Governments of Canada and Ontario Announce Infrastructure Funding for Ontario Post-Secondary Institutions

ST. CATHARINES, Ontario, May 25, 2009 — The Honourable Tony Clement, Minister of Industry, and the Honourable John Milloy, Ontario Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities, today launched a week of good news for Ontario's universities and colleges with the announcement of the first round of infrastructure investments delivering more than $1 billion in new funding for 28 projects at post-secondary institutions throughout Ontario.

These investments are funded by both levels of government and in some cases with contributions from the post-secondary institutions. The Ontario government in the 2009 Budget committed to invest $780 million in its colleges and universities to modernize facilities and boost long-term research and skills training capacity over the next two years. As part of Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Government of Canada introduced the Knowledge Infrastructure Program, a two-year, $2-billion economic stimulus measure to support infrastructure enhancement at Canadian post-secondary institutions. The joint funding announcement today celebrates the first round of projects to qualify under the program in Ontario. The second round of projects is to be announced May 29th 2009.

"Our government's investment provides significant short-term economic stimulus in local communities throughout Ontario, while at the same time strengthening Canada's long‑term capacity for research and innovation," said Minister Clement. "The renewal of college and university facilities will encourage more world-class researchers to work in Canada and give them the tools they need to make further discoveries that will benefit Canadians and people around the world."

"Investing in the skills and knowledge of Ontarians is a cornerstone of our government's plan to strengthen the economy," said Minister Milloy. "With today's investments, we are supporting new construction and renovation projects which will create jobs in the short-term and provide more opportunities for our students to develop the skills they need to for the jobs of the future."

The investment today leverages more than $1.476 billion over two years, including $587 million in federal funding, $641.2 million in provincial funding, and $248.1 million from other funding sources, including the private sector, charitable contributions, and the universities and colleges themselves.

This infrastructure program will provide real economic stimulus and employment by creating jobs for engineers, architects, tradespeople and technicians. It is also helping to generate the advanced technological infrastructure needed to keep Canada's research and educational facilities at the forefront of scientific advancement.

Canada's Economic Action Plan sets out to stimulate the Canadian economy over the next two years and to improve our long-term competitiveness through $12 billion in new infrastructure investment, which includes the $2-billion Knowledge Infrastructure Program. This new support is the next substantive investment in the Government of Canada's multi-year Science and Technology Strategy, Mobilizing Science and Technology to Canada's Advantage.

Through the 2009 Ontario Budget – Confronting the Challenge: Building Our Economic Future – the province is investing $32.5 billion in infrastructure for the province of Ontario over the next two years, including a $5 billion contribution from the federal government, that will support more than 300,000 jobs and strengthen Ontario's economy.

For information about how the Government of Ontario is helping to build and revitalize infrastructure across the province, please visit: http://www.mei.gov.on.ca/en/infrastructure.

For further information (media only), please contact:

Pema Lhalungpa
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Tony Clement
Minister of Industry
Government of Canada
613-995-9001

Media Relations
Industry Canada
613-943-2502

Annette Phillips
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable John Milloy
Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities
416-326-5748

Tanya Blazina
Communications Branch
Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities
416-325-2746


May 25, 2009

Backgrounder
Knowledge Infrastructure Program

Canada and Ontario are making infrastructure investments of more than $1 billion in capital projects at colleges and universities across Ontario.

Through the federal Knowledge Infrastructure Program and the 2009 Ontario budget, both governments are moving quickly to help modernize facilities and boost long-term research and skills training capacity at provincial colleges and universities.

The Knowledge Infrastructure Program is a two-year, $2-billion economic stimulus measure to support infrastructure enhancement at post-secondary institutions across Canada. Ontario's 2009 provincial budget set aside $780 million for infrastructure investments at colleges and universities.

The program provide funding to support deferred maintenance, repair and expansion projects at universities and colleges, and responds directly to the need indicated by postsecondary institutions to improve existing campus infrastructure across the country.

The Program has two components. The university component gives preference to projects that can improve the quality of research and development at the institution. The college component supports projects at other post-secondary institutions, such as colleges, publicly funded polytechnic schools and institutes of technology, which will strengthen their ability to deliver advanced knowledge and skills training.

Projects are assessed according to their ability to quickly and effectively generate economic activity and support job creation. Project readiness and economic impact are, therefore, key criteria used in project selection. Projects are also assessed on their ability to enhance research capacity, support the attraction of new students and provide a better educational experience for the highly skilled workers of tomorrow.

The Program will not only generate economic benefits and support job creation, but will also have an important positive net impact on the environment by reducing energy use, reducing greenhouse gas emissions and improving waste management at universities and colleges across Canada.

Through the 2009 Ontario Budget – Confronting the Challenge: Building Our Economic Future – the province is investing $32.5 billion in infrastructure for the province of Ontario over the next two years, including a $5 billion contribution from the federal government that will support more than 300,000 jobs and strengthen Ontario's economy. These investments build on the Ontario government's five-year, $30 billion ReNew Ontario infrastructure investment plan, which was completed in 2008-09, one year ahead of schedule.

Canada's Economic Action Plan sets out to stimulate the Canadian economy over the next two years and to improve our long-term competitiveness through $12 billion in new infrastructure investment across Canada, which includes the $2-billion Knowledge Infrastructure Program. This new support is the next substantive investment in the Government of Canada's multi-year Science and Technology Strategy, Mobilizing Science and Technology to Canada's Advantage.

For information about how the Government of Ontario is helping to build and revitalize infrastructure across the province, please visit: http://www.mei.gov.on.ca/en/infrastructure.

Knowledge Infrastructure Investments in Ontario Post-Secondary Institutions

The investment leverages more than $1.476 billion over two years, including $587 million in federal funding, $641.2 million in provincial funding, and $248.1 million from other funding sources, including the private sector, charitable contributions, and the universities and colleges themselves.

For information about a specific project, please contact the relevant institution.

Institution

Project Description

Federal Contribution

Provincial Contribution

Other Contribution

Brock University,
St. Catharines

Niagara Health & Bioscience Research Complex

38,000,390

*33,500,000

23,909,610

Carleton University,
Ottawa

Interdisciplinary Academic Building (River Site)

26,250,000

26,250,000

3,200,000

Laurentian University,
Sudbury

Vale Inco Living with Lakes Centre

5,152,676

*5,000,000

10,099,824

McMaster University,
Hamilton

Centre for Spinal Cord Injury and Cancer Education and Rehab

8,250,000

8,250,000

3,500,000

Queens University,
Kingston

School of Medicine, New Building

28,818,000

28,818,000

19,210,000

Ryerson Polytechnic University,
Toronto

Image Arts & New Media Teaching and Research Building Renewal

16,450,000

16,450,000

0

Trent University,
Peterborough

Health Sciences Centre Symons Campus

10,800,000

**20,200,000

10,400,000

University of Guelph
Guelph

Development of an Environmental
Cluster

16,817,500

16,817,500

0

University of Ontario Institute of Technology, (UOIT)
Oshawa

Energy Systems and Nuclear Science Research Centre

22,703,759

22,703,759

0

University of Ottawa
Ottawa

Vanier Hall Renovation and Tower Addition,
Faculty of Social Sciences

30,000,000

50,000,000

32,500,000

University of Toronto
Mississauga

Mississauga Laboratory Centre

35,000,000

35,000,000

0

University of Toronto
Scarborough

Instructional Lab Project, UofT Scarborough

35,000,000

35,000,000

0

University of Toronto
Toronto

Innovation Centre for Canadian Mining Industry (St. George Campus)

5,500,000

5,500,000

9,000,000

University of Windsor
Windsor

Centre for Engineering Innovation

40,000,000

*40,000,000

30,000,000

Wilfrid Laurier University,
Brantford

Research and Academic Centre (Brantford)
Phase A

13,000,000

13,000,000

0

York University,
Toronto

Life Sciences Centre

35,000,000

35,000,000

0

Centre for International Governance Innovation, with
University of Waterloo
Waterloo

Balsillie Centre of Excellence

25,000,000

25,000,000

50,000,000

Algonquin College,
Ottawa

Environmental Demonstration Centre for Construction Trades and Building Bridges

35,000,000

*35,000,000

2,700,000

Canadore College of Applied Arts and Technology,
Parry Sound

Parry Sound Campus

3,100,000

3,100,000

0

Conestoga College,
Cambridge Waterloo Guelph

School of Engineering and Information Technology

38,172,686

**34,276,608

30,962,206

Durham College of Applied Arts and Tech, Oshawa

Oshawa Campus Renovation and Expansion

10,000,000

10,000,000

0

Fanshawe College,
London

Centre for Applied Transportation Technologies

15,925,000

15,925,000

0

George Brown College,
Toronto

The Centre for Health Sciences on Toronto Waterfront

30,000,000

*61,500,000

3,500,000

La Cité Collegiale,
Ottawa

Emergency Services Training Centre 911 Institute

13,000,000

13,000,000

645,200

Niagara College
Welland

Applied Health Institute

20,000,000

20,000,000

0

Northern College,
Timmins

Centre of Excellence for Trades and Technology

6,168,000

*8,000,000

3,194,000

Sheridan College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning,
Mississauga

New Mississauga Campus

15,615,742

15,615,742

15,258,056

Loyalist College of Applied Arts and Tech,
Belleville

Sustainable Skills, Technology and Life Sciences Centre

8,287,500

8,287,500

0

 

Total

 

587,011,253

 

641,194,109

 

248,078,896

*Indicates province's contribution has already been made.
**Indicates part of province's contribution has already been made.

Ontario

Les gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario annoncent des investissements dans l'infrastructure des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire de l'Ontario

ST. CATHARINES (Ontario), le 25 mai 2009 — Le ministre de l'Industrie, l'honorable Tony Clement, et le ministre de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités de l'Ontario, l'honorable John Milloy, ont procédé aujourd'hui au lancement d'une semaine qui sera remplie de bonnes nouvelles pour les collèges et les universités de l'Ontario. Les ministres ont en effet annoncé une première série d'investissements d'une valeur de plus de 1 milliard de dollars qui serviront à financer 28 projets d'infrastructure dans des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire partout en Ontario.

Ces investissements sont financés par les deux ordres de gouvernement et, dans certains cas, par les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire eux-mêmes. Dans son budget de 2009, le gouvernement de l'Ontario s'est engagé à investir 780 millions de dollars au cours des deux prochaines années dans le but de moderniser les installations des collèges et des universités et de relancer la capacité de recherche et de formation axée sur des compétences à long terme. Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada, le gouvernement du Canada a mis sur pied le Programme d'infrastructure du savoir, une initiative d'une valeur de 2 milliards de dollars d'une durée de deux ans, qui vise à stimuler l'économie en appuyant la modernisation de l'infrastructure des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Canada. L'annonce commune d'aujourd'hui met en évidence la première série de projets retenus dans le cadre du programme en Ontario. La deuxième série de projets retenus sera dévoilée le 29 mai 2009.

« L'investissement réalisé par notre gouvernement vise, à court terme, à redonner un élan économique d'envergure aux collectivités de l'ensemble de l'Ontario et, à long terme, à renforcer la capacité de recherche et d'innovation du Canada, a déclaré le ministre Clement. La modernisation des collèges et des universités incitera un plus grand nombre de chercheurs de calibre mondial à travailler au Canada et leur fournira les outils nécessaires pour faire de nouvelles découvertes qui profiteront aux Canadiens et aux populations du monde entier. »

« L'investissement dans les compétences et le savoir des Ontariens est au cœur de la stratégie de notre gouvernement qui vise à renforcer l'économie, a déclaré le ministre Milloy. Grâce aux investissements annoncés aujourd'hui, nous appuyons de nouveaux projets de construction et de rénovation. Cela créera des emplois à court terme et offrira à nos étudiants plus de possibilités de perfectionner les compétences nécessaires pour occuper les emplois de l'avenir. »

L'investissement annoncé aujourd'hui représente plus de 1,476 milliard de dollars sur deux ans. La contribution du gouvernement fédéral s'élève à 587 millions de dollars et celle du gouvernement provincial, à 641,2 millions de dollars. D'autres sources, comme le secteur privé, des organismes caritatifs et les universités et collèges eux-mêmes, fournissent 248,1 millions de dollars en financement à ces projets.

Ce programme d'infrastructure contribuera à relancer l'économie et à favoriser l'embauche en créant des emplois pour les ingénieurs, les architectes, les gens de métier et les techniciens. Il permet aussi la mise sur pied de l'infrastructure technologique de pointe qui est essentielle pour que les installations de recherche et d'enseignement du Canada demeurent à l'avant-garde des percées scientifiques.

Le Plan d'action économique du Canada comprend des mesures visant à stimuler l'économie canadienne au cours des deux prochaines années et à améliorer notre compétitivité à long terme grâce à un nouvel investissement de 12 milliards de dollars dans l'infrastructure. De ce montant, 2 milliards de dollars sont destinés au Programme d'infrastructure du savoir. Ce nouveau financement constitue le prochain investissement d'importance prévu dans la stratégie pluriannuelle du gouvernement du Canada en matière de sciences et de technologie, intitulée Réaliser le potentiel des sciences et de la technologie au profit du Canada.

Le budget de 2009 de l'Ontario, Relever le défi : Bâtir l'avenir économique de l'Ontario, prévoit des investissements de 32,5 milliards de dollars dans l'infrastructure de la province au cours des deux prochaines années. Ces investissements comprennent une contribution de 5 milliards de dollars du gouvernement fédéral qui permettra le maintien de plus de 300 000 emplois et renforcera l'économie de l'Ontario.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce que fait le gouvernement de l'Ontario pour contribuer à bâtir et à moderniser l'infrastructure partout dans la province, veuillez consulter le site www.mei.gov.on.ca/fr/infrastructure.

Renseignements (médias seulement) :

Pema Lhalungpa
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Tony Clement
Ministre de l'Industrie
Gouvernement du Canada
613-995-9001

Relations avec les médias
Industrie Canada
613-943-2502

Annette Phillips
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable John Milloy
Ministre de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités
416-326-5748

Tanya Blazina
Direction des communications
Ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités
416-325-2746


Le 25 mai 2009

Fiche d'information
Programme d'infrastructure du savoir

Les gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario effectuent des investissements de plus de 1 milliard de dollars dans des projets d'immobilisations destinés aux universités et aux collèges de l'Ontario.

Grâce au Programme d'infrastructure du savoir du gouvernement fédéral et au budget de 2009 de l'Ontario, les deux ordres de gouvernement agissent rapidement afin de moderniser les installations des collèges et des universités et de relancer la capacité de recherche et de formation axée sur des compétences à long terme.

Le Programme d'infrastructure du savoir est une initiative visant à stimuler l'économie qui appuie des projets d'amélioration de l'infrastructure dans des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire au Canada. L'initiative est dotée d'un budget de 2 milliards de dollars sur deux ans. Le budget de 2009 de l'Ontario prévoit 780 millions de dollars en investissements destinés à l'infrastructure des collèges et des universités.

Le Programme accorde des fonds à des projets différés d'entretien, de réparation ou d'agrandissement dans des universités et des collèges. Cette initiative tient compte des besoins établis par les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire en ce qui a trait à l'amélioration des infrastructures existantes au pays.

Le Programme comprend deux volets. Le volet « universités » accorde la priorité aux projets qui peuvent améliorer la qualité des travaux de recherche et de développement effectués dans les universités. Le volet « collèges » soutient les projets mis de l'avant par d'autres établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire, comme les collèges et les écoles polytechniques et instituts de technologie subventionnés par l'État, dans le but d'augmenter leur capacité d'offrir de la formation axée sur les connaissances et les compétences.

Les projets sont évalués en fonction de leur aptitude à générer de façon rapide et efficace une activité économique et à soutenir la création d'emplois. Ainsi, l'état de préparation du projet et son incidence sur l'économie sont des critères clés de sélection. Les projets sont également évalués par rapport à leur aptitude à augmenter la capacité de recherche, à favoriser le recrutement de nouveaux étudiants et à fournir une meilleure expérience éducative aux travailleurs hautement spécialisés de demain.

Le Programme permet non seulement de générer des retombées économiques et de favoriser la création d'emplois, mais il a également des répercussions positives importantes sur l'environnement, en réduisant l'utilisation d'énergie et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et en améliorant la gestion des déchets dans les universités et les collèges du Canada.

Le budget de 2009 de l'Ontario, Relever le défi : Bâtir l'avenir économique de l'Ontario, prévoit des investissements de 32,5 milliards de dollars dans l'infrastructure de la province au cours des deux prochaines années. Ces investissements comprennent une contribution de 5 milliards de dollars du gouvernement fédéral qui permettra le maintien de plus de 300 000 emplois et renforcera l'économie de l'Ontario. Ils s'inscrivent dans le plan quinquennal d'investissements dans les infrastructures d'une valeur de 30 milliards de dollars, ReNouveau Ontario, qui a été complété en 2008-2009, soit un an avant l'échéance prévue.

Le Plan d'action économique du Canada comprend des mesures visant à stimuler l'économie canadienne au cours des deux prochaines années et à améliorer notre compétitivité à long terme grâce à un nouvel investissement de 12 milliards de dollars dans l'infrastructure. De ce montant, 2 milliards de dollars sont destinés au Programme d'infrastructure du savoir. Ce nouveau financement constitue le prochain investissement d'importance prévu dans la stratégie pluriannuelle du gouvernement du Canada en matière de sciences et de technologie, intitulée Réaliser le potentiel des sciences et de la technologie au profit du Canada.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce que fait le gouvernement de l'Ontario pour contribuer à bâtir et à moderniser l'infrastructure partout dans la province, veuillez consulter le site www.mei.gov.on.ca/fr/infrastructure.

Investissements réalisés dans des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire de l'Ontario par l'entremise du Programme d'infrastructure du savoir

Le total de ces investissements représente plus de 1,476 milliard de dollars sur une période de deux ans. La contribution du gouvernement fédéral se chiffre à 587 millions de dollars. Le gouvernement de l'Ontario fournit 641,2 millions de dollars et d'autres sources, comme le secteur privé, des organismes caritatifs et les universités et collèges eux-mêmes, fournissent 248,1 millions de dollars en financement à ces projets.

Pour obtenir de l'information au sujet d'un projet en particulier, veuillez communiquer avec l'établissement d'enseignement concerné.

Établissement d'enseignement

Description du projet

Investissement fédéral

Investissement provincial

Investissement d'autre sources

Centre de la gouvernance internationale en innovation — Université de Waterloo (Waterloo)

Centre d'excellence de Balsillie

25 000 000 $

25 000 000 $

50 000 000 $

Collège Algonquin (Ottawa)

Centre de démonstration environnementale pour les métiers de la construction et pour la construction de ponts

35 000 000 $

*35 000 000 $

2 700 000 $

Collège de Conestoga — campus de Cambridge, de Waterloo et de Guelph

École d'ingénierie et de technologies de l'information

38 172 686 $

**34 276 608 $

30 962 206 $

Collège Canadore (Parry Sound)

Campus de Parry Sound

3 100 000 $

3 100 000 $

0 $

Collège Durham (Oshawa)

Rénovation et agrandissement du campus d'Oshawa

10 000 000 $

10 000 000 $

0 $

Collège Fanshawe (London)

Centre des technologies appliquées du transport

15 925 000 $

15 925 000 $

0 $

Collège George Brown (Toronto)

Centre des sciences de la santé de Toronto Waterfront

30 000 000 $

*61 500 000 $

3 500 000 $

Collège Loyaliste (Belleville)

Centre des habiletés, de la technologie et des sciences de la santé durables

8 287 500 $

8 287 500 $

0 $

Collège Niagara (Welland)

Institut de santé appliquée

20 000 000 $

20 000 000 $

0 $

Collège Northern des arts et de la technologie appliqués (Timmins)

Centre d'excellence des métiers et de la technologie

6 168 000 $

*8 000 000 $

3 194 000 $

Collège Sheridan – Institut de la technologie et de l'apprentissage avancé (Mississauga)

Nouveau campus de Mississauga

15 615 742 $

15 615 742 $

15 258 056 $

Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario (Oshawa)

Centre de recherches sur les systèmes énergétiques et la science nucléaire

22 703 759 $

22 703 759 $

0 $

La Cité collégiale (Ottawa)

Institut 911 – Centre de formation pour les services d'urgence

13 000 000 $

13 000 000 $

645 200 $

Université Brock (St. Catharines)

Complexe de recherche sur la santé et la bioscience de Niagara

38 000 390 $

*33 500 000 $

23 909 610 $

Université Carleton (Ottawa)

Édifice académique interdisciplinaire (Site de la rivière)

26 250 000 $

26 250 000 $

3 200 000 $

Université d'Ottawa (Ottawa)

Rénovation du Hall Vanier et ajout d'une tour, Faculté des sciences sociales

30 000 000 $

50 000 000 $

32 500 000 $

Université de Guelph (Guelph)

Création d'une grappe environnementale

16 817 500 $

16 817 500 $

0 $

Université de Toronto (Mississauga)

Centre de laboratoires de Mississauga

35 000 000 $

35 000 000 $

0 $

Université de Toronto (Scarborough)

Projet de laboratoire éducatif, Université de Toronto à Scarborough

35 000 000 $

35 000 000 $

0 $

Université de Toronto (Toronto)

Centre d'innovation pour l'industrie minière du Canada (campus St. George)

5 500 000 $

5 500 000 $

9 000 000 $

Université de Windsor (Windsor)

Centre d'innovation en ingénierie

40 000 000 $

*40 000 000 $

30 000 000 $

Université Laurentienne (Sudbury)

Centre Vale Inco Living with Lakes

5 152 676 $

*5 000 000 $

10 099 824 $

Université McMaster (Hamilton)

Centre d'éducation et de réadaptation pour les blessures à la moelle épinière et le cancer

8 250 000 $

8 250 000 $

3 500 000 $

Université Queen's (Kingston)

École de médecine, nouvel édifice

28 818 000 $

28 818 000 $

19 210 000 $

Université Ryerson (Toronto)

Rénovation de l'édifice d'enseignement et de recherche sur les arts visuels et les nouveaux médias

16 450 000 $

16 450 000 $

0 $

Université Trent (Peterborough)

Centre des sciences de la santé, campus Symons

10 800 000 $

**20 200 000 $

10 400 000 $

Université Wilfrid Laurier (Brantfod)

Centre académique et de recherche (Brantford) – Étape A

13 000 000 $

13 000 000 $

0 $

Université York (Toronto)

Centre des sciences de la vie

35 000 000 $

35 000 000 $

0 $

Total

587 011 253 $

641 194 109 $

248 078 896 $

* La contribution du gouvernement provincial a déjà été effectuée.
** Une partie de la contribution du gouvernement provincial a déjà été effectuée.

Ontario