Financing Innovative Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises in Canada

October 2009

Working Paper

Shunji Wang,
Small Business Branch,
Industry Canada

Summary:

This paper examines whether the financing activities and experiences of innovative small and medium-sized (SMEs) in accessing financing are different from those of non-innovative SMEs. This paper also examines whether innovative SMEs face different financing terms and conditions than non-innovative SMEs seeking financing.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgements

The assistance of many people was invaluable to the production of this research paper. My thanks go to Allan Riding from Telfer School of Management at the University of Ottawa for his comments on the multivariate analysis. Special thanks go to Denis Martel and Richard Archambault from Industry Canada for their feedback and suggestions.

Abstract

This paper examines whether the financing activities and experiences of innovative small and medium-sized (SMEs) in accessing financing are different from those of non-innovative SMEs. This paper also examines whether innovative SMEs face different financing terms and conditions than non-innovative SMEs seeking financing. After controlling for firm category, size, age of the owner and industry sector using logistic and linear regression models, results show that innovative SMEs had greater financing needs than non-innovative ones but were less successful in obtaining the financing requested. The results also show that innovative SMEs face more constraining financing terms and conditions than non-innovative SMEs. In general, innovative SMEs paid higher interest rates and got shorter loan terms.

  • Email
  • Share
Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Le financement des petites et moyennes entreprises innovatrices au Canada

Octobre 2009

Document de recherche

Shunji Wang,
Direction générale de la petite entreprise,
Industrie Canada

Sommaire :

Ce document de recherche aborde la question à savoir si les expériences et les activités des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) innovatrices qui tentent d'obtenir du financement sont différentes de celles des PME non innovatrices. Il aborde également la question à savoir si les PME innovatrices sont soumises à des termes et conditions de financement différentes de celles des PME non innovatrices qui cherchent aussi du financement.

Table des matières

Remerciements

De nombreuses personnes ont apporté une précieuse contribution à la rédaction de ce mémoire de recherche. Je tiens à remercier monsieur Allan Riding, de l'École de gestion Telfer de l'Université d'Ottawa, pour ses observations sur l'analyse multivariable. Je remercie aussi tout particulièrement messieurs Denis Martel et Richard Archambault, d'Industrie Canada, pour leurs commentaires et suggestions.

Résumé

Ce document de recherche aborde la question à savoir si les expériences et les activités des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) innovatrices qui tentent d'obtenir du financement sont différentes de celles des PME non innovatrices. Il aborde également la question à savoir si les PME innovatrices sont soumises à des termes et conditions de financement différentes de celles des PME non innovatrices qui cherchent aussi du financement. Une fois pris en compte la catégorie et la taille de la PME, l'âge du propriétaire et le secteur industriel, au moyen de modèles de régression logistique et linéaire, les résultats démontrent que les PME innovatrices ont davantage besoin de financement que les PME non innovatrices, mais réussissent moins à en obtenir. Les résultats montrent aussi que les PME innovatrices se voient imposer des conditions de financement plus contraignantes que celles exigées des PME non innovatrices. En règle générale, les PME innovatrices doivent accepter un taux d'intérêt plus élevé et des échéances plus courtes.

  • Courriel
  • Partager
Date de modification :