Language selection

Search

How to get involved

How Your Organization Can Benefit

The Industrial and Technological Benefits (ITB) Policy is a powerful tool for driving economic growth, investments and innovation in Canada. Since the establishment of the Policy in 1986, Canada has leveraged billions of dollars in investment, resulting in defence sector growth and spillover benefits to the broader Canadian economy. Prime Contractors on procurements where the ITB Policy applies are obligated to make investments equal to the value of their contract. These investments benefit Canadian companies, post-secondary institutions, and charities/not-for-profit organizations.

Canadian Company

"Canadian Company" refers to commercial enterprises incorporated pursuant to the laws of Canada and which have ongoing business activities in Canada. While Canadian Companies can and do act as Prime Contractors, smaller firms can also receive subcontracts from Prime Contractors. To increase opportunities for Canadian firms to integrate into global supply chains, the ITB Policy motivates Prime Contractors to build long-term partnerships with Canadian businesses to develop new products, share intellectual property and bring existing products and services to the global market.

Post-Secondary Institution

"Post-Secondary Institution" means a higher education institution or other organizational entity in Canada that is eligible to receive funding from at least one of the three federal granting councils (the Social Science and Humanities Research Council, the Natural Science and Engineering Research Council, or the Canadian Institutes of Health Research). The Policy has a number of features that make post-secondary institutions attractive partners for investments by contractors. Contractors receive a five-time credit multiplier when they make a cash contribution to a Post-Secondary Institution for research or the establishment of research chairs. Similarly, Prime Contractors and Eligible Donors may receive credit for investments in consortia, which include post-secondary institutions. Cash contributions to consortia are also eligible for a five-time multiplier.

Charity or Not-For-Profit Organization

“Charity” and “not-for-profit organization” refers to charities registered with the Canada Revenue Agency or not-for-profit organizations incorporated federally under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act or in the province or territory where it operates. Contributions to these organizations could be eligible for credit under the ITB Policy, especially for work related to Skills Development and Training.

What Should I Do Next?

If you are looking to promote your organization and establish partnerships with major defence firms here are some tips you should consider:

  • Common to all:
    • Be patient! It can take years to build relationships with major firms;
    • Determine what industry domain(s) you want to focus on – air, land, marine, cyber;
    • Know who the top bidders and contractors are in your target market; visit BuyandSell.gc.ca regularly to keep current of upcoming tenders and industry engagements, and explore the ITB website to better understand the ITB Policy;
    • Talk to your Regional Development Agency (RDA) representative and engage with Global Affairs Canada’s Trade Commissioner Service; and,
    • Visit the Department of National Defence’s Defence Capabilities Blueprint webpage and browse by Key Industrial Capabilities (KICs) in order to identify projects that fall within your industry domain and match your firm’s capabilities.
  • If you are a Canadian Company:
    • Register your company online with your target vendors for upcoming tenders;
    • Investigate whether your company needs specific credentials or certifications (e.g. controlled goods); and,
    • Determine the Canadian Content Value of your product or service. This will be your competitive advantage.
  • If you are a Post-Secondary Institution:
    • Research Prime Contractors with obligations and determine if their research and development priorities align with your areas of interest;
    • Identify the type of R&D activities contractors are looking for, and market your institution as a viable solution and partner;
    • Talk to your RDA representative, they can assist you in finding industry partners who require your expertise.
Date modified:

Comment participer

Les avantages pour votre organisation

La Politique des retombées industrielles et technologiques (RIT) est un outil puissant qui permet de stimuler la croissance économique, les investissements et l’innovation au Canada. Depuis la mise en place de la Politique en 1986, le Canada a obtenu des milliards de dollars en investissements, ce qui a entrainé la croissance du secteur de la défense et des retombées bénéfiques pour l’ensemble de l’économie canadienne. Les entrepreneurs principaux chargés des approvisionnements visés par la Politique des RIT doivent faire des investissements qui correspondent à la valeur de leur contrat. Ces investissements profitent aux entreprises canadiennes, aux établissements postsecondaires ainsi qu’aux organismes de bienfaisance et organisations à but non lucratif.

Entreprise canadienne

« Entreprise canadienne » désigne les entreprises commerciales qui sont constituées en vertu des lois du Canada et qui exercent des activités commerciales continues au Canada. Tandis que les entreprises canadiennes peuvent agir à titre d’entrepreneurs principaux et le font, les petites entreprises peuvent également recevoir des contrats de sous-traitance des principaux entrepreneurs. Pour augmenter les occasions qui permettent aux entreprises canadiennes de s’intégrer dans les chaînes d’approvisionnement mondiales, la Politique des RIT motive les principaux entrepreneurs à bâtir des partenariats à long terme avec des entreprises canadiennes pour créer de nouveaux produits, partager la propriété intellectuelle et rendre accessible au marché mondial des produits et des services existants.

Établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire

« Établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire » désigne un établissement d’enseignement supérieur ou une autre entité organisationnelle au Canada qui est admissible à du financement d’au moins l’un des trois conseils subventionnaires fédéraux (le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie ou les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada). La Politique des RIT comporte un nombre de mécanismes qui font des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire des partenaires attrayants aux yeux des entrepreneurs pour ce qui est des investissements. Les entrepreneurs reçoivent un crédit correspondant à cinq fois sa valeur habituelle lorsqu’ils font une contribution en argent à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire pour de la recherche ou la création de chaires de recherche. De même, les principaux entrepreneurs et les donateurs admissibles peuvent recevoir un crédit pour des investissements dans des consortiums, qui comprennent les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire. Les contributions en argent à des consortiums sont admissibles au multiplicateur de cinq.

Les organismes de bienfaisance et sans but lucratif

« Organisme de bienfaisance » et « organisation à but non lucratif » désignent les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés auprès de l’Agence du revenu du Canada et les organisations à but non lucratif constituées en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif, ou dans la province ou le territoire où elles exercent leurs activités. Les contributions à ces organismes et organisations pourraient être admissibles à un crédit conformément à la Politique des RIT, en particulier pour ce qui a trait au perfectionnement des compétences et à la formation.

Quelle est la prochaine étape?

Si vous cherchez à promouvoir votre organisme et à établir des partenariats avec de grandes entreprises du secteur de la défense, voici quelques conseils utiles :

  • Pour tous :
    • Soyez patient! Établir des relations avec de grandes entreprises peut prendre plusieurs années.
    • Déterminez les secteurs sur lesquels vous voulez vous concentrer : aérien, terrestre, maritime ou cybersécurité.
    • Sachez qui sont les plus grands soumissionnaires et entrepreneurs dans votre marché cible;
    • Consultez le site Web Achatsetventes.gc.ca de façon régulière pour vous tenir au courant des appels d’offres à venir et des engagements de l’industrie et visitez le site Web des RIT pour mieux comprendre la politique des RIT;
    • Communiquez avec le représentant de votre agence de développement régional (ADR) et avec le Service des délégués commerciaux d’Affaires mondiales Canada;
    • Consultez la page Web sur le Programme des capacités de la Défense du ministère de la Défense nationale et parcourez les Capacités industrielles clés (CIC) pour trouver des projets qui se trouvent dans le domaine de votre industrie et qui correspondent aux capacités de votre entreprise.
  • Si vous êtes une entreprise canadienne :
    • Inscrivez votre entreprise en ligne avec vos fournisseurs cibles pour les appels d’offres à venir;
    • Renseignez-vous pour savoir si votre entreprise a besoin d’attestations ou de certificats particuliers (p. ex. marchandises contrôlées);
    • Déterminez la valeur du contenu canadien de vos produits ou services. Il s’agira de votre avantage concurrentiel.
  • Si vous êtes un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire :
    • Réalisez des recherches sur les principaux entrepreneurs qui ont des obligations et déterminez si leurs priorités relatives à la recherche et au développement correspondent à vos domaines d’intérêt;
    • Établissez le type d’activités de recherche et de développement que recherchent les entrepreneurs et faites valoir votre établissement comme solution et partenaire viables;
    • Parlez au représentant de votre agence de développement régional (ADR) qui peut vous aider à trouver des partenaires de l’industrie qui ont besoin de votre expertise.
Date de modification :