Micro-economic research

Micro-economics looks at how individual markets work, and at how individual producers and consumers make choices and what effects those choices have on the economy. Sound micro-economic research and strategic information is necessary to provide a foundation for Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's policy development work. Much of this research is produced within the Strategic Policy Sector (SPS).

Recent micro-economic research performed within SPS focuses on productivity, the performance of firms and the determinants of business innovation. Areas of particular interest include research on how:

  • market factors affect investment and firms' performance. Market factors include such things as market size, industry organization and ownership structure, competitive pressure and firm rivalry dynamics, market regulation, business taxation and subsidies, access to capital and property right protection.
  • firm-specific factors influence innovation and productivity within firms. This research looks at issues such as firm size and scale of operation, managerial skills and management practices, business strategies and decision making.

SPS also organizes conferences, workshops and speakers series, and ensures that the results of its research are available to policy developers, other researchers and Canadian citizens. The following links provide access to some of the research produced or sponsored by SPS.

  • The Working Paper Series is a means of diffusing findings from Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada research projects for discussion and comment.
  • The Archived Papers (1994-2004) section collects working papers, occasional papers and discussion papers from earlier years.

The Economic Research and Policy Analysis Branch is responsible for coordinating economic research within Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada and related outreach activities.

Related sites

Date modified:

Recherche micro-économique

La micro-économie s'intéresse au fonctionnement des marchés individuels, à la façon qu'ont les producteurs de faire des choix et aux effets de ces choix sur l'économie. Des recherches micro-économiques et de l'information stratégique solides sont nécessaires pour jeter les bases du travail d'élaboration de politiques d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada. Une grande part de ces recherches sont produites par le Secteur de la politique stratégique (SPS).

Les recherche micro-économique récentes du SPS s'intéressent principalement à la productivité, au rendement des entreprises et aux facteurs déterminants de l'innovation des entreprises. Les secteurs d'intérêt particulier sont les suivants :

  • l'incidence des facteurs du marché sur l'investissement et le rendement des entreprises. Les facteurs du marché comprennent, entre autres, la taille du marché, l'organisation de l'industrie et la structure du capital social, les pressions liées à la concurrence et la dynamique de rivalité entre les entreprises, la réglementation du marché, l'imposition des sociétés et les subventions aux entreprises, l'accès au capital et la protection des droits de propriété.
  • l'incidence des facteurs propres aux entreprises sur l'innovation et la productivité. Ce secteur de recherche s'intéresse à des questions comme la taille des entreprises et l'échelle des activités, les compétences de la direction et les pratiques de gestion, les stratégies d'affaires et la prise de décisions.

Le SPS organise aussi des colloques, des ateliers et des conférences et s'assure que les responsables de l'élaboration des politiques, les autres chercheurs et l'ensemble des Canadiens ont accès aux résultats de ses recherches. Les liens suivants donnent accès à certaines des études réalisées ou parrainées par le SPS.

  • La série Documents de travail est un moyen de diffusion des résultats des projets de recherche d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada pour analyse et discussion..
  • La section Documents archivés (1994-2004) regroupe des documents de travail, des documents hors-série et des documents de discussion datant de cette période.

La Direction générale de la recherche économique et de l'analyse des politiques est responsable de coordonner la recherches économiques à Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada et les relations externes connexes.

Sites connexes

Date de modification :