Regulatory framework policy

The business and regulatory environment for telecommunications is constantly evolving. The Regulatory Framework Policy directorate analyses the impact of advances in technology, changes in market conditions and new regulatory decisions to help determine what government action might be required to meet the social and economic objectives of Canada's telecommunication policy.

The Branch is responsible for ensuring that Canada's telecommunications policy and regulatory framework reflect changing marketplace and technological developments in order to meet needs of both consumers and industry. Key objectives include promoting competition and innovation, and ensuring universal and affordable access to telecommunications services.

The Branch provides analysis of the telecommunications proceedings of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) and responds to requirements for action by the Governor-in-Council. It also provides advice on broadcasting and convergence issues.

Date modified:

Politique d'encadrement de la réglementation

Le contexte d'affaires et réglementaire des télécommunications évolue constamment. La Direction de la politique d’encadrement de la réglementation analyse les répercussions des progrès technologiques, des changements dans les conditions du marché et des nouvelles décisions réglementaires en vue de contribuer à déterminer quelles mesures le gouvernement devrait prendre pour atteindre les objectifs sociaux et économiques de la politique de télécommunications du Canada.

La Direction générale est chargée de s'assurer que la politique et le cadre réglementaire des télécommunications du Canada reflète le marché changeant et les progrès technologiques afin de répondre aux besoins des consommateurs et de l'industrie. Parmi les principaux objectifs figurent les suivants : promouvoir la concurrence et l'innovation et assurer un accès universel et abordable aux services de télécommunication.

La Direction générale analyse les audiences des télécommunications du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) et répond aux demandes d'intervention adressées au gouverneur en conseil. Elle donne aussi des conseils sur les questions liées à la radiodiffusion et à la convergence.

Date de modification :