Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

There has been an explosion in demand for wireless broadband services. But the conduits carrying these services—communications networks—use a finite resource: radio frequency spectrum.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) regulates and manages spectrum to maximize the economic and social benefits that Canadians derive from this valuable resource. Officials must consider many complex factors, including:

  • How best to use available spectrum while accommodating new wireless services;
  • Whether new wireless services could interfere with existing services; and
  • Whether emerging technologies could disrupt existing technologies, and require regulatory change in the process.

To help ISED answer such questions, CRC conducts research spanning the range of its expertise: from the fundamentals of wireless technology; to the next stage of development, namely networks and systems; to the final phase encompassing applications, prototype development and performance.

CRC provides ISED with deep technical knowledge and recommendations to support key wireless drivers such as harmonization, economies of scale and interoperability. CRC actively supports and represents ISED at international standard-setting bodies, such as the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

While the private sector plays a central role in investing in innovation, ISED leverages CRC R&D as one means of encouraging investment. Researchers from CRC collaborate with their counterparts in industry, academia and other research organizations to both advance the efficient use of spectrum, and provide flexible access to this resource in order to create opportunities for Canadian companies.

Date modified:

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

La demande de services sans fil à large bande a explosé. Les moyens de transport de ces services — soit les réseaux de communications — utilisent une ressource limitée : le spectre des radiofréquences.

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) réglemente et gère le spectre de façon à maximiser les retombées économiques et sociales que les Canadiens tirent de cette ressource précieuse. Les dirigeants doivent tenir compte de nombreux facteurs complexes, dont les suivants :

  • trouver la meilleure façon d'utiliser le spectre disponible tout en faisant de la place pour de nouveaux services sans fil;
  • chercher à savoir si de nouveaux services sans fil pourraient nuire aux services existants;
  • chercher à savoir si des technologies émergentes pourraient perturber les technologies existantes et obliger à modifier la réglementation.

Afin d'aider ISDE à répondre à ces questions, le CRC effectue des recherches portant sur l'éventail complet de son savoir-faire, lequel porte aussi bien sur les éléments fondamentaux des technologies sans fil que sur l'étape suivante du développement, soit les réseaux et les systèmes, et sur l'étape finale, qui englobe les applications, la mise au point de prototypes et la performance.

Grâce à ses activités de R-D le CRC est en mesure de fournir à ISDE de solides connaissances techniques et de lui formuler des recommandations pour favoriser l'harmonisation, les économies d'échelle et l'interopérabilité — principes moteurs clés des communications sans fil. Le Centre appuie et représente activement ISDE devant des organismes normatifs internationaux, comme l'Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

Le secteur privé joue un rôle pivot en investissant dans l'innovation et, pour encourager cet investissement, ISDE tire parti entre autres des activités de R-D du CRC. Les chercheurs du Centre collaborent avec leurs homologues des milieux industriels et universitaires et d'autres organismes de recherche, aussi bien pour promouvoir l'utilisation efficiente du spectre que pour favoriser l'accès à cette ressource afin de créer des occasions d'affaires pour les entreprises canadiennes.

Date de modification :