Key Small Business Statistics


This annual publication provides information on the most frequently asked questions pertaining to small businesses in Canada.

Cover of the KSBS publication August 2013 edition


Key Small Business Statistics — August 2013 edition includes data on the number of businesses in Canada, job creation, firm survival, the share of firms that are high-growth firms, the number of firms that innovate and export, the contribution of small businesses to Canada's gross domestic product and business owner characteristics.

Archived Previous Editions:
2012, 2011, 2010, July 2009, January 2009, Complete list


Special editions

Cover of Financing Statistics-November 2013 publication


Financing Statistics–November 2013 is a special edition of Key Small Business Statistics that presents various statistics on the financing of Canadian small and medium-sized enterprises including credit request and approval rates, average value of loan requests and intended use of financing. Some statistics are presented by demographic characteristics of owners (e.g., women, visible minorities), province, industry and firm size.

Archived Previous Editions: December 2009, December 2006, August 2005


Cover of The Canadian Provinces publication


The Canadian Provinces–September 2013 is a special edition of Key Small Business Statistics that provides readers with a picture of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in Canadian provinces with a focus on the diversity within the country's borders.


Cover of Canadian Small Business Exporters publication


Canadian Small Business Exporters - June 2011 is a special edition of Key Small Business Statistics that includes three sections. The first section, Key Statistics on Small Business Exports, presents information on exports by firm size, industry, destination, province and commodity exported. The second section, Financing Profile of Small and Medium-Sized Enterprise Exporters, presents a profile of SME exporters, including their financing activities and perceived obstacles to growth. The third section looks at SME Involvement in Global Value Chains.


Cover of Growth Map of Canadian Firms publication


Growth Map of Canadian Firms - January 2010 is a special edition of Key Small Business Statistics that examines the distribution of all Canadian firms according to their growth rate (positive or negative) in terms of employment and revenue. An analysis by firm size and industry, as well as employment created and revenue generated by firms, is also included. The section on the number of businesses in Canada has been updated.

Principales statistiques relatives aux petites entreprises


Cette publication annuelle répond aux questions fréquemment posées sur les petites entreprises au Canada.

Couverture de la publication Principales statistiques relatives aux petites entreprises de 2013

L'édition d'août 2013 des Principales statistiques relatives aux petites entreprises inclue des données actualisées sur le nombre d'entreprises au Canada, la création d'emplois, la survie des entreprises, la proportion des entreprises à forte croissance, le nombre d'entreprises qui innovent et exportent, la contribution des petites entreprises au produit intérieur brut du Canada et les caractéristiques des propriétaires d'entreprise.

Éditions précédentes archivées :
2012, 2011, 2010, Juillet 2009, Janvier 2009, Liste complète


Éditions spéciales

Couverture de la publication Statistiques sur le financement de novembre 2013


La publication Statistiques sur le financement - Novembre 2013 est une édition spéciale des Principales statistiques relatives aux petites entreprises qui présente diverses statistiques sur le financement des petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes, comme les taux de demande de crédit et d'approbation, la valeur moyenne des prêts demandés et l'utilisation projetée du financement. Certaines statistiques sont présentées selon les caractéristiques démographiques du propriétaire (p. ex., femmes, minorités visibles), la province, l'industrie et la taille de l'entreprise.

Éditions précédentes archivées : Décembre 2009, Décembre 2006, Août 2005


Couverture de la publication Les provinces canadiennes


La publication Les provinces canadiennes - Septembre 2013 est une édition spéciale des Principales statistiques relatives aux petites entreprises qui offre au lecteur un portrait des PME des provinces canadiennes mettant l'accent sur la diversité à l'intérieur des frontières nationales.


Couverture de la publication Les petites entreprises exportatrices canadiennes

La publication Petites entreprises exportatrices canadiennes - Juin 2011 est une édition spéciale des Principales statistiques relatives aux petites entreprises qui comprend trois sections. La première, Principales statistiques sur les exportations des petites entreprises, fournit de l'information sur les exportations par taille d'entreprise, par industrie, destination, province et par type de produits exportés. La deuxième section intitulée Profil de financement des petites et moyennes entreprises exportatrices, présente le profil des PME exportatrices, incluant leurs activités de financement et les obstacles perçus à la croissance. La troisième section se penche sur la Participation des PME aux chaînes de valeur mondiales.


Couverture de la publication Profil de croissance des entreprises canadiennes


La publication Profil de croissance des entreprises canadiennes- Janvier 2010 est une édition spéciale des Principales statistiques relatives aux petites entreprises qui examine la répartition des entreprises en fonction de leur taux de croissance (positif ou négatif) défini par l'emploi et le chiffre d'affaires. On fournit des analyses selon la taille de l'entreprise et l'industrie, ainsi que des emplois créés et le chiffre d'affaires enregistré. La section sur le nombre d'entreprises au Canada a été mise à jour.