Address to the Vancouver Board of Trade: It's time for free and open trade in Canada

Transcript: Address to the Vancouver Board of Trade: It's time for free and open trade in Canada

(Music)

(Industry Canada signature and Canada wordmark)

Onscreen text:
Free and Open Trade in Canada
Address to the Vancouver Board of Trade

(Inset video of Minister Moore addressing the audience. Canadian and British Columbia flags are on both sides of a podium. A sign on the podium reads "Jobs and Opportunities." The backdrop is a blue panel with the Vancouver Board of Trade name and logo repeated.)

(Shots of audience members mingling. Minister Moore approaches the podium.)

Voice of female host:
Please join me in welcoming Minister James Moore.

(Applause)

(Minister Moore stands behind the podium. From time to time during the Minister's speech, we see the audience's reactions.)

Hon. James Moore: Thank you very much for the kind and generous introduction. I certainly very much appreciate that.

Onscreen text:
The Honourable James Moore
Minister of Industry

Since 2006, our government has pursued the most aggressive free trade agenda that any government in this country's history has seen.

Today, we have free trade agreements with 43 countries, and the sad reality is that today, we provide greater trade benefits to foreigners who want to do business east-west within the country under legal protection than we provide for Canadians who want to do business within Canada on an east-west axis.

We have too many trade barriers to commerce, trade mobility and to growth within Canada.

For example—Iain touched on it—try driving a transport truck across this country and you'll soon discover what the problem is. Provinces have different rules on truck weights and dimensions, various requirements for sizes of tires. Fuels are different in every province in this country.

We are the second largest country in the world in size. We try to do commerce all across this country, and yet we don't have basic transportation standards nationalized and harmonized across this country.

This leads to firms focusing their economic growth plans on a north-south axis, not on an east-west axis. And as a result, we hinder their economic growth and we hurt Canada's economic integration.

So Canada, in my view, needs a far more aggressive and bold policy framework to break down trade barriers within Canada. Foreign firms operating in Canada should not have a systemic advantage over Canadian firms that are operating in Canada.

I put forward a position paper [on] the Government of Canada website, all the usual social media stuff, to make the argument and to push forward, so that we do take advantage of this opportunity.

Let's allow Canadians to do business within this country.

The Province of Ontario is coming to the Government of Canada, and we're partnering with them, and we're expanding our free trade agreement with the United States. We're moving with the Atlantic provinces on a labour agreement within Atlantic Canada to get people moving around and energize the economy there. And we have the New West Partnership, which is having some successes, but we want them all to be more ambitious as we move forward.

So I'm here, as I said in the beginning, to in part ask you for your help because it's one thing for a group of politicians to talk to each other, but I've been incredibly thankful that John and Iain and others in the business community all across British Columbia and all across Canada have stood up and lent their voices to this push for more free trade within Canada because we can get this done, we can move forward and we can realize this goal.

And I've spoken to chambers of Commerce all across this country over the past six months on this file from Regina to St. John's. I've been all across this country pushing and fighting for this because I need all of your help. I need all of you to stand up and push for this.

As I said, the job of Confederation is not done. Uniting this country politically, socially and economically is not done. And what's next is this. What's next is as we go forward to 2017 and we head into our 150th birthday, that we actually do cement these ties, that these ties actually do matter and they do get realized and that we are creating jobs in every part of this country.

Thank you for your time. 

(Applause)

(Iain Black, President and CEO of the Vancouver Board of Trade appears. He is standing in front of a Canadian flag and a Vancouver Board of Trade backdrop.)

Onscreen text:
Iain Black
The Vancouver Board of Trade

Iain Black: The message of Minister Moore today is one that the members of the Vancouver Board of Trade have been waiting to hear for an awfully long time. The fact that there is between $14 and $20 billion a year left on the table economically because we as Canadians can't do business seamlessly with each other without the same standards, without the same regulations and without an absolutely barrier-free mode of commerce is actually embarrassing for a G7 country. And it is so important that this issue gets the profile that it needs, it gets the support of the business community from coast to coast to coast to once and for all turn the page on what has been a good start over 20 years but that actually will move us forward. These efforts must move us forward into a situation where we no longer have to talk about internal barriers amongst the provinces because we will be truly united as a country economically the way we are at the moment with everyone outside of our national borders.

(Industry Canada signature and Canada wordmark)

End of transcript

Related products

Date modified:

Allocution à la Chambre de commerce de Vancouver : Pour un commerce intérieur libre et ouvert au Canada

Transcription : Allocution à la Chambre de commerce de Vancouver : Pour un commerce intérieur libre et ouvert au Canada

(Musique)

(Signature d'Industrie Canada et mot-symbole « Canada »)

Texte à l'écran :
Un commerce libre et ouvert au Canada
Allocution prononcée devant la Chambre de commerce de Vancouver

(Vidéo de l'allocution du ministre Moore. Les drapeaux du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique entourent le podium. Une affiche sur le podium porte l'inscription : « Emplois et possibilités ». Le nom et le logo de la Cambre de commerce de Vancouver sont répétés sur une toile de fond bleue)

(Images de membres de l'auditoire discutant. Le ministre Moore s'approche du podium.)

Voix de la présentatrice :
Veuillez vous joindre à moi pour accueillir le ministre James Moore.

(Applaudissements)

(Le ministre Moore se tient derrière le podium. Pendant l'allocution du ministre, la caméra se tourne parfois vers l'auditoire)

L'honorable James Moore : Merci de cette aimable présentation. Je vous en suis très reconnaissant.

Texte à l'écran :
L'honorable James Moore
Ministre de l'Industrie

Comme vous le savez, le programme que s'est donné notre gouvernement depuis 2006 en matière de libre-échange est l'un des plus ambitieux de l'histoire de notre pays.

Le Canada a conclu des accords de libre-échange avec 43 autres pays. Toutefois, la triste réalité est que nous accordons des avantages commerciaux plus grands aux étrangers qui veulent faire des affaires sur l'axe est-ouest de notre pays qu'aux Canadiens qui veulent faire du commerce intérieur sur le même axe.

Les obstacles au commerce, à la mobilité de la main-d'œuvre et à la croissance sont encore trop nombreux à l'intérieur du Canada.

Par exemple, comme l'a mentionné Iain, essayez de traverser le pays au volant d'un camion de transport, et le problème vous sautera aux yeux. Les provinces n'ont pas toutes la même réglementation pour ce qui est du poids et de la dimension des camions, ni les mêmes exigences pour la taille des pneus. Les carburants ne sont pas non plus les mêmes d'une province à l'autre.

Le Canada est le deuxième pays au monde pour ce qui est de la superficie. Nous voulons faire des échanges commerciaux d'un océan à l'autre, mais nous ne disposons pas de normes élémentaires de transport uniformes à l'échelle nationale.

Cette situation pousse les entreprises à adopter des plans de croissance économique basés sur un axe nord-sud plutôt qu'est-ouest, ce qui nuit à leur essor économique et à l'intégration économique du Canada.

Le Canada, à mon avis, doit se doter d'un cadre stratégique beaucoup plus rigoureux et ambitieux pour éliminer les obstacles au commerce intérieur au Canada. Les sociétés étrangères qui exercent leurs activités au Canada ne devraient pas profiter d'un avantage systémique sur les sociétés canadiennes qui font affaire ici.

J'ai publié une déclaration de principes sur le site Web du gouvernement du Canada et dans les médias sociaux dans le but de faire valoir ce point, de faire avancer le dossier et de nous permettre de tirer profit de cette occasion.

Permettons aux Canadiens faire des échanges commerciaux à l'intérieur du pays.

Le gouvernement provincial de l'Ontario a fait des démarches auprès du gouvernement du Canada, et nous avons conclu des partenariats avec eux. Nous avons également élargi notre accord de libre-échange avec les États-Unis. Nous travaillons aussi avec les provinces de l'Atlantique à une entente visant à faciliter la mobilité de la main-d'œuvre et à revitaliser l'économie de la région. Nous disposons en outre de l'Accord commercial du nouveau partenariat de l'Ouest, qui connaît un certain succès, mais nous voulons pousser encore plus loin toutes ces initiatives.

Si je suis ici aujourd'hui, comme je l'ai mentionné plus tôt, c'est en partie pour vous demander votre aide. Cet enjeu ne doit pas seulement faire l'objet de discussions au sein d'un groupe de politiciens. Je suis extrêmement reconnaissant envers John et Iain et envers les autres membres du milieu des affaires de toute la Colombie-Britannique et du reste du Canada des démarches qu'ils ont faites pour demander la libéralisation du commerce intérieur au pays, parce que nous pouvons y arriver, nous pouvons aller de l'avant et nous pouvons réaliser notre objectif.

Je parcours le pays depuis six mois pour discuter de ce dossier avec les membres de plusieurs chambres de commerce au pays, de Regina à St. John's, et pour obtenir leur appui. Nous devons faire front commun pour faire avancer ce projet.

Comme je l'ai mentionné, il reste encore beaucoup à faire pour vivre l'esprit de la Confédération. L'union politique, sociale et économique du Canada n'est pas achevée. La prochaine étape est claire. En 2017, nous allons souligner le 150e anniversaire du Canada. Il est l'heure de resserrer les liens qui nous unissent, car ces liens revêtent une importance capitale. Il faut y croire et continuer de créer des emplois d'un bout à l'autre du pays.

Merci de m'avoir accordé votre temps.

(Applaudissements)

(Iain Black, président et chef de la direction de la Chambre de commerce de Vancouver, prend la parole. Il se tient devant le drapeau du Canada et d'une toile de fond représentative de la Chambre de commerce de Vancouver.)

Texte à l'écran :
Iain Black
Chambre de commerce de Vancouver

Iain Black : Le message transmis aujourd'hui par le ministre Moore aux membres de la Chambre de commerce de Vancouver était vivement attendu depuis de nombreuses années. Notre pays enregistre chaque année des pertes économiques de 14 et 20 milliards de dollars parce que nos échanges commerciaux intérieurs manquent de fluidité, et que nous ne disposons pas de normes et de règlements uniformes et d'un climat de libre échange sans obstacle. Cette situation est franchement embarrassante pour un pays du G-7. Il est important de donner à ce dossier la visibilité voulue, d'obtenir le soutien des gens d'affaires d'un océan à l'autre et de trouver des solutions, une fois pour toutes. Les démarches commencées il y a plus de vingt ans sont un bon départ, mais il faut aller de l'avant. Il est temps de clore les discussions entourant les obstacles internes entre les provinces et d'établir l'unité économique au sein de notre pays. Nous avons déjà conclu des accords avec plusieurs pays étrangers, il faut maintenant le faire sur notre propre territoire.

(Signature d'Industrie Canada et mot-symbole « Canada »)

Fin de la transcription

Produits connexes

Date de modification :