Telecommunications Policy Branch

The Telecommunications Policy Branch plays a lead role in developing policy and legislation that promotes competitive, innovative and affordable telecommunications services. The Branch works on telecommunications policy issues with departmental partners, other departments and governments and key stakeholder groups. It develops its positions based on legal, technical and economic research.

Specific policy proposals address the structure of the telecommunications services industry and the development and use of Canadian national and international telecommunications facilities and networks, including radio spectrum and satellite orbit policies. New media and the Internet also fall within the scope of Telecommunications Policy.

The Branch is responsible for developing policy and providing advice to the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development and the federal cabinet in relation to the Government of Canada’s responsibilities under the Telecommunications Act and for ensuring the broad public policy direction for the development of sound radio spectrum policies under the Radiocommunication Act.

Directorates and Key priorities

The Branch has three directorates, the key priorities of which are described below.

  • The Business and Regulatory Analysis directorate monitors Canada's telecommunications regulatory framework to ensure that it is consistent with government policy; advises the Minister on the exercise of Cabinet’s powers under the Telecommunications Act; and conducts research on telecommunications trends and the implications for policy.
  • The Industry Framework Policy directorate develops and maintains telecommunications framework policies for: spectrum auctions, foreign investment, consumer-related policy issues and trade negotiations. The directorate also provides analysis of the Canadian telecommunications industry and its evolving market structure.
  • The International Telecommunications Policy and Coordination directorate manages and coordinates the development of Canada’s international telecommunications policy and strategies, including Internet governance, through representation in a number of international multilateral and bilateral telecommunications and spectrum forums.

Related sites

Date modified:

Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications

La Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications joue un rôle de chef de file dans l'élaboration de politiques et de lois qui favorisent la prestation de services de télécommunication concurrentiels, novateurs et abordables. La Direction générale travaille sur les enjeux liés à la politique des télécommunications avec les partenaires du Ministère de même qu'avec d'autres ministères et gouvernements et les principaux groupes d'intervenants. Elle élabore ses positions en se fondant sur des recherches juridiques, techniques et économiques.

Des propositions politiques précises portent sur la structure de l'industrie des services de télécommunication et le développement et l'utilisation des réseaux et installations de télécommunications internationaux et canadiens, y compris les politiques du spectre des radiofréquences et des orbites des satellites. Les nouveaux médias et Internet sont aussi visés par la Politique des télécommunications.

La Direction générale est chargée d'élaborer des politiques et de fournir des conseils au ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique et au cabinet fédéral relativement aux responsabilités du gouvernement du Canada en vertu de la Loi sur les télécommunications, ainsi que d’assurer l’orientation globale de la politique publique pour l’élaboration de solides politiques du spectre des radiofréquences aux termes de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

Directions et principales priorités

La Direction générale compte trois directions dont les principales priorités sont décrites ci-dessous.

  • La direction des Analyses industrielles et réglementaires surveille le cadre de réglementation des télécommunications du Canada pour s’assurer qu’il est conforme à la politique du gouvernement; conseille le Ministre sur l’exercice des pouvoirs du Cabinet en vertu de la Loi sur les télécommunications; et mène des recherches sur les tendances des télécommunications et les implications pour la politique.
  • La direction des Politiques d'encadrement de l'industrie prépare et tient à jour les politiques d'encadrement des télécommunications pour les enchères de spectre, les investissements étrangers,  les questions stratégiques liées à la consommation et les négociations commerciales. La direction analyse aussi l’industrie canadienne des télécommunications et sa structure de marché en mutation.
  • La direction de la Politique et de la Coordination des télécommunications internationales gère et coordonne l’élaboration des stratégies et de la politique des télécommunications internationales du Canada, y compris la gouvernance d’Internet, en envoyant des représentants dans un certain nombre de forums des télécommunications et du spectre multilatéraux et bilatéraux à l’échelle internationale.

Sites connexes

Date de modification :