Telecommunications policy

Communications is a multi-billion dollar industry in Canada, driving innovation, economic growth and connectedness across the country. It encompasses wired and wireless voice, data services, broadcast distribution and forms of new media like social networking and online video. The goal of telecommunications policy is to ensure a competitive and innovative telecommunications industry that meets the needs of Canadian consumers and businesses.

The Telecommunications Policy Branch of the Strategic Policy Sector (SPS) formulates policies, recommendations, regulations and legislation that govern and promote the development, efficient operation and competitiveness of the telecommunications facilities and services required by Canadians for national and international communications, including the present and future use of the radio frequency spectrum.

The Branch also assumes policy development, coordination and representational functions in multilateral and bilateral telecommunications negotiations; develops business and regulatory policy proposals affecting the telecommunications industry, new media and the Internet, including regulatory reform proposals; and develops analysis and recommendations respecting the possible review of regulatory decisions by the Governor in Council.

Telecommunications policy encompasses

Related sites

Date modified:

Politique des télécommunications

Les communications sont une industrie de plusieurs milliards de dollars au Canada; qui stimulent l'innovation, la croissance économique et la connectivité partout au pays. Elle comprend les communications vocales par câble et sans fil, les services de données, la distribution de radiodiffusion et les nouveaux médias tels que le réseautage social et la vidéo en ligne. La politique des télécommunications vise à développer une industrie des télécommunications concurrentielle et novatrice qui répond aux besoins des entreprises et des consommateurs canadiens.

La Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications du Secteur de la politique stratégique (SPS) élabore les politiques, recommandations, règlements et lois qui régissent et favorisent le développement, le fonctionnement efficient et la compétitivité des installations et services de télécommunication dont les Canadiens ont besoin pour communiquer à l'échelle nationale et internationale, y compris l'utilisation actuelle et future du spectre des radiofréquences.

En outre, la Direction générale : assure l'élaboration de politiques, la coordination et des fonctions de représentation dans les négociations multilatérales et bilatérales sur les télécommunications; élabore des propositions de politiques réglementaires et commerciales visant l'industrie des télécommunications, les nouveaux médias et Internet, y compris des propositions de réforme de la réglementation; et effectue des analyses et formule des recommandations concernant l'examen possible des décisions réglementaires par le gouverneur en conseil.

La politique des télécommunications englobe les éléments suivants :

Sites connexes

Date de modification :