Message from the Assistant Deputy Minister

The Strategic Policy Sector (SPS) as an integrated sector is relatively young, although its work has long been central to Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's mandate to enhance Canada's prosperity for the benefit of all Canadians.

Our vision is to lay the foundation upon which the Department is recognized as a global centre of excellence for micro-economic policy. Our work crosses all sectors and branches of the Department.

The Sector leads the Department on micro-economic policy and integrated policy formulation, and enables the Department to effectively address the wide range of current and emerging business and market-related issues. To fulfill its role, the Sector must continue to attract and retain highly-qualified personnel to join the scores of top-notch economists and policy analysts who already make it their home.

By continuing our work—both within the Sector and between the Sector and the rest of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada—to integrate and advance economic policy, we will continue to provide the conditions to ensure that Canadians retain their high standard of living with the support of a robust and progressive economy.

The SPS website provides an opportunity to increase our understanding of the roles and responsibilities of the Sector and its contribution to Canadians. Come explore what we have to offer! We hope that you will enjoy your visit and return often!

Date modified:

Message du sous-ministre adjoint

Le Secteur de la politique stratégique (SPS) est un secteur intégré depuis peu, même si ses travaux sont depuis longtemps essentiels à l'atteinte du mandat d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, soit d'accroître la prospérité du Canada dans l'intérêt de tous les Canadiens.

Notre objectif est d'établir le fondement qui permet au Ministère d'être reconnu comme centre d'excellence de calibre mondial en ce qui a trait à la politique micro-économique. Notre travail touche à tous les secteurs et à toutes les directions générales du Ministère.

Le Secteur dirige la politique micro-économique et la formulation intégrée des politiques au sein du Ministère et permet à ce dernier d'aborder efficacement le large éventail de questions d'actualité et émergentes liées aux entreprises et au marché. Pour exercer son rôle, le Secteur doit attirer et maintenir en poste des employés hautement qualifiés, qui joindront son équipe d'économistes et d'analystes de politique déjà établis.

En poursuivant nos efforts qui visent à intégrer et à faire avancer la politique économique (à la fois au sein du Secteur et en collaboration avec le reste d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada), nous continuerons d'offrir les conditions qui permettront aux Canadiens de conserver leur niveau de vie élevé tout en soutenant une économie saine et en progression.

Le site web du SPS fournis une opportunité d'augmenter votre connaissance des rôles et responsabilités du secteur et de sa contribution pour les canadiens. Venez explorer ce que nous avons à offrir! Nous espérons que vous allez apprécié votre visite et que vous reviendrez nous voir à plusieurs reprises!

Date de modification :