Space Advisory Board Roundtable on Canada’s Future in Space

May 10, 2017, Calgary, Alberta

Hosted by: Christine Tovee, Douglas Hamilton and Stéphane Germain

Areas of Focus

  1. Grow Canada's Space Sector;
  2. Innovate and Explore Space;
  3. Strengthen Long-Term International Partnerships;
  4. Inspire the Next Generation;
  5. Contribute to our Understanding of the Earth;
  6. Improve Quality of Life for Canadians; and,
  7. Ensure a Safe and Secure Nation.

Highlights

Building on the findings from the science review panel, principal investigator-led science (or discovery science) was highlighted as particularly important for driving innovation and spin-offs. It was suggested that Canada does not have a seamless chain of research (from investigator-led science to priority driven commercial research). To ensure a return on investment, a renewed commitment to science is necessary and a balanced approach to funding science and technology. 

For innovation and discovery, it is challenging to anticipate where the next disruptive and spinoff technologies will come from. It is important to provide stakeholders with a level playing field to pursue interests and to make a commensurate amount of funding available to support an ecosystem that encourages trial and failure.

The space strategy provides an opportunity to recognize the strategic importance of space. The processes and procedures for investments and decision-making are important, but also providing that there is a Government champion for the space sector. 

International partnerships are a key component of the Canadian space program important for long term sustainability. Awareness of international opportunities (e.g., through Canada's contributions to the European Space Agency and NASA) is critical and additional outreach may be necessary.  The space democratization movement and increased accessibility represents a unique opportunity for Canada to work with other spacefaring nations (e.g., China). 

For the structure of the proposed space strategy, science was identified as a critical component and that could figure more prominently in the current goals and objectives. It was suggested that innovation and exploration are fundamentally distinct – with different outcomes – and that these two concepts may be separated; it was suggested that innovation supports the second objective of the strategy – to leverage space for the benefit of Canadians (as opposed to use space to drive growth).

Key Implementation Considerations/Challenges

Support for space science: Science objectives are sometimes overlooked and the need to return to science was noted as part of CSA's mandate to ‘advance knowledge of space through science'. Through the Strategy, there is an opportunity to restore the importance of science and to build science capacity in Canada (e.g., increased research funding, hiring scientists at the Agency, using space science and exploration to inspire the public).  The definition of what entails 'space science' has limited some activities that include ground-based investigation of space; the government may wish to consider applying a broader set of activities for space science. There also needs to be better mechanisms to transfer scientific discoveries from academia to SMEs/industry as discoveries emerge.

Flagship missions:  In consideration of Canada's relative size compared to other larger economies (e.g., United States/NASA), some stakeholders expressed resistance to flagship missions or large investments that may spread resources thin. Canada may need to prioritize in a few areas, and/or see large investments in a small amount of missions.

Accepting failure: As part of innovation, failure must be recognized as necessary particularly in the development of disruptive technologies. Canada does not have a healthy supply of space missions, thus creating challenges for academia and industry to ‘fail' and to encourage innovation.

Canadian brand: There is a perception problem around Canadian firms and Canadians being excellent in their home market and a global leader – they are currently not perceived that way. There is a perceived notion that “Made in Canada” instruments are not as good as the ones made by U.S. competitors. Canada needs to provide avenues to demonstrate Canadian expertise and success, and Canadian made equipment.

Emerging areas and regulatory impediments: Space adventure, space tourism, space mining, and debris removal were highlighted as areas that Canada may wish to consider. Canada needs to update regulatory frameworks for ventures like space mining and ensure that these frameworks are accessible across sectors; Canada has a great deal of expertise in the natural resource and mining sector that should be leveraged.

Scale-up: There are difficulties in Canada scaling up companies and sustaining growth, to become bigger firms; Canada needs programs that nurture small companies on an ongoing basis.  The Government of Canada could look at ways to encourage large Canadian companies to help SMEs with business plans to ascertain viability.

Support for Space Innovation: The budget for Canada's space program is small; and, funding is spread thinly across the various activities and priorities. Current mechanisms to fund technology development through STDP and IRAP, for example, have been quite successful. The Building in Canada Innovation Program was recognized as a good model for industry-government collaboration for technology development; it was suggested the CSA be part of this program.  Accelerators would help to fill a gap between grants and venture capital.  There is also an opportunity with defence procurement through application of the Industrial and Technological Benefits (ITB) policy, for space-related research and stronger engagement of space SMEs.

Tax credits: Direct tax breaks for science and technology would help to keep research going. The Government may wish to consider changes to the Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) program to cover materials and equipment as previously provided.

Talent and Skills: Students want to work on projects that have real-world applications or provide them with employment. Programs to fly satellites are an effective way to help attract graduate students. Interest by the Canadian Space Agency in nanosats was encouraged as an excellent way to move forward with inspiring the next generation, especially within a resource constrained context.  Youth need opportunities to pursue careers in space science; if no opportunities, students will pursue studies and careers in other fields.

Data: Canada should reconsider how it manages and uses data (e.g., imagery and remote sensing) and engage with SMEs to support growth in downstream activities.  Canada should consider becoming a member of agencies like EUMETSAT (supplies weather and climate-related data) as this would enable industry involvement and access to data.  Other sectors and industries are interested in using space technologies and products (e.g., remote sensing data) for monitoring and business development, for example, oil sands monitoring and emissions.

Selection criteria for investigators: there may be a desire for wider criteria for investigators to be selected for space science funding beyond the usual academic track.

Top Ideas / Outcomes

Investigator-led science: Investigator-led discovery and priority-driven research are both important. In practice, greater recognition of the importance of investigator-driven research for driving innovation and a renewed commitment to science is suggested.

Balance: To be successful in the long-term, there needs to be infrastructure for talent pools and ongoing sustainable level of funding for both technology and science activities. A great deal of focus is placed on developing space technology to grow the sector; however, the sector also needs to pay attention to developing the space sciences as these two streams enable each other.

Priorities and planning: Canada needs a “Space Champion” within government. Currently, no Minister has space as a mandate priority and consideration should be given to including it in the mandate letters of Ministers. There is demand for stable predictable funding as well as a transparent process for project/program selection; this would enable the space sector to plan and better respond to opportunities for collaboration.Similar to NASA, a pyramid approach where the best projects are at the top for funding consideration should be considered; an inventory of projects may be a tool to help facilitate investment decisions. It is important to bring the research community and industry together at the start of a mission concept. 

Outreach and inspiration: Government and the sector need to do a better job at promoting Canada's innovations beyond ISS and astronauts, and increase efforts to showcase other interesting and successful Canadian space activities and initiatives.  Similar to other space agencies, a 1% ‘tax' on every mission to fund outreach initiatives should be considered. Canada could also look to NASA's Zero-G initiative (public votes for physical tasks for space station crew members to perform to demonstrate the effects of microgravity) as a model to make space fun for the public. 

Awareness of opportunities: Canadian academia and industry are not well informed on the projects and research that the European Space Agency and other international partners call for. Government has a role in accessing and sharing information in this regard.

Readiness to partner: There is a fear that international partners may stop asking for Canada to collaborate on missions because Canada is not agile enough to respond to opportunities.  More flexible funding mechanisms and program infrastructure are required. As well, partnerships should go beyond ESA and NASA, to seek out emerging opportunities/partners (e.g., China was cited as a big opportunity).

Flight heritage, cadence and access to space: Better identifying priorities/plans and providing flight opportunities will help increase the sector's ability to innovate and explore.  Irregularity in mission cadence present difficulties in maintaining technical and academic expertise. It was suggested that Canada also needs its own access to space (i.e., launch capacity).

Space security and the environment:  Environmental security/climate change needs to figure into the Strategy as space-based technology and space-enabled data are key tools to address. Space debris and space weather should be recognized as a global threat and area for action; it was noted that Canada should look to the U.S. and their development of a space weather action plan. Canada could also play a role in mapping and the de-orbiting of debris.

Participants

  • Andrew Yau - University of Calgary, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Christopher Cully - University of Calgary, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Chris Goodall - InvenSense Canada
  • David Knudsen - University of Calgary, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • David Naylor - University of Lethbridge, Department of Physics
  • Denis Sirois - SED, a Division of Calian Ltd.
  • Eric Donovan - University of Calgary, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Fadhel Ghannouchi, University of Calgary, Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
  • Greg Enno - University of Calgary, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Hani Henein - University of Alberta, Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering
  • Ian Mann - University of Alberta, Department of Physics
  • Jimmy Hazin - Canadian Space Society
  • Jonathan Neufeld - TECTERRA
  • Kimberley Van Vliet - WāVv
  • Leonid Belostotski - Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Calgary
  • Michael Sideris  - University of Calgary, Department of Geomatics Engineering
  • Nathan Armstrong - Freespace Composites
  • Nick Veriotes - Canadian Natural Resources Limited
  • Stephen Achal - ITRES Res
Date modified:

Table ronde du Comité consultatif de l'espace sur l’avenir du Canada dans l'espace

10 mai 2017, Calgary, Alberta

Animée par : Christine Tovee, Douglas Hamilton et Stéphane Germain

Domaines d'intérêt

  1. Développer le secteur aérospatial du Canada;
  2. Innover et explorer l'espace;
  3. Renforcer les partenariats internationaux à long terme;
  4. Inspirer la prochaine génération;
  5. Contribuer à notre compréhension de la Terre;
  6. Améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens;
  7. Préserver une nation sûre et sécurisée.

Points saillants

Les conclusions du comité d'examen scientifique soulignent l'importance de la recherche scientifique axée sur la découverte comme élément majeur servant à stimuler l'innovation et les applications dérivées. Le Canada ne possède pas une chaîne de recherche transparente (de la recherche scientifique axée sur la découverte à la recherche scientifique à des fins commerciales). Pour s'assurer d'un retour sur notre investissement, un engagement renouvelé envers la science est nécessaire ainsi qu'une stratégie équilibrée de financement du secteur scientifique et technologique. 

En ce qui concerne l'innovation et les découvertes, il est difficile de prédire d'où proviendra la prochaine technologie perturbatrice ou dérivée. Il est important d'offrir une chance équitable aux parties intéressées pour qu'elles puissent explorer leurs champs d'intérêt. Il faut aussi offrir un financement correspondant aux besoins de manière à créer un environnement qui encourage les essais et erreurs.
La stratégie spatiale nous offre l'opportunité de reconnaître l'importance stratégique de l'espace. Les processus et procédures concernant l'investissement et les prises de décisions sont importants pourvu qu'il y ait, au sein du gouvernement, un champion pour le secteur spatial. 

Les partenariats internationaux sont un élément clé de la durabilité à long terme du Programme spatial canadien. La sensibilisation aux opportunités internationales telles que les contributions du Canada à l'Agence spatiale européenne et la NASA est d'une importance cruciale et des approches additionnelles pourraient être nécessaires. La démocratisation de l'espace et une plus grande accessibilité offre une opportunité unique au Canada de collaborer avec d'autres puissances spatiales (p. ex. la Chine). 

La science a été ciblée, dans la structure de la stratégie spatiale proposée, comme un élément clé qui devrait occuper plus de place dans les objectifs actuels. On a noté que l'exploration et l'innovation sont foncièrement distinctes avec des résultats différents et que nous devrions séparer les deux volets. Il a été également mentionné que l'innovation soutient le deuxième objectif de la stratégie spatiale : d'exploiter l'espace au bénéfice des Canadiens et non d'utiliser l'espace pour aider la croissance.

Principales considérations et principaux défis :

Soutien à la science spatiale : Les objectifs scientifiques sont parfois négligés et le besoin de focaliser de nouveau sur la science correspond avec le mandat de l'Agence spatiale canadienne qui est de « faire progresser la connaissance de l'espace au moyen de la science ». La stratégie proposée offre l'occasion de redonner l'importance qui revient à la science et d'accroître la capacité scientifique au Canada (p. ex. accroître les fonds pour la recherche, embaucher des scientifiques à l'Agence, utiliser la science spatiale et l'exploration pour inspirer le grand public). La définition de ce qui implique «la science spatiale» a limité certaines activités qui incluent l'étude de l'espace à partir de la Terre; Le gouvernement souhaitera peut-être envisager d'appliquer un ensemble plus large d'activités pour la science spatiale. Il faut aussi de meilleurs mécanismes pour transférer les nouvelles découvertes scientifiques provenant du milieu universitaire vers les PME et l'industrie.

Missions phares: compte tenu de la taille relative du Canada par rapport à d'autres grandes économies (par exemple États-Unis / NASA), certaines parties prenantes ont manifesté leur résistance à des missions phares ou à de gros investissements susceptibles de saupoudrer les ressources. Le Canada peut avoir besoin de prioriser dans quelques domaines, et / ou voir de gros investissements dans une petite quantité de missions.

Accepter l'échec : L'échec est nécessaire pour l'innovation et ce fait doit être reconnu, particulièrement dans le domaine du développement des technologies perturbatrices. Le Canada n'a pas pris part à plusieurs missions spatiales ce qui n'offre pas beaucoup d'opportunités au milieu universitaire et à l'industrie d'apprendre de leurs échecs.

La marque canadienne : Il y a un problème de perception au sujet des entreprises canadiennes et des Canadiens étant excellents dans leur marché domestique et des leaders mondiaux - ils ne sont actuellement pas perçus de cette façon. Il y a une perception que les instruments « faits au Canada » sont de moindre qualité comparativement à ceux que les Américains produisent. Le Canada se doit de trouver des manières de démontrer l'expertise canadienne et la réussite de notre équipement canadien.

Domaines émergentset obstacles réglementaires : L'aventure spatiale, le tourisme spatial, l'exploitation minière spatiale et l'enlèvement de débris sont des domaines que le Canada devrait considérer. Le Canada se doit de mettre à jour les structures de réglementation pour des initiatives comme l'exploitation minière spatiale et s'assurer que ces structures de réglementation sont accessibles à tous les secteurs. Le Canada compte une vaste expertise dans le domaine des ressources naturelles et de l'exploitation minière, une expertise qui devrait être mise à profit.

Croissance d'entreprises : Il y a des difficultés au Canada à développer les entreprises et soutenir la croissance. Le Canada doit se doter de programmes qui prennent soin de ces petites entreprises de façon continue. Le gouvernement du Canada pourrait offrir des mesures incitatives aux plus grandes entreprises pour qu'elles aident les PME avec des plans d'affaires de manière à en assurer la viabilité.

Financement de l'innovation spatiale : Le budget du programme spatial canadien n'est pas très élevé et le financement est réparti sur plusieurs activités et priorités. Les mécanismes déjà en place pour financer le développement de technologies (p. ex. le Programme de développement des technologies spatiales et le Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle) connaissent du succès. Le Programme d'innovation Construire au Canada est considéré comme étant un excellent modèle de partenariat entre l'industrie et le gouvernement dans le développent de technologies, et il a été suggéré que l'Agence spatiale canadienne soit intégrée dans ce programme. Des accélérateurs financiers aideraient à pallier l'écart entre les prêts et le capital de risque. Il y a également une occasion d'approvisionnement en défense avec la Politique des retombées industrielles et technologiques (RIT) pour la recherche spatiale et les PME.

Crédit d'impôt : Des allègements fiscaux pour la science et la technologie aideraient à soutenir la continuation de la recherche. Le gouvernement devrait songer à modifier le Programme de la recherche scientifique et du développement expérimental (RS&DE) de manière à ce que l'équipement et les instruments soient couverts comme c'était le cas auparavant.

Talents et habiletés : Les étudiants désirent travailler sur des projets qui ont des applications concrètes ou offrant un travail. Les programmes de vol de satellites semblent attirer les étudiants de cycle supérieur. L'intérêt que porte l'Agence spatiale canadienne dans les microsatellites devrait être encouragé puisqu'il s'agit d'un sujet qui intéressera et inspirera la prochaine génération, surtout dans un contexte où les ressources seront limitées. Les jeunes ont besoin de perspectives d'avenir pour entreprendre des carrières dans la science spatiale, sinon les jeunes s'orienteront vers d'autres domaines.

Données : Le Canada devrait revoir comment il gère et utilise les données (p. ex. l'imagerie et la télédétection) et s'impliquer avec les PME pour soutenir la croissance dans les activités en aval. Le Canada devrait considérer devenir un membre d'une agence telle qu'EUMETSAT qui fournit des données météorologiques et climatiques, cela donnerait un accès aux données à l'industrie et favoriserait sa participation. Plusieurs secteurs et industries veulent utiliser les technologies spatiales et leurs dérivés (p. ex. les données de télédétection) pour la surveillance et le développement d'entreprises. La surveillance des sables bitumineux et des émissions en est un exemple concret.

Critères de sélection pour les enquêteurs : il peut y avoir un désir de choisir un critère plus large pour que les chercheurs soient sélectionnés pour le financement des sciences spatiales au-delà de la piste académique habituelle.

Principales idées et réalisations :

Science axée sur la découverte : La recherche axée sur la découverte et la recherche axée sur les priorités sont de la même importance. Il est suggéré d'offrir plus de reconnaissance à l'importance de la recherche axée sur la découverte dans le rôle qu'elle occupe à stimuler l'innovation. Un engagement renouvelé envers la science est aussi suggéré.

Équilibre : Pour connaître du succès sur le long terme, une infrastructure doit être mise en place pour les bassins de talents et un financement durable prévu pour les activités reliées à la science et aux technologies. Beaucoup d'importance est accordée au besoin de développer la technologie spatiale pour faire croître le secteur, mais il faut également développer les sciences spatiales puisque ces deux domaines s'aident mutuellement.

Priorités et planification : Le Canada a besoin d'un défenseur du secteur spatial au sein du gouvernement. Présentement, aucun ministre n'a l'espace en tant que priorité dans son mandat et il faudrait considérer inclure cette priorité dans les lettres de mandat aux ministres. Il existe une demande pour un financement stable prévisible ainsi que pour un processus transparent pour la sélection des projets et programmes; Cela permettrait au secteur spatial de planifier et de mieux répondre aux opportunités de collaboration. Comme le fait la NASA, une méthode pyramidale pourrait être utilisée dans laquelle les meilleurs projets sont ceux qui ont le plus de chances de recevoir du financement. Un inventaire des projets serait un outil qui faciliterait les décisions d'investissement. Il est important d'unir les forces du milieu de la recherche et de l'industrie au début de la conception d'une mission. 

Rayonnement et inspiration : Le gouvernement et le secteur spatial doivent mieux promouvoir les innovations du Canada autres que la Station spatiale internationale et ses astronautes. Il doit également faire plus d'efforts afin de démontrer les autres activités et initiatives intéressantes et concluantes du Canada dans l'espace. Comme le font d'autres agences spatiales, une taxe de 1 % sur chaque mission pourrait financer des initiatives de rayonnement. Le Canada pourrait aussi s'inspirer de l'initiative de la NASA Zero-G (le public vote pour que les membres de la station spatiale performent des activités physiques de manière à démontrer les effets de la microgravité) qui représente un modèle de financement amusant pour le public. 

Prendre conscience des possibilités : Le milieu universitaire canadien et l'industrie ne sont pas bien informés des besoins en matière de projets et de recherche de l'Agence spatiale européenne et des autres partenaires internationaux. Le gouvernement doit jouer un rôle dans l'accès et la diffusion de cette information.

Préparation au partenariat : Il y a une crainte que les partenaires internationaux cessent de demander la collaboration du Canada pour des missions puisque le Canada ne semble pas assez flexible pour réagir aux occasions. Des mécanismes de financement et des programmes d'infrastructure plus flexibles sont nécessaires. Nos partenariats devraient aussi s'effectuer avec de nouveaux partenaires autres que l'Agence spatiale européenne et la NASA; la Chine a été mentionnée comme une opportunité de partenariat.

Historique de vols, rythme et accès à l'espace : Cibler les priorités et les projets ainsi qu'offrir plus d'occasions de vol améliorera la capacité du secteur spatial à innover et explorer. L'irrégularité des missions spatiales rend difficile le maintien de notre expertise technique et universitaire. De plus, le Canada a besoin de son propre accès à l'espace, par exemple en se dotant d'une capacité de lancement.

Sécurité de l'espace et de l'environnement : La sécurité environnementale et les changements climatiques doivent s'inscrire dans la stratégie spatiale puisque les technologies et données spatiales sont des outils clés que nous devons aborder. Les débris spatiaux et la météorologie spatiale doivent être considérés comme une menace mondiale et nous devons agir dans ces secteurs. Il a été noté que nous devrions nous inspirer du plan d'action sur la météorologie spatiale que les Américains élaborent en ce moment. Le Canada devrait aussi jouer un rôle dans la cartographie et la désorbitation des débris.

Les participants

  • Andrew Yau, Département de physique et d'astronomie de l'Université de Calgary
  • Christopher Cully, Département de physique et d'astronomie de l'Université de Calgary
  • Chris Goodall, InvenSense Canada
  • David Knudsen, Département de physique et d'astronomie de l'Université de Calgary
  • David Naylor, Département de physique de l'Université de Lethbridge
  • Denis Sirois, SED une division de Calian Ltd.
  • Eric Donovan, Département de physique et d'astronomie de l'Université de Calgary
  • Fadhel Ghannouchi, Département de l'électrotechnique et de l'informatique de l' Université de Calgary
  • Greg Enno, Département de physique et d'astronomie de l'Université de Calgary
  • Hani Henein, Département de génie chimique et des matériaux de l'Université de l'Alberta
  • Ian Mann, Département de physique de l'Université de l'Alberta
  • Jimmy Hazin, Canadian Space Society
  • Jonathan Neufeld – TECTERRA
  • Kimberley Van Vliet, WāVv
  • Leo Belostotski, Université de Calgary
  • Michael Sideris, Département de génie géomatique de l'Université de Calgary
  • Nathan Armstrong, Freespace Composites
  • Nick Veriotes, Canadian Natural Resources Limited
  • Stephen Achal, ITRES Research Ltd.
Date de modification :