Dr. John Lodge, Chief Technology Officer

Dr. John Lodge is Chief Technology Officer (CTO) of the CRC. He assumed the CTO position in 2014, after serving as a research vice-president for several years, and before that, as a research director.

Beginning in the 1980s, Dr. Lodge built and led a renowned team of experts in the field of communications signal processing. Their work at CRC has long served Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED).

Under his leadership, CRC's signal processing team established an international reputation for excellence in areas including modulation, error control coding, and synchronization for satellite and mobile wireless telecommunications. Along with ongoing support of government programs, extensive technology transfer to industry occurred through both licensing of intellectual property and contracting activities.

For many years, Dr. Lodge managed CRC's primary research and development program for radio spectrum monitoring and signal surveillance. Collectively known as Spectrum Explorer®, the resulting suite of technologies has been used experimentally and operationally by many government organizations and Canadian companies. There are more than 50 Spectrum Explorer® units currently in operation across the country helping ISED manage Canada's radio spectrum.

Dr. Lodge has been an adjunct professor at the University of Ottawa, the University of Manitoba and Concordia University. He also served on the Strategic Projects Selection Panel for Information Technologies of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, and chaired the panel in his final year of service.

Dr. Lodge is a fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC) and of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). His awards include IEEE Canada's Outstanding Engineer Award. He received his Doctorate (Electrical Engineering) from Queen's University and after working for three years in the industry, he joined CRC.

Date modified:

M. John Lodge, Directeur de la technologie

M. John Lodge, Ph.D., est le directeur de la technologie du CRC. Il assume cette fonction depuis 2014, après avoir été vice-président de la recherche durant de nombreuses années et, auparavant, directeur de la recherche.

Dans les années 1980, M. Lodge a mis sur pied et a dirigé une équipe renommée d'experts dans le domaine du traitement des signaux de communications, dont le travail au CRC sert depuis longtemps au ministère de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique (ISDE).

Sous sa direction, l'équipe du traitement des signaux du CRC s'est taillé une réputation internationale d'excellence dans des domaines comme la modulation, le codage du contrôle des erreurs et la synchronisation pour les télécommunications par satellite et sans fil mobiles. Outre l'appui soutenu qu'elle a apporté aux programmes gouvernementaux, l'équipe a réalisé d'importants transferts de technologie à l'industrie notamment par l'octroi de licences de propriété intellectuelle et des activités de passation de marchés.

Durant de nombreuses années, M. Lodge a géré le principal programme de recherche-développement du CRC en surveillance du spectre des radiofréquences et des signaux. L'ensemble des technologies issu de ces efforts, appelé collectivement Spectrum ExplorerMD, est utilisé de façon expérimentale et opérationnelle par bon nombre d'organisations gouvernementales et d'entreprises canadiennes. Il y a plus de 50 unités Spectrum ExplorerMD actuellement en service d'un bout à l'autre du Canada, qui aident ISDE à gérer le spectre des radiofréquences au pays.

M. Lodge a été professeur auxiliaire à l'Université d'Ottawa, à l'Université du Manitoba et à l'Université Concordia. Il a aussi siégé au Comité de sélection des projets stratégiques en technologies de l'information du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada et a présidé ce comité au cours de sa dernière année d'activités.

M. Lodge a été nommé membre de l'Institut canadien des ingénieurs (ICE) et de l'Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Plusieurs prix lui ont été décernés, notamment le prix d'ingénieur exceptionnel d'IEEE) Canada. Il a obtenu son doctorat en génie électrique de l'Université Queen's et a joint les rangs du CRC après avoir travaillé dans l'industrie pendant trois ans.

Date de modification :