Space

Space: A critical part of our canadian infrastructure

Space technologies are essential to supporting our national needs. Contributing to the economic well-being of our country, space assets serve Canadians and government departments by strengthening our national sovereignty, safety, security, resource management, and environmental monitoring capability.

The Canadian space sector has established a world-class reputation in niche areas:

  • Earth observation;
  • Space robotics;
  • Space science and exploration;
  • Satellite communications.

The Canadian space sector

The Canadian space sector generates knowledge-intensive employment and significant commercial ventures in related industrial sectors. The sector employs over 8,200 individuals, of which over 4,300 are highly-qualified professionals, in more than 200 companies, research organizations, universities, and government departments and agencies all across Canada. In 2010, the sector generated total revenues of $3.439 billion, from which 50 percent came from exports.

Canadian space organizations are internationally renowned for their leading-edge technologies. With the support of the Canadian Space Agency (CSA), Canadian space organizations have developed long-standing relationships with prime contractors and space-faring nations. Among its international relations, Canada has collaborated with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) in a wide range of space science and exploration activities over the past four decades. Canada is also the only non-European country to participate in the European Space Agency (ESA) programs.

Industry Canada

The Aerospace, defence and marine branch (ADMB) of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada promotes the development of an internationally competitive and sustainable space sector. Working closely with the CSA and other government departments, the branch promotes research and development opportunities that will result in new advancements for Canadian space capabilities. The branch participates in the development of space policies and strategies, and ensures that the needs of the sector and the government are taken into consideration.

Contact Us

For more information, please contact the Space team of ADMB:

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Aerospace, defence and marine branch
Space Team
235, Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H5
Fax: 613-998-6703
Name:
Karine Tremblay
Telephone:
613-716-5036
Fax:
613-998-6703
Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Espace

L'espace : une partie intégrante de notre infrastructure canadienne

Le secteur spatial canadien joue un rôle essentiel au sein de l'économie nationale. Les technologies spatiales répondent concrètement aux besoins des Canadiens et du gouvernement en renforçant notre souveraineté nationale, notre sécurité, la gestion de nos ressources et notre capacité à surveiller notre environnement.

Le secteur spatial canadien s'est taillé une réputation internationale dans les créneaux suivants :

  • observation de la Terre;
  • robotique spatiale;
  • exploration et sciences spatiales;
  • télécommunication par satellites.

Le secteur spatial canadien

Le secteur spatial canadien crée des emplois hautement qualifié et génère des retombées commerciales importantes dans des secteurs industriels connexes. Le secteur emploie plus de 8 200 personnes dans plus de 200 entreprises, organismes de recherche, universités, ministères et organismes gouvernementaux partout au Canada. En 2010, le secteur a réalisé des revenus totalisant 3,439 milliards de dollars, dont 50 p.100 provenaient des exportations.

Le secteur spatial canadien est renommé à l'échelle internationale pour ses technologies de pointe. Avec l'appui de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC), le secteur a établi des relations durables avec des entrepreneurs principaux et avec plusieurs pays de compétence spatial. Au nombre de ses relations internationales, le Canada a collaboré avec la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) à un large éventail d'activités scientifiques et d'exploration de l'espace au cours des quatre dernières décennies. Le Canada est également le seul pays non européen à participer aux programmes de l'Agence spatiale européenne (ASE).

Industrie Canada

La Direction générale de l'aérospatiale, de la défense et de la marine (DGADM) d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada favorise le développement d'un secteur spatial durable et concurrentiel à l'échelle internationale. La direction générale travaille en étroite collaboration avec l'ASC et d'autres ministères pour promouvoir les occasions de recherche-développement qui résulteront en de nouvelles percées pour les capacités spatiales du Canada. La Direction générale participe à l'élaboration de politiques et de stratégies relatives à l'espace, et s'assure que les besoins du secteur et du gouvernement soient pris en compte.

Contactez-nous

Pour des informations additionnelles, veuillez communiquer avec l'équipe spatiale de la DGADM :

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Direction générale de l'aérospatiale, de la défense et de la marine
Équipe spatiale
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H5
Télécopieur : 613-998-6703
Nom :
Karine Tremblay
Téléphone :
613-716-5036
Télécopieur :
613-998-6703
Date de modification :