Overview of the Administration of the Investment Canada Act

The purpose of the Investment Canada Act (Act) is to review significant investments in Canada by non-Canadians to determine whether they are likely to be of net benefit to Canada, and to provide for the review of investments that could be injurious to national security.

Under the Act, when a foreign investor establishes a new Canadian business or acquires control of a Canadian business, the investor must file either an application for review or a notification.

An application for review is required where the book value of the assets of the Canadian business is equal to or above the established threshold. The threshold for review for direct acquisitions by investors from World Trade Organization (WTO) member countries is $330 million for 2012.

A notification is required in one of three situations: the establishment of a new Canadian business; where the assets of the Canadian business being acquired fall below the legislative threshold; or where the transaction is indirect, and a WTO investor proposes to acquire a foreign corporation that has subsidiaries in Canada.

Net Benefit:

Where an investment is subject to review under the Act, the Minister's approval is required prior to it proceeding. The Minister approves applications only where he is satisfied that a proposed investment is likely to be of net benefit to Canada. In making this determination, the Minister considers plans, undertakings and other information submitted by the investor in light of the six net benefit factors listed in section 20 of the Act:

  1. the effect of the investment on the level and nature of economic activity in Canada, including the effect on employment, on resource processing and on the utilization of parts, components and services produced in Canada;
  2. the degree and significance of participation by Canadians in the Canadian business;
  3. the effect of the investment on productivity, industrial efficiency, technological development, product innovation and product variety in Canada;
  4. the effect of the investment on competition within any industry or industries in Canada;
  5. the compatibility of the investment with national and provincial industrial, economic and cultural policies; and,
  6. the contribution of the investment to Canada's ability to compete in world markets.

Consultation:

Industry Canada consults with: the federal departments with policy responsibility for the industrial sector of the Canadian economy involved; the Competition Bureau; and affected provinces or territories. In addition, any person or group that has comments on a specific investment proposal can provide those views to the Minister in writing at any time during the review process.

Guidelines on State-Owned Enterprises

Since 2007, there have been Guidelines under the Act to clarify how it is applied to investors that are state-owned enterprises (SOEs). Under the Guidelines, an SOE is an enterprise that is owned, controlled or influenced – directly or indirectly – by a foreign government. The Guidelines clarify that, as part of the review, the Minister examines whether the investor adheres to Canadian standards of corporate governance and whether the Canadian business, if acquired, will continue to operate on a commercial basis.

Net Benefit Test Timelines:

The Minister has an initial 45 days to make a decision. This timeline begins on the date a full and complete application has been received. If required, the Minister can extend this period by 30 days. In addition, the Minister may send a notice to an investor that he is not satisfied that the investment will be of net benefit, and give the investor an additional 30-day notice to make further representations and/or submit undertakings. Further extensions require agreement of both the Minister and the investor. A review period (including extensions) refers to calendar days and the Minister's decision can be made at any time within the review period. Extensions are not unusual. http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html

Monitoring and Compliance:

The Act requires the investor to provide information to Industry Canada to determine compliance with plans and undertakings. Undertakings are legally binding commitments. The Administrative Guidelines under the Act indicate that an evaluation of the implementation of undertakings is ordinarily performed 18 months after an investment is implemented. Additional evaluations can be performed based on the performance of the investor and the duration of the undertakings.

In April 2012, changes were made to promote investor compliance with undertakings by allowing the Minister to accept security for payment of any penalties ordered by a court for a contravention of the Act. In addition, to establish an alternative to potentially costly and time-consuming litigation, formal mediation procedures were made available under the Act.

Performance is judged in the context of overall results. The Government has many tools at its disposal under the Act to ensure compliance with these undertakings, including mediation, the negotiation of new undertakings, and litigation, which could result in a court order imposing fines of up to $10,000/day, or requiring full or partial dissolution of the investment.

National Security Provisions:

The Government introduced national security provisions in the Act in 2009 to allow it to review proposed investments of any value that could be injurious to national security. As a result, the Governor in Council now has the authority to take any measures it considers necessary to protect national security. The Minister of Industry will be introducing amendments to provide greater flexibility, when it is considered necessary, to extend the time available to conduct national security reviews of proposed foreign investments. These extensions will only be used in exceptional circumstances.

Confidentiality:

The Act sets out strong protections for information obtained from an investor or a Canadian business. This protection is necessary to ensure that investors are comfortable with providing the Government all the information required to conduct a careful and thorough review, and to prevent harm to both investors and Canadian businesses. The confidentiality requirements are set out in Section 36 of the Act.

Decisions:

In determining whether a transaction is likely to be of net benefit to Canada, the Minister establishes a baseline against which to review a proposed transaction. To do so, he looks at the Canadian business, taking into account its likely prospects on a stand-alone basis, its key strengths, areas requiring improvement and the key business challenges it is facing.

The Minister then looks at what the foreign investor brings to the investment such as capital or expertise that is not accessible to the Canadian business, any legally enforceable undertakings and the investor's plans for the Canadian business.

This information is provided to the Minister by the Director of Investments and includes the investor's plans, written undertakings and other information, as well as representations from affected provinces and territories, the results of the consultations held with other federal government departments and any comments submitted in writing by Canadians.

The Minister considers both the positive and negative effects of a proposed investment in relation to each factor listed in Section 20 of the Act. The Act does not assign set weights to the factors nor does it indicate whether any factor is more important than another in the net benefit determination. As each transaction presents its unique features, the Minister examines proposed investments on a case-by-case basis and makes a decision based on the facts and merits of each proposed investment.

The decision about whether a proposed transaction is likely to be of net benefit to Canada is solely under the purview of the Minister of Industry.

Evolution of the Act:

The Act came into force in 1985. In 2006, as part of its long-term economic plan, Advantage Canada, the Government raised concerns about acquisitions of control by SOEs with non-commercial objectives and unclear corporate governance. This was followed by Guidelines on State-Owned Enterprises issued by the Minister of Industry in 2007 to clarify the factors taken into consideration in assessing the net benefit of investments by SOEs.

In 2009, in response to the Competition Policy Review Panel report, the Government introduced legislation to amend the Investment Canada Act and the Competition Act. A national security review mechanism was included, allowing the Government to review foreign investments that could be injurious to national security.

In 2009 and April 2012, the Government introduced transparency and enforcement provisions. These targeted improvements enhanced the Minister's ability to communicate information on the review process and promote investor compliance with undertakings.

The government also published an Annual Report in May 2012 on the Act's administration. Going forward, reports will be published yearly. In addition, the guidelines were issued to inform investors of voluntary mediation procedures to apply in cases where an investor's compliance with undertakings is in question.

In June 2012, the Government published proposed amendments to the Investment Canada Regulations in the Canada Gazette for public comment. These amendments are necessary to raise the threshold for net benefit reviews to $1 billion over a four-year period and change the basis of the threshold from asset value to enterprise value.

In December 2012, the Government made additional changes to the investment review process to ensure Canada continues to benefit from foreign investment. The Government revised the Guidelines for SOEs; clarified how proposed investments by SOEs are assessed under the Act; and announced it would proceed with legislative amendments to exclude SOE investors from the $1 billion net benefit threshold increase and to give the Minister the flexibility to extend the timelines for national security reviews, as necessary.

Aperçu de l'administration de la Loi sur Investissement Canada

L'objet de la Loi sur Investissement Canada (la Loi) est d'assurer un examen des investissements importants effectués au Canada par des non-Canadiens de manière à déterminer s'ils seraient vraisemblablement à l'avantage net du Canada, et d'examiner les investissements susceptibles de porter atteinte à la sécurité nationale.

En vertu de la Loi, les investisseurs étrangers qui constituent une nouvelle entreprise canadienne ou qui acquièrent le contrôle d'une entreprise canadienne doivent déposer une demande d'examen ou un avis d'investissement.

Une demande d'examen est requise lorsque la valeur comptable des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne faisant l'objet d'une acquisition est égale ou supérieure au seuil d'examen. Le seuil d'examen pour les acquisitions directes par des investisseurs de pays membres de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) s'établit à 330 millions de dollars pour l'année 2012.

Un avis d'investissement est requis dans l'une des trois situations suivantes : la constitution d'une nouvelle entreprise canadienne; l'acquisition d'une entreprise canadienne dont les actifs ont une valeur inférieure au seuil d'examen; ou une transaction indirecte en vertu de laquelle un investisseur d'un pays membre de l'OMC propose d'acquérir une société étrangère ayant des filiales au Canada.

Avantage net

Le ministre doit donner son approbation préalable à tout investissement assujetti à un examen en vertu de la Loi. Le ministre approuve une demande d'examen uniquement lorsqu'il est d'avis que l'investissement sera vraisemblablement à l'avantage net du Canada. Avant de se prononcer, le ministre examine les plans, les engagements et les autres informations soumises par l'investisseur, à la lumière des six facteurs liés à l'avantage net énumérés à l'article 20 de la Loi :

  1. l'effet de l'investissement sur le niveau et la nature de l'activité économique au Canada, notamment sur l'emploi, la transformation des ressources, l'utilisation de pièces et d'éléments produits et de services rendus au Canada et sur les exportations canadiennes;
  2. l'étendue et l'importance de la participation de Canadiens dans l'entreprise canadienne;
  3. l'effet de l'investissement sur la productivité, le rendement industriel, le progrès technologique, la création de produits nouveaux et la diversité des produits au Canada;
  4. l'effet de l'investissement sur la concurrence dans un ou plusieurs secteurs industriels au Canada;
  5. la compatibilité de l'investissement avec les politiques nationales et provinciales en matière industrielle, économique et culturelle;
  6. la contribution de l'investissement à la compétitivité canadienne sur les marchés mondiaux.

Consultation

Industrie Canada consulte les ministères fédéraux responsables du secteur industriel visé par l'investissement proposé, le Bureau de la concurrence, ainsi que les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux concernés. De plus, tout particulier ou groupe ayant des commentaires à l'égard d'une proposition d'investissement peut fournir ses observations par écrit au ministre en tout temps au cours du processus d'examen.

Lignes directrices concernant les sociétés d'État

En 2007, des lignes directrices ont été adoptées en vertu de la Loi afin de préciser comment cette dernière s'applique aux investisseurs qui sont des sociétés d'État (SE). Pour les fins de ces lignes directrices, une SE est une société possédée, contrôlée ou influencée, directement ou indirectement, par un gouvernement étranger. Ces lignes directrices stipulent que, dans le cadre de son examen, le ministre doit déterminer si l'investisseur respecte les normes canadiennes de gouvernance d'entreprise et si l'entreprise canadienne continuerait à fonctionner sur une base commerciale à la suite de l'acquisition.

Délais pour la détermination relative à l'avantage net

Le ministre dispose de 45 jours à compter de la date à laquelle il reçoit une demande d'examen complète pour déterminer s'il y a lieu de permettre l'investissement. Le ministre peut ajouter 30 jours à ce délai au besoin. Le ministre peut également envoyer un avis à l'investisseur pour l'informer qu'il n'est pas d'avis que l'investissement proposé sera à l'avantage net du Canada et pour donner à l'investisseur 30 jours de plus pour fournir de l'information supplémentaire ou prendre de nouveaux engagements. D'autres prolongations peuvent s'appliquer si l'investisseur et le ministre s'entendent tous deux à ce sujet. La période d'examen, y compris toute prolongation, est calculée en fonction des jours civils. Le ministre peut rendre sa décision en tout temps au cours de la période d'examen. Il n'est pas inhabituel de prolonger la période d'examen. http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html

Surveillance et conformité

Les investisseurs sont tenus par la Loi de fournir de l'information à Industrie Canada afin de démontrer qu'ils se conforment à leurs plans et engagements. Les engagements ont une force obligatoire. Les lignes directrices administratives en vertu de la Loi prévoient la tenue d'une évaluation de la mise en œuvre des engagements habituellement 18 mois après la réalisation d'un investissement. D'autres évaluations peuvent s'ajouter selon le degré de conformité de l'investisseur et la durée de mise en œuvre des engagements.

En avril 2012, des modifications ont été apportées à la Loi dans le but d'inciter les investisseurs à respecter leurs engagements en autorisant le ministre à accepter les garanties de paiement offertes par un investisseur à l'égard de toute pénalité imposée par une cour dans le cas d'une violation de la Loi. De plus, une ligne directrice de médiation a été émise en vertu de la Loi afin de mettre en place une option de résolution des différends moins coûteuse et moins longue que le recours aux tribunaux.

Le respect des engagements est évalué en fonction des résultats d'ensemble. Le gouvernement dispose d'une variété de recours en vertu de la Loi pour faire en sorte qu'un investisseur respecte ses engagements. Le gouvernement peut notamment recourir à la médiation, négocier de nouveaux engagements avec l'investisseur, ou intenter des recours judiciaires. Ces recours judiciaires peuvent mener à une ordonnance du tribunal imposant une amende maximale de 10 000 $ par jour ou exigeant la dissolution entière ou partielle de l'investissement.

Dispositions sur la sécurité nationale

En 2009, le gouvernement a ajouté à la Loi des dispositions sur la sécurité nationale prévoyant l'examen d'investissements proposés, sans égard à leur valeur, susceptibles de porter atteinte à la sécurité nationale. Le gouverneur en conseil peut donc désormais prendre, à l'égard d'un investissement, toute mesure jugée nécessaire pour protéger la sécurité nationale. Le ministre de l'Industrie déposera également des modifications autorisant, au besoin, une prolongation additionnelle des délais pour les examens de sécurité nationale des investissements étrangers proposés. Ces prolongations seront réservées à des cas d'exception.

Confidentialité

La Loi comprend des mesures strictes pour protéger l'information fournie au gouvernement par un investisseur ou une entreprise canadienne. Cette protection est nécessaire pour que les investisseurs n'hésitent pas à fournir au gouvernement toute l'information nécessaire à la tenue d'un examen minutieux et approfondi, et pour éviter tout préjudice à l'investisseur étranger ou à l'entreprise canadienne. Ces exigences se trouvent à l'article 36 de la Loi.

Décisions

Lorsqu'il est appelé à déterminer si une transaction serait vraisemblablement à l'avantage net du Canada, le ministre établit en premier lieu une base de référence à partir de laquelle il examinera la transaction proposée. Pour ce faire, le ministre examine l'entreprise canadienne, en tenant compte de ses perspectives de façon autonome, de ses points forts, de ses défis et des aspects à améliorer.

Le ministre prend ensuite en compte ce que l'investisseur étranger apporte au point de vue de l'investissement (par exemple, s'il fournit du capital ou une expertise que l'entreprise canadienne ne peut obtenir autrement), les engagements exécutoires de l'investisseur, ainsi que ses plans pour l'entreprise canadienne.

Le directeur des investissements soumet au ministre les plans, les engagements écrits et les renseignements supplémentaires de l'investisseur, les observations des provinces et des territoires touchés par la transaction, les résultats des consultations tenues avec d'autres ministères fédéraux, ainsi que les observations écrites fournies par des Canadiens.

Le ministre tient compte des effets tant positifs que négatifs de l'investissement proposé à l'égard de chacun des facteurs énumérés à l'article 20 de la Loi. La Loi n'accorde aucune valeur prédéterminée aux facteurs et elle n'indique pas non plus le degré d'importance d'un facteur par rapport à un autre dans le cadre d'une décision concernant l'avantage net. Étant donné le caractère unique de chaque transaction, le ministre examine les investissements proposés au cas par cas et prend sa décision en s'appuyant sur les faits et les mérites de chaque investissement proposé.

Évolution de la Loi

La Loi est entrée en vigueur en 1985. En 2006, dans le cadre de son plan économique à long terme Avantage Canada, le gouvernement a soulevé des préoccupations au sujet des prises de contrôle d'entreprises canadiennes par des SE ayant d'autres objectifs que le commerce et ayant une gouvernance diffuse. En 2007, le ministre de l'Industrie a publié les Lignes directrices sur les investissements au Canada par des sociétés d'État étrangères afin de préciser les facteurs à examiner pour déterminer si un investissement proposé par une SE serait vraisemblablement à l'avantage net du Canada.

En 2009, afin de donner suite au rapport du Groupe d'étude sur les politiques en matière de concurrence, le gouvernement a déposé un projet de loi modifiant la Loi sur Investissement Canada. Ces modifications autorisent le gouvernement à examiner les investissements étrangers susceptibles de porter atteinte à la sécurité nationale.

Le gouvernement a aussi apporté des modifications en matière de transparence et d'application de la Loi en 2009 et de nouveau en avril 2012. Ces améliorations ciblées ont doté le ministre de l'Industrie d'une plus grande capacité de communiquer publiquement des renseignements au sujet du processus d'examen et ont incité les investisseurs à respecter leurs engagements.

En mai 2012, le gouvernement a publié un rapport annuel sur l'administration de la Loi. Le gouvernement publiera dorénavant un tel rapport chaque année. La ligne directrice relative à la médiation a par ailleurs été rendue publique afin d'informer les investisseurs de ces nouvelles procédures auxquelles on pourrait recourir dans les cas où le respect des engagements d'un investisseur est mis en doute.

En juin 2012, le gouvernement a publié dans la Gazette du Canada un projet de modification au Règlement sur Investissement Canada afin d'obtenir les commentaires du public. Ces modifications sont nécessaires afin de pouvoir augmenter le seuil d'examen des investissements à 1 milliard de dollars sur quatre ans et remplacer la base de calcul de ce seuil, qui était la valeur des actifs, par la valeur d'affaire.

En décembre 2012, le gouvernement a effectué des changements additionnels au processus d'examen des investissements étrangers dans le but de permettre au Canada de continuer à profiter de ces investissements. Le gouvernement a révisé les lignes directrices applicables aux SE; a précisé la manière dont les investissements proposés par les SE sont évalués en vertu de la Loi; et a annoncé qu'il déposerait des modifications législatives pour exclure les SE investisseuses de l'augmentation du seuil de l'avantage net à 1 milliard de dollars et pour donner au ministre la souplesse requise pour prolonger les délais des examens de sécurité nationale, au besoin.