A Governance Framework for IP Agents

Consultation period

May 24, 2016 to June 13, 2016—Draft Code of Conduct
May 24, 2016 to August 31, 2016—Governance Model and Disciplinary Process
June 23, 2016 to August 31, 2016—Revised Draft Interim Code of Conduct

Consultations on a Governance Framework for Intellectual Property Agents Extended

The consultations launched in May 2016, by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, in conjunction with the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO), on a governance framework for the intellectual property agent profession have been extended.  Interested persons are invited to provide views on the revised code of conduct (which takes into account views expressed during earlier consultations), the disciplinary process and the three proposed governance models by August 31, 2016.

Consultation Update:

On June 24, 2016, section 16.1 of the Patent Act and section 51.13 of the Trade-marks Act enter into force, providing statutory protection for confidential communications between intellectual property agents and their clients.

A draft code of conduct was published as part of consultations on a governance framework for IP agents. While the consultation period on the draft code of conduct closed on June 13, 2016, consultations on three proposed governance models are ongoing and comments will be received until August 31, 2016, and published afterward.

This revised version of the code of conduct takes into consideration comments received during the consultation period and is intended as a provisional guidance document for agents in the exercise of their duties and responsibilities towards their clients, including in the application of the statutory privilege.

Recognizing the interim nature of the draft code, further submissions on the code, including any of the amended sections listed below, will continue to be accepted until August 31, 2016, and be published afterward.

  • a new disclaimer above the definitions section
  • revised definition of "client"
  • confidentiality – revisions to 2.2, 2.7, and addition of 2.8, 2.9, 2.10
  • conflict of interest exception - rule 3.2
  • concurrent representation - rule 3.4 (under review)
  • business transactions with clients - rule 3.8 (under review)
  • fees – revision to commentary – rule 5
  • advertising – revised principle – rule 9
  • unauthorized practice – rule 10

Other changes of an editorial nature were made to correct grammar where necessary.

Consultation documents

Comments received

Background

The intellectual property (IP) system plays an important role in facilitating innovation and promoting a strong and dynamic Canadian economy. To this end, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED), in conjunction with the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO), is launching a consultation with a view to updating the regulatory framework for the patent and trademark agent professions. This consultation will build upon the "Modernizing the IP Community" consultation that was conducted by CIPO in 2013–2014, as well as legislation put in place last year.

Consultation and discussion

The purpose of the consultation is to seek views on a proposed values and ethics framework for the IP profession, and on governance models to administer the values and ethics framework.

The values and ethics framework involves a code of conduct and a disciplinary process to enforce the code. This framework would be administered by a regulator that would be established to oversee the IP agent profession. This regulator would be responsible for maintaining the code of conduct, and enforcing the code through the disciplinary process.

The consultation documents outline three possible governance models for the regulator: an administrative agency model; a mixed-model; and a self-regulatory model. Also included is an outline for a disciplinary process and a draft code of conduct, which is based on the IPIC Draft Code of Conduct with sections from the Federation of Law Societies of Canada Model Code of Professional Conduct.

Submission of comments and contact information

ISED and CIPO request that answers to the included questions and any general comments on the proposed draft code of conduct be submitted by June 13, 2016. The comment period has been abbreviated in recognition of the fact that the draft code has been the subject of previous consultations. Answers to questions and general comments relating to the remainder of the consultation paper, including the governance model and disciplinary process, must be submitted by August 31, 2016 to be considered.

Please submit all responses to Denis Martel, Director of Patent Policy, Strategic Policy Sector, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada at denis.martel@canada.ca. Note that all comments will be posted on this website for three months following the end of the consultation period.

Should you have any questions about this consultation, please send them by email to denis.martel@canada.ca or by phone to 343-291-2686.

Date modified:

Un cadre de gouvernance pour les agents de la propriété intellectuelle

Période de consultation

Du 24 mai 2016 au 13 juin 2016 — Code de conduite provisoire
Du 24 mai 2016 au 31 août 2016 — Modèle de gouvernance et processus disciplinaire
Du 23 mai 2016 au 31 août 2016 — L'ébauche du Code de conduite provisoire révisé

Prolongation des consultations sur le cadre de gouvernance pour les agents de la PI

Les consultations lancées en mai 2016 par le ministère de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique, en collaboration avec l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada sur le cadre de gouvernance applicable à la profession d'agents de la propriété intellectuelle ont été prolongées. Les personnes intéressées sont invitées à soumettre leurs commentaires sur un code de conduite révisé (qui tient compte des commentaires reçus lors de consultations antérieures), un processus disciplinaire et trois modèles de gouvernance proposés, d'ici le 31 août 2016.

Mise à jour des consultations

L'article 16.1 de la Loi sur les brevets et l'article 51.13 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, qui ont pour effet de protéger les communications confidentielles entre les agents de propriété intellectuelle et leurs clients, entreront en vigueur le 24 juin 2016.

Un code de conduite provisoire a été publié dans le contexte des consultations sur le cadre de gouvernance des agents de PI. Bien que la période de consultation sur ce code de conduite ait pris fin le 13 juin 2016, les consultations sur trois modèles de gouvernance proposés se poursuivent; les commentaires seront acceptés jusqu'au 31 août 2016 et seront publiées par la suite.

La version révisée du code de conduite tient compte des commentaires reçus pendant la période de consultation. Ce code a pour objectif de servir de document d'orientation provisoire aux agents dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions et responsabilités envers leurs clients, notamment en ce qui a trait à l'application du privilège législatif.

Compte tenu de sa nature provisoire, des nouvelles soumissions sur le code, incluant les articles modifiés indiqués ci-dessous, continueront d'être acceptées jusqu'au 31 août 2016 et seront publiées par la suite.

  • Un nouvel avis au-dessus de la section Définitions
  • Définition révisée de « client »
  • Confidentialité – révision des sections 2.2, 2.7; ajout des sections 2.8, 2.9, 2.10
  • Exception relative aux conflits d'intérêts – règle 3.2
  • Représentation simultanée – règle 3.4 (sous revue)
  • Opérations commerciales avec des clients – règle 3.8 (sous revue)
  • Honoraires – révision du commentaire – règle 5
  • Publicité – principe révisé – règle 9
  • Pratiques non autorisées – règle 10
  • D'autres modifications de nature éditoriale ont été apportées pour corriger la grammaire, lorsque nécessaire.

Documents visés par la consultation

Commentaires reçus

Contexte

Le régime de propriété intellectuelle (PI) joue un rôle important en facilitant innovation et favorisant une économie canadienne solide et dynamique. A cette fin, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE), en conjonction avec l'Office canadien de la propriété intellectuelle (OPIC), lance un processus de consultation afin d'actualiser le cadre réglementaire applicable aux professions d'agent de brevets et de marques de commerce. L'initiative fera fond sur le processus de consultation intitulé « Modernisation de la communauté de la PI » réalisé par l'OPIC en 2013-2014, ainsi que sur la mesure législative adoptée l'année dernière.

Consultation et discussion

Cette consultation vise à obtenir votre opinion sur un cadre proposé de valeurs et d'éthique pour la profession d'agent de la propriété intellectuelle.

Le cadre de valeurs et d'éthique comporte un code de conduite et un processus disciplinaire permettant d'appliquer le code. Ce cadre serait appliqué par un organisme de réglementation établi pour superviser la profession d'agent de la PI. Cet organisme serait responsable de tenir le code de conduite à jour et de le mettre en application au moyen du processus disciplinaire.

Le document visé par la consultation décrit trois possibilités de modèle de gouvernance en ce qui concerne l'organisme de réglementation : un organisme administratif, un modèle mixte et autoréglementation. Il présente également les grandes lignes d'un processus disciplinaire et un code de conduite provisoire fondé sur l'ébauche du code de conduite de l'Institut de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (IPIC) et inclure des sections du Code type de déontologie professionnelle de la Fédération des ordres professionnels de juristes du Canada.

Présentation des commentaires et coordonnées

ISDE et l'OPIC demandent que les réponses aux questions et tout commentaire général sur le code provisoire soient présentés d'ici le 13 juin 2016. La durée de la période de consultation a été écourtée puisque la version préliminaire du code de conduite a déjà fait l'objet de consultations. Les réponses et les commentaires généraux liés au reste du document de consultation, y compris ceux concernant le modèle de gouvernance et le processus disciplinaire, doivent être présentés d'ici le 31 août 2016.

Veuillez soumettre vos réponses à Denis Martel, directeur de la politique des brevets, Secteur de la politique stratégique, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique, à l'adresse denis.martel@canada.ca. Notez que tous les commentaires seront affichés ce site Web pendant les trois mois suivant la fin de la période de consultation.

Si vous avez des questions à propos de la présente consultation, veuillez les envoyer par courrier électronique à l'adresse denis.martel@canada.ca ou par téléphone au 343-291-2686.

Date de modification :