Member biographies

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Foteini Agrafioti

Co-Chair of the Advisory Council on AI
Chief Science Officer, Royal Bank of Canada and Head, Borealis AI

Foteini Agrafioti is the Chief Science Officer at Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) and Head of Borealis AI, RBC's Research Institute in artificial intelligence. She is responsible for RBC's intellectual property portfolio in the fields of AI and machine learning. She earned a Master's degree in Applied Science in 2007, followed by a doctorate in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Toronto in 2011. Foteini founded and served as Chief Technology Officer at Nymi, a biometrics security company and maker of the Nymi wristband. She is an inventor of HeartID, the first biometric technology to authenticate users based on their unique cardiac rhythms, and serves on the editorial review boards of several scientific journals. Foteini was named the University of Toronto's "Inventor of the Year" in 2012 and one of Canada's Top 40 Under 40 in 2017.

Foteini Agrafioti

Yoshua Bengio

Co-Chair of the Advisory Council on AI
Scientific Director, MILA and Canada Research Chair in Statistical Learning Algorithms and Professor, Université De Montréal

Recognized as one of the world's leading experts in artificial intelligence and a pioneer in deep learning, Yoshua Bengio studied in Montreal, earned his Ph.D. in computer science from McGill University in 1991, and post-doctoral studies at MIT. Since 1993, he has been a professor in the Department of Computer Science and Operations Research at the Université de Montréal, and he holds the Canada Research Chair in Statistical Learning Algorithms. He is Scientific Director of the Institute for Data Valorization (IVADO) and the Montreal Institute for Learning Algorithms (MILA), as well as the Quebec Artificial Intelligence Institute, the world's largest deep learning academic research group. An Officer of the Order of Canada, he is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, the recipient of the Marie-Victorin Prize in 2017, and was named Radio‑Canada's Scientist of the Year for 2017. In 2018, he was awarded the 50th anniversary medal of Quebec's Ministry of International Relations and La Francophonie and in 2019, he was awarded the Association for Computing Machinery A.M. Turing Award. Yoshua is one of the world's most cited computer scientists, thanks to his three books and more than 500 publications. His h-index stands at 128, with more than 141,000 Google Scholar citations. His ambition is to understand the principles that lead to intelligence through learning, as well as promote the development of AI for the benefit of all.

Yoshua Bengio

Pierre Boivin

President and CEO, Claridge and Co-Chair, Quebec Artificial Intelligence Cluster Steering Committee

Pierre Boivin is the President and CEO of Claridge, a private investment firm that represents the interests of the Stephen Bronfman family. He leads a team of professionals in developing a diversified portfolio of private, public market and real estate investments. In addition to being a board member of Claridge, Pierre also sits on the boards of the National Bank of Canada, Canadian Tire, The CH Group and is chairman of the board of Solotech. He is also chairman of the board of the Montreal Institute for Learning Algorithms (MILA), Co-Chair of the Quebec Artificial Intelligence Cluster Steering Committee and a member of the Canadian Advisory Council on AI, and of the board of the Quartier de l'innovation de Montréal. Pierre is the founder and chairman of the board of the Montreal Canadiens Children's Foundation and he contributes to fostering entrepreneurship at the École d'entrepreneurship de Beauce and the Institute of Leadership in Management. He was awarded an honorary doctorate degree by the Université de Montréal and made an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2009. He was named "most socially committed top executive" by Les Affaires in 2015 and was appointed a knight of l'Ordre national du Québec in 2017.

Pierre Boivin

Natalie Cartwright

Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer, FINN.AI

Natalie Cartwright is the Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer of Finn.AI, a financial technology company that assists banks and credit unions in developing AI-powered personal banking assistants. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and Pathology from McGill University, a Master of Public Health from Lund University in Sweden, and a Master of Business Administration from IE Business School in Spain. Prior to founding Finn AI, Natalie worked at the Global Fund in Geneva where she served as Program Officer and Special Assistant to the Deputy Executive Director. In 2014, she brought her training and experience together to create Finn.AI, an artificial-intelligence banking interface for day-to-day transactions, budgeting and saving, customer support, and other financial business functions.

Natalie Cartwright

Marc-Antoine Dilhac

Canada Research Chair in Public Ethics and Political Theory and Associate Professor, Université de Montréal

Marc-Antoine Dilhac holds a PhD from the Université de Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. He is associate professor of ethics and political philosophy at the Université de Montréal and holds the Canada Research Chair in Public Ethics and Political Theory. Since 2013, he has been Director of Ethics and Politics at the Centre de recherche en éthique (Center for Ethics, Montréal). His research interests include theories of democracy (toleration, political deliberation, populism, governance, transparency), challenges of social justice (redistribution and equality of opportunity, civic education), and applied ethics. His research now focuses on issues of governance and institutional design, more specifically on how new technologies are changing public relationships and political structures, and on the ethical and social impacts of AI. He initiated the project of the Montreal Declaration for a Responsible Development of AI, and chairs its scientific board.

Marc-Antoine Dilhac

Eli Fathi

Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, MindBridge Analytics Inc.

Eli Fathi is the Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer of MindBridge Analytics Inc., which introduced the world's first auditing tool based upon artificial intelligence and machine learning technologies — the Ai Auditor — to uncover errors in financial data. He attended Algonquin College and the University of Ottawa where he earned a master's degree in Engineering. Eli has been a technology entrepreneur for over 30 years, having founded or co-founded numerous technology companies including MindBridge Analytics and Fluidware Corp. He currently sits on the Boards of the Ontario Chamber of Commerce, Start-Up Canada, and C-Com, a company that develops satellite-based technologies.

Eli Fathi

Geoffrey Hinton

Chief Scientific Advisor, Vector Institute and Vice President and Engineering Fellow, Google

Geoffrey Hinton designs machine learning algorithms. His aim is to discover neural network learning procedures that are efficient at finding complex structure in large, high-dimensional datasets. His research group at the University of Toronto made major breakthroughs in deep learning that revolutionized speech recognition and object classification. He is now a Google Engineering Fellow and manages the Toronto branch of the Google Brain Team. Geoffreyis a fellow of the Royal Society and his awards include the NSERC Herzberg Gold medal, the IEEE James Clerk Maxwell Gold medal, the BBVA award for Information and Communication technology, the Killam prize for Engineering, the Rumelhart prize, the IJCAI Research Excellence Award and the Association for Computing Machinery A.M. Turing Award.

Geoffrey Hinton

Jordan Kyriakidis

Co-Founder and CEO, QRA Corp

Jordan Kyriakidis is the Co-Founder and CEO of QRA Corp, an enterprise software company devoted to the verification of autonomous systems. Backed by $10M in foreign and domestic investment, QRA's technology incorporates both traditional and non-traditional forms of AI, and is used by Fortune 500 companies in the automotive, aerospace, energy, and medical device industries. Prior to QRA, and since 2002, Jordan was a Professor and head of the Quantum Theory Group at Dalhousie University. He holds a PhD, summa cum laude, in Theoretical Physics from the University of Basel, Switzerland.

Jordan Kyriakidis

AJung Moon

Co-Founder and Director, Open Roboethics Institute and Co-Founder, CEO and Technology Analyst, Generation R Consulting Inc.

AJung Moon is Co-Founder, CEO, and Technology Analyst of Generation R Consulting Inc., a company that assists organizations in making informed design and policy decisions to innovate with advanced technologies without compromising the organization's values. She is also currently serving as Senior Advisor for the UN Secretary-General's High-level Panel on Digital Cooperation. She became a Vanier Scholar in 2013 and received her doctorate in Mechanical Engineering from the University of British Columbia with a specialization in the design of human-inspired interactive robot behaviours. As a roboticist with experience in both roboethics and human-robot interaction, AJung has been heavily involved in national and international discussions on artificial intelligence and autonomous systems. She is a founder and Director of Open Roboethics Institute — a Canadian think tank specializing in roboethics issues — and serves on the Board of Advisor for Ada-AI, and the Executive Committee of the IEEE Global Initiative for Ethics of Autonomous and Intelligent Systems.

AJung Moon

Mona Nemer

Chief Science Advisor, Government of Canada

Mona Nemer is Canada's Chief Science Advisor. Her mandate is to provide advice to the Prime Minister, Minister of Science and other ministers on science issues. Before becoming the Chief Science Advisor, Mona was Professor and Vice-President, Research, at the University of Ottawa. Her research focused on the heart, and has contributed to the development of diagnostic tests for heart failure and the genetics of cardiac birth defects. Mona has served on several national and international advisory committees and executive boards, and is the recipient of many honours. She is a Member of the Order of Canada, a fellow of the Academy of Sciences of the Royal Society of Canada, a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Knight of the Ordre national du Québec and a Knight of the French Republic's Ordre national du Mérite. Mona holds a PhD in Chemistry from McGill University. Prior to working at the University of Ottawa, she was a Professor of Pharmacology at the Université de Montréal and directed the Cardiac Genetics Unit at the Montreal Clinical Research Institute.

Mona Nemer

Teresa Scassa

Canada Research Chair in Information Law and Policy and Professor, University of Ottawa

Teresa Scassa is a Professor at the University of Ottawa's Law Faculty where her research explores issues of data ownership and control. She is also a senior fellow with the Centre for International Governance Innovation's (CIGI) International Law Research Program and the Canada Research Chair in Information Law and Policy. She holds degrees in civil and common law from McGill University as well as a master's degree and doctorate in Law from the University of Michigan. Teresa began her academic career at Dalhousie Law School where she taught courses including Intellectual Property and Law and Technology. At CIGI, her research focuses on the legal challenges associated with data ownership, the need for a national data strategy in a data-driven economy, as well as the governance of smart cities data and its implications for innovation, transparency, accountability, sovereignty and privacy
Teresa Scassa

Elissa Strome

Executive Director of the Pan-Canadian Artificial Intelligence Strategy, CIFAR

Elissa Strome is the Executive Director of the Pan-Canadian Artificial Intelligence Strategy at CIFAR where she works with research leaders across the country to implement Canada's national research strategy in AI. She completed her doctorate in Neuroscience at the University of British Columbia in 2006. Following a post-doc at Lund University, in Sweden, she decided to pursue a career in research strategy, policy and leadership. In 2008, she joined the University of Toronto's Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation and was Director of Strategic Initiatives from 2011 to 2015. From 2015 to 2017, Elissa was Executive Director of the Southern Ontario Smart Computing Innovation Platform (SOSCIP), leading the 17-member industry-academic consortium through a major period of growth and expansion, and establishing SOSCIP as Ontario's leading platform for collaborative research and development in data science and advanced computing.

Elissa Strome

Richard S. Sutton

Chief Scientific Advisor, Amii and Distinguished Research Scientist, DeepMind

Richard S. Sutton is a leading researcher in the field of modern computational reinforcement learning. Currently, Richard is a distinguished research scientist at DeepMind, a London-based AI company founded in 2010, and a professor in the Department of Computing Science at the University of Alberta. He received a doctorate in Computer Science from the University of Massachusetts in 1984 preceded by a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from Stanford University in 1978. Before joining the University of Alberta in 2003, Richard worked in industry at AT&T and GTE Labs, and in academia at the University of Massachusetts. At the University of Alberta, he directs the Reinforcement Learning and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory and is the Chief Scientific Advisor of the Alberta Machine Intelligence Institute (Amii). His research interests center on the learning problems facing a decision-maker interacting with its environment.

Richard S. Sutton

Geneviève Tanguay

Vice-President of Emerging Technologies, National Research Council of Canada

Geneviève Tanguay serves as Vice-President, Emerging Technologies at the National Research Council of Canada, where she oversees the Measurement Science and Standards Research Centre. She holds a doctorate in Parasitology from McGill University and has worked for Universities Canada, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, and the Centre Québécois de valorisation des biotechnologies (CQVB), where she established a major network of businesses and research institutions to promote technology and innovation transfer in the biotechnology sector. From 2007 to 2011, Geneviève held the position of Assistant Deputy Minister for research, innovation and science, and society with the government of Quebec. As part of her current remit, she serves as the executive responsible for the Nanotechnology Research Centre, in addition to being responsible for the Digital Technologies and Advanced Electronics and Photonics Research Centres.

Geneviève Tanguay

Ian Kerr (May - August 2019)

Canada Research Chair in Ethics, Law and Technology and Professor, University of Ottawa

Ian Kerr was a Professor and Canada Research Chair in Ethics, Law, and Technology at the University of Ottawa. His research focused on legal and ethical issues surrounding the merge of human and machines including on AI decision making, military robots, and driverless cars. His work on emerging technologies contributed towards the development of AI and robotics law and policy as a new field of study. Ian was frequently consulted by governments, NGOs, and international organizations including the UN, World Economic Forum and the Canadian government. He obtained his law degree and a PhD from the University of Western Ontario.

Ian Kerr
Date modified:

Biographies des membres

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Foteini Agrafioti

Coprésidente du Conseil consultatif en matière d'IA
Scientifique en chef, Banque royale du Canada, et chef, Borealis AI

Foteini Agrafioti est la scientifique en chef de la Banque royale du Canada (RBC) et chef de Borealis AI, l'Institut de recherche en intelligence artificielle de RBC. Elle est responsable du portefeuille de propriété intellectuelle de RBC dans les domaines de l'IA et de l'apprentissage machine. Elle a obtenu une maîtrise en sciences appliquées en 2007, suivie d'un doctorat en génie électrique et informatique de l'Université de Toronto en 2011. Foteini a fondé Nymi, une entreprise spécialisée en sécurité biométrique qui fabrique le bracelet Nymi, où elle a occupé le poste de directrice de la technologie. Elle a aussi inventé la technologie HeartID, la toute première technologie biométrique utilisée pour identifier les utilisateurs au moyen de leur rythme cardiaque, et siège au comité de lecture de plusieurs revues scientifiques. Foteini a été nommée « Inventeur de l'anné. » en 2012 par l'Université de Toronto et a également fait partie des « 40 Canadiens de moins de 40 ans les plus performant. » (Canada's Top 40 Under 40) en 2017.

Foteini Agrafioti

Yoshua Bengio

Coprésident du Conseil consultatif en matière d'IA
Directeur scientifique, MILA et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les algorithmes d'apprentissage statistique et professeur, Université De Montréal

Reconnu comme l'un des plus grands experts mondiaux en intelligence artificielle et pionnier de l'apprentissage profond, Yoshua Bengio a fait ses études à Montréal, obtenu son doctorat en informatique de l'université McGill en 1991 et effectué des études postdoctorales au MIT. Depuis 1993, il est professeur au Département d'informatique et de recherche opérationnelle de l'Université de Montréal et titulaire de la Chaire de Recherche du Canada sur les algorithmes d'apprentissage statistique. Il est aussi directeur scientifique de l'Institut de valorisation des données, pôle scientifique et économique (IVADO) ainsi que de l'Institut des algorithmes d'apprentissage de Montréal (MILA), et l'Institut Québécois d'Intelligence Artificielle, le plus important groupe académique de recherche en apprentissage profond au monde. Officier de l'Ordre du Canada, il est également Fellow de la Société Royale du Canada, récipiendaire du prix Marie-Victorin, en plus d'avoir été nommé le scientifique de l'année de Radio-Canada pour 2017. En 2018, on lui remet la médaille du 50e anniversaire du Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie et en 2019, on lui remet le prix A.M. Turing de l'Association for Computing Machinery. Yoshua est l'un des informaticiens les plus cités au monde grâce à ses trois livres et plus de 500 publications. Son h-index atteint 128 avec plus de 141 000 citations par Google Scholar. Son ambition est de comprendre les principes qui mènent à l'intelligence grâce à l'apprentissage, ainsi que favoriser le développement d'une intelligence artificielle au bénéfice de tous.

Yoshua Bengio

Pierre Boivin

Président et chef de la direction, Claridge, et coprésident du comité d'orientation de la Grappe en intelligence artificielle du gouvernement du Québec

Pierre Boivin est président et chef de la direction de Claridge, une société d'investissement privé qui représente les intérêts de la famille de Stephen Bronfman. Il dirige une équipe de professionnels dans le développement d'un portefeuille diversifié de placements privés et sur les marchés publics, et d'investissements immobiliers. En plus d'être administrateur de Claridge, Pierre est membre du conseil de la Banque Nationale du Canada, de Canadian Tire, du Groupe CH, et président du conseil de Solotech. Il est également président du conseil d'administration de l'Institut des algorithmes d'apprentissage de Montréal (MILA), coprésident du Comité d'orientation de la grappe québécoise en intelligence artificielle, et membre du Conseil aviseur canadien sur l'IA et du conseil du Quartier de l'innovation de Montréal. Pierre est fondateur et président du conseil de la Fondation des Canadiens pour l'enfance et il contribue au développement de l'entrepreneuriat auprès de l'École d'entrepreneurship de Beauce et de l'Institut de leadership en gestion. Il a reçu un doctorat honorifique de l'Université de Montréal et a été nommé officier de l'Ordre du Canada en 2009. Il a été désigné le «haut dirigeant le plus engagé socialement» par le journal Les Affaires en 2015, et est devenu chevalier de l'Ordre national du Québec en 2017.

Pierre Boivin

Natalie Cartwright

Cofondatrice et directrice de l'exploitation, FINN.AI

Natalie Cartwright est cofondatrice et directrice de l'exploitation de Finn.AI, une entreprise de technologie financière qui aide les banques et les caisses d'épargne à développer des assistants de services bancaires personnels fondés sur l'IA. Natalie est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès arts en psychologie et pathologie de l'Université McGill, d'une maîtrise en santé publique de l'Université de Lund, en Suède, ainsi que d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'École de commerce IE, en Espagne. Avant de fonder Finn AI, Natalie a travaillé pour le Fonds mondial, à Genève, où elle occupait le poste d'agente de programme et d'adjointe spéciale du directeur exécutif adjoint. En 2014, elle a conjugué sa formation et son expérience afin de créer Finn.AI, une interface bancaire d'intelligence artificielle servant aux opérations courantes, à la budgétisation et l'épargne, au soutien à la clientèle et à d'autres fonctions opérationnelles financières
Natalie Cartwright

Marc-Antoine Dilhac

Titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en éthique publique et théorie politique et professeur agrégé, Université de Montréal

Marc-Antoine Dilhac détient un doctorat de l'université de Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. Il est professeur agrégé au Département de philosophie de l'Université de Montréal et est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en Éthique publique et théorie politique. Depuis 2013, il dirige l'axe Éthique et politique du Centre de recherche en éthique. Ses travaux portent sur les enjeux de la démocratie contemporaine (tolérance, délibération politique, populisme, gouvernance, transparence), sur les théories de la justice (redistribution et égalité des chances, éducation civique) et sur l'éthique appliquée. Sa recherche se concentre désormais sur les questions de gouvernance et de design institutionnel, notamment à la manière dont les nouvelles technologies modifient les relations publiques et les structures politiques, et sur les impacts éthiques et sociaux de l'IA. Il a initié le projet de Déclaration de Montréal pour un développement responsable de l'IA, dont il dirige le comité scientifique.

Marc-Antoine Dilhac

Eli Fathi

Cofondateur et chef de la direction, MindBridge Analytics Inc.

Eli Fathi est cofondateur et chef de la direction à MindBridge Analytics Inc., une entreprise qui a lancé le premier outil de vérification au monde fondé sur l'intelligence artificielle et les technologies d'apprentissage‑machine — l'Ai Auditor — qui permet de déceler les erreurs dans les données financières. Eli a étudié au Collège Algonquin et à l'Université d'Ottawa, où il a obtenu une maîtrise en génie. Il est un entrepreneur dans le domaine des technologies depuis plus de 30 ans ayant fondé ou cofondé de nombreuses entreprises de technologies, dont MindBridge Analytics et Fluidware Corp. Il est actuellement membre de comités de la Chambre de commerce de l'Ontario, de Start-Up Canada et de C-Com, une entreprise qui développe des technologies satellitaires.

Eli Fathi

Geoffrey Hinton

Conseiller scientifique en chef, Vector Institute, et vice-président et boursier en génie, Google

Geoffrey Hinton conçoit des algorithmes d'apprentissage profond. Son objectif est de découvrir des procédures d'apprentissage de réseau de neurones qui permettent de trouver efficacement des structures complexes dans de vastes ensembles de données à haute dimension. Son groupe de recherche, basé à l'Université de Toronto, a réalisé des percées majeures en apprentissage profond qui ont révolutionné les techniques de reconnaissance de la voix et de classification par article. Geoffrey agit désormais à titre d'ingénieur associé chez Google et est responsable de l'équipe Google Brain à Toronto. En outre, il est membre de la Société royale du Canada et compte parmi ses récompenses la médaille d'or Gerard-Herzberg du CRSNG, la médaille d'or James Clerk Maxwell de l'IEEE, le Prix de la Fondation BBVA dans la catégorie des technologies de l'information et de la communication, le prix Killiam d'ingénierie, le prix Rumelhart, le Prix d'excellence en recherche de l'IJCAI et le prix A.M. Turing de l'Association for Computing Machinery.

Geoffrey Hinton

Ian Kerr

Titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en éthique, en droit et en technologie et Professeur, Université d'Ottawa

Ian Kerr est professeur titulaire et chaire de recherche du Canada en éthique, en droit et en technologie à l'Univesité d'Ottawa. Ses recherches portent sur les enjeux juridiques et éthiques qui entourent l'union entre l'Homme et les machines, notamment sur la prise de décision grâce à l'IA, les robots militaires et les voitures sans conducteur. Les travaux de Ian sur les technologies émergentes ont contribué au développement du droit et des politiques en matière d'IA et de robotique en tant que nouveau domaine d'études. Ian est fréquemment consulté par les gouvernements, les ONG et les organisations internationales, dont les Nations Unies, le Forum économique mondial et le gouvernement canadien. Il a fait son droit et son doctorat à l'Université de Western Ontario.

Ian Kerr

Jordan Kyriakidis

Cofondateur et chef de la direction, QRA Corp

Jordan Kyriakidis est le co-fondateur et chef de la direction de QRA Corp, une société de logiciels d'entreprise dédiée à la vérification des systèmes autonomes. Appuyée par des investissements étrangers et nationaux de 10 millions de dollars, la technologie de QRA incorpore des formes traditionnelles et non traditionnelles d'IA, et est utilisée par des entreprises Fortune 500 dans les secteurs de l'automobile, de l'aérospatiale, de l'énergie et des dispositifs médicaux. Avant QRA, et depuis 2002, Jordan a été professeur et chef du groupe de théorie quantique de l'Université Dalhousie. Il est titulaire d'un doctorat (Summa cum laude) en physique théorique de l'Université de Bâle, en Suisse.

Jordan Kyriakidis

AJung Moon

Cofondatrice et directrice, Open Roboethics Institute, et cofondatrice, chef de direction et Analyste de la technologie, Generation R Consulting Inc.

AJung Moon est analyste de la technologie ainsi que cofondatrice et chef de la direction de l'entreprise Generation R Consulting Inc. Cette entreprise aide les organisations à prendre des décisions éclairées en matière de conception et de politique afin d'innover sur le plan des technologies avancées sans compromettre leurs valeurs. AJung est également conseillère principale auprès du Groupe de travail de haut niveau sur la coopération numérique du Secrétaire général des Nations Unies. Elle a reçu une bourse Vanier en 2013 et obtenu un doctorat en génie mécanique de l'Université de la Colombie‑Britannique avec spécialisation dans la conception de comportements robotiques interactifs inspirés des comportements humains. En tant que roboticienne possédant une expérience dans les domaines de la roboéthique et de l'interaction humain-robot, AJung participe activement aux discussions sur l'intelligence artificielle et les systèmes autonomes qui sont menées à l'échelle nationale et internationale. Elle est fondatrice et directrice de l'Open Roboethics Institute — un groupe de réflexion canadien se spécialisant dans les questions de roboéthique — en plus d'être membre du comité consultatif d'Ada-AI et du Comité exécutif de l'initiative mondiale d'éthique pour les systèmes autonomes et intelligents de l'IEEE.

AJung Moon

Mona Nemer

Conseillère scientifique en chef, Gouvernement du Canada

Mona Nemer est la Conseillère scientifique en chef du Canada. Son mandat est de conseiller le Premier Ministre, la Ministre des Sciences et les autres ministres sur les enjeux scientifiques. Auparavant, Mona était vice-rectrice à la recherche à l'Université d'Ottawa. Ses recherches portent sur le cœur, et ses travaux ont contribué à l'élaboration de tests diagnostiques pour la détection de l'insuffisance cardiaque et des causes génétiques liées aux maladies cardiaques congénitales. Mona a siégé au sein de nombreux comités consultatifs et conseils d'administration au Canada et à l'étranger, et elle s'est vue décerner de nombreuses distinctions. Elle est membre de l'Ordre du Canada, de l'Académie des sciences de la Société royale du Canada et de l'American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Elle est aussi chevalière de l'Ordre national du Québec et de l'ordre national du Mérite de la République française. Mona a complété son doctorat en chimie à l'Université McGill. Avant son passage à l'Université d'Ottawa, elle a été professeure de pharmacologie à l'Université de Montréal et directrice de l'unité de génétique cardiaque à l'Institut de recherches cliniques de Montréal.

Mona Nemer

Teresa Scassa

Titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en droit et politiques de l'information et Professeure, Université d'Ottawa

Teresa Scassa est professeure à la Faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa, où elle mène des travaux de recherche sur les questions de propriété et de contrôle de données. Elle est aussi agrégée supérieure au programme de recherche en droit international du Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) ainsi que titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en droit et politiques de l'information. Teresa détient un baccalauréat en droit civil et un baccalauréat en common law de l'Université McGill, ainsi qu'une maîtrise et un doctorat en droit de l'Université du Michigan. Elle a entamé sa carrière universitaire à l'École de droit de l'Université Dalhousie, où elle donnait notamment des cours sur la propriété intellectuelle et sur le droit et la technologie. Au CIGI, ses travaux de recherche portent sur les questions juridiques entourant la propriété de données, la nécessité d'une stratégie nationale en matière de données dans une économie axée sur les données, ainsi que sur la gouvernance de données de villes intelligentes et ses répercussions sur l'innovation, la transparence, la responsabilisation, la souveraineté et la protection des renseignements personnels.

Teresa Scassa

Elissa Strome

Directrice exécutive de la Stratégie pancanadienne en matière d'intelligence artificielle, le CIFAR

Elissa Strome est directrice exécutive de la Stratégie pancanadienne en matière d'intelligence artificielle au CIFAR, où elle collabore avec des chefs de file en recherche de partout au pays à la mise en œuvre de la stratégie canadienne de recherche en intelligence artificielle. Elle a obtenu un doctorat en neuroscience de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique en 2006. Après ses études postdoctorales à l'Université de Lund, en Suède, Mme Strome décide de poursuivre une carrière en stratégie de recherche, politique et leadership. En 2008, elle se joint au bureau du vice-président, recherche et innovation de l'Université de Toronto, où elle occupe de 2011 à 2015 le poste de directrice des initiatives stratégiques. De 2015 à 2017, Elissa a été directrice générale de la Plateforme d'innovation dans l'information intelligente du sud de l'Ontario, où elle a dirigé un consortium composé de 17 membres provenant du milieu universitaire et de l'industrie en grande période de croissance et d'expansion, ainsi que fait de la Plateforme la plateforme principale de l'Ontario pour la recherche‑développement collaborative en science des données et informatique avancée.

Elissa Strome

Richard S. Sutton

Conseiller scientifique en chef, Amii et chercheur scientifique émérite, DeepMind

Richard S. Sutton est un chercheur de renom en informatique en apprentissage par renforcement. Richard est actuellement chercheur émérite chez DeepMind, une société dans le domaine de l'IA basée à Londres et fondée en 2010, ainsi que professeur au département d'informatique de l'Université de l'Alberta. Il a obtenu un doctorat en informatique de l'Université du Massachusetts en 1984 qui suivi un baccalauréat ès arts en psychologie de l'Université Stanford en 1978. Avant de joindre l'Université de l'Alberta en 2003, Richard a œuvré au sein de l'industrie chez d'AT&T et de GTE Labs ainsi qu'en milieu universitaire à l'Université du Massachusetts. À l'Université de l'Alberta, il dirige le laboratoire d'apprentissage par renforcement et d'intelligence artificielle et est le conseiller scientifique en chef de l'Alberta Machine Intelligence Institute (Amii). Ses recherches se concentrent sur les problèmes d'apprentissage rencontrés par les décideurs dans le cadre des interactions avec leur environnement.

Richard S. Sutton

Geneviève Tanguay

Vice-présidente, Technologies émergentes, Conseil national de recherches Canada

Geneviève Tanguay est vice-présidente, Technologies émergentes, au Conseil national de recherches Canada, où elle supervise le Centre de recherche sur la science des mesures et les étalons. Elle est titulaire d'un doctorat en parasitologie de l'Université McGill. Elle a travaillé à Universités Canada, pour le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada ainsi que pour le Centre québécois de valorisation des biotechnologies (CQVB), où elle a créé un important réseau d'entreprises et d'établissements de recherche visant à promouvoir la technologie et le transfert d'innovations dans le secteur de la biotechnologie. De 2007 à 2011, Geneviève a occupé le poste de sous‑ministre adjointe de la recherche, de l'innovation, de la science et de la société au gouvernement du Québec. Dans le cadre de son mandat actuel, elle est directrice responsable du Centre de recherche en nanotechnologie, en plus d'assurer la responsabilité du Centre de recherche sur les technologies numériques et du Centre de recherche avancée en électronique et en photonique.

Geneviève Tanguay
Date de modification :