Policy on Title to Intellectual Property Arising Under Crown Procurement Contracts

Contents

  1. Effective date
  2. Application
  3. Context
  4. Definitions
  5. Policy statement
  6. Policy Requirements
  7. Consequences
  8. Roles and Responsibilities of Industry Canada
  9. References
  10. Enquiries

1. Effective date

  • 1.1 This Policy will take effect on April 1, 2015.
  • 1.2 It replaces the Treasury Board Policy on Title to Intellectual Property Arising under Crown Procurement Contracts (dated October 1, 2000).

top of page

2. Application

  • 2.1 This Policy applies to all departments listed in Schedules I, I.1 and II of the Financial Administration Act (FAA), with the exception of the Canada Revenue Agency. It also applies to a Commission established pursuant to the Inquiries Act that is designated as a department for the purposes of the FAA through an Order in Council.
  • 2.2 Section 6.4 & 7 on monitoring compliance and consequences for non-compliance do not apply with respect to the Office of the Auditor General, the Office of the Privacy Commissioner, the Office of the Information Commissioner, the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, the Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying, the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages, the Office of the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner, the Office of the Communications Security Establishment Commissioner, the Public Prosecution Service Canada and commissions established pursuant to the Inquiries Act. The deputy heads of these organizations are solely responsible for monitoring and ensuring compliance with this Policy within their organizations, as well as for responding to cases of non-compliance in accordance with any Treasury Board instruments providing principles and guidance on the management of compliance.
  • 2.3 This Policy applies to Foreground Intellectual Property (IP):Intellectual Property first conceived, developed, produced or reduced to practice as part of the work under a Crown Procurement Contract.
  • 2.4 This Policy does not affect:

  • existing ownership rights of the Crown, the Contractor, or a third party to their respective Background IP;
  • IP ownership rights between the Contractor and any of its subcontractors, except that the Contractor shall be required to obtain from its subcontractors those ownership or licence rights that the Contractor agrees, in the Crown Procurement Contract, to provide to the Crown.
  • 2.5 This Policy does not apply to:

  • the sale, transfer or disposal of existing Crown-owned IP, as the Policy deals only with the IP generated under a Crown Procurement Contract;
  • the ownership of, or the right to use, any trademarks or trade names;
  • contractual arrangements, including but not limited to, collaborative research agreements or Memoranda of Understanding (MOUs);
  • prototypes or any other physical embodiments of intellectual creation that may be deliverables of a Crown Procurement Contract;
  • personal information as defined under the Privacy Act or to Foreground IP in any compilation or database containing personal information or Crown-supplied information, if thatForeground IP cannot be exploited without using that personal information or Crown-supplied information.

top of page

3. Context

  • 3.1 For the purposes of this Policy, IP includes any rights resulting from intellectual activity in the industrial, scientific, literary, or artistic fields including all intellectual creation legally protected through patents, copyright, industrial design, integrated circuit topography, and plant breeders' rights, or subject to protection under the law as trade secrets and confidential information.
  • 3.2 The objective of Crown Procurement Contracts is to acquire goods and services and to carry out construction in a manner that enhances access, competition and fairness and results in the best value or, if appropriate, the optimal balance of overall benefits to the Crown and the Canadian people. As part of this commitment, the Government of Canada has made specific provisions for social and economic development objectives to be pursued.
  • 3.3 The Government of Canada believes that Commercial Exploitation of IP contributes to economic growth and job creation, and that such exploitation is best achieved by the private sector.
  • 3.4 This Policy does not require that departments compromise their operations (e.g. being tied into a sole source situation or accept too narrow a licence to allow the full use of the Foreground IP), but rather allows the federal government to seek licenses broad enough to permit the Crown to use the IP.
  • 3.5 This Policy is issued under the authority of section 7 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA).
  • 3.6 This Policy is to be read in conjunction with the Policy Framework for the Management of Assets and Acquired Services.
  • 3.7 Additional mandatory requirements are set out in the Contracting Policy.

top of page

4. Definitions

For the purposes of this Policy:

"Background IP" (« Acquis »)
means all Intellectual Property that is not Foreground IP.
"Commercial Exploitation" (« Exploitation commerciale »)
means any use, modification, transformation and/or dissemination of the Foreground IP that generates, or is intended to generate, revenues.
"Contracting Department" (« Autorité contractante »)
means the Department entering into a Crown Procurement Contract.
"Contractor"
(« Entrepreneur ») means any party or parties, collectively, to a Crown Procurement Contract not defined as the Crown.
"Crown" (« État, la Couronne ou Sa Majesté »)
means Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, including departmental corporations as defined in the Financial Administration Act.
"Crown Procurement Contract" (« Marché conclu avec l'État »)
means a 'contract' as defined in the Treasury Board Contracting Policy.
"Deputy Head" (« Sous-ministre »)
means the deputy head, the chairperson, the president or other chief executive officer of a Responsible Department and any person having the appropriate capacity to act on her or his behalf.
"Deputy Head of a Contracting Department" (« Sous-ministre de l'Autorité contractante »)
means the deputy head, the chairperson, the president or other chief executive officer of a Contracting Department and any person having the appropriate capacity to act on her or his behalf.
"Foreground IP" (« Élément original »)
means IP first conceived, developed, produced or reduced to practice as part of the work under a Crown Procurement Contract.
"Intellectual Property" (« Propriété intellectuelle »)
means for the purposes of this policy, any rights resulting from intellectual activity in the industrial, scientific, literary, or artistic fields including all intellectual creation legally protected through patents, copyright, industrial design, integrated circuit topography, and plant breeders' rights, or subject to protection under the law as trade secrets and confidential information. Intellectual Property does not include prototypes or any other physical embodiments of intellectual creation when such physical embodiments are deliverables of a Crown Procurement Contract. Please see the Implementation Guide – Policy on Title to Intellectual Property Arising Under Crown Procurement Contracts for more information.
"Responsible Department" (« Ministère responsable »)
means the Department for which good(s) and/or service(s) are being acquired under the Crown Procurement Contract.

top of page

5. Policy statement

5.1 Objective

The objective of this Policy is to enhance Canada's economic growth by increasing commercialization of Intellectual Property. To this end, the contractor is to own the rights to Foreground Intellectual Property created as a result of a Crown Procurement Contract. This default position is subject to exceptions and exemption found in Appendix A.

5.2 Expected results

  • When the Contractor generates IP under a Crown Procurement Contract, they have an opportunity to own and commercialize the Foreground IP.
  • When the Crown's intended use of the Foreground IP requires ownership of the IP, the Crown has the opportunity to take sole ownership, either through exceptions or the Treasury Board Exemption provided in Appendix A.
  • When the Crown's intended use of the IP can be met through licence arrangements, it has the opportunity to seek the needed licence(s) whether broad or narrow.
  • Responsible Departments have improved clarity in IP ownership decision-making.
  • Roles, responsibilities and accountabilities for the management of IP generated under a Crown Procurement Contract are clearly defined and understood by all departments.

top of page

6. Policy Requirements

  • 6.1 Deputy Heads or their designates are accountable to establish an effective approach for the implementation of this Policy within their respective departments by:

    • 6.1.1 ensuring the proper management of Foreground IP arising from Crown Procurement Contracts by having the Contractor be the owner of any Foreground IP, subject to the exceptions and exemption in Appendix A; and ensuring that the potential for commercial exploitation is identified.
    • 6.1.2 ensuring that documentation on Foreground IP ownership decisions is complete and consistent with the Policy;
    • 6.1.3 ensuring that adequate resources are allocated to the orientation and training of personnel regarding their implementation of the Policy.
  • 6.2 The Deputy Head of the Contracting Department is responsible for:

    • 6.2.1 ensuring the Contract terms are consistent with the objective of this Policy;
    • 6.2.2 ensuring the appropriate licensing of IP as detailed in Appendix B;
    • 6.2.3 ensuring that departmental data on IP ownership and potential "commercial exploitation" is accurate and is submitted in a timely manner to Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC), and to ensure that reporting responsibilities on policy compliance are met, as requested by the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS).
  • 6.3 Deputy heads or their designates are responsible for ensuring that managers:

  • 6.4 Monitoring and Reporting Requirements

    • 6.4.1 Deputy heads are responsible for:
      • 6.4.1.1 monitoring decisions on ownership of the Foreground IP made by departmental staff;
      • 6.4.1.2 monitoring compliance with this Policy within their department and taking corrective action as needed.
  • 6.5 IC is responsible for:

    • 6.5.1 summarizing the annual statistical report on ownership of IP generated under a Crown procurement contract and its potential "commercial exploitation", identifying any TB exemptions claimed by departments and notifying the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS), in order for TBS to verify if such exemptions were actually granted;
    • 6.5.2 sharing the findings from the aforementioned annual statistical report with members of the Assistant Deputy Minister Committee on Science and Technology (ADMCST);
    • 6.5.3 establishing a framework for the review of this Policy and ensuring that a review is initiated within five years of the effective date of this Policy.
  • 6.6 TBS is responsible for:

    • 6.6.1 verifying if TB exemptions were actually granted and informing IC. In cases where TB exemptions were not granted, TBS will assist IC in follow-up with the department(s) as necessary.
  • 6.7 PWGSC is responsible for:

    • 6.7.1 producing an annual statistical report on ownership of IP generated under a Crown Procurement Contract and its potential "commercial exploitation". PWGSC must provide this report to IC and TBS.

top of page

7. Consequences

Deputy heads or their designates are responsible for ensuring that corrective actions are taken to address significant issues of non-compliance with this Policy.


top of page

8. Roles and Responsibilities of Industry Canada

As per the Department of Industry Act, the powers, duties and functions of the Minister extend to and include all matters relating to patents, copyrights, trade-marks, industrial designs and integrated circuit topographies. IC plays a role in sponsoring, overseeing and administering this Policy and will undertake activities assigned to it under this Policy


top of page

9. References

9.1 Relevant legislation

9.2 Related Policies/Publications:

10. Enquiries

For questions on this Policy instrument, please contact Industry Canada Web Services Centre at 1-800-328-6189.


top of page

Appendix A – Exceptions to Contractor Ownership and Treasury Board Exemption

By default, the Contractor is to own the Foreground IP arising under Crown Procurement Contracts, unless the Crown claims one of the exceptions listed below, or applies for a TB exemption from this Policy through a TB Submission. Under the Crown Procurement Contract, the Crown may claim ownership of the Foreground IP for the following reasons (please see Implementation Guide for further details, and for model clauses consistent with this Policy):

  1. National security.
  2. Where statutes, regulations or prior obligations of the Crown to a third party or parties preclude Contractor ownership of the Foreground IP.
  3. When the Contractor declares in writing that he/she is not interested in owning the Foreground IP.
  4. Where the main purpose of the Crown Procurement Contract, or the deliverables contracted for, is:

    • 4.1 To generate knowledge and information for public dissemination.
    • 4.2 To augment an existing body of Crown Background as a prerequisite to the transfer of the expanded Background to the private sector, through licensing or assignment of ownership (not necessarily to the original contractor), for the purposes of Commercial Exploitation.
    • 4.3 To deliver a not-yet fully developed component or subsystem that will be incorporated into a complete system at a later date, as a prerequisite to the planned transfer of the complete system to the private sector, through licensing or assignment of ownership, for the purposes of Commercial Exploitation.
  5. Where the Foreground IP consists of material subject to copyright, with the exception of computer software and all documentation pertaining to that software.
  6. Unused.
  7. Unused.
  8. Treasury Board Exemption

    The Crown may take ownership of Intellectual Property in circumstances where it is justified but not provided for in one of the exceptions listed above, and the Responsible Department has, in collaboration with the Contracting Department, sought and obtained Treasury Board approval for such an exemption. Prior to seeking an exemption, it is important to consider whether Foreground IP ownership is necessary, or if a license would suffice.


top of page

Appendix B – Licensing Intellectual Property

Contractor ownership of Foreground IP does not preclude the Crown from using the Foreground IP, provided that the Crown obtains a royalty-free licence to have the right to use, or have used by a third party, the Foreground IP owned by the Contractor. The contractor shall be required to obtain from its subcontractors those ownership or licence rights that the Contractor agrees, in the Crown Procurement Contract, to provide to the Crown. Examples of the licensing provisions for such situations can be found in the Model Clauses (Implementation Guide – Policy on Title to Intellectual Property Arising Under Crown Procurement Contracts).

Contractor Owned Intellectual Property

  • When the Contractor takes ownership of the Foreground IP, the Policy allows the Crown to require the Contractor to provide it with a royalty-free license to exercise all IP rights in the Foreground for government activities except commercial exploitation.
  • The Crown may require the Contractor to carry out commercial exploitation of the Foreground IP in Canada and/or within a specific period of time, to the extent that the requirement is consistent with Canada's trade agreement obligations. The detailed requirements can be specified in the contract or in a separate agreement between the Crown and the Contractor.

Crown Owned Intellectual Property

  • When the Crown takes ownership of the Foreground IP through the use of exceptions in Sections 4.2 or 4.3, any Foreground IP licence the Crown grants a Contractor, other than a licence to the final completed product, must be royalty-free. When the Crown takes ownership through the use of any other exception, the Crown may require royalties for the licence.
  • When the Contractor requires the use of the Crown's Foreground IP, the Contractor has 30 working days to make a request in writing for the licence, following contract completion. The Crown may also grant a licence to the Contractor for the Contractor's use of the Crown's Background IP. While the Crown has the right to refuse such requests, it must provide an explanation in writing for the refusal within a reasonable period of time.
Date modified:

Politique sur les droits de propriété intellectuelle issus de marchés conclus avec l’État

Table des matières

  1. Date d'entrée en vigueur
  2. Application de la politique
  3. Contexte
  4. Définitions
  5. Énoncé de la politique
  6. Exigences de la politique
  7. Conséquences
  8. Rôles et responsabilités d'Industrie Canada
  9. Références
  10. Enquêtes

1. Date d'entrée en vigueur

  • 1.1 La présente politique entrera en vigueur le 1er avril 2015. 
  • 1.2 Elle remplace la Politique sur le titre de propriété intellectuelle découlant des marchés d'acquisition de l'État du Conseil du Trésor (datée du 1er octobre 2000).

haut de la page

2. Application de la politique

  • 2.1 La présente politique s'applique à tous les ministères énumérés aux annexes I, I.1 et II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP), à l'exception de l'Agence du revenu du Canada. Elle s'applique également à une commission constituée en vertu de la Loi sur les enquêtes et désignée comme ministère aux fins de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, par décret.
  • 2.2 Les articles 6.4 & 7 en matière de surveillance de la conformité et de conséquences de la non-conformité ne s'appliquent pas au Bureau du vérificateur général, au Commissariat à la vie privée, au Commissariat à l'information, au Bureau du directeur général des élections, au Commissariat au lobbying, au Commissariat aux langues officielles, au Commissariat à l'intégrité du secteur public, au Bureau du Commissaire du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications, au Service des poursuites pénales du Canada, et aux commissions établies en vertu de la Loi sur les enquêtes. Les administrateurs généraux de ces organismes sont les seuls responsables de surveiller la présente politique et d'assurer son observation au sein de leur organisation, et de donner suite aux cas d'inobservation, conformément aux instruments du Conseil du Trésor qui établissent les principes et l'orientation de la gestion de la conformité.
  • 2.3 La présente politique s'applique à la propriété intellectuelle (PI) originale, c'est-à-dire à toute propriété intellectuelle conçue, développée, produite ou mise en application pour la première fois dans le cadre de travaux associés à un marché conclu avec l'État.
  • 2.4 La présente politique ne vise pas :

  • Les droits de propriété intellectuelle existants, respectivement, de la Couronne, de l'entrepreneur ou d'un tiers;
  • Les droits de propriété intellectuelle existants entre un entrepreneur et l'un de ses sous-traitants. Toutefois, l'entrepreneur doit obtenir de ses sous-traitants les droits de propriété ou de licence qu'il a convenu, dans le marché conclu avec l'État, de fournir à la Couronne.
  • 2.5 La présente politique ne s'applique pas :

  • à la vente, au transfert ou à la cession des droits de propriété intellectuelle existants de l'État, car la politique ne traite que de la propriété intellectuelle créée dans le cadre d'un marché conclu avec l'État;
  • à la propriété ou l'utilisation de toute marque de commerce ou nom commercial;
  • les ententes contractuelles, y compris les ententes de recherche en collaboration ou les protocoles d'entente;
  • aux prototypes ou autres matérialisations de création intellectuelle pouvant résulter d'un contrat conclu avec l'État;
  • aux renseignements personnels tels que définis dans la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et à la propriété intellectuelle originale sur des compilations ou bases de données contenant des renseignements personnels ou fournis par l'État, si la propriété intellectuelle originale ne peut être exploitée sans utiliser les renseignements personnels ou les renseignements fournis par l'État.

haut de la page

3. Contexte

  • 3.1 Aux fins de la présente politique, le droit de propriété intellectuelle s'entend de tout droit afférent aux activités intellectuelles dans le domaine industriel, scientifique, littéraire ou artistique, notamment toute création intellectuelle protégée par la loi en vertu d'un brevet, du droit d'auteur, ou des droits relatifs aux dessins industriels, aux topographies de circuits intégrés et aux protections des obtentions végétales, ou ce qui est protégé par la loi en vertu du secret commercial ou de la confidentialité des renseignements.
  • 3.2 Les marchés conclus avec l'État ont pour but d'acquérir des biens et des services et d'exécuter des travaux de manière à accroître l'accès, la concurrence et l'équité, et à optimaliser les ressources, ou, le cas échéant, à assurer l'équilibre optimal entre les intérêts globaux de l'État et ceux de la population canadienne. Dans le cadre de cet engagement, le gouvernement du Canada a pris des dispositions spécifiques pour que le processus de marchés intègre des objectifs de développement social et économique.
  • 3.3 Le gouvernement du Canada est d'avis que l'exploitation commerciale de la propriété intellectuelle favorise la croissance économique et la création d'emplois, et que le secteur privé est le mieux placé pour assurer cette exploitation.
  • 3.4 La présente politique n'exige pas que les ministères compromettent leurs activités (par exemple, qu'ils soient liés à un seul fournisseur de services ou d'accepter une licence d'une portée trop étroite pour pouvoir utiliser pleinement la propriété intellectuelle originale), mais permet plutôt au gouvernement fédéral de solliciter des licences d'une portée suffisamment vaste pour permettre à l'État d'utiliser la propriété intellectuelle.
  • 3.5 La présente politique est publiée en vertu de l'article 7 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.
  • 3.6 La présente politique doit être lue parallèlement au Cadre de politique sur la gestion des actifs et services acquis.
  • 3.7 Autres exigences obligatoires sont définies dans la Politique sur les marchés.

haut de la page

Définitions

Les définitions ci-après s'appliquent aux fins de la présente politique.

Propriété intellectuelle contextuelle (Background IP)
Toute propriété intellectuelle autre que la propriété intellectuelle originale.
Entrepreneur (Contractor)
Toute partie ou ensemble des parties à un marché conclu avec l'État non définies comme l'État, la Couronne ou Sa Majesté.
État, la Couronne ou Sa Majesté (Crown)
Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, catégorie comprenant les établissements publics tels que définis dans la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.
Exploitation commerciale (Commercial Exploitation)
Toute utilisation, modification, transformation ou dissémination de la propriété intellectuelle originale qui produit ou vise à engendrer des recettes.
Marché conclu avec l'État (Crown Procurement Contract)
« marché » tel que défini dans la Politique sur les marchés du Conseil du Trésor.
Ministère contractant (Contracting Department)
Ministère associé au marché conclu avec l'État.
Ministère responsable (Responsible Department)
Ministère pour lesquels les biens ou les services sont acquis dans le cadre d'un marché conclu avec l'État.
Propriété intellectuelle (Intellectual Property)
Aux fins de la présente politique, tout droit afférent aux activités intellectuelles dans les secteurs industriel, scientifique, littéraire ou artistique, notamment toute création intellectuelle protégée par la loi en vertu d'un brevet, du droit d'auteur, ou des droits relatifs aux dessins industriels, aux topographies de circuits intégrés ou aux sélectionneurs d'obtentions végétales, ou qui est protégée par la loi en vertu du secret commercial ou de la confidentialité des renseignements. La propriété intellectuelle ne comprend pas les prototypes ou autres matérialisations de la création intellectuelle lorsque de telles matérialisations sont des produits à livrer dans le cadre d'un marché conclu avec l'État. Pour en savoir plus, voir le Guide de mise en œuvre – Politique sur les droits de propriété intellectuelle issus de marchés conclus avec l'État.
Propriété intellectuelle originale (Foreground IP)
Toute propriété intellectuelle conçue, développée, produite ou mise en application pour la première fois dans le cadre de travaux effectués aux termes d'un marché conclu avec l'État.
Sous-ministre (Deputy Head)
Le sous-ministre, le président ou le chef de la direction du ministère responsable et toute personne ayant la capacité d'agir en leur nom.
Sous-ministre ou administrateur général du ministère contractant (Deputy Head of a Contracting Department)
Le sous-ministre, le président ou le chef de la direction du ministère contractant et toute personne ayant la capacité d'agir en leur nom.

haut de la page

5. Énoncé de la politique

5.1 Objectif

La politique a pour objectif de promouvoir la croissance économique du Canada en augmentant la commercialisation de la propriété intellectuelle. À cette fin, l'entrepreneur doit posséder les droits de propriété intellectuelle originale issus d'un marché conclu avec l'État, sous réserve des exceptions prévues à l'annexe A.

5.2 Résultats escomptés

  • Lorsque l'entrepreneur crée de la propriété intellectuelle dans le cadre d'un marché conclu avec l'État, il a la possibilité de détenir et de commercialiser les droits de propriété intellectuelle originale.
  • Lorsque l'utilisation de la propriété intellectuelle originale, visée par l'État, requiers la détention du droit de la dite propriété intellectuelle, la Couronne a la possibilité d'en être le seul détenteur, soit en vertu de certaines exceptions soit en vertu d'exemptions prévues par le Conseil du Trésor à l'annexe A.
  • Lorsque l'utilisation de la propriété intellectuelle, visée par l'État, peut s'effectuer au moyen de contrats de licence, la Couronne peut chercher à obtenir de telle (s) licence (s) de portée générale ou restreinte.
  • Les ministères responsables clarifient le processus décisionnel associé à la détention des droits de propriété intellectuelle.
  • Les rôles, les responsabilités et la responsabilisation associés à la gestion des droits de propriété intellectuelle issus d'un marché conclu avec l'État sont clairement définis et compris par l'ensemble des ministères.

haut de la page

6. Exigences de la politique

  • 6.1 Les sous-ministres ou représentants sont responsables d'établir une approche efficace de la mise en œuvre de la politique au sein du ministère dont ils sont responsables, c'est-à-dire :

    • 6.1.1 assurer la gestion appropriée des droits de propriété intellectuelle originale issus de marchés conclus avec l'État en accordant à l'entrepreneur les droits de propriété intellectuelle originale, sous réserve des exceptions et exemptions prévues à l'annexe A; et veiller à ce que le potentiel pour l'exploitation commerciale soit identifié.
    • 6.1.2 veiller à ce que les documents liés aux décisions sur la propriété intellectuelle originale soient complets et conformes à la politique;
    • 6.1.3 garantir que des ressources adéquates sont allouées à l'orientation et à la formation du personnel chargé de mettre en œuvre la politique.
  • 6.2 Le sous-ministre ou l'administrateur général du ministère contractant doit :

    • 6.2.1 veiller à ce que les modalités du contrat soient conformes à l'objectif de la présente politique;
    • 6.2.2 veiller à l'attribution de licences appropriées en matière de propriété intellectuelle comme précisé à l'annexe B;
    • 6.2.3 veiller à ce que les données ministérielles sur la propriété intellectuelle et l'« exploitation commerciale » potentielle soient exactes et soumises en temps opportun au ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux (TPSGC) et à ce que les responsabilités en matière de reddition de comptes sur le respect de la politique soient respectées, comme l'exige le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT).
  • 6.3 Les sous-ministres ou leurs représentants sont chargés de garantir que les gestionnaires :

  • 6.4 Exigences de surveillance et de reddition de comptes

    • 6.4.1 Les sous-ministres sont tenus :
      • 6.4.1.1 de surveiller les décisions du personnel du ministère sur les droits de propriété intellectuelle originale;
      • 6.4.1.2 de surveiller le respect de la politique au sein de leur ministère et de prendre des mesures correctives au besoin.
  • 6.5 Industrie Canada a les responsabilités suivantes :

    • 6.5.1 résumer le rapport statistique annuel sur les droits de propriété intellectuelle issus de marchés conclus avec l'État et son « exploitation commerciale » potentielle, préciser les exemptions que réclament les ministères au Conseil du Trésor et aviser le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT), afin que celui-ci vérifie si de telles exemptions ont été accordées;
    • 6.5.2 diffuser les conclusions du rapport statistique annuel susmentionné aux membres du Comité des sous-ministres adjoints sur les sciences et la technologie (CSMAST);
    • 6.5.3 établir un cadre pour l'examen de la politique et veiller à ce qu'un examen soit effectué au cours des cinq années suivant l'entrée en vigueur de la politique.
  • 6.6 Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a les responsabilités suivantes :

    • 6.6.1 vérifier si le Conseil du Trésor a effectivement accordé les exemptions et aviser Industrie Canada. Si le Conseil du Trésor n'a pas accordé les exemptions, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor aidera Industrie Canada à faire le suivi, au besoin, auprès du ou des ministère(s) concerné(s);
  • 6.7 TPSGC a les responsabilités suivantes :

    • 6.7.1 produire un rapport statistique annuel sur les droits de propriété intellectuelle originale issus de marchés conclus avec l'État et son « exploitation commerciale » potentielle. TPSGC doit fournir ce rapport à Industrie Canada et au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

haut de la page

7. Conséquences

Les sous-ministres ou leurs représentants doivent veiller à ce que des mesures correctives soient prises pour remédier aux cas importants de non-conformité à la présente politique.


haut de la page

8. Rôles et responsabilités d'Industrie Canada

Conformément à la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, les pouvoirs et fonctions du ministre s'étendent d'une façon générale à tout ce qui touche les brevets, les droits d'auteur, les marques de commerce, les dessins industriels et les topographies de circuits intégrés. Industrie Canada a un rôle à jouer en parrainant, surveillant et en administrant la présente politique et amorcera les activités qui lui sont assignées en vertu de la politique.


haut de la page

9. Références

9.1 Lois pertinentes

9.2 Politiques et publications connexes


haut de la page

10. Enquêtes

Pour toute question concernant la présente politique, veuillez contacter le Centre de services Web d'Industrie Canada au 1-800-328-6189.


haut de la page

Annexe A – Exceptions relatives au droit de propriété de l'entrepreneur et exemption accordée par le Conseil du Trésor

Par défaut, l'entrepreneur détient les droits de propriété intellectuelle originale issus de marchés conclus avec l'État, à moins que la Couronne invoque l'une des exceptions énumérées ci-après ou réclame une dérogation à la présente politique accordée par le Conseil du Trésor par la voie d'une présentation au Conseil du Trésor. En vertu d'un marché conclu avec l'État, la Couronne peut réclamer les droits de la propriété intellectuelle originale pour les motifs ci-après (pour de plus amples détails et des clauses types conformes à la présente politique, voir le Guide de mise en œuvre), soit :

  1. Pour des motifs de sécurité nationale.
  2. Lorsque la propriété intellectuelle originale ne peut appartenir à l'entrepreneur en vertu d'une loi, d'un règlement, ou d'une obligation antérieure contractée par la Couronne envers un ou des tiers.
  3. Lorsque l'entrepreneur déclare par écrit qu'il ou qu'elle n'est pas intéressé(e) à détenir les droits de propriété intellectuelle originale.
  4. Lorsque le marché conclu avec l'État ou les produits à livrer aux termes de celui-ci visent surtout :

    • 4.1 à obtenir des connaissances et des renseignements qui seront diffusés au public.
    • 4.2 à accroître certains acquis de l'État en matière de droits de propriété intellectuelle avant de transférer ceux-ci au secteur privé, par attribution de licence ou cession de propriété (non nécessairement à l'entrepreneur initial), à des fins d'exploitation commerciale.
    • 4.3 à livrer une composante développée en partie seulement ou un sous-système qui sera intégré ultérieurement dans un système complet, avant que celui-ci soit transféré au secteur privé, par octroi de licence ou cession de propriété, à des fins d'exploitation commerciale.
  5. Lorsque la propriété intellectuelle originale s'applique à du matériel protégé par droit d'auteur, sauf dans le cas de logiciels et de la documentation connexe.
  6. Inutilisé.
  7. Inutilisé.
  8. Exemption accordée par le Conseil du Trésor

    La Couronne peut prendre possession du droit de propriété intellectuelle lorsque des circonstances, non stipulées dans les exceptions énumérées au-dessus, le justifient, si le ministère responsable, en collaboration avec le ministère contractant, a demandé au Conseil du Trésor d'approuver une telle exemption et qu'elle lui a été accordée. Avant de demander une exemption, il importe d'examiner si la détention des droits de propriété intellectuelle originale est requise ou si une licence s'avérerait suffisante.


haut de la page

Annexe B – L'octroi de licence de propriété intellectuelle

Si l'entrepreneur détient les droits de propriété intellectuelle originale, rien n'empêche la Couronne de les utiliser, à condition d'obtenir une licence libre de redevances pour pouvoir les utiliser ou permettre à un tiers de les utiliser. L'entrepreneur doit obtenir de ses sous‑traitants les droits de propriété ou de licence qu'il a convenu, dans le marché conclu avec l'État, de fournir à la Couronne. Des exemples sur les dispositions relatives à l'attribution de licences figurent dans les clauses types (Guide de mise en œuvre – Politique sur les droits de propriété intellectuelle issus de marchés conclus avec l'État).

Droits de propriété intellectuelle de l'entrepreneur

  • Lorsque l'entrepreneur détient les droits de propriété intellectuelle originale, la politique permet à la Couronne d'exiger que l'entrepreneur lui accorde une licence libre de redevances qui lui permettra d'utiliser tous les droits de propriété intellectuelle originale dans l'exercice des activités gouvernementales, sauf pour exploitation commerciale.
  • La Couronne peut exiger de l'entrepreneur que l'exploitation commerciale des droits de propriété intellectuelle originale se fasse au Canada ou dans un délai précis, dans la mesure où l'exigence est conforme aux obligations relatives aux accords commerciaux du Canada. Les exigences détaillées peuvent être énoncées dans le contrat ou dans une entente distincte conclue entre l'État et l'entrepreneur.

Droits de propriété intellectuelle de la Couronne

  • Lorsque la Couronne obtient le droit de propriété intellectuelle originale après avoir invoqué une exception mentionnée à l'article 4.2 ou 4.3 et qu'elle accorde une licence à un entrepreneur, autre qu'une licence associée à un produit final, aucune redevance ne doit être exigée à cet égard. Lorsque la Couronne obtient le droit de propriété après avoir invoqué toute autre exception, elle pourra exiger des redevances pour l'octroi de licence.
  • Lorsque l'entrepreneur a besoin d'utiliser les droits de propriété intellectuelle originale appartenant à la Couronne, l'entrepreneur doit demander par écrit une licence à cet égard dans les 30 jours ouvrables suivant la fin du contrat. La Couronne peut également accorder à l'entrepreneur une licence afin de permettre à celui-ci d'utiliser les droits de propriété intellectuelle originale de la Couronne. Même si la Couronne peut refuser de telles demandes, elle doit justifier sa décision par écrit dans un délai raisonnable.
Date de modification :