Stream 4 – National Scale Initiatives at the Intersection of Data and Digital Capabilities in the Health and Biosciences

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Winning Applicant: Terry Fox Research Institute (TFRI) / Imagia

Project Name: Digital Health and Discovery Platform (DHDP)

The proposal seeks to create a world-leading innovation framework to enable collaborations across the country between the health sciences and the Artificial Intelligence (AI) sectors. The project will advance research to deliver precision medicine therapies and lead to new cures. DHDP's AI-powered discovery tools will allow for more personalized care across Canada, improving outcomes and reducing costs for Canadians. This will place Canada at the forefront of international efforts to accelerate the fight against cancer and other diseases.

Key Outcomes:

Transformational technology 

The DHDP creates a pan-Canadian data health platform driven by cutting-edge AI to integrate diverse sources of data, (including genomics, imaging, electronic medical records) and drives collaborative precision medicine. The project makes use of shared data to discover new therapeutic interventions, such as AI-derived biomarkers, for personalized diagnoses and treatments.

Patients obtain unprecedented access and consent / control of their own data in this platform, thereby engaging and empowering them.

Industry & research collaboration

The project unites a broad coalition of industry professionals and academic researchers with cutting-edge expertise in health and data sciences, software engineering and AI. DHDP links-up Canada`s major cancer centre partners within the Terry Fox Marathon of Hope Cancer Centres Network. The Platform serves as a conduit for companies to work together with research institutions.

Making use of shared data will accelerate new health sciences discoveries and stimulate SME growth to commercialize the discoveries.

Fighting cancer and beyond

The project advances cancer research and enables collaborations across Canada, towards the delivery of the best treatment for each cancer patient using personalized medicine.

While the initial focus is on cancer, DHDP will be extended to other diseases, including neurological (e.g. Alzheimer's) and cardiovascular conditions.

Participants

A starting composition of 95-members across 9 provinces: 31 healthcare institutions, 9 SMEs and 10 large enterprises, 7 universities, 22 research foundations, granting agencies and NGOs, and all 4 major Canadian AI research labs from Alberta, Ontario and Quebec including:

  • University Health Network/Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
  • Amplitude Ventures Capital Management
  • MILA
  • IVADO
  • BC Cancer
  • McGill University Hospitals (MUHC and JGH)
  • Medteq
  • Prompt
  • Montreal Neuro Institute
  • Saint John Regional Hospital
  • Genome Quebec
  • Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
  • Caprion
  • OICR
  • Mitacs
  • AMII
  • Dalhousie University IWK
  • Vector
Date modified:

Volet 4 – Initiatives à l’échelle nationale qui se trouvent à l’intersection des capacités en matière de données et de numérique dans le secteur de la santé et des sciences biologiques

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Candidat retenu : Institut de recherche Terry Fox (IRTF) / Imagia

Titre du projet : Plateforme de découvertes et de santé numérique (PDSN)

La proposition vise à créer un cadre d'innovation de calibre mondial pour faciliter les collaborations entre le milieu des sciences de la santé et les secteurs de l'intelligence artificielle (IA)  dans l'ensemble du pays. Le projet fera avancer la recherche visant à développer des traitements médicaux de précision et à mettre au point de nouveaux remèdes. Les outils axés sur l'IA de la PDSN permettront d'offrir des soins plus personnalisés à travers le Canada, améliorant ainsi les résultats et réduisant les coûts pour les Canadiens. Ce projet placera le Canada à l'avant-garde des efforts internationaux afin d'accélérer la lutte contre le cancer et d'autres maladies.

Communiqué de presse

Principaux résultats :

Technologie transformationnelle 

Le projet permet de créer une plateforme pancanadienne de données sur la santé fondée sur l'IA de pointe pour intégrer diverses sources de données (incluant la génomique, l'imagerie, des dossiers médicaux électroniques), et fait avancer la médecine de précision collaborative. La PDSN utilise des données partagées pour découvrir de nouvelles interventions thérapeutiques, comme les biomarqueurs dérivés de l'IA, pour des diagnostics personnalisés et des traitements.

Les patients obtiennent un accès sans précédent à leurs données conservées sur cette plateforme, et ils exercent un contrôle et donnent leur consentement en ce qui a trait à ces données, ce qui assure leur participation et les valorise.

Collaboration entre l'industrie et les chercheurs

Le projet permet de regrouper des professionnels de l'industrie et des chercheurs en milieu universitaire ayant une expertise de premier ordre en sciences de la santé et des données, en génie logiciel et en IA. La PDSN relie les partenaires des principaux centres d'oncologie du Canada au sein du réseau des centres d'oncologie du Marathon de l'espoir de la Fondation Terry Fox. La plateforme permet aux entreprises et aux institutions de recherche de travailler ensemble.

L'utilisation de données communes accélérera les nouvelles découvertes en sciences de la santé et stimulera la croissance des PME afin de commercialiser les découvertes. 

La lutte contre le cancer et d'autres maladies

Le projet fait avancer la recherche sur le cancer et favorise la collaboration  partout au Canada, en vue d'offrir le meilleur traitement à chaque patient atteint du cancer grâce à la médecine personnalisée.

Bien que la PDSN met initialement l'accent sur le cancer, d'autres maladies seront incluses, notamment les maladies neurologiques (p. ex., la maladie d'Alzheimer) et cardiovasculaires. 

Participants

Un groupe de départ composé de 95 membres provenant de 9 provinces : 31 établissements de santé, 9 PME et 10 grandes entreprises, 7 universités, 22 fondations de recherche, organismes subventionnaires et ONG, et les 4 principaux laboratoires canadiens de recherche en IA de l'Alberta, de l'Ontario et du Québec, y compris les participants suivants :

  • Réseau universitaire de santé/Centre de cancérologie Princess Margaret
  • Amplitude Ventures Capital Management
  • MILA
  • IVADO
  • BC Cancer
  • Hôpitaux universitaires de l'Université McGill (CUSM et HGJ)
  • Medteq
  • Prompt
  • Institut et hôpital neurologiques de Montréal
  • Hôpital régional de Saint John
  • Génome Québec
  • Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
  • Caprion
  • IOCR
  • Mitacs
  • AMII
  • Université Dalhousie, IWK
  • Vector
Date de modification :