Canadian Industrial Participation in the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter program

Spring 2013

Minister's Message

As part of its response to Chapter 2 of the 2012 Spring Report of the Auditor General of Canada, the Government of Canada committed to providing updates to Parliament on the industrial benefits of Canada's participation in the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter Program (JSF). Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada tabled the first report on industrial participation in Parliament in December 2012. The objectives of the first report were to enhance transparency for F-35 industrial participation, provide background on industrial participation as it relates to Canada's opportunities in the JSF Program, and set the baseline for future reporting.

This second report on Industrial Participation provides timely and accurate information on the F-35 work opportunities available to, and those successfully secured by, companies in Canada. It reflects the most recent numbers received from, and validated with, the Prime Contractors in Winter 2012-2013. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada officials worked with the National Fighter Procurement Secretariat in the drafting of this report and it has been approved by the Secretariat's Deputy Minister Governance Committee.

I welcome the ongoing opportunity to provide Parliament and Canadians with up-to-date information on the industrial benefits of Canada's participation in the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter Program.

Christian ParadisMinister of Industry and Minister of State (Agriculture)

Canadian Industrial Participation in the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter Program

A. Purpose

The 2012 Spring Report of the Auditor General (the Report) was released on April 3, 2012 and contained a chapter entitled Replacing Canada's Fighter Jets . In response to the Auditor General's report, the Government of Canada released a Seven-Point Plan, according to which Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada will continue identifying opportunities for Canadian industry to participate in the F-35 JSF global supply chain, and will provide updates to Parliament explaining the benefits.

In December 2012, the Government of Canada tabled a report to Parliament on the industrial participation of Canadian industry in the F-35 JSF Program: Canadian Industrial Participation in the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter Program . This report provided background on Canada's industrial participation in the F-35 JSF Program, and up-to-date information on the identified F-35 JSF work opportunities available to, and successfully secured by, companies in Canada. Having established the baseline for future reporting in December 2012, the current report provides an update on the most recent information on identified work opportunities on the Program, as reported by the Prime Contractors in their winter 2012-2013 updates.

B. How Canadian F-35 JSF Industrial Participation Values are Determined

The information in this report is based on data provided to Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada bi-annually in reports from the two prime contractors of the F-35 JSF, Lockheed Martin and Pratt & Whitney. These bi-annual reports contain details regarding F-35 JSF industrial activity ongoing, or to be offered, in Canada. This includes data regarding work sourced for the prime contractors' own supply chain requirements, as well as data for work offered to companies in Canada through the prime contractors' principal suppliers.

After the reports are received by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, the information is reviewed with the prime contractors, and further clarification is obtained, as needed, through ongoing correspondence. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada also regularly meets with many of the F-35 JSF prime contractors' principal suppliers, as well as the companies in Canada performing F-35 associated work, and uses these occasions to validate the data that is presented in the prime contractors' reports.

The information reported by the prime contractors is commercially sensitive. As such, while the Government of Canada is able to publicly report on the sum of the opportunities and contracts, it cannot release details on individual contracts, opportunities, or the values associated with one prime contractor's industrial participation plan. To do so would violate the terms of the Industrial Participation MOUs and could undermine the competitive position of companies in Canada.

For the purposes of this report, "opportunities" for companies in Canada is broken down into the following categories:

  • Contracts: signed and executed purchase orders for development and/or production work on the planes and associated systems ordered by partner countries to date; and
  • Identified Opportunities: the extension of contracted work, or new work which has been identified by the prime contractors as being open for competition to companies in Canada, but for which no contract has yet been signed.

C. Canadian F-35 JSF Industrial Participation Results

1. Contracts

Companies in Canada have thus far participated in the design/development and early production phases of the F-35 JSF Program. Since 1997, seventy-two (72) companies in Canada have secured work on the program, some of which is now complete. Based on the Winter 2012-2013 updates, thirty-four (34) companies currently have active contracts. This latter number is expected to fluctuate as some contracts finish and others are added. Companies in Canada have secured $488 million US Dollars (USD) in contracts, an increase of $50 million USD over the results in the December 2012 report. This is work across a range of aerospace subsectors, including airframe, propulsion, tooling, software and mission systems, which would not have been available to our industry if Canada were not a partner in the F-35 JSF Program.

Table 1: Contracts as of Winter 2012-2013
  Values in Billions USD
Sum of Contracts $0.488

2. Identified Opportunities

Beyond reporting on the value of contracts, the prime contractors also report on identified work for which companies in Canada will be eligible to compete, based on the currently estimated partner country buy of 3,100 aircraft. This includes opportunities related to the extension of existing production contracts, as well as new opportunities that have not yet been offered through competition. In order to secure the extension of existing contracts, companies must continue to successfully demonstrate their ability to provide best value, "competitive technologies at competitive prices," throughout the aircraft's production phase. A company's likelihood of securing a contract extension also depends on the type of work it is performing. Some companies in Canada have a decisive advantage in their area of work (for instance, a unique capability or control of vital intellectual property), increasing the likelihood of receiving contract extensions. Other contracts will be more difficult for companies to secure extensions, because there are a greater number of competitors. As long as companies continue to demonstrate best value and remain competitive, the extension of production contracts is currently estimated at up to $7.728 billion USD.

In addition to the continuation of work associated with existing contracts, companies in Canada will have the opportunity to bid on additional production and sustainment work (as the Program moves into higher rates of aircraft production and requires a broader supply chain).

Table 2: Identified Opportunities as of Winter 2012-2013
Phase Values in Billions USD
Production and Sustainment
Extension of production contracts, assuming that firms are successful in associated competitions $7.728
Other Identified Production and Sustainment Opportunities $1.536
Sum of Identified Opportunities $9.264

3. Sum of Contracts and Identified Opportunities as of Winter 2012-2013

Based upon the most recent reports received from the prime contractors in Winter 2012-2013, the value of contracts plus identified opportunities for companies in Canada could be up to $9.752 billion USD, a decline of $14 million USD since the December 2012 report.

Table 3: Contracts and Identified Opportunities as of Winter 2012-2013
Category Values in Billions USD
Contracts $0.488
Identified Opportunities $9.264
Sum of Contracts and Identified Opportunities $9.752

All new opportunities, whether related to production or sustainment, will be reported to the Government of Canada by the prime contractors as they emerge.

In the near term, however, it should be noted that opportunity values could decline somewhat or remain at current levels. This is because, in line with the Program's best value model, companies in Canada will not be successful in securing all of the currently identified opportunities. Concurrently, suppliers have already been identified to meet the requirements of the Program at its current rate of production, and global sustainment requirements are still being defined. The rate of production is not currently expected to ramp up until 2017-2018. Therefore, it is not likely that there will be an influx of new opportunities to offset those that were lost to other bidders.

Because it is difficult to predict what proportion of the identified opportunities companies in Canada will secure, or how large the additional unidentified opportunities will be, an overall prediction of the final value of work that will be secured by companies in Canada (or even a range of possible outcomes) cannot be reliably made at this point.

4. Future Industrial Participation Prospects

Fundamentally, when opportunities are offered for competition, the amount and number of the contracts secured will depend on the success of the companies in Canada in these competitive processes. As has been the situation to date, and because the Program is based around the concept of best value, companies in Canada will not be successful in capturing all opportunities available.

In addition, a key factor is that future value projections are based upon the production of the anticipated partner fleet of 3,100 aircraft. Any significant change in the partner nations' acquisition quantities could affect these projections. Similarly, non-partner acquisitions of the F-35 JSF—for instance those of Israel and Japan—could affect the amount of work going to companies in Canada, as these acquisitions and their associated industrial participation opportunities are not included in the 3,100 estimate.

At the same time, the prime contractors and their principal suppliers may need to make changes to their supply chains as production rates increase, which could affect the amount of work available to companies in Canada. In the near term, before production rates increase, we are unlikely to see a substantial increase in contracts.

Over the long-term, however, there may be other development opportunities to upgrade the aircraft's technology. Such work would represent additional opportunities not currently reflected in the data received by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada from the prime contractors.

Finally, sustainment opportunities will become available as global and domestic needs for maintenance and training are more clearly defined. At this stage of the Program, sustainment planning is still on going and one sustainment opportunity has been identified for companies in Canada as of winter 2012-2013 reporting. However, over the life of the Program, substantial opportunities will be available in areas such as engine and airframe maintenance, component repair, and pilot and maintainer training. Companies in Canada will have the opportunity to compete for work, not only on domestic sustainment, but on sustainment for the global fleet.

Taken together, these factors make it clear that the value of contracts and available opportunities will vary over time. That being said, the following general observations can be made:

  • Since the December 2012 Report, based on June/July 2012 numbers, contract values have increased by $50 million USD to $488 million USD. In the near term, aircraft production will continue at a steady rate of about 30 aircraft per year and—should companies in Canada continue to demonstrate best value—it is reasonable to expect that contract values will continue to trend upwards, while, as previously noted, opportunity values are expected to remain flat or decline slightly.
  • Once the Program transitions to full-rate (i.e. higher rate) production, companies in Canada should benefit from the proportionately higher purchase orders or contracts associated with this higher rate of production, so long as they continue to demonstrate best value.
  • Post-2020, it is expected that Canadian companies could also benefit from sustainment contracts as there will be a sizeable partner fleet, both within North America and globally, that will require maintenance, repair and training.

D. Conclusion

Any decision to acquire a replacement for the CF-18 will be driven foremost by the operational needs of the Canadian Forces. Maximizing industrial opportunities is an important part of ensuring that Canadians benefit as much as possible from an acquisition, but it is one of many elements that factor into acquisition decisions.

Canada's participation in the F-35 JSF Program has given companies in Canada the opportunity to compete for design/development, production and sustainment contracts on the F-35 aircraft and associated systems. As a result, companies in Canada have secured $488 million USD in contracts. If the Government of Canada decides to acquire the F-35 through the F-35 JSF partnership, companies in Canada will be able to sustain currently contracted work and continue to have access to compete for additional production, sustainment and follow-on development work over the next several decades.

Through the National Fighter Procurement Secretariat (NFPS), Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada will continue to work with other federal partners to fulfill the commitments outlined in the Government of Canada's response to Chapter 2 of the 2012 Spring Report of the Auditor General of Canada .

Date modified:

Participation de l’industrie canadienne au Programme d’avions de combat interarmées F-35

Printemps 2013


Message du Ministre

Dans le cadre de sa réponse au chapitre 2 du Rapport du printemps 2012 du gouverneur général du Canada, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à présenter des mises à jour au Parlement sur les retombées industrielles liées à la participation du Canada au Programme d'avions de combat interarmées (ACII) F-35. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada a déposé le premier rapport sur la participation industrielle au Parlement en décembre 2012. Les objectifs du premier rapport étaient d'accroître la transparence relativement à la participation industrielle au F-35, de fournir des renseignements généraux sur la participation industrielle en ce qui concerne les possibilités du Canada dans le Programme d'ACI, et d'établir les bases pour les rapports à venir.

Ce deuxième rapport sur la participation industrielle fournit des renseignements précis en temps opportun sur les possibilités de travail offertes aux entreprises canadiennes, et obtenues par ces dernières. Il tient compte des chiffres les plus récents reçus des entrepreneurs principaux au cours de l'hiver 2012-2013, et validés par ces derniers. Des représentants d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada ont travaillé avec le Secrétariat national d'approvisionnement en chasseurs à la rédaction du présent rapport, et il a été approuvé par le Comité de gouvernance des sous-ministres du Secrétariat.

Je profite de l'occasion pour fournir au Parlement et à la population canadienne les renseignements les plus récents dont nous disposons des retombées industrielles au niveau de la participation du Canada au Programme d'ACI F-35.

Christian ParadisMinistre de l'Industrie et ministre d'État (Agriculture)

Participation de l'industrie canadienne au Programme d'avions de combat interarmées F-35

A. But

Diffusé le 3 avril 2012, le Rapport du printemps 2012 du vérificateur général (le Rapport) contenait un chapitre intitulé Le remplacement des avions de combat du Canada . En réponse au rapport du vérificateur général, le gouvernement du Canada a diffusé un plan en sept points, selon lequel Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada continuera de trouver des possibilités pour que l'industrie canadienne participe à la chaîne d'approvisionnement mondiale des F-35, et présentera des mises à jour au Parlement pour lui expliquer les retombées.

En décembre 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a déposé un rapport devant le Parlement sur la participation de l'industrie canadienne au Programme d'ACI F-35 : Participation de l'industrie canadienne au Programme d'avions de combat interarmées F-35 . En plus de donner des renseignements contextuels sur la participation de l'industrie canadienne au Programme d'ACII F-35, ce rapport contient de l'information à jour sur les possibilités de travail déterminées offertes aux entreprises canadiennes, et obtenues par ces dernières, dans le cadre du Programme d'ACI F-35. Le rapport actuel, qui utilise les données de décembre 2012 comme point de référence, présente une mise à jour et les plus récents renseignements sur les possibilités de travail déterminées dans le cadre du Programme, conformément aux mises à jour fournies par les entrepreneurs principaux à l'hiver 2012-2013.

B. Comment les valeurs de la participation de l'industrie canadienne à l'ACI F-35 sont déterminées

Les renseignements contenus dans le présent rapport reposent sur les données fournies à Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada deux fois par année dans les rapports de Lockheed Martin et Pratt & Whitney – les deux entrepreneurs principaux de l'ACI F-35. Ces rapports semestriels contiennent des détails sur l'activité industrielle relative à l'ACI F-35 en cours, ou qui sera offerte, au Canada. Ils renferment des données sur les travaux des fournisseurs des entrepreneurs principaux, ainsi que des données sur les travaux offerts aux entreprises canadiennes par l'intermédiaire des grands fournisseurs des entrepreneurs principaux.

Lorsqu'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada reçoit les rapports, il revoit l'information avec les entrepreneurs principaux et demande des précisions, au besoin, par l'entremise d'une correspondance soutenue. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada rencontre aussi régulièrement bon nombre de grands fournisseurs des entrepreneurs principaux de l'ACI F-35, ainsi que les entreprises canadiennes exécutant des travaux liés au F-35, et profite de ces occasions pour valider les données qui sont présentées dans les rapports des entrepreneurs principaux.

L'information communiquée par les entrepreneurs principaux est de nature délicate sur le plan commercial. Ainsi, bien que le gouvernement du Canada puisse communiquer publiquement le montant des possibilités et des marchés, il ne peut diffuser de renseignements détaillés sur les possibilités et les marchés individuels, ou sur les valeurs associées au plan de participation industrielle d'un seul entrepreneur principal. En agissant de la sorte, il enfreindrait les conditions des protocoles d'entente sur la participation de l'industrie et pourrait affaiblir la position concurrentielle des entreprises au Canada.

Aux fins du présent rapport, les « possibilités » offertes aux entreprises au Canada sont classées dans les catégories suivantes :

  • Contrats : bons de commande signés et exécutés en vue des travaux de développement ou de production associés aux avions et aux systèmes connexes commandés par les pays partenaires à ce jour;
  • Possibilités déterminées : l'élargissement des travaux confiés à contrat, ou des nouveaux travaux que les entrepreneurs principaux ont décidé de soumettre à des appels d'offres d'entreprises du Canada, mais pour lesquels aucun contrat n'a encore été signé.

C. Résultats de la participation de l'industrie canadienne à la production de l'ACI F-35

1. Contrats

À ce jour, les entreprises canadiennes ont participé aux phases de conception/développement et de production initiale du Programme d'ACI F-35. Depuis 1997, soixante-douze (72) entreprises canadiennes ont obtenu du travail dans le cadre du Programme; une partie de ce travail est maintenant terminée. Selon les mises à jour de l'hiver 2012-2013, trente-quatre (34) entreprises ont des contrats en cours. Ce nombre devrait varier à mesure que certains contrats prennent fin et que d'autres sont ajoutés. Les entreprises canadiennes ont obtenu des contrats d'une valeur de 488 millions de dollars américains, ce qui représente 50 millions de dollars américains de plus que les résultats indiqués dans le rapport de décembre 2012. Ces travaux sont effectués dans de nombreux sous-secteurs de l'aérospatiale, notamment la cellule, la propulsion, l'outillage, les logiciels et les systèmes de mission, auxquels notre industrie n'aurait pas eu accès si le Canada n'était pas un partenaire du Programme d'ACI F-35.

Tableau 1 : Contrats à l'hiver 2012-2013
  Valeurs en milliards de dollars américains
Somme des contrats 0,488$

2. Possibilités déterminées

En plus de rendre compte de la valeur des contrats, les entrepreneurs principaux font également état des travaux cernés pour lesquels les entreprises canadiennes pourront soumissionner, selon le nombre d'avions achetés par les pays partenaires, que l'on estime actuellement à 3 100. Cela comprend des possibilités liées à la prolongation des contrats de production existants, ainsi que de nouvelles possibilités qui n'ont pas encore été offertes dans le cadre de concours. Afin d'obtenir la prolongation des contrats existants, les entreprises doivent continuer de démontrer leur capacité à offrir le meilleur rapport qualité-prix, soit « des technologies concurrentielles à des prix concurrentiels », tout au long de la phase de production d'avions. La possibilité qu'une entreprise obtienne une prolongation de contrat dépend également du type de travail qu'elle effectue. Certaines entreprises canadiennes ont un avantage décisif dans leur domaine de travail (par exemple, une capacité unique ou le contrôle d'une propriété intellectuelle essentielle), ce qui augmente leur chance d'obtenir une prolongation de contrat. Pour les autres contrats, les entreprises auront plus de difficulté à obtenir une prolongation, puisqu'il y a un nombre plus élevé de concurrents. Tant que les entreprises continuent à démontrer qu'elles offrent le meilleur rapport qualité-prix et qu'elles demeurent concurrentielles, la prolongation des contrats de production est actuellement estimée jusqu'à 7,728 milliards de dollars américains.

En plus de la poursuite des travaux associés aux contrats existants, les entreprises canadiennes auront l'occasion de présenter des soumissions pour des travaux de production et de soutien supplémentaires (à mesure que le rythme de production d'avions du Programme s'intensifiera et qu'une chaîne d'approvisionnement plus vaste sera nécessaire).

Tableau 2 : Possibilités déterminées à l'hiver 2012-2013
Phase Valeurs en milliards de dollars américains
Production et soutien  
Prolongation des contrats de production, en supposant que les entreprises remportent les concours connexes 7,728$
Autres possibilités déterminées en matière de production et de soutien 1,536$
Somme des possibilités déterminées 9,264$

3. Somme des contrats et des possibilités déterminées à l'hiver 2012-2013

D'après les derniers rapports reçus des entrepreneurs principaux pendant l'hiver 2012-2013, la valeur des contrats et des possibilités déterminées pour les entreprises canadiennes pourraient atteindre 9,752 milliards de dollars américains, une diminution de 14 millions de dollars américains si l'on compare avec le rapport de décembre 2012.

Tableau 3 : Contrats et possibilités déterminées à l'hiver 2012-2013
Catégorie Valeurs en milliards de dollars américains
Contrats 0,488$
Possibilités déterminées 9,264$
Somme des contrats et des possibilités déterminées 9,752$

Toutes les nouvelles possibilités, qu'elles soient liées à la production ou au soutien, seront communiquées au gouvernement du Canada par les entrepreneurs principaux à mesure qu'elles se présenteront.

Toutefois, à court terme, il convient de noter que la valeur des possibilités pourrait baisser un peu ou demeurer aux niveaux actuels. Cela est dû au fait que les entreprises canadiennes, conformément au modèle du meilleur rapport qualité-prix du Programme, ne réussiront pas à saisir toutes les possibilités déterminées actuelles. Parallèlement, on a déjà trouvé des fournisseurs pour satisfaire aux exigences du Programme et au taux de production actuel, et on procède toujours à l'élaboration des exigences en matière de soutien. Le taux de production ne devrait pas augmenter avant 2017-2018. Par conséquent, il est peu probable qu'un afflux de nouvelles possibilités puisse compenser pour celles qui ont été perdues aux mains d'autres soumissionnaires.

Comme il est difficile de prévoir la proportion de possibilités déterminées qui seront obtenues par les entreprises canadiennes, ou l'ampleur des possibilités supplémentaires indéterminées, une prévision globale de la valeur finale des travaux qui seront obtenus par les entreprises canadiennes (ou même un éventail des résultats possibles) ne peut être faite de façon fiable pour le moment.

4. Perspectives d'avenir en ce qui a trait à la participation de l'industrie

Fondamentalement, lorsque des possibilités de concurrence sont offertes, le montant et le nombre des contrats obtenus dépendront du succès des entreprises canadiennes dans les processus concurrentiels. Comme c'est le cas jusqu'à maintenant, et parce que le Programme se fonde sur le concept du meilleur rapport qualité-prix, les entreprises canadiennes ne réussiront pas à saisir toutes les possibilités offertes.

Qui plus est, les prévisions relatives à la valeur future sont fondées sur la production de la flotte prévue des pays partenaires, qui devrait s'établir à 3 100 avions. Tout changement important relativement au nombre d'avions acquis par les pays partenaires pourrait influer sur ces prévisions. Par ailleurs, les acquisitions d'ACI F-35 par des non-partenaires, par exemple Israël et le Japon, pourraient influer sur la quantité de travail obtenue par les entreprises canadiennes, étant donné que ces acquisitions et la participation industrielle connexe ne sont pas comprises dans l'estimation de 3 100 avions.

Parallèlement, les entrepreneurs principaux et leurs grands fournisseurs auront peut-être à apporter des changements à leurs chaînes d'approvisionnement à mesure que les taux de production augmentent, ce qui pourrait influer sur la quantité de travail disponible pour les entreprises canadiennes. À court terme, avant l'augmentation des taux de production, il est peu probable de voir une augmentation substantielle des contrats.

Toutefois, à long terme, il pourrait y avoir d'autres possibilités de développement en vue de mettre à niveau la technologie de l'avion. Ces travaux représenteraient des possibilités supplémentaires qui ne sont pas actuellement prises en compte dans les données envoyées à Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada par les entrepreneurs principaux.

Enfin, des possibilités de soutien seront offertes à mesure que les besoins mondiaux et nationaux en matière d'entretien et de formation sont définis plus clairement. À cette étape-ci du Programme, la planification du soutien est toujours en cours, et une possibilité de soutien a été déterminée pour les entreprises canadiennes en date du rapport d'hiver 2012-2013. Toutefois, pendant la durée du Programme, d'importantes possibilités seront offertes dans des domaines comme l'entretien des moteurs et des cellules, la réparation de composants et la formation des pilotes et des spécialistes de la maintenance. Les entreprises canadiennes auront l'occasion de soumissionner en vue d'obtenir des travaux, non seulement pour le soutien de la flotte nationale, mais également de la flotte mondiale.

Ensemble, ces facteurs indiquent clairement que la valeur des contrats et des possibilités offertes variera au fil du temps. Cela étant dit, les observations générales suivantes peuvent être faites :

  • Depuis le rapport de décembre 2012, en se fondant sur les données de juin-juillet 2012, la valeur des contrats a augmenté de 50 millions de dollars américains pour atteindre 488 millions de dollars américains. À court terme, la production d'avions se poursuivra à un rythme régulier d'environ 30 avions par année, et, si les entreprises canadiennes continuent de démontrer qu'elles offrent le meilleur rapport qualité-prix, il est raisonnable de s'attendre à ce que la valeur des contrats continue d'augmenter tandis que, comme il a été mentionné auparavant, on s'attend à ce que la valeur des possibilités demeure stable ou connaisse une légère baisse.
  • Une fois que le Programme aura atteint une production à grande cadence (c.-à-d. plus élevée), les entreprises canadiennes devraient tirer profit du nombre de commandes d'achat et de contrats proportionnellement plus élevé allant de pair avec ce taux de production supérieur, tant qu'elles continueront de démontrer qu'elles offrent le meilleur rapport qualité-prix.
  • Après 2020, on s'attend à ce que les entreprises canadiennes puissent également tirer profit de contrats de soutien, puisque la flotte des partenaires sera importante, tant en Amérique du Nord qu'à l'échelle mondiale, et qu'elle nécessitera des travaux d'entretien et de réparation, ainsi que de la formation.

D. Conclusion

Toute décision relative à l'acquisition d'un avion de chasse pour remplacer le CF-18 sera principalement motivée par les besoins opérationnels des Forces canadiennes. Il faudra veiller à ce que les Canadiens tirent le meilleur parti possible d'une acquisition, et l'optimisation des possibilités industrielles jouera un rôle important à cet égard. Cependant, il s'agit d'un des nombreux éléments pris en compte lors de la prise des décisions en matière d'acquisition.

La participation du Canada au Programme d'ACI F-35 a offert aux entreprises canadiennes la possibilité de livrer concurrence en vue d'obtenir des contrats de conception/développement, de production et de soutien pour les avions F-35 et les systèmes connexes. En conséquence, les entreprises canadiennes ont obtenu des contrats d'une valeur de 488 millions de dollars américains. Si le gouvernement du Canada décide d'acquérir le F-35 dans le cadre du partenariat du Programme d'ACI F-35, les entreprises canadiennes seront en mesure de poursuivre les travaux contractuels actuels et pourront continuer de soumissionner en vue d'obtenir des travaux supplémentaires de production, de soutien et de développement subséquent au cours des prochaines décennies.

Par l'entremise du Secrétariat national d'approvisionnement en chasseurs, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada continuera de travailler avec d'autres partenaires fédéraux afin de respecter les engagements présentés dans la réponse du gouvernement du Canada au chapitre 2 du Rapport du printemps 2012 du vérificateur général du Canada .

Date de modification :