Patent policy

Patents

Under the Patent Act, a patent may be obtained by anyone who invents any new and useful process, machine, article of manufacture or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement to any of these things. Scientific theories, computer programs, plants or animals, discoveries of natural substances and natural biological processes cannot be patented.

Patents give inventors the right to exclude others from making, using, selling or importing the patented invention for a limited time. In Canada, a patent protects an invention for 20 years starting from the date it was applied for by the inventor, in keeping with international standards.

By giving inventors this temporary monopoly over their inventions, patents encourage innovation. In exchange for these monopoly rights, inventors must disclose the details of their inventions to the public. This disclosure encourages the distribution of information and enables other inventors to remain abreast of the latest developments in their field and to develop improvements.

The Patent Act provides for a 20-year term of protection. Any new, useful and not obvious product, process, machine or composition of matter is potentially patentable.

Amendments to Intellectual Property Laws

The Government of Canada is proposing to make targeted changes to Canada’s Patent Act and other related intellectual property laws to discourage certain behaviours that hinder innovation and to enhance clarity in the IP regime, thereby ensuring a more level playing field for all market participants.

Learn more:

Further information

For further information about patents, see

Patent policy is the responsibility of the Patent Policy Directorate, which is part of the Marketplace Framework Policy Branch.

Date modified:

Politique des brevets

Brevets

En vertu de la Loi sur les brevets, peut obtenir un brevet quiconque invente ou perfectionne un procédé, une machine, un article de fabrication ou une composition de matière qui est nouveau et utile. Les théories scientifiques, les programmes informatiques, les plantes ou animaux, les découvertes de substances et les procédés biologiques naturels ne peuvent être brevetés.

Les brevets confèrent aux inventeurs le droit exclusif de fabriquer, d'utiliser, de vendre ou d'importer l'invention brevetée pendant une période limitée. Au Canada, un brevet protège une invention pendant 20 ans à partir de la date à laquelle l'inventeur a demandé le brevet, ce qui est conforme aux normes internationales.

En accordant aux inventeurs ce monopole temporaire sur leurs inventions, les brevets encouragent l'innovation. En échange de ces droits exclusifs, les inventeurs doivent divulguer les détails de leur invention au public. Cette divulgation encourage la diffusion d'information et permet aux autres inventeurs de demeurer au fait des derniers progrès dans leur domaine et de mettre au point des améliorations.

La Loi sur les brevets accorde une protection d'une durée de 20 ans. Tout produit, procédé, machine ou composition de matière nouveau, utile et non évident peut être breveté.

Plus d'information

Pour obtenir davantage d'information sur les brevets, veuillez consulter :

La politique des brevets est la responsabilité de la Direction de la politique des brevets, qui fait partie de la Direction générale des politiques-cadres du marché.

Date de modification :