Corporate law policy

Corporate law policy involves the ongoing review of Canada's federal business framework statutes governing the corporate sector and the development of legislative policy recommendations. The links below provide additional information on Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada’s activities around corporate law policy.

The Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA) provides the corporate governance framework for many small and medium-sized Canadian enterprises, as well as many of the largest corporations operating in Canada. The statute sets out clear and transparent rules pertaining to the creation of businesses incorporated at the federal level; the rights and responsibilities of management, the board, and shareholders; and financial accountability. The modern and comprehensive corporate governance standards set out in the statute ensure that federal business corporations have the tools to deal with the emerging issues facing the capital markets of today and the future.

The Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act) provides federal not-for-profit corporations with rules that are modern, flexible and better suited to the needs of today's not-for-profit sector. These rules support sound governance, and clarify the roles and responsibilities of directors, members, officers and other interested parties. Federal not-for-profits corporations operate without share capital. The NFP Act replaces the Canada Corporations Act, Part II, once federal not-for-profit corporations have transitioned to the NFP Act.

The Canada Cooperatives Act provides a legislative framework for the incorporation of non-financial cooperatives at the federal level. Modeled on the CBCA, the Canada Cooperatives Act gives federally incorporated cooperatives tools to help them prosper and achieve their growth potential for the benefit of their members, workers and consumers across Canada. It also sets the framework for them to access financial markets through the issuance of shares.

Further information

For further information, see:

Corporate law policy is the responsibility of the Investment, Insolvency, Competition and Corporate Policy Directorate, which is part of the Marketplace Framework Policy Branch.

Date modified:

Politique du droit des sociétés

La politique du droit des sociétés comprend l'examen continu du cadre législatif fédéral régissant le secteur des entreprises et la formulation de recommandations d'action en matière législative. Les liens ci-dessous fournissent des renseignements supplémentaires sur les activités d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada entourant la politique du droit des sociétés.

La Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions (LCSA) encadre la gouvernance de bon nombre de petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes, ainsi que de nombreuses grandes sociétés en activité au Canada. La LCSA établit des règles claires et transparentes relativement à la création de sociétés constituées sous le régime fédéral; les droits et responsabilités de la direction, du conseil d'administration et des actionnaires, et les obligations en matière de responsabilité financière. Les normes de gouvernance modernes et complètes établies dans la loi font en sorte que les sociétés constituées sous le régime fédéral disposent des outils nécessaires pour aborder les questions émergentes auxquelles font face les marchés des capitaux d'aujourd’hui et de demain.

La Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL) offre aux organisations à but non lucratif de régime fédéral un ensemble de règles modernes, souples et qui répondent mieux aux besoins du secteur à but non lucratif actuel. Ces règles favorisent une bonne gouvernance et clarifient les rôles et responsabilités du conseil d'administration, des membres et des dirigeants ainsi que des autres parties intéressées. Les organisations à but non lucratif fédérales fonctionnent sans capital-actions. Lorsqu’elles ont effectué la transition vers la Loi BNL, celle-ci remplace la partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes.

La Loi canadienne sur les coopératives fournit un cadre législatif pour la constitution de coopératives non financières sous le régime fédéral. Modelée sur la LCSA, la Loi canadienne sur les coopératives met à la disposition des coopératives constituées sous le régime fédéral des outils visant à les aider à prospérer et à réaliser leur potentiel de croissance au profit de leurs membres, des travailleurs et des consommateurs d'un bout à l'autre du Canada. Elle établit aussi le cadre permettant à ces coopératives d'accéder aux marchés financiers par l'émission d'actions.

Plus d'Information

Pour obtenir davantage d'information, veuillez consulter :

La politique du droit des sociétés est la responsabilité de la Direction de la politique de l'investissement, l'insolvabilité, la concurrence et l'entreprise, qui fait partie de la Direction générale des politiques-cadres du marché.

Date de modification :