Stream 4 – Automation and Digital Technologies in the Agriculture and Agri-food Sector

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Winning Applicants: Canadian Food Innovators

Project Name: Canadian Food Innovators Network (CFIN)

This project proposes to boost product development, process innovation and technology adoption in Canada's food and beverage processing sector. CFIN aims to kickstart innovation within Canada's food and beverage processing sector by connecting stakeholders through digital resources and collaborative activities, such as advanced technology platforms, industry advisors, and events focused on sector growth and market access. The Network will also improve the competitiveness and sustainability of the agri-food sector by making existing innovations and best practices available to a wider range of stakeholders in the agri-food system through the creation of a digital hub.

News Release

Key Outcomes:

Connecting key players in the food industry

The project will unite research and development centres, SMEs, MNEs, academia and international innovation centres via a digital hub and physical network events for collaboration and value creation.

The Network will also foster collaboration and leverage industry support to spur new technology adoption, new product development and further research and development across the sector.

Creation of a Digital Hub

The proposed Canadian Food Innovation Digital Hub is the first step toward a Canadian Agri-Food Innovation Centre as recommended by the Canada's Agri-Food Economic Strategy Table. The networked centre / hub for agri-food innovation will help meet consumers' desire for innovative food products and advance technology adoption in the sector.

Canadian investment in agri-food innovation

The network will be composed of food processing organizations and firms that will invest in a series of digitally enabled automation pilots and long-term collaboration among Canadian food and beverage manufacturers to develop a foundational shift towards sustainable agri-food production with increased global market share.

Through the investment in this project, Canadians will benefit from faster growing small and medium sized companies, more Canadian brands, and increased choice of innovative, healthy, and sustainable food and beverage products.

Participants

A starting composition of 18-members across all 10 provinces including:

  • BC Food Processors Association
  • Alberta Food Processors Association
  • Food and Beverage Manitoba
  • Food and Beverage Ontario
  • Conseil de la Transformation Alimentaire Du Québec
  • Food and Beverage Atlantic
  • FOODTECH Canada
  • Saskatchewan Food Development Centre
  • Manitoba Food Development Centre
  • NSF International
  • Cintech agroalimentaire
  • BioFoodTech
  • Perennia
  • Centre for Aquaculture and Seafood Development
Date modified:

Volet 4 – Automatisation et technologies numériques dans le secteur agricole et agroalimentaire

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Candidats retenus : Innovateurs canadiens en alimentation

Nom du projet : Réseau des Innovateurs canadiens en alimentation (RICA)

Ce projet vise à stimuler le développement de produits, l'innovation en matière de procédés et l'adoption de technologies par le secteur privé au sein du secteur canadien de la transformation des aliments et des boissons. Le RICA a pour objectif d'encourager l'innovation dans ce secteur en établissant des liens entre les compagnies et intervenants à l'aide de ressources numériques et d'activités de collaboration, comme des plateformes technologiques de pointe, des conseillers de l'industrie et des événements axés sur la croissance du secteur et l'accès aux marchés. De plus, le réseau améliorera la compétitivité et la durabilité du secteur agroalimentaire en mettant les innovations et les pratiques exemplaires existantes à la disposition d'un plus large éventail d'intervenants du système agroalimentaire grâce à la création d'un carrefour du numérique.

Communiqué de presse

Principaux résultats

Établissement de liens entre les principaux acteurs de l'industrie alimentaire

Le projet réunira des centres de recherche et développement, des PME, des multinationales, le milieu académique et des centres d'innovation internationale au moyen de nouveaux produits, de la collaboration et de création de valeur.

De plus, le réseau favorisera la collaboration et tirera parti du soutien de l'industrie pour favoriser l'adoption de nouvelles technologies, le développement de nouveaux produits et la poursuite de la recherche et du développement dans l'ensemble du secteur.

Création d'un carrefour du numérique

La proposition du Carrefour du numérique des Innovateurs canadiens en alimentation est la première étape vers la création d'un Centre canadien d'innovation agroalimentaire, tel que la Table sectorielle de stratégies économiques sur l'agroalimentaire du Canada l'a recommandé. Le centre/carrefour d'innovation agroalimentaire en réseau aidera à répondre au désir des consommateurs qui veulent des produits alimentaires novateurs et faire progresser l'adoption des technologies dans le secteur.

Investissement canadien dans l'innovation agroalimentaire

Le réseau sera composé d'organisations et entreprises de transformation des aliments qui investiront dans une série de projets pilotes d'automatisation numérique et une collaboration à long terme entre les entreprises canadiennes de la transformation des aliments et des boissons afin d'amorcer un virage fondamental vers une production agroalimentaire durable et l'accroissement de la part du marché mondial.

Grâce à l'investissement dans ce projet, les Canadiens bénéficieront de la croissance plus rapide des petites et moyennes entreprises, d'un plus grand nombre de marques canadiennes et d'un plus grand choix de produits alimentaires et de boissons novateurs, sains et durables.

Participants

Une composition initiale de 18 membres répartis dans les 10 provinces, y compris :

  • Association des transformateurs d'aliments de la C.-B.
  • Association des transformateurs d'aliments de l'Alberta
  • Food and Beverage Manitoba
  • Food and Beverage Ontario
  • Conseil de la transformation alimentaire du Québec
  • Aliments et Boissons Atlantique
  • FOODTECH Canada
  • Saskatchewan Food Development Centre
  • Centre de développement des produits alimentaires du Manitoba
  • NSF International
  • Cintech agroalimentaire
  • BioFoodTech
  • Perennia
  • Centre for Aquaculture and Seafood Development
Date de modification :