National Security

In 2009, the Government introduced legislation to amend the Investment Canada Act. One of the amendments was a national security review mechanism, which allows the Government to review foreign investments that could be injurious to Canada's interests and take any measures it considers necessary to protect national security.

Potential threats to national security are identified through the ongoing activities of Canada's security and intelligence community. Where the Minister has reasonable grounds to believe that an investment could be injurious to national security, he or she may recommend to the Governor in Council (GiC) that a review be ordered.

Following the review, if the Minister believes, or is unable to determine whether the investment would be injurious to national security, he or she must refer the investment to the GiC, together with a report of his or her findings and with recommendations on the review.

Once the Minister has done so, the GiC has the authority to take a decision in which it may, by order, take any measure it considers advisable to protect national security. The Minister is required to send a copy of the order to the investor or the Canadian business.

Reviews for national security can be complex and require careful consideration. The proposed amendments will give the Minister of Industry the flexibility, when necessary, to extend the time available to conduct national security reviews of proposed foreign investments. This new flexibility will allow the Government to conduct careful and thorough reviews to ensure it is protecting Canadian interests. The extensions will only be used in exceptional circumstances.

Sécurité nationale

En 2009, le gouvernement a apporté des modifications à la Loi sur Investissement Canada. Il a notamment ajouté à la Loi des dispositions autorisant le gouvernement à examiner les investissements étrangers qui pourraient porter atteinte à la sécurité nationale et à prendre toute mesure qu'il estime indiquée pour préserver la sécurité nationale.

Les menaces potentielles à la sécurité nationale sont décelées par les organismes canadiens de la sécurité et du renseignement. Dans les cas où le ministre a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'un investissement pourrait porter atteinte à la sécurité nationale, il peut recommander au gouverneur en conseil d'ordonner un examen de l'investissement.

À la suite de cet examen, le ministre est tenu de renvoyer la question au gouverneur en conseil et de lui présenter ses conclusions et recommandations s'il est convaincu que l'investissement porterait atteinte à la sécurité nationale ou s'il n'est pas en mesure d'établir si l'investissement porterait atteinte à la sécurité nationale.

Le gouverneur en conseil peut ensuite prendre par décret toute mesure qu'il estime indiquée pour préserver la sécurité nationale. Le ministre fait parvenir une copie du décret à l'investisseur ou à l'entreprise canadienne.

Les examens de sécurité nationale peuvent être complexes et nécessitent une étude minutieuse. Les modifications proposées donneront au ministre de l'Industrie la souplesse nécessaire pour prolonger, au besoin, les délais des examens de sécurité nationale des investissements étrangers proposés. Le gouvernement sera ainsi en mesure de mener des examens minutieux et approfondis afin de protéger pleinement les intérêts canadiens. Ces prolongations seront réservées à des cas d'exception.