Technology Readiness Levels

Technology Readiness Level Definitions

Description of Technology Readiness Level Definitions
Technology Readiness Level Definition
TRL 1—Basic principles observed and reported Lowest level of technology readiness. Scientific research begins to be translated into applied research and development. Examples might include paper studies of a technology's basic properties.
TRL 2—Technology concept and/or application formulated Invention begins. Once basic principles are observed, practical applications can be invented. Applications are speculative, and there may be no proof or detailed analysis to support the assumptions.
TRL 3—Analytical and experimental critical function and/or characteristic proof of concept Active research and development is initiated. This includes analytical studies and laboratory studies to physically validate the analytical predictions of separate elements of the technology.
TRL 4—Product and/or process validation in laboratory environment Basic technological products and/or processes are tested to establish that they will work.
TRL 5—Product and/or process validation in relevant environment Reliability of product and/or process innovation increases significantly. The basic products and/or processes are integrated so they can be tested in a simulated environment.
TRL 6—Product and/or process prototype demonstration in a relevant environment Prototypes are tested in a relevant environment. Represents a major step up in a technology's demonstrated readiness. Examples include testing a prototype in a simulated operational environment.
TRL 7—Product and/or process prototype demonstration in an operational environment Prototype near or at planned operational system and requires demonstration of an actual prototype in an operational environment (e.g. in a vehicle).
TRL 8—Actual product and/or process completed and qualified through test and demonstration Innovation has been proven to work in its final form and under expected conditions. In almost all cases, this TRL represents the end of true system development.
TRL 9—Actual product and/or process proven successful Actual application of the product and/or process innovation in its final form or function.
Date modified:

Niveaux de maturité technologique

Description des définitions des Niveaux de maturité technologique

Description des définitions des Niveaux de maturité technologique
Niveau de maturité technologique Définition
NMT 1 – Principes de base observés et signalés Niveau le plus bas de maturité technologique. La recherche scientifique commence à se traduire en R-D appliquée. Par exemple, cette phase pourrait inclure des études sur les propriétés de base d'une technologie.
NMT 2 – Concept technologique ou application déterminé(e) Début de l'invention. Une fois les principes de base observés, il s'agit de trouver les applications pratiques. Les applications sont hypothétiques et il se peut que des hypothèses ne s'appuient sur aucune preuve ni aucune analyse détaillée.
NMT 3 – Fonction critique expérimentale et analytique et/ou validation de principe caractéristique La R-D active est lancée. Cette étape comprend des études analytiques et en laboratoire permettant de valider physiquement les prédictions analytiques d'éléments distincts de la technologie.
NMT 4 – Validation du produit et/ou du processus en laboratoire Les produits ou les processus technologiques de base sont éprouvés pour voir s'ils fonctionnent.
NMT 5 – Validation du produit et/ou du processus dans un environnement pertinent La fiabilité du produit et/ou du processus augmente considérablement. Les produits et/ou les processus de base sont intégrés afin d'être testés.
NMT 6 – Démonstration du prototype d'un produit et/ou d'un processus dans un environnement pertinent Les prototypes sont mis à l'essai dans un environnement pertinent. Cela constitue un grand pas en avant dans le NMT avéré. L'essai d'un prototype dans un environnement opérationnel simulé en est un exemple.
NMT 7 – Démonstration du prototype d'un produit et/ou d'un processus dans un environnement opérationnel Prototype dans un système planifié (ou sur le point de l'être) nécessitant la démonstration d'un prototype réel dans un environnement opérationnel (p. ex. dans un véhicule).
NMT 8 – Produit et/ou processus réel mis au point et qualifié par des essais et des démonstrations Innovation éprouvée dans sa forme finale et dans les conditions prévues. Dans presque tous les cas, ce NMT représente la fin du développement comme tel d'un système.
NMT 9 – Produit et/ou processus réel éprouvé lors d'opérations réussies Application réelle du produit et/ou du processus novateur dans sa forme ou sa fonction finale.
Date de modification :