Industry, academia and other research institutes

Along with supporting government, CRC collaborates with industry, universities and other research institutes in pursuit of common goals. In the past five years, CRC has counted among its clients 160 companies, 20 universities and 20 research institutes.

Clients come to CRC because it is the only Canadian facility with the capability to create communication technology innovation starting from basic science, all the way through to prototype development and field deployment (testing), effectively covering all aspects of the technology innovation chain.

The examples are varied. Academic researchers in Canada and around the world are investigating interference with CORAL, the world's first Wi-Fi-based cognitive radio development platform, developed by CRC.

One leading Canadian company approached CRC for help in the design and enhancement of multi-antenna handsets. The company came to CRC given our cognitive radio experience, involvement in IEEE standards and expertise in wireless circuits and antenna systems. In another case, a Canada telecommunications carrier was exploring the possibility of building a wireless business case. It contracted with CRC to perform wireless product performance analyses and network design research.

In performing this research, CRC experts used their extensive test bed infrastructure. In 2012, for instance, CRC collaborated with an industry partner to add an LTE network to its existing wireless test network, covering more than 100 km2 in the west end of Ottawa. This is one of the first LTE wireless test networks of its kind in North America. CRC operates the test network to study the performance and capabilities of a wide variety of emerging wireless technologies, specifically to develop network design and optimization techniques, refine wireless coverage models, and assess application performance and scalability.

Date modified:

Industrie, milieux universitaires et autres instituts de recherche

En plus de soutenir le gouvernement, le CRC collabore avec l'industrie, des universités et d'autres instituts de recherche pour atteindre des objectifs communs. Au cours des cinq dernières années, le CRC a compté parmi ses clients 160 entreprises, 20 universités et 20 instituts de recherche.

Les clients viennent au CRC parce qu'il s'agit de la seule installation canadienne capable de créer des technologies de communication novatrices en couvrant tous les éléments de la chaîne d'innovation technologique, soit de la science fondamentale à la mise au point et au déploiement (mise à l'essai) de prototypes.

Les exemples sont variés. Des chercheurs universitaires canadiens et étrangers étudient le brouillage avec CORAL, la première plate-forme commerciale d'élaboration de la radio cognitive conforme à la technologie Wi-Fi au monde, mise au point par le CRC.

Une grande entreprise canadienne a demandé au CRC de l'aider à concevoir et à améliorer des combinés à antennes multiples. Cette entreprise a approché le CRC en raison de son expérience de la radio cognitive, de sa contribution aux normes de l'IEEE et de son expertise sur les circuits sans fil et les systèmes d'antennes. Dans un autre cas, une entreprise de télécommunication canadienne envisageait d'élaborer une analyse de rentabilité pour la technologie sans fil. Elle a conclu un contrat avec le CRC pour analyser le rendement de produits sans fil et faire des recherches sur la conception de réseaux.

Durant ces recherches, les spécialistes du CRC ont beaucoup utilisé l'infrastructure de banc d'essai de l'organisme. En 2012, par exemple, le CRC a collaboré avec un partenaire de l'industrie pour ajouter un réseau LTE à son réseau d'essai sans fil existant et couvrir ainsi plus de 100 km2 dans l'ouest d'Ottawa. Il s'agit de l'un des premiers réseaux d'essai sans fil LTE de son genre en Amérique du Nord. Le CRC exploite le réseau d'essai pour étudier le rendement et les capacités d'une vaste gamme de nouvelles technologies sans fil, et plus particulièrement pour mettre au point des techniques d'optimisation et de conception de réseaux, perfectionner les modèles de couverture sans fil et évaluer le rendement et l'extensibilité des applications.

Date de modification :