Aerospace in Canada

Canadian aerospace firms have a well-deserved reputation for quality, value, performance and reliability. They are recognized by customers around the world for delivering leading-edge and advanced technology solutions on time and at a competitive cost. Today, Canadian firms are suppliers of choice across a broad spectrum of civil aviation, defence and space programs.

A Significant Global Player

P&WC 10 000-pound-thrustclass engine

  • Pratt & Whitney Canada (P&WC) is a global aerospace leader committed to shaping the future of business, general aviation, and regional aircraft and helicopters with high-performing, dependable engines. Innovation has been central to P&WC's international success, and its all-new 10,000-pound-thrust-class engine family is its most recent breakthrough in power, fuel efficiency and environ-mental friendliness. The first engine, chosen by Cessna Aircraft for the Citation Columbus business jet, will better International Civil Aviation Organization emissions standards by up to 50 percent. P&WC also continues to lead in the very light jet market with its innovative PW600 engine family.
  • Bombardier Aerospace is a world leader in the design and manufacture of innovative aviation products and services for regional, business and amphibious aircraft. Bombardier's regional airliner product family, spanning the 36- to 100-seat market, includes the pioneering Bombardier CRJ Series regional jets and cost-efficient Q Series turboprop.

Bombardier CRJ705

Bell's 429 Global Ranger

  • Bell Helicopter Textron Canada Limited has produced over 3400 helicopters for delivery worldwide. Bell's commitment to quality is evidenced by the launch of the 429 Global Ranger, the first of its modular affordable product line (MAPL) offering. More than 260 units are pre-sold.
  • The landing gear market is the undisputed domain of Canadian industry. Goodrich is the chosen supplier of components for the Airbus A380 landing gear system, Messier-Dowty supplies landing gear to Boeing for the 787 Dreamliner, and Héroux-Devtek is a reputable supplier of landing gear systems and maintenance, repair and overhaul (MRO) services for various aircraft programs.
  • ExelTech Aerospace, the largest regional aircraft MRO in North America, holds Transport Canada, Federal Aviation Administration and European Aviation Safety Agency approvals to repair a wide range of regional aircraft, structures, components, and electrical and electronic systems. Aircraft types serviced include the Bombardier CRJ and Embraer ERJ regional families, the ATR-42 and 72, the Bombardier Dash 8 family, Saab 340 regional turboprops, the Boeing 737 family, and the CL-215.

ExelTech Aerospace overhaul maintenance on Bombardier CRJ aircraft

  • ACTS is one of the industry's leading independent full-service (nose-to-tail) MRO service providers to the airline industry. ACTS services customers in the Americas and operates major maintenance centres in Canada and El Salvador, with a workforce of approximately 5000 employees.

Joint Strike Fighter

  • The sophisticated Joint Strike Fighter (JSF) features extensive use of composite / hard metal–blended materials throughout the airframe. Several Canadian companies supply components and systems to the JSF, including Magellan (primary flight and propulsion structures), Avcorp (outboard wings), Honeywell (power management system), Héroux-Devtek (door-locking mechanisms) and GasTOPS (prognostics and health management sensors).

CAE full-flight simulator

  • CAE is a world leader in the provision of simulation and modelling technologies and training services for civil aviation and defence customers around the globe. CAE has the largest installed base of civil and military full-flight simulators and training devices. Through its global network of 27 civil aviation and military training centres, CAE trains more than 75,000 crew members yearly.
  • Thales is a world leader in mission-critical information systems for the aerospace, defence and security markets, operating in 50 countries with over 68 000 collaborators. Montréal is home to the company's headquarters for regional and business aviation and its worldwide centre of excellence for flight control systems and uncooled optronics technologies.

CMC Electronics cockpit systems integration

  • CMC Electronics (an Esterline company) provides innovative cockpit systems integration and avionics solutions to customers worldwide. CMC is the prime contractor for the avionics systems integration of the Beechcraft T-6B military trainer aircraft.
  • Magellan Aerospace Corporation designs, manufactures and repairs aeroengine and aerostructure components and assemblies in addition to advanced products for military and space markets. Based in Canada, the U.S. and the United Kingdom, with a processing centre in India, Magellan provides its global original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) and tier-one customers with the solutions they need.

5-axis machining of composite structures, Magellan

  • Avcorp, a producer of high-strength interior panels, fuel tanks and structural wing components, as well as fully integrated vertical and horizontal stabilizers, is providing primary flight structures for the Cessna Sovereign and Citation CJ3 business jets.

Cessna Citation CJ3 Center Wing Box

  • Serving more than 1400 customers, Standard Aero is among the largest small-turbine engine maintenance and repair companies in the world, providing MRO services for General Electric, Rolls-Royce, Honeywell and P&WC engines.
  • Viking Air is a first-tier OEM of legacy de Havilland aircraft. The company provides a complete range of services for the Beaver Otter, Twin Otter and Dash 7 aircraft, including spares support, engineering services, and MRO and conversions. In April 2007, Viking began production of the all-new DHC-6 Series 400 Twin Otter.

A High-Performing Industry

  • Canada is home to more than 400 aerospace firms employing nearly 80 000 skilled professionals. Canadian aerospace firms recorded sales totalling $22.1 billion in 2006. The industry exports 80 percent of its output to customers worldwide.
  • Due to their product and service quality, leading-edge technology and cost competitiveness, Canadian aerospace companies hold a strong position within the supply chains of global OEMs and their tier-one partners.

Canadian Excellence

  • Canada's aerospace companies possess strong world-class capabilities in:
    • design and production of regional and business aircraft, helicopters, small gas turbine engines, flight simulator systems and landing gear
    • structural assemblies and components incorporating advanced materials, including composites, special coatings and alloys
    • avionics, communications, power conversion, environmental controls, in-flight entertainment and business solutions
    • MRO of aircraft and major systems and aftermarket logistics support
    • space robotics, earth observation systems and communications satellites
  • Transport Canada's world-recognized aviation certification system ensures that Canadian aerospace products easily meet or exceed the highest standards in safety and reliability. These certification standards are fully recognized by the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration and other regulatory bodies worldwide.

Innovation

  • Sustained commitment to research and development (R&D) keeps Canada at the forefront of aircraft technology development and applications—annual R&D investment totals $1.2 billion.

Bombardier Q400

  • An increasing number of innovative small and medium-sized businesses have unique capabilities in composites, coatings and component system design. Their growing reputation bolsters Canada's recognized expertise in aerospace.
  • The aerospace sector is among the leading investors in R&D in Canada—P&WC is the aerospace leader and is consistently one of the top five R&D investors overall.
  • Numerous programs and institutions, such as the Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI) and National Research Council Canada, assist and support innovation in the Canadian aerospace sector.

PWC laser drilling

Need More Information on Canada?

Aerospace in Canada

The Canadian Aerospace Industry Team at Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada has expert and comprehensive knowledge of Canadian aerospace capabilities. Information on the aerospace industry, including aircraft systems and structures, engines, composites, testing and other services, can be found online at AERO-Canada and at Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada.

Canadian Suppliers

The Aerospace Industries Association of Canada (AIAC) website contains information on Canadian aerospace capabilities. The AIAC represents more than 400 Canadian aerospace enterprises and works to enhance their competitiveness and export marketing through cooperative efforts and direct contact with governments.

The Air Transport Association of Canada (ATAC), founded in 1934, represents over 95 percent of commercial aviation in Canada. ATAC membership includes MROs, approved maintenance organizations and OEMs, as well as operator members such as major international airlines, international charter airlines, regional airlines, cargo airlines, air taxi operators, helicopter operators and flight training schools (www.atac.ca).

Take Advantage of Canadian Opportunity Today

Canada provides businesses with the world's most comprehensive range of proven investment advantages that encourage growth and performance that enhance your bottom line. Canada has a strong, stable and dynamic economy that offers a talented, hard-working and innovative workforce, world-class infrastructure, and leading-edge R&D capabilities. For more information, simply contact the closest Canadian Embassy, High Commission or Consulate, or visit The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service.

Date modified:

L'aérospatiale au Canada

Les sociétés aérospatiales canadiennes jouissent d'une réputation bien méritée au chapitre de la qualité, de la valeur, du rendement et de la fiabilité. Elles sont reconnues par des clients partout dans le monde pour offrir à temps et à un prix concurrentiel des solutions technologiques de pointe. Aujourd'hui, elles sont des fournisseurs de choix pour une vaste gamme de programmes liés à l'aviation civile, à la défense et à l'espace.

Un acteur important sur la scène mondiale

Le moteur de la classe de 10 000 livres de poussée de P&WC

  • Pratt & Whitney Canada (P&WC) est un chef de file mondial du domaine de l'aérospatiale. L'entreprise est résolue à doter les avions et les hélicoptères d'affaires, régionaux et d'aviation générale de moteurs ultra-performants et fiables. L'innovation a été déterminante dans la réussite internationale de P&WC, et sa toute nouvelle gamme de moteurs de la classe de 10 000 livres de poussée représente sa plus récente percée quant à la puissance, à la consommation de carburant et au respect de l'environnement. Le premier moteur, choisi par la Cessna Aircraft pour son avion à réaction d'affaires Citation Columbus, dépassera les normes d'émission de l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale dans une proportion pouvant atteindre 50 p. 100. P&WC continue aussi de montrer la voie dans le marché des avions à réaction très légers avec sa famille de moteurs novateurs PW600.
  • Bombardier Aéronautique est un chef de file mondial de la conception et de la fabrication de produits aéronautiques novateurs destinés aux aéronefs d'affaires, régionaux et amphibies et de la prestation de services dans ce domaine. Bombardier offre une gamme complète d'avions régionaux de 36 à 100 places qui comprend les biréacteurs d'avant-garde de la série CRJ et les avions à turbopropulseurs économiques de la série Q.

Le Bombardier CRJ705

Le 429 Global Ranger de Bell

  • Bell Helicopter Textron Canada limitée a construit plus de 3 400 hélicoptères qui ont été livrés partout dans le monde. Le lancement du 429 Global Ranger, première réalisation de sa gamme de produits modulaires abordables (MAPL), témoigne de l'engagement pris par l'entreprise en faveur de la qualité. Plus de 260 appareils ont déjà été vendus.
  • Le marché des trains d'atterris-sage est le domaine incontesté de l'industrie canadienne. Goodrich a été choisie pour fournir les composants du système de train d'atterrissage de l'Airbus A380; Messier-Dowty fournit à Boeing des trains d'atterrissage pour le 787 Dreamliner, et Héroux-Devtek est un fournisseur réputé de systèmes de train d'atterrissage et de services d'entretien, de réparation et de révision (MRO) aux fins de divers programmes d'aéronefs.
  • ExelTech Aérospatiale, le plus gros fournisseur de services MRO pour aéronefs régionaux en Amérique du Nord, a reçu l'homologation de Transports Canada, de la Federal Aviation Administration et de l'Agence européenne de la sécurité aérienne pour réparer toute une gamme d'aéronefs régionaux ainsi que de structures, de composants et de systèmes électriques et électro-niques leur étant destinés. Parmi les genres d'appareils que l'entreprise entretient, citons les familles d'avions régionaux Bombardier CRJ et Embraer ERJ, les ATR-42 et 72, la famille d'avions Dash 8 de Bombardier, les avions régionaux à turbopropulseurs Saab 340, la famille d'avions Boeing 737 et le CL-215.

ExelTech Aérospatiale fait l'entretien et la révision d'un avion Bombardier CRJ

  • ACTS compte parmi les principaux fournisseurs indépendants de services MRO complets (du nez à l'empennage) de l'industrie aéronautique. L'entreprise, dont l'effectif s'élève à environ 5 000 employés, assure ses services dans les Amériques et exploite d'importants centres d'entretien au Canada et au Salvador.

L'avion de combat interarmées

  • En ce qui concerne l'ensemble de la cellule de l'avion d'attaque interarmées ultramoderne, les ingénieurs font grandement appel à des matériaux alliant composites et métaux durs. Plusieurs sociétés canadiennes fournissent des composants et des systèmes pour cet appareil, y compris Magellan (structures de vol principales et systèmes de propulsion), Avcorp (partie extérieure des ailes), Honeywell (système de gestion de la puissance), Héroux-Devtek (mécanismes de verrouillage de porte) et GasTOPS (capteurs pour prognostics et gestion de la santé).

Un simulateur de vol complet de CAE

  • CAE est un chef de file mondial du domaine des technologies de simulation et de modélisation et des services de formation destinés à l'aviation civile et aux forces armées du monde entier. L'entreprise possède le plus grand nombre de simulateurs de vol complet et de dispositifs de formation pour l'aviation tant civile que militaire. Grâce à son réseau mondial de 27 centres de formation, elle forme plus de 75 000 membres d'équipages aériens civils et militaires tous les ans.
  • Thales est un leader mondial des systèmes d'information critiques sur les marchés de l'aérospatiale, de la défense et de la sécurité. L'entreprise est présente dans 50 pays et elle a recours à plus de 68 000 collaborateurs. Montréal est le siège de l'aviation régionale et d'affaires et le centre d'excellence mondial de l'entreprise pour ce qui est des systèmes de commandes de vol et de la technologie optronique non refroidie.

Intégration des systèmes de poste de pilotage de CMC électronique

  • CMC électronique (une entreprise Esterline) assure l'intégration de systèmes de poste de pilotage novateurs et des solutions avioniques à ses clients du monde entier. Elle est l'entrepreneur principal chargé de l'intégration des systèmes avioniques de l'avion-école militaire Beechcraft T-6B.
  • La Magellan Aerospace Corporation conçoit, fabrique et répare, pour les marchés militaires et spatiaux, des composants et des montages de moteur et de structure aéronautiques ainsi que des produits de pointe. L'entreprise est installée au Canada, aux états-Unis et au Royaume-Uni et a un centre de traitement en Inde; elle procure à ses constructeurs de matériel (OEM) et à ses clients de premier niveau, partout dans le monde, les solutions dont ils ont besoin.

Usinage à cinq axes de structures composites, Magellan

  • Avcorp, fabricant de panneaux intérieurs, de réservoirs de carburant et de composants structurels de voilure à résistance élevée, ainsi que de stabilisateurs verticaux et horizontaux entièrement intégrés, fournit les structures de vol principales destinées aux avions d'affaires à réaction Sovereign et Citation CJ3 de Cessna.

Caisson de voilure central du Citation CJ3 de Cessna

  • Avec plus de 1  400 clients, la Standard Aero compte parmi les plus grandes sociétés d'entretien et de réparation de petits moteurs à turbine du monde; elle assure des services MRO pour les moteurs General Electric, Rolls-Royce, Honeywell et P&WC.
  • Viking Air est le constructeur de premier niveau des avions patrimoniaux de Havilland. L'entreprise fournit une gamme complète de services pour les appareils Beaver Otter, Twin Otter et Dash 7, y compris la fourniture de pièces de rechange, les services techniques, les services MRO et les services de transformation. En avril 2007, elle a commencé à construire le tout nouveau DHC-6 Twin Otter de la série 400.

Une industrie très performante

  • Le Canada compte plus de 400 entreprises aérospatiales employant près de 80 000 spécialistes qualifiés; elles ont enregistré des ventes totales de 22,1 milliards de dollars en 2006. L'industrie exporte 80 p. 100 de sa production.
  • Grâce à la qualité de leurs produits et services, à une technologie de pointe et à leurs prix concurrentiels, les entreprises aérospatiales canadiennes occupent une place de choix au sein des chaînes d'approvisionnement des constructeurs de matériel du monde entier et de leurs partenaires de premier niveau.

L'excellence canadienne

  • Les entreprises aérospatiales canadiennes ont de solides capacités de classe mondiale dans les domaines suivants :
    • conception et fabrication d'avions d'affaires et d'avions régionaux, d'hélicoptères, de petits moteurs à turbine à gaz, de simulateurs de vol et de trains d'atterrissage;
    • ensembles et composants structurels intégrant des matériaux de pointe, dont les composites et les revêtements et alliages spéciaux;
    • avionique, communications, conversion de puissance, contrôle environnemental, divertissements à bord et solutions d'affaires;
    • MRO d'aéronefs et de systèmes principaux ainsi que soutien logistique après-vente;
    • robotique spatiale, systèmes d'observation de la Terre et satellites de communication.
  • Le système de certification en aviation de Transports Canada est reconnu à l'échelle mondiale et il garantit que les produits aérospatiaux canadiens respectent ou dépassent les plus hautes normes de sécurité et de fiabilité. Ces normes sont entièrement reconnues par la Federal Aviation Administration des états-Unis et par d'autres organismes de réglementation partout dans le monde.

Innovation

  • Un engagement soutenu pris en faveur de la recherche-développement (R-D) maintient le Canada à l'avant-garde des technologies aéronautiques et des applications connexes. Les investissements annuels dans la R-D atteignent 1,2 milliard de dollars.

Le Bombardier Q400

  • Un nombre croissant de petites et moyennes entreprises novatrices offrent des capacités particulières dans les domaines des matériaux composites, des revêtements et de la conception de composants de système. Leur réputation sans cesse grandissante renforce les compétences reconnues du Canada en aérospatiale.
  • Le secteur de l'aérospatiale compte parmi les plus grands investisseurs dans le domaine de la R-D au Canada; P&WC est le chef de file en aérospatiale à cet égard et se classe toujours parmi les cinq principaux investisseurs.
  • Bon nombre de programmes et d'établissements, comme l'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD) et le Conseil national de recherches Canada, appuient l'innovation dans le secteur canadien de l'aérospatiale et y contribuent.

Perçage par laser chez PWC

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur le Canada?

L'aérospatiale au Canada

L'équipe d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada chargée de l'industrie aérospatiale canadienne possède des connaissances approfondies et spécialisées sur les capacités de cette dernière. On peut trouver des renseignements sur l'industrie aérospatiale, y compris les systèmes de bord et les structures d'aéronefs, les moteurs, les matériaux composites, les essais et d'autres services, en consultant le site Web AERO-Canada (anglais seulement) et celui d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

Les fournisseurs canadiens

Le site Web de l'Association des industries aérospatiales du Canada (AIAC) renseigne sur les capacités canadiennes dans le domaine de l'aérospatiale. L'AIAC représente plus de 400 entreprises aérospatiales du pays et s'efforce d'améliorer leur compétitivité et la commercialisation de leurs exportations grâce à des efforts de collaboration et à des relations directes établies avec les gouvernements.

L'Association du transport aérien du Canada (ATAC) a été fondée en 1934 et représente plus de 95 p. 100 de l'aviation commerciale au Canada. Parmi ses membres figurent des services de MRO, des organismes d'entretien et des constructeurs d'origine agréés, ainsi que des exploitants tels que de grandes compagnies aériennes internationales, des exploitants internationaux de vols d'affrètement, des transporteurs aériens régionaux, des transporteurs de fret, des services de taxi aérien, des exploitants d'hélicoptères et des écoles de pilotage (www.atac.ca) (anglais seulement).

Profitez dès aujourd'hui des débouchés canadiens

Le Canada offre aux entreprises la gamme la plus complète d'avantages fiscaux éprouvés qui améliorent leurs résultats nets et en stimulent la croissance et le rendement. C'est une économie solide, stable et dynamique qui bénéficie d'une main-d'œuvre douée, diligente et novatrice, d'une infrastructure de classe mondiale et de capacités de pointe en matière de R-D. Afin d'en savoir plus, veuillez tout simplement communiquer avec l'ambassade, le haut-commissariat ou le consulat du Canada le plus près, ou consulter le site Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada.

N.B. Dans cette publication, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

Date de modification :