Canvassing Committee to Enhance Global Recognition for Canadian Research Excellence



  • Howard Alper, Distinguished University Professor, University of Ottawa.


  • Julia Baum, Assistant Professor, University of Victoria.
  • Catherine Beaudry, Professor, Canada Research Chair in Creation, Development and Commercialization of Innovation, Polytechnique Montreal.
  • John Dirks, President and Scientific Director Emeritus, The Gairdner Foundation.
  • Colin Dodds, Former President, Saint Mary’s University.
  • Shana Kelley, Professor and Director, Division of Biomolecular Sciences, University of Toronto.
  • Jacques Ménard, Chairman of BMO Nesbitt Burns and President of BMO Financial Group.
  • Heather Munroe-Blum, Former Principal, McGill University.
  • Robert Prichard, Chair, Torys LLP.
  • Louis Taillefer, Professeur et Chaire de Recherche du Canada en matériaux quantiques, Université de Sherbrooke.


Terms of Reference for the Canvassing Committee to Enhance Global Recognition for Canadian Research Excellence

1. Objective

The objective of the Canvassing Committee (CC) is to identify potential outstanding candidates for major international awards.

2. Constitution

  1. The CC shall be composed of a minimum of five members.

  2. Members of the CC will be appointed by a sub-committee of the Committee to Enhance Canada's Success in International Awards/Prizes, chaired by the Governor General of Canada. This sub-committee will comprise the members of the Committee but exclude the Governor General, who will not participate in the selection process.

  3. Each member shall be appointed for a three-year term, with the possibility of renewal for a maximum of one term.

  4. The Chair of the CC will be selected from within the current membership of the Committee.

3. Duties and Responsibilities

  1. The CC will serve as talent scouts to identify highly meritorious candidates for nomination for major international awards in research.

  2. The CC will contact the leader of the institution where the candidate is employed to recommend that said institution consider nominating the candidate for a specific award; if a nomination is pursued, the interagency coordinator will help the relevant individuals at the institution with their preparation of the nomination by providing external reviews of the institutions' draft statements on major scholarly contributions.

4. Meetings

  1. The CC shall meet usually by teleconference, and sporadically in person, a minimum of twice a year.

5. Minutes and Reporting Responsibilities

  1. All recommendations by the CC shall be recorded by the Secretary of the CC, in the minutes of the meeting.

  2. The Chair of the CC will keep the group convened by His Excellency advised, reporting from time to time on its work and the candidates referred. 

6. Support to the Committee

  1. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada provides secretariat support for the CC's work.

7. Confidentiality

  1. All deliberations of the CC, and all records, material and information pertaining to the CC or obtained by a member of the CC shall be considered confidential.
Date modified: