798) ou Lyming Huang (343-291-1792) de la Direction générale de la petite entreprise.


Remerciements

La Direction générale de la petite entreprise tient à remercier ses nombreux partenaires pour leur contribution. Nous sommes particulièrement reconnaissants à l'équipe du Centre des projets spéciaux des entreprises de Statistique Canada pour le rôle qu'elle a joué dans l'élaboration et la réalisation de l'enquête; ainsi que pour le financement de l'enquête et la collaboration avec nos partenaires d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada : la Direction générale de l'automobile, des transports et des technologies numériques, le Programme de financement des petites entreprises du Canada, l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada, l'Unité des politiques coopératives et Direction du tourisme; de même que nos partenaires externes : l'Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique, la Banque de développement du Canada, Affaires mondiales Canada, Exportation et développement Canada, Emploi et Développement social Canada, Services publics et Approvisionnements Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada, l'Initiative fédérale de développement économique pour le Nord de l'Ontario, l'Institut de la statistique du Québec, le ministère du Développement économique, de la Création d'emplois et du Commerce de l'Ontario.

Date de modification :