Public Safety Canada

Effective communication is critical to public safety, national security and emergency preparedness agencies. Saving lives can depend on the ability of emergency responders to communicate.

CRC works with Public Safety Canada through the Interoperable Development Office to develop and test improved communications capabilities for Canada's first responder community. This work has resulted in:

  • a first responder test bed for wireless applications;
  • technologies to bridge communications gaps in existing equipment; and
  • significant research toward a complete rethinking of radio design, so future equipment is not affected by interoperability problems.

Interoperability issues arise when multiple forces respond to a crisis or disaster. Consider large-scale emergencies drawing on resources from across regions. As various fire, ambulance and police forces converge with their respective radios, they may not be able to communicate via distinct technologies.

At the network level, common standards and protocols are the most practical solutions. At the device level, a solution is software defined radio (SDR) technology. SDR transfers modulation and frequency functions from radio hardware to software, allowing radios to modify their mode of operation as required, without hardware changes. This revolutionary approach is likely to significantly alter how radios have been used since their inception over 100 years ago.

Date modified:

Sécurité publique Canada

Il est crucial que les organisations de sécurité publique, de sécurité nationale et de sécurité civile puissent communiquer efficacement. La possibilité de sauver des vies dépend de la capacité des intervenants d'urgence à communiquer.

Le CRC collabore avec Sécurité publique Canada, par l'entremise du Bureau de développement interopérable, pour élaborer et essayer de meilleures capacités de communication pour l'ensemble des secouristes opérationnels du Canada. Ces travaux ont abouti à :

  • un banc d'essai d'applications sans fil destinées aux premiers intervenants;
  • des technologies visant à combler les lacunes des communications dans le matériel existant;
  • des recherches importantes sur une refonte complète de la conception radio afin que les problèmes d'interopérabilité n'affectent pas l'équipement de l'avenir.

Des problèmes d'interopérabilité surgissent lorsque de multiples forces répondent à use crise ou à une catastrophe. Pensons seulement aux interventions d'urgence d'envergure qui mettent à contribution des ressources de nombreuses régions. Pendant que divers services d'incendie, d'ambulance et de police convergent vers les lieux d'intervention avec leur radio respective, il se peut qu'ils ne puissent communiquer à cause de leurs technologies différentes.

Pour les réseaux, les solutions les plus efficaces consistent à utiliser des normes et des protocoles communs. Quant aux appareils, la solution réside dans la technologie de la radio réalisée par logiciel (RRL). La RRL transfère les fonctions de modulation et de fréquence du matériel radio au logiciel, ce qui permet aux radios de changer de mode de fonctionnement au besoin sans qu'il soit nécessaire de changer le matériel. Cette approche révolutionnaire devrait modifier considérablement la façon d'utiliser les radios depuis leur création il y a plus de 100 ans.

Date de modification :