Space Advisory Board (SAB) roundtable on Canada’s future in space

May 5, 2017, St Hubert, Quebec

SAB Hosts: Lucy Stojak, Michael Pley, and Stéphane Germain

Areas of focus

  1. Grow Canada’s Space Sector;
  2. Innovate and Explore Space;
  3. Strengthen Long-Term International Partnerships;
  4. Inspire the Next Generation;
  5. Contribute to our Understanding of the Earth;
  6. Improve Quality of Life for Canadians; and,
  7. Ensure a Safe and Secure Nation.

Highlights

The industry is transforming and there is an urgent call for action, to help reinvigorate Canada's space sector through a space strategy that will enable predictable and balanced programming, while also providing the flexibility to respond to emerging technologies and changing business models.

Forward-looking laws and regulations are necessary in the near-term to keep up with technologies; and Canada has an opportunity to lead. Potential changes to the current framework for telecommunications and remote sensing may be proposed, and potential for legislation related to emerging space activities, such on-orbit servicing and space mining.

Inspiring the current and future generation is a priority, and there are different approaches that may be considered, including revitalized education and outreach activities by the Canadian Space Agency, consideration of new and novel ways of engaging Canadians, especially youth, and new approaches for increased collaboration with education and outreach groups. Consideration should be given to enabling the transition of inspired students from the education system into employment in the Canadian space sector through challenges and competitions.

Research and engagement to learn from other public outreach organizations (e.g., Planetary Society, Actua, Let’s Talk Science) may be necessary to understand Canadians’ awareness of the space sector, people’s interests, and to identify efficient communications tools (e.g., web-based platforms to target youth). For instance, Canadian youth are generally captivated by modern day pioneers (such as Elon Musk) and may be less aware and inspired by Canadian flagship missions (e.g., the RADARSAT Constellation Mission).

A multidisciplinary approach to space that integrates social sciences and legal studies is proposed. The number of Canadians in STEM is strong, but fewer students are going into space studies. Canada may wish to consider the creation of a Canadian space policy institute in collaboration with stakeholders, and similar to other countries (e.g., US George Washington University, and European Space Policy Institute).

Key implementation considerations/challenges

Changing environment: It was suggested that the Canadian space sector is struggling and that action is needed sooner as opposed to later. The space strategy will need to be adaptable in order to respond to the rate of technology development, changing business models, and new ecosystems. Due to the move to High Throughput Satellites and hybrid LEO-GEO constellations, the traditional satellite manufacturing sector where Canada has considerable strength is struggling as operators delay their satellite orders in the GEO market to adjust to the flexibility required by the changing market (e.g., only one commercial GEO satellite ordered year to date versus the typical average of 20-25 satellites per year). In the absence of any new government programs, this is creating a near term crisis in the satellite systems manufacturing market, exacerbated by competing spacefaring nations investing in new product development to re-tool for the changing market.

Continuity and program alignment: Program activities need to be guaranteed over a longer term horizon. Canada could consider a commitment to a regular cadence of missions, and a regular timeline such as: ten nanosat missions per year; one SmallSat mission every two years; and, a large international mission every 5 years. Alignment of programs, and coordination of funding (e.g., NSERC, MITAC, NRC-IRAP) to ensure continuity for training, fundamental to applied research, and demonstrations and ultimately help to bring innovative products and service to the market.

Legal frameworks and global leadership: Domestic laws and regulations need to be viewed as a facilitator in creating certainty and stability in the business environment, as opposed to a barrier. Canada must continue to work with international partners and like-minded countries through multilateral forums such as the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (UN COPUOS) to address national interests, and lead internationally on the development of rules and norms to ensure our interests are reflected (e.g., space debris, weaponization of space, space mining).

Investment planning: Investments should be targeted to provide the opportunity to fly the next generation of technologies (e.g., V Band satellite technology, asteroid mining technology, space servicing). Canada needs to make decisions on key strengths and capabilities to invest in. The International Space Station mission is nearing its end, and the Government needs to be ready to respond quickly to invitations for collaboration from international partners and not miss opportunities.

Funding levels: While Canada is a country that “punches above its weight in space”, this analogy suggests that Canada will lose the battle in the long-run. Canada’s overall funding for the space sector must be examined, and spending levels determined that are appropriate so that the Canadian space industry can remain competitive against other countries that are investing heavily in this domain.

Defence procurement: Considering militaries are often the biggest spenders for space technologies, there may be an opportunity to leverage space defence procurements to re-invigorate the space sector and support the purchase of Canadian good/services. It was suggested that contracts should always be open and competitive, but guarantee that a portion of the work will take place in Canada. Procurement processes are slow and programs that have been in planning for years need to be launched to support growth of the space sector.

Space science: Space science missions generate important benefits that deepen our understanding of the Earth, including our environmental impact. There is need for continuity of science funding and research teams after instruments are built and flown in space. While there was some discussion as to whether Canada should fly its own science satellites, and instead fly payloads on international satellites, there is strong support overall from the space community for Canadian science missions. The last two science programs were standalone microsats (MOST and SCISAT) which were sources of Canadian pride. There has not been any new science mission initiated in Canada since 2003, which was interpreted as the relevant scientific community not being sustained.

Start-up and scale up: Government can support early stage companies by providing opportunities for flight heritage, serving as a first customer or anchor customer, developing eco-systems through programming (e.g., UK Catapult) and regulatory reforms (e.g., Luxemburg). Continuity is needed to maintain capabilities and to enable scaling up of firms and advancements in science excellence. To keep pace with technology advancements, it is increasingly important to demonstrate technologies in space and to progress to TRL level 9 rapidly. SMEs in Canada can support the development of super-constellations, but it is a challenge to find a platform to test new technologies.

Top ideas / Outcomes

Balanced space program: a long-term strategy is required to move from a program-by-program approach. A long-term strategy should include a mix of flagship programs (e.g. International Space Station and RADARSAT Constellation Mission) that have high visibility, and smaller, responsive programs to stimulate commercial businesses and allow the universities to develop skills and talent.

Focus on action: to reinvigorate the space sector and retain expertise in Canada, government support may be required in the near-term to develop key technologies and to help prepare for the next-wave of disruptive technologies (e.g., mega-constellations). A ‘next generation communications satellite program’ was proposed, similar to the government’s investment in Telesat's Anik F2 that established Canadian commercial leadership for the next decade in two-way satellite internet at Ka-band back in 2004.

Modernize laws and regulations: existing telecommunications and remote sensing regulations may need to be reviewed and refreshed, and new regulatory mechanisms may need to be developed quickly to protect Canadian interests. Modernized and adaptable laws and regulations are needed to address commercial activities in space and emerging technologies and capabilities (e.g., private space stations, on-orbit servicing, space mining, private space transportation, space tourism). The idea of a space policy institute was proposed as a focal point within government to deal with the task of ensuring a dynamic regulatory framework.

Partnerships: it is important to leverage existing financial resources and ecosystems through agreements with international partners, existing organizations including provincial networks, and to seek opportunities for cost-sharing arrangements or co-programming.

Renewed Commitment to Outreach: a robust education and outreach program is necessary to inspire the next generation – the Canadian Space Agency ’s education and public outreach (EPO) program should be re-established and include active participation of the EPO community (e.g., space societies, Canadian museums, libraries).The Government may wish to consider directing a small portion of contract funding toward EPOs; and, re-assess the capacity of the Canadian Space Agency to influence space-related education (e.g., through on-line resources, learning sessions for teachers).

Skills and talent development: While astronauts and Canada’s space activities are an important source of inspiration, competitions and events (e.g., like the NASA Apps Challenge, hackathons, rocket competitions and cubesat development programs) can be a highly effective way to inspire the next generation and develop talent.

Big data and accessibility: in the advent of super constellation satellites, a surge of information is expected and new partnership may need to be developed to support worldwide knowledge, as well as to address global challenges (climate change, environmental monitoring). Expertise in informatics will be important, and a strategy for integrating space-based data with other sources to make data more useful and accessible to the public through open data policies. The idea of a ‘New Space initiative’ was proposed, whereby the government can foster startups and act as an anchor customer for data that supports Canadian needs and is then leveraged for exports.

Participants

  • Alain Aubertin – Consortium for Research and Innovation in Aerospace in Quebec
  • Martin Aubé – Ministère de l'Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation Québec
  • Richard Boudreault – Sigma Energy Storage Inc.
  • Nathan De Ruiter – Euroconsult
  • Natalia Larrea Brito – Euroconsult
  • Carl Demchuck – RockÉTS
  • Karl Doetsch
  • Chantelle Dubois – Space Generation Advisory Council
  • Marie-Eve Ducharme – Nüvü Caméras Inc.
  • Eric Edwards – Xiphos Technologies
  • Jacques Giroux – ABB Bomen Inc.
  • Kate Howells – The Planetary Society
  • Ram S. Jakhu – McGill University, Centre for Research of Air and Space Law
  • Virendra Jha – VRSpace Consultants Inc.
  • David Kendall – United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space
  • Alexandra Kindrat – Aerospace Program for the Lester B Pearson School Board
  • John Landovskis – Advantech Wireless Inc.
  • Julie Mandar – ABB Bomen Inc.
  • Joanna Boshouwers – MDA
  • Marina Mississian – COM DEV Canada, Honeywell Aerospace
  • Ewan Reid – Mission Control Space Services Inc.
  • Warren Soh – Magellan Aerospace
  • Mathieu Trudelle – Canada Economic Development for Québec Regions
  • Gregg A. Wade – Royal Military College of Canada, Department of Physics
  • Jane Diane Bachynski – MPB Communications Inc.
Date modified:

Table ronde du Comité consultatif de l’espace (CCE) sur l’avenir du Canada dans l’espace

5 mai 2017, Saint-Hubert, Québec

Hôtes du CCE : Lucy Stojak, Michael Pley et Stephan Germain

Priorités

  1. Développer le secteur spatial du Canada;
  2. Innovation et exploration de l'espace;
  3. Renforcer les partenariats internationaux à long terme;
  4. Inspirer la prochaine génération;
  5. Contribuer à notre compréhension de la Terre;
  6. Améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens;
  7. Préserver une nation sûre et sécurisée.

Faits saillants

L’industrie se transforme et un urgent appel à l’action se fait sentir dans le but de redynamiser le secteur canadien de l’espace par l’entremise d’une stratégie spatiale permettant une programmation prévisible et équilibrée, tout en apportant la flexibilité nécessaire afin de s’adapter aux technologies émergentes et aux modèles d’affaires en évolution.

Des lois et règlements avant-gardistes sont nécessaires à court terme afin de tenir la cadence des nouvelles technologies, et le Canada a l’occasion de devenir un chef de file. Il est possible de proposer des changements éventuels au cadre actuel des télécommunications et de la télédétection, de même que des lois concernant les activités spatiales émergentes, telles que l’entretien en orbite et l’exploitation minière dans l’espace.

Il demeure primordial d’inspirer les générations présentes et futures et plusieurs approches peuvent être envisagées, lesquelles comprennent le renouvellement des activités d’éducation et de sensibilisation de l’Agence spatiale canadienne, la prise en compte de nouvelles approches novatrices visant à stimuler l’intérêt des jeunes et une collaboration accrue avec les groupes d’éducation et de sensibilisation. Il faudrait également envisager de jeter un pont entre le système d’éducation et le secteur canadien de l’espace à l’intention des étudiants inspirés, en mettant en place des défis et des compétitions.

La recherche et l'engagement à apprendre des autres organismes publics de sensibilisation (par exemple, Planetary Society, Actua, Let's Talk Science) peuvent être nécessaires pour déterminer le degré de connaissance du public concernant le secteur spatial et les intérêts du public et pour définir des outils de communication efficaces (p. ex. plateformes Web afin de cibler les jeunes). Les jeunes Canadiens, par exemple, sont généralement captivés par les pionniers des temps modernes (comme Elon Musk) et peuvent être moins conscients et inspirés au sujet des missions phares du Canada (p. ex. la mission de la constellation RADARSAT).

On propose l’adoption d’une approche spatiale multidisciplinaire intégrant les sciences sociales et les études juridiques. Le nombre de Canadiens en STIM est important, mais peu d’étudiants se tournent vers les études spatiales. Le Canada pourrait envisager la création d’un institut de la politique spatiale en collaboration avec les intervenants, à l’instar d’autres pays (p. ex. l’Université George Washington aux É.-U. et l’Institut européen de la politique spatiale).

Principaux éléments et défis concernant la mise en œuvre

Environnement en évolution : Le secteur canadien de l’espace est à la croisée des chemins, et il est préférable qu’il traverse cette épreuve dès maintenant. La stratégie spatiale devra faire preuve d’adaptabilité afin de tenir compte de la cadence du développement technologique, de l’évolution des modèles d’affaires et des nouveaux écosystèmes. En raison du passage aux satellites à haut débit et des constellations hybrides LEO-GEO, le secteur traditionnel de la fabrication de satellites où le Canada a une force considérable a des difficultés car les opérateurs retardent leurs commandes satellitaires sur le marché GEO pour s'adapter à la flexibilité requise par le marché en mutation (p. Ex. Un seul satellite commercial GEO commandé cette année par rapport à la moyenne typique de 20 à 25 satellites par an). En l'absence de nouveaux programmes gouvernementaux, cela crée une crise à court terme dans le marché de la fabrication de systèmes satellitaires, exacerbé par des pays concurrents de l'espace qui investissent dans le développement de nouveaux produits pour se ré-outiller dans le contexte du marché en évolution.

Continuité et harmonisation des programmes : Il faut assurer le maintien à long terme des activités de programme. Le Canada pourrait envisager de se lancer dans une suite de missions exécutées à intervalles réguliers : dix missions de nanosatellites par an, une mission de petits satellites tous les deux ans et une grande mission internationale tous les cinq ans. L’harmonisation des programmes et la coordination du financement (CRSNG, Mitacs, PARI-CNRC) doivent assurer la continuité de la formation, indispensable à la recherche appliquée, ainsi que des démonstrations et, enfin, permettre d’amener de nouveaux produits et services innovants sur le marché.

Cadres juridiques et leadership mondial : Les lois et règlements nationaux doivent être envisagés de manière à faciliter la création de certitudes et d’une stabilité au sein de l’environnement commercial, et non pas la compliquer. Le Canada doit poursuivre sa collaboration avec ses partenaires internationaux et les pays partageant ses objectifs par l’entremise de forums multilatéraux, comme le Comité des Nations Unies pour l’utilisation pacifique de l’espace extra-atmosphérique (UN COPUOS), afin de faire valoir ses intérêts nationaux et le Canada doit être le chef de file international en matière de développement de règles et de normes pour s’assurer que ses intérêts sont pris en compte (p. ex. débris spatiaux, arsenalisation de l’espace, exploitation minière dans l’espace).

Planification des investissements : Les investissements doivent cibler le soutien de la prochaine génération de technologies (p. ex. technologie satellite de bande V, technologie d’exploitation minière des astéroïdes, entretien en orbite). Le Canada doit prendre des décisions concernant les principales forces et capacités dans lesquelles il doit investir. La mission de la Station spatiale internationale tire à sa fin, et de nouvelles occasions d’exploration planétaire se présenteront. Le Canada sera invité à participer aux efforts de collaboration, et le gouvernement du Canada doit être prêt afin de réagir rapidement et de ne pas manquer d’occasions.

Accroissement du financement : Le Canada exerce une influence démesurée dans l’espace, mais il pourrait bien perdre du terrain à long terme. Le financement général du Canada dans le secteur spatial doit être examiné et revu à la hausse de manière à ce que l’industrie canadienne de l’espace puisse demeurer concurrentielle par rapport aux autres pays investissant massivement dans ce secteur.

Approvisionnement en matière de défense : Étant donné que les forces militaires figurent souvent parmi les entités consacrant le plus de fonds aux technologies spatiales, il serait possible de tirer parti de l’approvisionnement en matière de défense spatiale pour redynamiser le secteur spatial et soutenir l’achat de biens et services canadiens. On laisse entendre que les contrats d’acquisition devraient toujours être ouverts et concurrentiels, mais garantir qu’une partie du travail se déroule au Canada.Les processus d’approvisionnement sont lents et les programmes en planification depuis des années doivent être lancés afin de soutenir la croissance du secteur spatial.

Sciences spatiales : Les missions scientifiques dans l’espace produisent d’importantes retombées nous permettant d’approfondir notre compréhension de la Terre, notamment de notre impact sur l’environnement. Il est nécessaire de maintenir le financement des sciences et des équipes scientifiques une fois que les instruments ont été mis au point et envoyés dans l’espace. Malgré les désaccords, on laisse entendre que le Canada devrait envoyer des charges utiles sur des satellites internationaux au lieu d’envoyer ses propres satellites scientifiques. Les deux derniers programmes scientifiques étaient des microsatellites uniques (MOST et SCISAT) qui étaient des sources de fierté canadienne. Il n'y a pas eu de nouvelle mission scientifique lancée au Canada depuis 2003 et on interprète le tout comme un manque de soutien envers la communauté scientifique.

Démarrage et mise à l'échelle : Le gouvernement peut soutenir les entreprises en phase de démarrage en leur offrant des occasions et de l’expérience de vol, en faisant office de premier client ou de client principal, en développant les écosystèmes par l’entremise de programmes (p. ex. Catapult au Royaume-Uni) et de réformes réglementaires (p. ex. Luxembourg). Afin de tenir la cadence des avancées technologiques, il est de plus en plus important de faire la démonstration de technologies dans l’espace et de parvenir rapidement à un niveau de maturité technologique de 9. Le soutien du développement des superconstellations représente une occasion pour les PME canadiennes, mais la recherche d’une plateforme permettant de tester de nouvelles technologies demeure un défi.

Principales idées et conclusions

Programme spatial équilibré : Une stratégie à long terme est nécessaire afin d’effectuer la transition depuis une approche basée sur les programmes. Une telle stratégie doit comprendre un ensemble de programmes phares (p. ex. la Station spatiale internationale et la mission Constellation RADARSAT) bien en vue, de même que des programmes adaptés de moindre envergure afin de stimuler les entreprises et de permettre aux universités de développer des compétences et des talents.

Accent mis sur l’action : Le soutien du gouvernement pourrait être nécessaire afin de redynamiser le secteur spatial et de conserver l’expertise au Canada; un tel soutien permettrait de développer des technologies clés et de faciliter la préparation à la prochaine génération de technologies perturbatrices (p. ex. mégaconstellations).

Modernisation des lois et règlements : Il faudra peut-être revoir et mettre à jour les règlements existants en matière de télécommunications et de télédétection ainsi que mettre en place rapidement de nouveaux mécanismes de réglementation afin de protéger les intérêts du Canada. Des lois et règlements modernisés et souples sont nécessaires pour encadrer les activités commerciales dans l’espace, de même que les technologies et possibilités émergentes (p. ex. stations spatiales privées, entretien en orbite, exploitation minière dans l’espace, transport privé dans l’espace, tourisme spatial). L'idée d'un institut de politique spatiale a été proposée comme un point focal au sein du gouvernement pour faire face à la tâche d'assurer un cadre réglementaire dynamique.

Partenariats : Il est primordial de tirer parti des ressources financières et des écosystèmes en place par l’entremise d’accords avec des partenaires internationaux et des organisations existantes, y compris des réseaux provinciaux, mais également de chercher des occasions d’établir des accords de partage des coûts ou des programmes conjoints.

Renouvellement des efforts de sensibilisation : Il est nécessaire de disposer de programmes d’éducation et de sensibilisation solides afin d’inspirer la prochaine génération; le programme en la matière de l’Agence spatiale canadienne devrait être rétabli et comprendre une participation active des intervenants en éducation et en sensibilisation du public (sociétés spatiales, musées et bibliothèques canadiens). Le Canada pourrait envisager l’utilisation d’une partie des fonds contracuel aux organismes publics de sensibilisation; et, le gouvernement pourrait réévaluer l’influence que l’Agence spatiale canadienne serait en mesure d’exercer sur l’éducation et le soutien aux écoles (p. ex. par l’entremise de ressources en ligne ou de séances d’apprentissage à l’intention des professeurs).

Développement des compétences et des talents : Même si les astronautes et les activités spatiales du Canada demeurent une importante source d’inspiration, les compétitions et les événements (p. ex. le Apps Challenge de la NASA, les marathons de programmation, competitions de fabrication de fusée et les programmes de mise au point de cubesats) peuvent également s’avérer efficaces pour inspirer la prochaine génération et favoriser le développement des talents au Canada.

Mégadonnées et accessibilité : On s’attend à ce que l’avènement de satellites pour les superconstellations produise un flot de données : il est possible que la création de nouveaux partenariats soit nécessaire afin de soutenir la connaissance mondiale, de même que pour répondre aux défis mondiaux (changements climatiques, surveillance environnementale). Il sera primordial de détenir une expertise en informatique et d’élaborer une stratégie permettant d’intégrer les données captées depuis l’espace à d’autres sources de données afin d’en augmenter l’utilité et l’accessibilité pour le public par l’entremise de politiques en matière de données ouvertes. L'idée d'une «initiative New Space» a été proposée, dans laquelle le gouvernement peut favoriser les démarrages et agir en tant que client d'ancrage pour des données qui répondent aux besoins du Canada et qui sont ensuite exploités pour les exportations.

Participants

  • Alain Aubertin – Consortium de recherche et d'innovation en aérospatiale au Québec
  • Martin Aubé – Ministère de l'Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation Québec
  • Richard Boudreault – Sigma Energy Storage Inc.
  • Nathan De Ruiter – Euroconsult
  • Natalia Larrea Brito – Euroconsult
  • Carl Demchuck – RockÉTS
  • Karl Doetsch
  • Chantelle Dubois – Space Generation Advisory Council
  • Marie-Eve Ducharme – Nüvü Caméras Inc.
  • Eric Edwards – Xiphos Technologies
  • Jacques Giroux – ABB Bomen Inc.
  • Kate Howells – The Planetary Society
  • Ram S. Jakhu – Université McGill, Centre for Research of Air and Space Law
  • Virendra Jha – VRSpace Consultants Inc.
  • David Kendall – Comité des Nations Unies pour l’utilisation pacifique de l’espace extra-atmosphérique
  • Alexandra Kindrat – Aerospace Program for the Lester B Pearson School Board
  • John Landovskis – Advantech Wireless Inc.
  • Julie Mandar – ABB Bomen Inc.
  • Joanna Boshouwers – MDA
  • Marina Mississian – COM DEV Canada, Honeywell Aerospace
  • Ewan Reid – Mission Control Space Services Inc.
  • Warren Soh – Magellan Aerospace
  • Mathieu Trudelle – Canada Economic Development for Québec Regions
  • Gregg A. Wade – Collège militaire royal du Canada, Département de physique
  • Jane Diane Bachynski – MPB Communications Inc.
Date de modification :