Stream 4 – Automation and Digital Technologies in the Agriculture and Agri-food Sector

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Winning Applicant: Canadian Agri-Food Automation and Intelligence Network (CAAIN)

Project Name: Canadian Agri-Food Automation and Intelligence Network (CAAIN)

The project proposes to accelerate the automation and digitization of Canada’s agricultural sector. CAAIN will bring together a network of partners – spearheaded by Alberta Innovates and Vineland Research and Innovation Centre – to increase the competitiveness of our agricultural sector and reduce financial risk for Canadian farmers. The network will establish a smart farm platform to develop and validate technologies that will enable automation of agricultural tasks. Canada’s strengths in artificial intelligence (AI) and precision agriculture will be leveraged and merged to develop scalable, exportable farming solutions.

News Release

Key Outcomes:

Establish an ecosystem for innovation

This project establishes an ecosystem for strong collaboration between technology providers, research institutes, and the agricultural sector to accelerate automation and digitization of Canada’s agriculture sector. The network will help connect partners across Canada to drive new growth in the agriculture sector and increase the competitiveness of Canadian farmers.

Invest in innovation to boost competitiveness

The project activity aligns with Canada’s Agri-Food Economic Strategy Table, to invest in innovation and boost competitiveness through increased automation and digitization. Industry will work with academia to develop automated technologies, processes, modules and machines to advance the use of automation and robotics in agriculture and food.

Integrate data streams

The project will merge state-of-the-art sensor data, such as computer vision and internet of things, with traditional agriculture data, such as soil sampling data, to form a comprehensive data stream for analysis. With this integrated data stream, AI deep learning can be applied to identify patterns, optimize decisions, identify problems and propose solutions to those problems. The data, captured in constructs such as blockchain, will be used to report on food provenance as well as environmental and social sustainability.

The development of a repository of data will allow researchers and technology partners to develop tools that will benefit and strengthen Canada’s agriculture and agri-food sector.

Participants

A starting composition of 8-members across 5 provinces including:

  • Alberta Innovates
  • Vineland Research and Innovation Centre
  • Olds College
  • Lakeland College
  • Linamar Corp.
  • MDA
  • DOT Technology Corp
  • TrustBIX
Date modified:

Volet 4 - Automatisation et technologies numériques dans le secteur agricole et agroalimentaire

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Candidat retenu : Réseau canadien d’automatisation et d’intelligence artificielle de l’agroalimentaire. (RCAIAA)

Nom du projet : Réseau canadien d’automatisation et d’intelligence artificielle de l’agroalimentaire (RCAIAA)

Le projet propose d’accélérer l’automatisation et la numérisation du secteur canadien de l’agriculture. Le RCAIAA réunira un réseau de partenaires – dont les fers de lance sont Alberta Innovates et le Centre de recherche et d’innovation de Vineland - dans le but de réduire le fardeau lié aux pénuries de main-d’œuvre, d’accroître la compétitivité de notre secteur agricole et de réduire les risques financiers pour les agriculteurs canadiens. Le réseau établira une plateforme agricole intelligente pour développer et valider des technologies qui permettront l’automatisation des tâches agricoles. Les atouts du Canada dans les domaines de l’intelligence artificielle (IA) et de l’agriculture de précision seront mis à profit et réunis pour élaborer des solutions agricoles exportables et évolutives.

Communiqué de presse

Principaux résultats

Établir un écosystème pour l’innovation

Ce projet établit un écosystème de collaboration étroite entre les fournisseurs de technologies, les instituts de recherche et le secteur agricole en vue d’accélérer l’automatisation et la numérisation du secteur canadien de l’agriculture. Le réseau aidera à mettre en contact des partenaires partout au Canada afin de stimuler la croissance du secteur agricole et d’accroître la compétitivité des agriculteurs canadiens.

Investir dans l’innovation pour stimuler la compétitivité

L’activité de projet cadre avec la Table de la stratégie économique sur l’agroalimentaire du Canada, à savoir investir dans l’innovation et renforcer la compétitivité par l’automatisation et la numérisation accrues. L’industrie collaborera avec le milieu universitaire pour mettre au point des technologies, des procédés, des modules et des machines automatisés pour faire progresser l’utilisation de l’automatisation et de la robotique dans les secteurs de l’agriculture et de l’agroalimentaire.

Intégrer les flux de données

Le projet fusionnera les données issues des capteurs de pointe, comme la vision par ordinateur et l’Internet des objets, avec les données agricoles traditionnelles, comme les données d’échantillonnage des sols, pour former un flux complet de données à analyser. Grâce à ce flux de données intégré, il est possible d’appliquer l’apprentissage profond axé sur l’intelligence artificielle pour cerner les tendances, optimiser les décisions, déterminer les problèmes et proposer des solutions à ces problèmes. Les données, captés notamment en constructions ‘blockchain’, seront utilisés pour faire le suivi sur la provenance de produits alimentaires ainsi qu’aux fins de durabilité sociale et environnementale.

La création d’un dépôt de données permettra aux chercheurs et aux partenaires technologiques de mettre au point des outils qui profiteront au secteur canadien de l’agriculture et de l’agroalimentaire et le renforceront.

Participants

Une composition initiale de 8 membres répartis dans 5 provinces, y compris :

  • Alberta Innovates
  • Centre de recherche et d’innovation de Vineland
  • Collège Olds
  • Collège Lakeland
  • Linamar Corp.
  • MDA Systems Ltd.
  • DOT Technology Corp
  • TrustBIX
Date de modification :