Defence development sharing agreement between Canada and the United States of America

BETWEEN THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE AND THE Canadian DEPARTMENT OF DEFENCE PRODUCTION.

This Memorandum of Understanding complements the U.S./Canadian Defence Production Sharing Program by establishing a cooperative agreement in defense research and development between the United States Department of Defense (DoD) and the Canadian Department of Defence of Production (CDDP), called the Defense Development Sharing Program.

1. Objectives:

The principle objectives of the Defence Development Sharing Program are:

  1. To assist in maintaining the Defense Production Sharing Program at a high level by making it possible for Canadian firms to perform research and development work undertaken to meet the requirements of U.S. armed forces.
  2. To utilize better the industrial scientific and technical resources of the United States and Canada in the interest of mutual defense.
  3. To make possible the standardization and interchangeability of a larger amount of the equipments necessary for the defense of United States and Canada.

2. Description of the Program:

  1. The Defense Development Sharing Program will consist of research and development projects (such program being here and after referred to as projects):
    1. which are performed by Canadian prime contractors;
    2. which are designed to meet specific DoD research and development requirements;
    3. in which the Military Department of DoD which is the United States party to the project agreement acts as the design authority; and
    4. which are jointly funded by DoD and CDDP, (Where DoD undertakes the research and development of a weapons system composed of several components, work funded by CDDP on one or more of such components will be considered to be jointly funded).
  2. The Defense Development Sharing Program will not included efforts referred to in paragraph 13.

3. Funding:

The financial contribution of DoD in each project will not be less than 25 percent of the costs incurred subsequent to the date of the project agreement provided that in the case of work referred to in the parenthetical sentence of paragraph 2.a(4), the financial arrangements shall be as agreed to by DoD and CDDP in the project agreement.

4. Selection of Projects:

A proposal to initiate a project may be made by CDDP to any of the Military Departments of DoD or by any of the Military Departments of DoD to CDDP. Each proposal will contain a complete and detailed description of the scope of the project and work to be performed and of the suggested cost sharing arrangement. Projects will be selected by mutual agreement of CDDP in the Military Department of DoD concerned.

5. Project Agreements:

The specific terms and conditions of each project will be governed by a project agreement between the Military Department of DoD and CDDP. The project agreement will inter alia set forth the scope of the projects, the work to be performed, types of reports to be submitted, the time and funding schedules, and the cost of sharing arrangements.

6. Selection of Prime Contractors:

The selection of prime contractors for work to be performed under a project shall be subject to mutual agreement.

7. Contract Clauses for Projects:

The Canadian Government agencies responsible for placing and administering research and development contracts with Canadian firms, will insert suitable provisions in such contacts obtaining for DoD the same production rights, data, and information that DoD would Obtain for itself if DoD were solely funding and placing the contract under its Armed Services Procurement Regulation.

8. Competitive Research and Development:

DoD will not engage in research and development which duplicates the work being carried out under any project unless DoD considers such research and development to be in the United States national interest. The appropriate DoD agency will notify CDDP before undertaking such duplicative research and development and will, if requested by CDDP, promptly enter into consultation with CDDP.

9. DoD Procurement of Researched Developed Items:

Procurement by DoD from Canadian firms of items developed in a project will be made under the Defense Production Sharing Program and in accordance with the DoD Armed Services Procurement Regulation. Pursuant to that Regulation, procurement of items developed by Canadian firms under the Defense Development Sharing Program will not be set aside for small business or for labour surplus areas.

10. Security:

  1. Information and materials developed within projects will be considered to be jointly developed, and classification and declassification thereof will be determined jointly.
  2. Classified information and materials exchanged in connection with or developed within projects will be safeguarded in accordance with the United States-Canadian Industrial Security Agreement effected by an exchange of letters dated February 6 and March 31, 1952, as amended.

11. Disclosure of Classified Information:

  1. Classified information and materials received by either Government under the Defense Development Sharing Program but not developed within a project will not be disclosed or transferred to third countries, or nationals of third countries, without the consent of the originating Government.
  2. Jointly developed classified information materials will not be transferred or disclosed to any third party by either Government or nationals thereof without the consent of the other Government.

12. Sales:

  1. Sales or transfer to any third party of items developed in a project containing classified information or materials will be subject to the provisions of paragraph 11.
  2. Sales or transfers to NATO, Commonwealth, and SEATO countries, or nationals thereof, or jointly developed unclassified items may be made in accordance with any applicable arrangements between Canada and the United States regarding munitions control. Sales or transfers to any other third party of jointly developed unclassified items will not be made without the consent of both parties to this agreement.
  3. Sales or transfers to any third party of jointly developed unclassified rights, information, or data necessary for the production of an item developed in a project will not be made without the consent of both parties to this agreement.

13. Other Research and Development Efforts not in Defense Development Sharing Program:

  1. Consistent with normal DoD source selection procedures, Canadian firms may bid for DoD research and development contracts which are to be funded solely by the United States. DoD will evaluate proposals from qualified Canadian firms on a parity with proposals received from United States firms. CDDP undertakes to ensure that Canadian firms comply with DoD procurement procedures.
  2. CDDP may award and solely fund research and development contracts to Canadian firms for the purpose of satisfying existing or anticipated DoD requirements. DoD and its Military Departments will not act as Design Authority for such contacts. In the event that the results of any such contract become of sufficient interest to DoD to warrant joint funding, the contract work may, upon mutual agreement, be made the subject of the Defense Development Sharing Program project.

14. Canadian Access to United States Information:

Subject to United States legislation and national policy, the Government of Canada will have access to information on the future requirements of DoD research and development programs and Canadian firms will have the same access to DoD research and development program information as United States firms.

15. Supersession of Prior Arrangements:

This Memorandum of Understanding supersedes the memoranda between CDDP and the United States Departments of the Army, and Air Force, respectively, dated July 26, 1960 and December 22, 1961, except with respect to projects already entered into thereunder.

16. Effect and Duration:

This Memorandum of Understanding will remain in force indefinitely, subject to modification or termination at any time by mutual agreement or to termination six months after receipt by either party of written notice of the intention of the other party to terminate it.

Charles M. Drury
Minister of Defense Production
Date: 21 November 1963

Robert S. McNamara
Secretary of Defense
Date: 16 November 1963

Date modified:

Accord sur le partage du développement industriel pour la défense intervenu entre le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique

ACCORD INTERVENU ENTRE LE DÉPARTEMENT DE LA DÉFENSE DES ÉTATS-UNIS ET LE MINISTÈRE DE LA PRODUCTION DE LA DÉFENSE DU CANADA

Le présent protocole d'entente constitue un complément au Programme canado américain de partage de la production de défense et établit un accord en matière de recherche et de développement pour la défense entre le département de la Défense des États Unis (DoD) et le ministère de la Production de la défense du Canada (MPD), désigné sous le nom de Programme de partage du développement industriel pour la défense.

1. Objectifs

Le Programme de partage du développement industriel pour la défense a pour principaux objectifs :

  1. de contribuer à l'avancement soutenu du Programme de partage de la production de défense en permettant aux entreprises canadiennes d'effectuer des travaux de recherche et développement ayant pour but de répondre aux besoins des forces armées des États Unis;
  2. d'optimiser les ressources scientifiques et techniques industrielles des États Unis et du Canada en faveur de leur défense mutuelle;
  3. de permettre la normalisation et l'interchangeabilité d'une plus large part de l'équipement nécessaire à la défense des États Unis et du Canada.

2. Description du Programme

  1. Le Programme de partage du développement industriel pour la défense prévoit des projets de recherche et développement, ci après appelés les projets :
    1. qui sont menés par des entrepreneurs principaux canadiens;
    2. qui visent à répondre à des besoins particuliers du DoD en recherche et développement;
    3. dans le cadre duquel le Military Department du DoD, soit la partie du présent accord qui représente les États Unis, agit à titre de responsable de la conception;
    4. qui sont financés conjointement par le DoD et le MPD (lorsque le DoD entreprend un projet de recherche et développement sur un système d'armes regroupant plusieurs composants, les travaux financés par le MPD pour un ou plusieurs de ces composants seront considérés comme étant financés conjointement).
  2. Le Programme de partage du développement industriel pour la défense n'englobe pas les efforts cités à l'article 13.

3. Financement

L'apport financier du DoD dans chaque projet ne doit pas être inférieur à 25 p. 100 des frais engagés après la date de l'accord relatif au projet pourvu que, dans le cas des travaux cités entre parenthèses à l'alinéa 2.a iv), le DoD et le MPD ont convenu mutuellement des dispositions financières dans cet accord.

4. Choix des projets

Le MPD peut présenter une proposition de projet au Military Department intéressé du DoD, et le Military Department intéressé du DoD peut présenter une proposition de projet au MPD. Chaque proposition doit comporter une description complète et détaillée de la portée du projet, des travaux à exécuter ainsi que des dispositions relatives au partage des coûts proposé. Les projets doivent être retenus avec le consentement mutuel du MPD et du Military Department intéressé du DoD.

5. Accords sur les projets

Les modalités de chaque projet seront établies dans le cadre d'un accord liant le Military Department du DoD et le MPD. Cet accord fera notamment état de la portée du projet, des travaux à exécuter, des rapports à présenter, des délais d'exécution et de financement, de même que des dispositions relatives au partage des coûts.

6. Choix des entrepreneurs principaux

Le choix des entrepreneurs principaux appelés à exécuter les travaux dans le cadre d'un projet doit être effectué avec le consentement mutuel des parties.

7. Clauses contractuelles des projets

Les organismes du gouvernement du Canada chargés d'attribuer les marchés de recherche et développement aux entreprises canadiennes et de les gérer doivent accorder au DoD, dans les dispositions contractuelles, l'accès aux mêmes droits, données et renseignements que ceux dont ce dernier bénéficierait s'il assumait l'entière responsabilité du financement et de l'attribution des marchés en vertu de l'Armed Services Procurement Regulation.

8. Efforts concurrents de recherche et développement

Le DoD ne doit pas entreprendre de travaux de recherche et développement qui chevauchent les travaux déjà entamés dans le cadre de tout autre projet, à moins qu'il juge que ces travaux doivent être effectués dans l'intérêt national des États Unis. L'organisme intéressé du DoD doit aviser le MPD avant d'entreprendre ces travaux et, à la demande du MPD, travailler en consultation avec ce dernier.

9. Acquisition par le DoD des produits de recherche et développement

L'achat de produits issus d'un projet de recherche et développement auprès d'entreprises canadiennes par le DoD doit être effectué dans le cadre du Programme sur le partage de la production de défense et en conformité avec l'Armed Services Procurement Regulation du DoD. En vertu de ce règlement, les marchés portant sur des produits mis au point par des firmes canadiennes dans le cadre du Programme de partage du développement industriel pour la défense ne sont pas réservés aux petites entreprises ni aux secteurs en excédent de main d'œuvre.

10. Sécurité

  1. Les renseignements et les documents classifiés reçus par l'un ou l'autre des gouvernements dans le cadre du Programme de partage du développement industriel pour la défense, mais non créés dans le cadre d'un projet, ne doivent pas être divulgués ni transférés à un pays tiers ni aux ressortissants d'un pays tiers, sans le consentement du gouvernement d'origine.
  2. Les renseignements et les documents créés conjointement ne doivent pas être divulgués ni transférés à une tierce partie par l'un ou l'autre des gouvernements ni de leurs ressortissants sans le consentement de l'autre gouvernement.

11. Divulgation de renseignements classifiés

  1. Les documents et les renseignements classifiés reçus par l’un ou l’autre gouvernement dans le cadre du Programme de partage du développement industriel pour la défense mais n’ayant pas été produits dans le cadre d’un projet ne seront ni divulgués ni transmis à des pays tiers, ou à des ressortissants de pays tiers, sans le consentement du gouvernement qui les a produits.
  2. Les documents et les renseignements classifiés produits conjointement ne seront ni divulgués ni transmis à des pays tiers par l’un ou l’autre gouvernement, ou par ses ressortissants, sans le consentement de l’autre gouvernement.

12. Vente

  1. La vente ou le transfert à une tierce partie de tout produit mis au point dans le cadre d'un projet et comportant des renseignements ou des documents classifiés est assujetti aux dispositions de l'article 11.
  2. La vente ou le transfert à un pays de l'OTAN, du Commonwealth et de l'OTASE ou à des ressortissants de ces pays de produits non classifiés mis au point conjointement est permis en conformité avec tout accord pertinent conclu entre le Canada et les États Unis en matière de contrôle des munitions. La vente ou le transfert à toute autre partie de produits non classifiés mis au point conjointement n'est pas permis sans le consentement des parties au présent accord.
  3. La vente ou le transfert à une partie tierce de droits, de renseignements ou de données non classifiés créés conjointement et nécessaires à la production d'un produit mis au point dans le cadre d'un projet n'est pas permis sans le consentement des parties au présent accord.

13. Autres efforts de recherché et développement déployés en dehors du cadre du Programme de partage du développement industriel de la défense

  1. En conformité avec la procédure normale de sélection des fournisseurs du DoD, les entreprises canadiennes peuvent soumissionner les marchés de recherche et développement du DoD qui doivent être entièrement financées par les États Unis. Le DoD évalue alors les propositions soumises par les entreprises canadiennes qualifiées suivant les mêmes critères que pour les entreprises américaines. Le MPD s'engage à veiller à ce que les entreprises canadiennes respectent la procédure d'attribution des marchés du DoD.
  2. Le MPD peut attribuer des marchés de recherche et développement à des entreprises canadiennes et en assurer entièrement le financement afin de répondre à des besoins actuels ou prévus du DoD. Dans ces cas, le DoD et le Military Department intéressé n'agissent pas à titre de responsables de la conception. Si les résultats de ces marchés suscitent suffisamment l'intérêt du DoD pour justifier leur financement conjoint, les travaux visés pourront, après entente mutuelle, s'inscrire dans le cadre d'un projet du Programme de partage du développement industriel pour la défense.

14. Accès du gouvernement du Canada aux renseignements des États Unis

Sous réserve des lois et des politiques nationales américaines, le gouvernement du Canada aura accès à des renseignements sur les besoins à venir des programmes de recherche et développement du DoD, et les entreprises canadiennes auront accès aux mêmes renseignements sur les programmes de recherche et développement du DoD que les entreprises américaines.

15. Remplacement des accords antérieurs

Le présent protocole d'entente remplace les protocoles d'entente intervenus entre le MPD et les départements des forces terrestres et des forces aériennes des États-Unis respectivement, datés du 26 juillet 1960 et du 22 décembre 1961, sauf en ce qui concerne les projets déjà entamés en vertu de ces protocoles.

16. Entrée en vigueur et durée

Le présent protocole d'entente demeurera en vigueur pendant une période indéterminée, sous réserve de sa modification ou de sa résiliation par consentement mutuel ou encore de sa résiliation six mois suivant la réception d'un avis écrit par une partie de l'intention de l'autre partie de mettre un terme à l'entente.

Charles M. Drury
Ministre de la Production de la défense
Date : 21 novembre 1963

Robert S. McNamara
Secrétaire à la Défense
Date : 16 novembre 1963

Date de modification :