Archived — Government of Canada Opens Up Wireless Industry to More Competition

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Ottawa, May 27, 2008—The Honourable Jim Prentice, Minister of Industry, today announced the opening of the bidding process for the Advanced Wireless Services (AWS) spectrum auction. This auction follows a commitment made by this government to enable more competition in the wireless market. A total of 105 megahertz (MHz) of radio spectrum will be open for bidding, which includes 40 MHz of AWS spectrum for new entrants and another 65 MHz of spectrum for all bidders.

"Our government's intentions are clear: to achieve lower prices, better service and more choice for consumers and business," said Minister Prentice. "We believe in relying on market forces to the maximum extent feasible because competition benefits consumers, and consumers benefit most when markets are as competitive as they can be."

The auction will unfold over many scheduled rounds. Bidding will occur electronically over the Internet using secure encryption technology. After each round of bidding is completed, the results will be made available to bidders and to the general public on the Industry Canada website. Successive rounds will be held until the cessation of all bidding activity, at which time the auction will close.

Following the close of the auction, winning bidders will be required to submit ownership and control documentation and to complete various payment transactions within 30 business days. Once these steps have been completed, Industry Canada will review the information submitted by each bidder and issue licences as appropriate.

Radio spectrum is the airwaves required for all wireless services, and it is a finite and valuable resource that is used by all Canadians. Since it is a limited national resource, it is the Government of Canada's responsibility to decide how it is to be managed in order to best meet the growing and diverse needs of Canadians.

Further details on the auction of spectrum licences for AWS can be found at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrumauctions.

For further information (media only), please contact:

Deirdra McCracken
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Jim Prentice
Minister of Industry
613-995-9001

Media Relations
Industry Canada
613-943-2502

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada ouvre le marché du sans-fil à une concurrence accrue

Ottawa, le 27 mai 2008 — L'honorable Jim Prentice, ministre de l'Industrie, a annoncé aujourd'hui l'ouverture du processus d'appel d'offres de la vente aux enchères du spectre réservé aux services sans fil évolués (SSFE). Cette vente aux enchères donne suite à un engagement du gouvernement selon lequel il hausserait la concurrence sur le marché du sans-fil. Au total, 105 mégahertz (MHz) du spectre des radiofréquences seront vendus aux enchères, dont 40 MHz du spectre réservé aux SSFE seront alloués aux nouveaux fournisseurs, et 65 MHz, à tous les soumissionnaires.

« Les objectifs de notre gouvernement sont clairs : offrir de meilleurs services à moindre coût et un plus vaste choix aux consommateurs et aux entreprises, a déclaré le ministre Prentice. Nous croyons qu'il faut nous en remettre aux forces du marché dans la plus grande mesure possible puisque la concurrence profite aux consommateurs, et que ces derniers tirent les meilleurs avantages lorsque la concurrence sur les marchés est à son plus haut niveau. »

La vente aux enchères sera composée de rondes multiples. Le dépôt des soumissions se fera électroniquement par le truchement d'Internet en recourant à une technologie de cryptage sécurisée. À l'issue de chaque ronde, les soumissionnaires et le grand public pourront prendre connaissance des résultats qui seront affichés sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada. Des rondes successives seront tenues jusqu'à la fin des activités de soumission, après quoi les enchères seront closes.

Une fois les enchères closes, les soumissionnaires retenus devront présenter les documents de droits de propriété et de contrôle requis, et effectuer diverses opérations de paiement en l'espace de 30 jours ouvrables. Lorsque ces étapes auront été complétées, Industrie Canada examinera les renseignements fournis par chaque soumissionnaire et procédera à l'octroi des licences comme il convient.

Le spectre des radiofréquences comprend les ondes que requiert tout service sans fil. Il s'agit d'une ressource limitée et précieuse dont se servent tous les Canadiens. Comme le spectre est une ressource nationale limitée, il incombe au gouvernement du Canada de décider de la façon dont il sera géré, et ce, afin de répondre le mieux possible aux besoins croissants et divers de la population canadienne.

Des détails au sujet de la vente aux enchères des licences du spectre réservé aux SSFE sont affichés à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/encheresduspectre.

Renseignements (médias seulement) :

Deirdra McCracken
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Jim Prentice
Ministre de l'Industrie
613-995-9001

Relations avec les médias
Industrie Canada
613-943-2502

Date de modification :