Insolvency law policy

Insolvency law policies and regulations play an important role in the economy and in society. They allow honest but unfortunate debtors to obtain a fresh start by relieving them from their debt. Insolvency law policies also allow resources to be quickly returned to productive use by enabling viable but financially troubled companies to restructure instead of filing for bankruptcy.

The Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act provides a legislative framework for the liquidation of the assets of an insolvent individual, corporation or partnership, and the distribution of the proceeds in a fair and orderly way among the creditors. The Act provides for the appointment of a trustee to take charge of the assets, sell them and distribute the proceeds. Alternatively, the Act provides ways for insolvent businesses or consumer debtors to avoid bankruptcy by negotiating arrangements with their creditors for the compromise of their debts and the reorganization of their financial affairs.

The Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act provides a legislative framework for the reorganization of insolvent corporate debtors. It enables an insolvent company to seek a court order staying its creditors from taking action against it while it negotiates an arrangement with them for the rescheduling or compromise of its debts.

The Winding-up and Restructuring Act, jointly administered by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada and the Department of Finance Canada, provides an alternative framework to the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act for the liquidation and distribution of an insolvent corporation's assets among its creditors. It is the only legislative vehicle available for the liquidation of major financial institutions, including banks, insurance companies and trust and loan companies, none of which can be liquidated under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act.

Further information

For further information, see:

Insolvency law policy is the responsibility of the Investment, Insolvency, Competition and Corporate Policy Directorate, which is part of the Marketplace Framework Policy Branch.

Date modified:

Politique du droit de l’insolvabilité

Les politiques et règlements relatifs au droit de l'insolvabilité jouent un rôle important dans l'économie et dans la société. Ils permettent aux débiteurs honnêtes mais malheureux de repartir à neuf en les libérant d'une dette écrasante. Les politiques du droit de l'insolvabilité permettent aussi que les ressources puissent être rapidement réutilisées à des fins productives en donnant à des entreprises viables qui connaissent des difficultés financières la possibilité de restructurer leurs activités plutôt que de déclarer faillite.

La Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité fournit un cadre législatif pour la liquidation des biens d'une personne, d'une société ou d'un partenariat insolvable et la distribution du produit de façon équitable et ordonnée entre les créanciers. La Loi prévoit la nomination d'un syndic chargé de s'occuper des biens, de les vendre et de distribuer le produit. En outre, la Loi fournit également aux consommateurs ou entreprises insolvables des moyens d'éviter la faillite en négociant des ententes avec leurs créanciers pour réaliser un compromis sur leurs dettes et réorganiser leurs affaires financières.

La Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies fournit un cadre législatif pour la réorganisation des entreprises débitrices insolvables. Elle permet à une entreprise insolvable d'obtenir une ordonnance d'un tribunal qui suspend le droit de ses créanciers d'entreprendre contre elle une action en justice pendant qu'elle négocie un arrangement avec eux pour le rééchelonnement ou compromis de ses dettes.

La Loi sur les liquidations et les restructurations, administrée conjointement par Industrie Canada et le ministère des Finances du Canada, fournit un cadre de rechange à la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité pour la liquidation et la distribution des biens d'une société insolvable entre ses créanciers. Il s'agit du seul instrument législatif disponible pour la liquidation des grandes institutions financières, y compris les banques, les compagnies d'assurance et les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, qui ne peuvent être liquidées sous le régime de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité.

Plus d'Information

Pour obtenir davantage d'information, veuillez consulter :

La politique du droit de l’insolvabilité est la responsabilité de la Direction de la politique de l'investissement, l'insolvabilité, la concurrence et l'entreprise, qui fait partie de la Direction générale des politiques-cadres du marché.