Language selection

Search

Black Entrepreneurship Knowledge Hub

Black entrepreneurs and businesses are key pillars in the Black Canadian community, yet we have very limited information on this important entrepreneurial ecosystem in Canada. Through stronger information, we can strengthen this ecosystem and enable Black entrepreneurs and businesses to be even more successful in their business endeavours. The Black Entrepreneurship Knowledge Hub will address these gaps through research and knowledge dissemination that will benefit and empower Black entrepreneurs and business owners.

What is the Knowledge Hub

The Black Entrepreneurs Knowledge Hub ('Knowledge Hub') is one component of the Black Entrepreneurship Program. The full potential of the Black business ecosystem can be unleashed through stronger information, research and statistics. The goal of the Knowledge Hub is to enable this. By conducting large-scale qualitative and quantitative research on Black entrepreneurship in Canada, conducting detailed mapping of Black business ecosystems across the country, and identifying critical gaps where Black entrepreneurs are facing the greatest challenges, we can level the playing field for Black entrepreneurs and business owners.

How it will work

The Knowledge Hub will be run by partnership between a Black community organization (or consortium of Black community organizations) and a post-secondary or other accredited educational institution in Canada. Ideal partners will be a Black-led organization, equipped with strong networks partnership with a post-secondary institution with the capacity for sound data analysis.

Interested partners can apply by submitting a concept through the call for concepts. The successful partners will receive up to $5 million over 4 years to develop and implement the Black Entrepreneurship Knowledge Hub. The result of this Call for concepts will lead to one consortium receiving the funding.

Call for concepts closed: January 18, 2021. We are no longer accepting applications.

Who is eligible to apply

Eligible applicants are a Partnership between not-for-profit Black-led organization(s) and a provincially/territorially recognized post-secondary academic institution(s) or research institute(s).

The Black-led support organization must demonstrate:

  • the leadership positions (Directors, Founders, etc.) are primarily occupied by people who self-identify as Black (minimum two-thirds);
  • the governance structure (volunteer committee, advisory board, eldership circle, etc.) is primarily composed of people who self-identify as Black (minimum two-thirds); and
  • its mandate, activities and outcomes are focused on supporting members of Black communities, namely Black business communities.

The academic institution must represent:

  • its capacity to conduct large-scale quantitative and qualitative research projects;
  • its linkages to the entrepreneurship ecosystem and the Black Canadian community; and
  • its ability to safely collect and anonymize statistics.

For more details, see the Application Guide.

How the program will be administered?

The adjudication process will be administered by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) on behalf of the Government of Canada. Once a successful applicant has been selected, the partnership of two or more organizations will form a governing organization to which the administration of the Knowledge Hub will be passed.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Carrefour du savoir pour l’entrepreneuriat des communautés noires

Les entrepreneurs et les entreprises noirs sont des piliers essentiels de la communauté noire canadienne, mais nous disposons de très peu d'informations sur cet important écosystème entrepreneurial au Canada. Grâce à des informations plus solides, nous pouvons renforcer cet écosystème et permettre aux entrepreneurs et aux entreprises noirs d'avoir encore plus de succès dans leurs entreprises commerciales. Le Carrefour du savoir du Programme pour l'entrepreneuriat des communautés noires comblera ces lacunes grâce à la recherche et à la diffusion de connaissances qui bénéficieront et conféreront des moyens d'agir aux entrepreneurs et aux propriétaires d'entreprises noirs.

En quoi consiste le Carrefour du savoir?

Le Carrefour du savoir pour l'entrepreneuriat des communautés noires (« Carrefour du savoir ») est une composante du Programme pour l'entrepreneuriat des communautés noires. Le plein potentiel de l'écosystème des entreprises noires peut être réalisé grâce à des informations, des recherches et des statistiques plus solides. L'objectif du Carrefour du savoir est de rendre cela possible. En menant des recherches qualitatives et quantitatives à grande échelle sur l'entrepreneuriat des Noirs au Canada, en dressant une cartographie détaillée de l'écosystème des entreprises dirigées par des Noirs à travers le pays et en identifiant les lacunes critiques auxquelles les entrepreneurs noirs sont confrontés, nous pouvons uniformiser les règles du jeu pour les entrepreneurs et les propriétaires d'entreprises noirs.

Fonctionnement

Le Carrefour du savoir sera géré par un partenariat composé d'un organisme de la communauté noire (ou d'un consortium d'organismes de la communauté noire) et d'un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire ou d'un autre établissement d'enseignement agréé au Canada. Le partenariat idéal serait entre une organisation dirigée par des Noirs, dotée de réseaux de partenariat solides, avec un établissement d'enseignement supérieur ayant la capacité de procéder à des analyses de données rigoureuses.

Les partenaires intéressés peuvent présenter une demande en soumettant un concept dans le cadre de l'appel de concepts. Les partenaires retenus recevront jusqu'à 5 millions de dollars sur 4 ans pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre le Carrefour du savoir pour l'entrepreneuriat des communautés noires. Le résultat de cet appel de concepts permettra à un seul consortium de recevoir le financement.

Réception des demandes fermée : le 18 janvier 2021. Nous n'acceptons plus des soumissions.

Admissibilité à présenter une demande

Les candidats éligibles sont un partenariat entre une ou plusieurs organisations à but non lucratif dirigées par des Noirs et une ou plusieurs institutions universitaires ou instituts de recherche post-secondaires reconnus au niveau provincial/territorial.

L'organisme de soutien dirigé par des communautés noires doit démontrer les aspects suivants :

  • les postes de direction (directeurs, fondateurs, etc.) sont principalement occupés par des personnes qui s'identifient comme étant noires (deux tiers au minimum);
  • la structure de gouvernance (comité de bénévoles, conseil consultatif, cercle des aînés, etc.) est principalement composée de personnes qui s'identifient comme étant noires (deux tiers au minimum);
  • son mandat, ses activités et ses résultats sont axés sur le soutien des membres des communautés noires, à savoir les communautés d'affaires noires.

L'institution académique doit démontrer les aspects suivants :

  • sa capacité de mener des projets de recherche quantitatifs et qualitatifs à grande échelle;
  • ses liens avec l'Écosystème entrepreneurial des communautés noires canadiennes; et
  • sa capacité à recueillir et à anonymiser des données statistiques en toute sécurité.

Pour plus de détails, consultez le Guide de présentation d'une demande.

Administration du programme

Le processus d'adjudication sera administré par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) au nom du gouvernement du Canada. Une fois le candidat sélectionné, le partenariat de deux organisations ou plus formera une organisation dirigeante à laquelle sera confiée l'administration du Carrefour du savoir.

Date de modification :