Economic Research and Policy Analysis Branch

The Economic Research and Policy Analysis Branch (ERPA) conducts economic research and policy analysis in areas under the purview of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, in support of the policy development process. Working within and outside the department, ERPA develops and maintains a core capacity in microeconomic expertise to surface key issues and developments in the evolution of the Canadian economy and anchor policy development on evidenced-based research and sound economic principles. This research focus includes short and medium term research in the areas of productivity, competitiveness, market structure, framework policies, business innovation, business investment, and sectoral trends and issues.

ERPA also contributes to the medium term planning process of the Department, provides support for department-wide research and coordination, and serves as Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's point of contact with Statistics Canada.

To help foster an evidence-based dialogue on policy issues of the Canadian economy, ERPA acts as a channel of liaison between Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada and the external research community, through networking, research exchange, joint research collaborations and other activities. ERPA also organizes conferences, workshops and seminars throughout the year.

The Director General of ERPA is also the Chief Economist of the Department. ERPA has a dedicated staff of professional researchers, most of whom have masters or doctoral degrees in economics.

Our key priorities

  • Provide economic advice including analytical support, and economic analysis and briefings, in response to the needs of other sectors and to senior management.
  • Conduct policy research in the medium-term on issues such as productivity, business innovation, business investment, market frameworks, and competitiveness.
  • Maintain a dialogue with the external policy research community, e.g. through joint research projects and collaborations.
Date modified:

Direction générale de la recherche économique et de l'analyse des politiques

La Direction générale de la recherche économique et de l'analyse des politiques (REAP) effectue des recherches économiques et des analyses des politiques dans les secteurs relevant d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada pour appuyer le processus d'élaboration des politiques. Travaillant autant avec les ressources internes et externes, REAP développe et maintient un noyau de capacité de base en matière d’expertise microéconomique pour faire face à des questions clés et aux développements dans l’évolution de l’économie canadienne et ancrer le développement de politiques sur la recherche fondée sur des preuves et des principes économiques sains. Cet axe de recherche inclut la recherche à court et moyen termes dans les domaines de la productivité, la compétitivité, la structure de marchés, les politiques d’encadrement, l’innovation des entreprises, l’investissement des entreprises et les tendances sectorielles.

La REAP contribue également au processus de planification à moyen terme du Ministère, fournit un support en matière de recherche et coordination à l'ensemble du ministère et sert de point de contact avec Statistiques Canada.

Afin de favoriser un dialogue factuel sur les enjeux stratégiques de l'économie canadienne, REAP agit comme liaison entre Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada et le reste de la communauté spécialisée en recherche, par le biais de réseautage, d’échange et la conduite de recherche sur des sujets communs et d'autres activités. REAP organise également des conférences, ateliers et séminaires durant l'année.

Le directeur général de la REAP est également l'économiste en chef du département. REAP a un personnel dévoué de chercheurs professionnels, dont la plupart ont des maîtrises ou doctorats en économie.

Nos principales priorités :

  • Fournir un soutien en matière d’analyse, effectuer des analyses économiques et présenter des séances d’information pour répondre aux besoins d’autres secteurs et de la haute direction.
  • Mener des recherches à moyen terme sur les politiques en ce qui concerne des questions comme l’investissement des entreprises, et les cadres du marché et la compétitivité.
  • Entretenir un dialogue avec la communauté externe de la recherche sur les politiques, p. ex., dans le cadre de projets de recherche conjoints et d’activités en collaboration.
Date de modification :