Symbol of the Government of Canada
Government of Ontario

Common menu bar links

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


General Program Information

Q. What are the Recreational Infrastructure Canada (RInC) Program in Ontario/Ontario Recreation Program (Ontario REC)?

A. Canada's Economic Action Plan has provided almost $12 billion in new stimulus funding to infrastructure across Canada over the past two years. This included $500 million over two years for the Recreational Infrastructure Canada program to support upgrading and renewal of recreational facilities in communities. The federal allocation for Ontario is $195 million.

Ontario's 2009 provincial budget – Confronting the Challenge: Building Our Economic Future – provided $32.5 billion in infrastructure investments over the past two years, including $195 million for recreation infrastructure projects.

RInC/Ontario REC provided timely, targeted stimulus to the economy, through investments that spurred construction activity related to existing recreational infrastructure. Beyond economic stimulus and job creation, renewing, rehabilitating and modernizing our recreational infrastructure has the added benefit of encouraging higher levels of participation in physical activity and community building.

Q. Who administered the funding for recreational infrastructure in Ontario?

A. The Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario administered and delivered federal funding in Ontario. The Ontario Ministry of Infrastructure delivered provincial funding and the Ontario Ministry of Health Promotion and Sport was responsible for administering the program.

Q. Will any more recreational infrastructure funding be available?

A. No. These programs were intended to be a temporary, short-term economic stimulus measure.

Q. How much have the federal and provincial governments invested in recreational infrastructure in Ontario?

A. The governments of Canada and Ontario have invested more than $380 million in hundreds of recreational infrastructure projects. The federal and provincial governments each contributed up to one third of a project's total eligible cost, up to a maximum of $1 million each per project, with recipients providing the remaining balance.

Q. How many applications were received?

A. There was a great deal of interest in the program. Applicants submitted more than 1,500 applications with total project costs of more than $1.5 billion.

Q. How did you select projects for funding?

A. Projects were assessed based on the degree to which they met the program eligibility requirements and selection criteria, as outlined below:

Eligible Applicants

Eligible applicants under the RInC Program in Ontario and Ontario REC include:

  • A local or regional government established under provincial or territorial statute;
  • A public sector body that is wholly owned by an eligible recipient listed above;
  • A not-for-profit entity;
  • A provincial or territorial entity that provides municipal-type services to communities, as defined by provincial or territorial statue; and a,
  • A First Nation government, including a Band or Tribal council or its agent (including its wholly-owned corporation) on the condition that the First Nation has indicated support for the project and for the legally-designated representative to seek funding through a formal Band or Tribal Council resolution, or other documentation from self-governing First Nations.

Eligible Project Categories

Projects within the following eligible project categories were eligible for funding under the RInC Program in Ontario and Ontario REC. The following were the eligible project categories:

  • Arenas
  • Gymnasiums
  • Swimming pools
  • Sports fields
  • Parks, fitness trails, and bike paths
  • Tennis, basketball, volleyball or other sport-specific courts
  • Other multi-purpose facilities that have physical recreation activity as the primary rationale

Project Criteria

Eligible Projects were:

  • For the rehabilitation or repair of existing infrastructure, including new construction that adds to or replaces existing recreational infrastructure capacity;
  • Begun and materially concluded the construction before March 31, 2011 or October 31, 2011 for extended projects; and
  • Incremental (the project would not have occurred as proposed without support from the program). Project Selection

Projects Selection

In addition to meeting the eligibility requirements described above, all eligible recipients were required to provide a description of the project benefits to inform the evaluation and selection of projects under the RInC Program in Ontario and Ontario REC. For projects that involved the rehabilitation of existing assets, such benefits could include: public health and safety, energy efficiency, accessibility and/or extending the economic life of the asset consistent with sound asset management principles. For projects that involved new construction at an existing facility, these benefits could have included: adding new public infrastructure for which there is a demonstrable need, replacing an existing asset that has reached the end of its useful life, but is still needed to provide public services, or improving the energy efficiency, accessibility, safety or quality of public infrastructure in a community.

Projects were assessed on the degree to which they meet the eligibility requirements described above as well as the following selection criteria.

  • Project readiness
  • Incrementality
  • Extent to which other funding was leveraged
  • Public health and safety
  • Energy efficiency
  • Accessibility
  • Extending the life of the infrastructure
  • Percentage of funding that could be spent in 2009/10

Q. Can applications still be submitted?

A. No. The deadline to submit applications was May 29, 2009 and the program is closed. All eligible projects have been approved and a list of funded projects is available on the RInC/Ontario REC website.

top of page

Funding Recipients

Q. What costs are eligible for funding?

A. Reimbursed costs were considered to be direct and necessary for the successful implementation of a project – the contribution agreement referred to these costs as eligible costs. Some costs were excluded and were identified as ineligible costs agreements.

All eligible costs outlined below were reimbursed to the recipient following the signing of a contribution agreement.

  • The costs to rehabilitate or repair fixed capital assets of recreational infrastructure, including new construction that is either added to or replaced existing recreational infrastructure assets or capacity;
  • The fees paid to professionals, technical personnel, consultants and contractors specifically engaged to undertake the surveying, design, engineering, manufacturing or construction of a project infrastructure asset and related facilities and structures;
  • The costs of environmental assessments, monitoring and follow-up programs as required by the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act;
  • The costs of any public announcement and official ceremony, or of any temporary or permanent signage;
  • Other costs that were considered to be direct and necessary for the successful implementation of a project and that have been approved in advance; and
  • Incremental costs of the applicant's employees or direct costs were included under the following conditions:
    • the applicant is a local, regional or First Nations government;
    • the applicant satisfies the federal and provincial governments that it is not economically feasible to tender a contract;
    • employees or equipment are employed directly in respect of the work that would have been the subject of the contract; and
    • approved in advance and in writing.

Q. What costs are ineligible for funding?

A. Costs related to the following items were ineligible costs:

  • Project costs incurred before the project approval date, and after March 31, 2011 or October 31, 2011 for extended projects;
  • Movable equipment;
  • Services or works that are normally provided by the applicant or related party;
  • Routine maintenance and operation costs;
  • Overhead costs; and
  • Costs of feasibility and planning studies.

Q. What will happen to RInC/Ontario REC projects that were not completed by October 31, 2011?

A. The governments of Canada and Ontario are committed to ensuring that these projects are completed in a timely fashion. We will continue to work with Recipients to ensure they complete their projects and are compliant with their funding agreements. We encourage Recipients to contact their Program Consultant/Analyst if they have any questions.

Q. When is the deadline to submit final claims?

A. Final claims for non-extended projects were due on June 30, 2011 and projects that were extended to October 31, 2011 must have submitted final claims by January 31, 2012.

Q. What is substantial completion?

A.  Substantial completion means the project is ready for use or being used for its intended purposes. Substantial completion has the same meaning and shall be determined in accordance with how the term "substantially performed" is determined in subsection 2(1) of the Construction Lien Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.30, as amended, and "Substantial Completion" shall have a corresponding meaning.

top of page

Communications

Q. I installed signage at the beginning of my project's construction. Now that my project is complete, how long should my signage remain installed?

A. Signs should remain installed at the project site for 90 days after construction is completed.

Q. What do I do with the signage once the 90-day period after the project construction has ended?

A. Please arrange for sign removal and recycling following the 90-day period. However, if any other funding partner has installed a sign on-site, the federal and provincial signs should remain installed until other such signs are removed.

Q. My project is now complete. Am I required to install a permanent plaque to recognize government funding?

A. You are not required to install a permanent plaque for your project to recognize the federal and provincial government funding. However, if you choose to do so please ensure that you contact your Program Consultant/Analyst who will direct you to communications officers that will help with the requirements and translation.

Q. The project is complete and I would like to arrange an official opening. How should I plan the event?

A. Schedule G of your Contribution Agreement describes your responsibilities and financial obligations related to communications. Please contact your Program Consultant/Analyst when considering an event and you will be directed to communications officers that will help you plan the event and arrange attendance of federal and provincial officials. Recipients must work with RInC/Ontario REC officials and partners to undertake these activities.

Q. We want to promote the completed project. What are the RInC/Ontario REC visual identity requirements?

A. Any information or promotional material related to the project should reference the project has been funded by both the federal and provincial governments.

The following language may be used:

This project has been supported by the Government of Canada through the Recreational Infrastructure Canada Program in Ontario and by the Government of Ontario through the Ontario Recreation Program.

If visual identifiers are used (the Canada wordmark and Ontario logo), they must be approved by the federal-provincial communications team. Contact your Program Consultant/Analyst who will direct you to communications officers that will provide further assistance.

Symbole du gouvernement du Canada
Gouvernement de l’Ontario

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Foire aux questions (FAQs)

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »


Renseignements généraux

Q. En quoi consistent le programme d'Infrastructures de loisirs Canada (ILC) en Ontario et le programme Loisirs Ontario?

R. Au cours des deux dernières années, le Plan d'action économique du Canada a permis de verser des investissements de près de 12 milliards de dollars dans les infrastructures à travers le pays afin de stimuler l'économie du Canada, dont 500 millions de dollars sur deux ans au programme d'Infrastructures de loisirs Canada afin d'entreprendre des travaux de modernisation et de réfection des installations de loisirs des collectivités. Le montant fédéral alloué à l'Ontario a été de 195 millions de dollars.

Le budget de 2009 de l'Ontario, Relever le défi : Bâtir l'avenir économique de l'Ontario, prévoyait un financement de 32,5 milliards de dollars pour les infrastructures sur deux ans, dont 195 millions de dollars pour les projets d'infrastructures récréatives.

Les programmes ILC en Ontario et Loisirs Ontario ont contribué à la relance économique en temps opportun et de manière ciblée grâce à des investissements qui ont stimulé les projets de construction liés aux installations de loisirs en place. En plus de stimuler l'économie et de créer des emplois, les travaux de réfection, de remise en état et de modernisation de notre infrastructure récréative auront également eu pour avantages d'inciter la population à s'adonner en plus grand nombre à l'activité physique et de favoriser l'esprit communautaire.

Q. Qui a administré le financement affecté aux infrastructures de loisirs en Ontario?

R. L'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario a administré et versé le financement fédéral en Ontario. Le ministère de l'Infrastructure de l'Ontario a versé le financement et le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (Promotion de la santé et Sport) de l'Ontario était chargé d'administrer le programme.

Q. Y aura-t-il davantage de financement versé aux infrastructures de loisirs?

R. Non. Ces programmes avaient pour but de servir de mesure temporaire pour stimuler l'économie à court terme.

Q. À combien s'élevaient les investissements des gouvernements fédéral et provincial pour les infrastructures de loisirs en Ontario?

R. Les gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario ont investi plus de 380 millions de dollars dans des centaines de projets d'infrastructure récréative. Le gouvernement fédéral et celui de la province ont chacun contribué à hauteur du tiers du total des coûts admissibles d'un projet, jusqu'à un maximum de 1 million de dollars chacun par projet; les bénéficiaires devaient fournir le reste du financement.

Q. . Combien de demandes ont été reçues?

R. . Le programme a suscité un vif intérêt. Les demandeurs ont soumis plus de 1 500 projets, dont le total des coûts dépassait 1,5 milliard de dollars.

Q. Comment avez-vous choisi les projets à financer?

R. Les projets ont été évalués en fonction de leur niveau de conformité aux critères d'admissibilité et aux critères de sélection exposés ci-après :

Demandeurs admissibles

Les demandeurs admissibles au programme ILC en Ontario et au programme Loisirs Ontario étaient :

  • les gouvernements locaux ou régionaux établis en vertu d'une loi provinciale ou territoriale;
  • un organisme du secteur public qui appartient exclusivement à un bénéficiaire admissible mentionné ci-dessus;
  • une entité à but non lucratif;
  • une entité provinciale ou territoriale qui fournit des services de type municipal aux collectivités, selon la définition donnée par les lois provinciales ou territoriales;
  • un gouvernement des Premières Nations, incluant un conseil de bande ou un conseil tribal ou son agent (incluant une société en propriété exclusive), à la condition que la Première Nation ait exprimé son appui au projet et ait légalement désigné un représentant pour solliciter le financement par une résolution formelle du conseil de bande ou du conseil tribal ou par un autre document émis par une Première Nation autonome.

Catégories de projets admissibles

Pour être admissibles à un financement des programmes ILC en Ontario et Loisirs Ontario, les projets devaient appartenir à l'une des catégories de projets admissibles suivantes :

  • Arénas
  • Gymnases
  • Piscines
  • Terrains de sport
  • Parcs, sentiers de mise en forme et pistes cyclables
  • Terrains de tennis, de basketball, de volleyball ou servant à la pratique d'un autre sport spécifique
  • Autres installations polyvalentes qui ont pour principale raison d'être l'activité physique récréative.

Critères des projets

Les projets admissibles devaient satisfaire aux critères suivants :

  • porter sur la remise en état ou la réparation d'infrastructures existantes, ce qui comprenait de nouvelles constructions visant à accroître ou à remplacer la capacité de l'infrastructure récréative existante;
  • débuter, et les travaux de construction prendre fin, avant le 31 mars 2011 ou le 31 octobre 2011, dans le cas des projets ayant obtenu une prolongation de délai;
  • nécessiter un financement additionnel (c'est-à-dire qu'il aurait été impossible de mener le projet à bien tel que proposé sans le soutien des programmes).

Sélection des projets

En plus de devoir se conformer aux critères d'admissibilité décrits ci-dessus, tous les demandeurs admissibles ont été tenus de fournir une description des avantages du projet, utiles à l'évaluation et au choix des projets dans le cadre des programmes ILC en Ontario et Loisirs Ontario. En ce qui concerne les projets portant sur la remise en état de biens d'infrastructure existants, de tels avantages pouvaient inclure : la santé et la sécurité du public, l'efficacité énergétique, l'accessibilité des biens d'infrastructure et la prolongation de leur durée de vie économique, conformément aux principes d'une saine gestion. Pour les projets comportant des travaux de construction à une installation existante, les avantages pouvaient comprendre : l'ajout d'une nouvelle infrastructure publique pour laquelle des besoins réels avaient été démontrés, le remplacement d'un bien d'infrastructure existant ayant atteint la fin de sa vie utile, mais qui était toujours nécessaire pour offrir des services publics, ou encore l'amélioration de l'efficacité énergétique, de l'accessibilité ou de la qualité d'une infrastructure publique d'une collectivité.

Les projets ont été évalués en fonction de leur niveau de conformité aux critères d'admissibilité décrits ci-dessus de même qu'aux critères de sélection suivants :

  • Projets prêts à démarrer
  • Besoin de financement additionnel
  • Obtention d'un financement provenant d'autres sources
  • Santé et sécurité du public
  • Efficacité énergétique
  • Accessibilité
  • Prolongation de la durée de vie de l'infrastructure
  • Pourcentage des fonds pouvant être dépensés en 2009-2010.

Q. Peut-on encore soumettre une demande de financement?

R. Non. La date d'échéance pour soumettre une demande était le 29 mai 2009 et le programme est maintenant terminé. Tous les projets admissibles ont été approuvés et une liste des projets financés se trouve sur le site Web du programme ILC Ontario et Loisirs Ontario.

haut de la page

Bénéficiaires du financement

Q. Quels coûts étaient admissibles à un financement?

R. Les coûts remboursés étaient ceux considérés comme directs et nécessaires pour assurer la réussite de la mise en œuvre d'un projet. Dans l'accord de contribution, ces coûts ont été appelés coûts admissibles. Certains coûts ont été exclus et appelés coûts non admissibles.

Tous les coûts admissibles mentionnés ci-dessous ont été remboursés au bénéficiaire à la suite de la signature de l'accord de contribution :

  • les coûts liés à la remise en état ou à la réparation des immobilisations corporelles des infrastructures de loisirs, y compris une nouvelle construction qui ajoute à la capacité des infrastructures de loisirs existantes ou qui la remplace;
  • les honoraires versés aux professionnels, au personnel technique, aux consultants et aux entrepreneurs embauchés expressément pour l'arpentage, la conception, l'application technique, la fabrication ou la construction de l'infrastructure d'un projet et des installations et des structures connexes;
  • les coûts liés aux évaluations environnementales, à la surveillance et aux programmes de suivi, comme l'exige la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale;
  • les coûts relatifs à toute annonce publique ou cérémonie officielle, ou à tout panneau provisoire ou permanent;
  • tous les autres coûts qui ont été considérés comme des coûts directs et nécessaires à la mise en œuvre réussie d'un projet et qui avaient été approuvés au préalable;
  • les coûts différentiels attribuables aux employés et les coûts directs du demandeur pouvaient être inclus, aux conditions suivantes :
    • le demandeur est une administration locale, régionale ou d'une Première Nation;
    • le demandeur convainc le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement provincial qu'il n'est pas économiquement faisable de procéder par appel d'offres;
    • les employés ou l'équipement sont directement affectés au travail qui aurait fait l'objet du contrat;
    • l'inclusion des coûts est approuvée par écrit à l'avance.

Q. Quels coûts n'étaient pas admissibles à un financement?

R. Les coûts associés aux éléments suivants n'étaient pas admissibles :

  • les coûts du projet engagés avant la date d'approbation du projet et après le 31 mars 2011 ou le 31 octobre 2011, pour les projets ayant pu être prolongés;
  • les coûts liés au matériel mobile;
  • les coûts liés aux services ou aux travaux qui sont normalement fournis par le demandeur ou une partie qui y est associée;
  • les frais courants d'entretien et d'exploitation;
  • les frais généraux;
  • les coûts liés aux études de faisabilité et de planification.

Q. Qu'adviendra-t-il des projets approuvés dans le cadre du programme ILC en Ontario et du programme Loisirs Ontario qui n'étaient pas encore terminés le 31 octobre 2011?

R. Les gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario veulent s'assurer que ces projets soient terminés de façon opportune. Nous continuerons de travailler avec les bénéficiaires pour veiller à ce qu'ils mènent leur projet à bien et qu'ils respectent leurs accords de contribution. Nous invitons les bénéficiaires à communiquer avec leur conseiller-analyste du programme pour toute question.

Q. Quelle est la date d'échéance pour soumettre les demandes de remboursement finales?

R. Les demandes de remboursement finales pour les projets qui n'ont pas été prolongés devaient être déposées le 30 juin 2011. Pour les projets dont l'échéancier a été reporté au 31 octobre 2011, les demandes de remboursement finales devaient être déposées au plus tard le 31 janvier 2012.

Q. Qu'entend-on par achèvement substantiel?

R.  Par achèvement substantiel, on entend que le projet est prêt à être employé, ou est employé, aux fins pour lesquelles il est destiné. L'achèvement substantiel doit être interprété et défini de la même façon que l'expression « exécuté pour l'essentiel », telle qu'on la trouve au paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur le privilège dans l'industrie de la construction, L.R.O. 1990, chap. C.30, telle que modifiée, et l'expression « achèvement substantiel » devra avoir une signification correspondante.

haut de la page

Communications

Q. J'ai installé des panneaux au début des travaux de construction de mon projet. Maintenant que le projet est terminé, combien de temps les panneaux doivent ils demeurer en place?

R. Les panneaux doivent demeurer en place à l'endroit où s'est déroulé le projet pendant une période de 90 jours après la fin des travaux.

Q. Que faut-il faire des panneaux après la période de 90 jours suivant la fin des travaux réalisés dans le cadre d'un projet?

R. Veuillez prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour enlever les panneaux et les recycler au terme de la période de 90 jours. Cependant, si un autre partenaire financier du projet a installé des panneaux sur les lieux, les panneaux du gouvernement fédéral et de la province doivent demeurer en place jusqu'à ce que ces autres panneaux soient enlevés.

Q. . Mon projet est maintenant terminé. Est-ce que je dois installer une plaque permanente pour souligner le financement du gouvernement?

R. Vous n'êtes pas tenu d'installer une plaque permanente visant à souligner le financement consenti par les gouvernements fédéral et provincial. Cependant, si vous décidez de le faire, veuillez communiquer avec votre conseiller analyste du programme qui vous dirigera vers les agents de communication qui vous aideront à déterminer les exigences qui doivent être respectées, dont celles relatives à la traduction.

Q. Le projet est terminé et j'aimerais organiser une cérémonie officielle d'inauguration. De quelle façon dois-je planifier cette activité?

R. L'annexe G de votre accord de contribution décrit vos responsabilités et obligations financières en matière de communications. Si vous envisagez la tenue d'une telle activité, veuillez vous adresser au conseiller-analyste du programme, qui vous mettra en contact avec des agents de communication qui vous aideront à planifier cette activité ainsi que la participation de représentants officiels des gouvernements fédéral et provincial. Les bénéficiaires doivent réaliser de telles activités en collaboration avec les agents officiels et les partenaires du programme ILC et du programme Loisirs Ontario.

Q. Nous voulons faire la promotion du projet achevé. Quelles sont les exigences en matière d'identité visuelle du programme ILC en Ontario et du programme Loisirs Ontario?

R. Tout le matériel informatif ou promotionnel directement lié au projet doit indiquer que le projet a été financé à la fois par les gouvernements fédéral et provincial.

On peut utiliser le libellé suivant :

Ce projet a obtenu le soutien financier du gouvernement du Canada, par le truchement du programme d'Infrastructures de loisirs Canada en Ontario, et du gouvernement de l'Ontario, dans le cadre du programme Loisirs Ontario.

Si vous utilisez des identificateurs visuels (le mot-symbole Canada et le logo de l'Ontario), ces derniers doivent être approuvés par l'équipe des communications fédérale-provinciale. Veuillez communiquer avec votre conseiller-analyste du programme, qui vous mettra en contact avec des agents de communication qui pourront vous offrir de l'aide.