Space Advisory Board (SAB) roundtable on Canada’s future in space

May 12, 2017 – Vancouver

SAB Hosts: Mac Evans, Michelle Mendes, and Afzal Suleman

Areas of Focus

  1. Grow Canada's Space Sector;
  2. Innovate and Explore Space;
  3. Strengthen Long-Term International Partnerships;
  4. Inspire the Next Generation;
  5. Contribute to our Understanding of the Earth;
  6. Improve Quality of Life for Canadians; and,
  7. Ensure a Safe and Secure Nation.

Highlights

To support space firms and start-ups and attract investments in Canada, Canada needs to provide a more favorable business environment including modernizing regulatory frameworks for space-related activities.  The independent five-year review recently tabled in Parliament notes that the Remote Sensing Space Systems Act is outdated, and some stakeholders consider it an impediment to innovation and growth in Canada.

As part of the objective to grow Canada's space sector, there is an opportunity to enhance support for the space sciences. Space science in Canada has been in decline, impacting both academia and industry from a technology development perspective. There is an opportunity to leverage space science and technologies to create jobs, and to attract and maintain world-class scientists and engineers in Canada. The Canadian space program needs to be agile and nimble to respond to international opportunities. 

The Canadian space program requires a whole-of-government effort, including the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) and other key departments and agencies with roles and responsibilities for space. Better interdepartmental cooperation would enable effective collaboration and pooling of resources, as would increased collaboration with provincial and territorial partners to support innovation and economic development opportunities. 

To inspire, the space sector and government collectively need to improve promotion of Canadian achievements in space beyond the astronaut program and the International Space Station. The CSA should also have a stronger role in education and public outreach. Giving students opportunities to participate in competitions and challenges is important. The Canadian Satellite Design Challenge (CSDC) was highlighted as an initiative that provides students across Canada from different post-secondary institutions a challenge and opportunity to design and build a cubesat. With the guidance and support of industry, academia, and the CSA, competitions like the CSDC are a great way to get students involved in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). Student competitions should be pursued to inspire the next generation.

Key Implementation Considerations/Challenges

Working together effectively: Collaboration and coordination across federal funding agencies (e.g., the CSA and the Granting Councils, such as Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council) and across industry and academia is necessary to grow the space sector. Growing the sector is not just about industrial activity. Academia and industry need to collaborate effectively—strategies by the government to integrate academia and industrial research communities should be considered.

Federal-Provincial relationships: Canada can increase collaboration with provincial and territorial ministries on space, and engage on how space-related activities can help to drive innovation and growth (e.g., fostering investment opportunities, exports and international trade). Additionally, consideration should be given to more local representation from the Canadian Space Agency which can leverage organizations and associations to undertake engagement and outreach activities.

Partnerships with industry: The federal government should pursue partnership opportunities with international industry players, to grow local SMEs, local knowledge and capability. MITACS and Consortium for Aerospace Research and Innovation in Canada (CARIC) were cited as  great programmes that bring multinational companies to invest R&D projects that are tied to local SMEs/universities.

Program design: Stakeholders caution against innovation programming that would create competition between industry and government (like the UK Catapult initiative). It was suggested that stacking levels for space-related programs could be increased. 

Tax credits: The federal government should consider offering additional tax credits to industry to support commercial activities and investment in Canada.

Investing in the downstream sector: The Government may wish to transition toward more of a downstream service supplier service model by becoming an anchor client. It was suggested that there are well-supported upstream programs (such as the Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI)), and that similar downstream programming should be considered.  Canada's RADARSAT Program and related data policies have helped to create a value-added supplier base in Canada. RADARSAT Constellation Mission (RCM) data policy is significant for the entire industry, and there are concerns that it will not benefit industry if it does not allow industry to task the satellites.

Emerging spacefaring nations: Canada can look to partner with other countries in emerging areas, such as Luxembourg on space mining investment opportunities. It was noted that Canada is a leader in natural resources and mining, and that this expertise should be leveraged for space mining and exploration. Canada should also consider fostering more partnerships with countries in Asia. There may be an opportunity to leverage federal and provincial Trade Commissioners to increase opportunities for international partnerships. To raise the profile for space, the CSA may wish to consider allocating human resources to work within/with the Trade Commissioners.

Trade agreements: Government should ensure a level playing fields with international trade agreements that have been negotiated (e.g., Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA)), including equal access to markets. There may also be a need to ensure that Canadian industry is aware of relevant trade provisions and new opportunities.  

Cross-sectoral linkages: There may be a role for the federal government to foster discussions between the space sector and other industries where space technologies and services could be used.

Inclusiveness: Canada needs to ensure an inclusive approach to space that is accessible and that considers the roles of teachers, students, legal experts – STEM is not limited to science and technology. Early and sustained STEM outreach engagement is necessary (inspiring children to pursue studies in STEM begins with sparking interest at a young age and it ends with a job in their respective field).

Top Ideas / Outcomes

Regulatory Reforms: Canada's regulatory frameworks should be modernized, and specific changes to Canada's remote sensing licensing regulations were identified as a low-cost, priority area for action. What is required is political will. Similar to the US where similar licensing responsibilities fall under the Department of Commerce, consideration could be given to making Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada responsible for overall coordination of space-related legislation and licensing frameworks as this would allow for a better  balance between national security and commercial interests. (Global Affairs Canada currently administers the Act).  

Balanced space program: Government should look at having a balanced program (i.e., a suite of small and large programs). Flagship missions enable international collaboration and opportunities for Canada to make significant contributions and it fuels activity within the space sector so ensuring trickle down to SMEs is key. Support for a sufficient cadence of missions would ensure that Canada's space program is able to address key priorities.

Continuity and process for decision-making: There is a need for continuity in the government's space program to allow industry and academia to plan their activities and obtain financing in a more stable manner.  Stakeholders would like to better understand the process used for making investment and funding decisions on space missions, and how to unlock funding for specific initiatives. There is a desire for Canada's space program to have a nimble and agile funding structure that will enable the space community to pursue mission opportunities as they arise.   

Coordination and alignment: The space sector needs a Strategy that will affect real change, and that provides an opportunity for stakeholders across the sector to be involved in its implementation. Federal funding and support for space science and innovation needs to be coordinated.  A space Strategy can support a whole-of-government approach to create clusters of different government departments working together and pooling resources. 

Hands-on learning: Competitions and challenges, like the CSDC or Space Apps Challenge, are an effective way to develop skills, provide mentorship opportunities, and to integrate space with other sectors (e.g., advanced computing and computer sciences). By way of results and outcomes, experiential learning opportunities help students to build their resumes; and, it was suggested that students engaged in SmallSat programs are successful in starting their own companies, or obtaining employment in established firms.

Outreach and engagement: It was suggested that the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) should have a strengthened role in education and public outreach, and that efforts should be enhanced to get kids more interested in space. In consideration of proposed objective to ‘inspire the next generation', it was highlighted that the CSA does not have an outreach program and that this presents a challenge. The Government needs to focus its efforts to build a strong Canadian brand . The space sector also needs to do a better job of showcasing Canada's achievements in space.

Bold vision: Canada needs a bold vision (like NASA's Journey to Mars) to get people interested in space. If you ask kids what their vision for the space sector is, they will not say that it is to grow the space sector, but they might say that it is to send the first Canadian to Mars. Through the International Space Station partnership, Canada has an opportunity to invest in new technologies for the next destination (Moon or Mars). 

Participants

  • Adrian McCardle–3v Geomatics Inc.
  • Adnan Khan–Ostara Nutrient Recovery Technologies
  • Adrian Bohane–Tre Altamira
  • Bernhard Rabus–Simon Fraser University, School of Engineering Science
  • Cecile Lacombe–British Columbia Government, Ministry of Technology, Innovation & Citizens Services
  • Derek Chen–Archiact VR
  • Donald F. Osborne–MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates
  • Doug Johnstone–University of Victoria, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Elena Ismail–Archiact VR
  • Eric Hine–Archiact VR
  • George Tyc–UrtheCast
  • Ian McEachern –Orbital Research Ltd.
  • Ilaria Caiazzo–University of British Columbia, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Javed Haque–British Columbia Government, Ministry of International Trade
  • Jaymie Matthews–University of British Columbia, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Jeremy Heyl–University of British Columbia, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • John Hutchings–University of Victoria, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Larry Reeves–Canadian Satellite Design Challenge Management Society
  • Matt Killick–International Space University Alumni
  • Mike Safyan–Planet Labs
  • Norman Hannaford–MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)
  • Robert Grace–Mitacs Inc.
  • Taylor Briggs–Aerospace Industries Association of Canada
  • Warren Wall–D-Wave System Inc.
  • Ye Zhou–Dynamic Structures
Date modified:

Table ronde du Comité consultatif de l’espace (CCE) sur l’avenir du Canada dans l’espace

Le 12 mai 2017 – Vancouver

Hôtes du CCE : Mac Evans, Michelle Mendes et Afzal Suleman

Priorités

  • Développer le secteur spatial du Canada;
  • Innover et explorer l'espace;
  • Renforcer les partenariats internationaux à long terme;
  • Inspirer la prochaine génération;
  • Contribuer à notre compréhension de la Terre;
  • Améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens;
  • Préserver une nation sûre et sécurisée.

Points saillants

Pour soutenir les entreprises en démarrage ou déjà établies de l'industrie spatiale et attirer des investissements au pays, le Canada doit leur offrir un environnement plus favorable, notamment en modernisant les cadres réglementaires relatifs aux activités spatiales. Le rapport sur l'examen quinquennal indépendant récemment déposé au Parlement souligne que la Loi sur les systèmes de télédétection spatiale est désuète, et certains intervenants considèrent que c'est un obstacle à l'innovation et à la croissance au Canada.

Il est possible de renforcer le soutien aux sciences de l'espace dans le cadre de l'objectif de croissance du secteur spatial. Le secteur spatial est en déclin au Canada, ce qui a une incidence sur les milieux universitaires et l'industrie au niveau du développement technologique. Toutefois, la possibilité existe de tirer parti des sciences et des technologies pour créer des emplois, ainsi que pour attirer et conserver des scientifiques et des ingénieurs de calibre mondial au Canada. Le programme spatial canadien doit être souple et adaptable pour permettre de mettre à profit les débouchés internationaux.
Le programme spatial canadien nécessite un effort pangouvernemental, y compris par l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) et les autres ministères et organismes clés ayant un rôle à jouer et des responsabilités dans le secteur spatial. Une meilleure coopération entre les ministères devrait permettre de collaborer et de mettre en commun les ressources de manière efficace, et une collaboration accrue avec les partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux devrait permettre d'appuyer l'innovation et les possibilités de développement économique.

Plus particulièrement, le secteur spatial et le gouvernement doivent de manière collective promouvoir plus activement les réalisations du Canada dans l'espace au-delà du Programme des astronautes et de la Station spatiale internationale. L'ASC devrait également jouer un rôle plus important dans l'éducation et la sensibilisation du public. Il est important de donner aux étudiants l'occasion de participer à des concours et de relever des défis. Le Concours de conception d'un satellite pour un défi canadien (CCSDC) a été présenté comme une initiative offrant aux étudiants de l'ensemble du Canada de différents établissements postsecondaires une occasion de relever un défi en concevant et en construisant un CubeSat. Avec le soutien et les conseils de l'industrie, du milieu universitaire et de l'ASC, des concours comme le CCSDC sont un excellent moyen de faire participer les élèves aux disciplines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM). Les concours étudiants devraient se poursuivre afin d'inspirer la prochaine génération.

Principales considérations et principaux défis de mise en œuvre

Travailler ensemble efficacement : La collaboration et la coordination entre les organismes de financement fédéraux (p. ex. l'ASC et les conseils subventionnaires, comme le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada [CRSNG]) ainsi qu'entre les entreprises de l'industrie et le milieu universitaire sont nécessaires pour développer le secteur spatial. La croissance du secteur ne dépend pas seulement de l'activité industrielle. Le milieu universitaire et l'industrie doivent collaborer efficacement - le gouvernement doit examiner la possibilité d'établir des stratégies visant à intégrer les communautés du milieu universitaire et de la recherche industrielle.

Relations fédérales-provinciales : Le Canada peut accroître la collaboration avec les ministères provinciaux et territoriaux dans le secteur spatial et contribuer aux activités de ce secteur capables de stimuler l'innovation et la croissance (p. ex. en favorisant les possibilités d'investissement, d'exportation et de commerce international). En outre, il faudrait envisager de donner une représentation plus locale à l'Agence spatiale canadienne, ce qui pourrait convaincre les organisations et les associations d'entreprendre des activités de sensibilisation et d'engagement.

Partenariats avec l'industrie : Le gouvernement fédéral devrait saisir les occasions de partenariat avec les acteurs de l'industrie à l'échelle internationale, afin de favoriser la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) locales de même que des connaissances et de la capacité locales. Le réseau Mathématiques des technologies de l'information et des systèmes complexes (MITACS) et le Consortium en aérospatiale pour la recherche et l'innovation au Canada (CARIC) ont été cités comme d'excellents programmes qui incitent les sociétés multinationales à investir dans des projets de recherche et développement (RD) liés à des PME/universités locales.

Conception des programmes : Les intervenants mettent en garde contre les programmes d'innovation susceptibles de créer de la concurrence entre l'industrie et le gouvernement (comme l'initiative Catapult du Royaume-Uni). Il a été suggéré que les niveaux de cumul des programmes liés à l'espace soient augmentés.

Crédits d'impôt : Le gouvernement fédéral devrait envisager d'offrir des crédits d'impôt supplémentaires à l'industrie pour appuyer les activités commerciales et d'investissement au Canada.

Investissements dans le secteur en aval : Le gouvernement souhaitera peut-être faire la transition vers un modèle de fournisseur de services davantage en aval en devenant un client d'attache. Il a été mentionné qu'il existe des programmes en amont bien soutenus (comme l'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense [ISAD]) et que des programmes similaires en aval devraient être envisagés. Le programme canadien RADARSAT et les politiques connexes en matière de données ont permis de créer une base de fournisseurs à valeur ajoutée au Canada. La politique en matière de données de la Mission de la Constellation RADARSAT (MCR) est importante pour l'ensemble de l'industrie, et on craint qu'elle ne profite pas à l'industrie si elle ne lui permet pas d'utiliser les satellites.

Nations nouvellement actives dans le secteur spatial : Le Canada peut envisager de s'associer à d'autres pays dans des secteurs émergents, tels que les possibilités d'investissement dans l'exploitation minière dans l'espace avec le Luxembourg. On remarque que le Canada est un chef de file dans les secteurs des ressources naturelles et de l'exploitation minière, et que cette expertise devrait être mise à profit dans l'exploration et dans l'exploitation minière spatiale. Le Canada devrait également envisager de favoriser davantage les partenariats avec les pays d'Asie. Il pourrait être possible de faire appel aux délégués commerciaux fédéraux et provinciaux pour accroître les possibilités de partenariats internationaux. Afin de faire mieux connaître le secteur spatial, l'ASC pourrait examiner la possibilité d'affecter des ressources humaines pour travailler avec les délégués commerciaux.

Accords commerciaux : Le gouvernement devrait s'assurer que les conditions de concurrence sont égales dans les accords commerciaux internationaux qui ont été négociés (p. ex. l'Accord économique et commercial global [AECG]), y compris en ce qui a trait à l'accès aux marchés. Il pourrait également être nécessaire de s'assurer que l'industrie canadienne est au courant des dispositions commerciales et des nouvelles possibilités pertinentes.

Liens intersectoriels : Le gouvernement fédéral pourrait jouer un rôle en favorisant les discussions entre le secteur spatial et les autres industries dans lesquelles les technologies et les services spatiaux pourraient être utilisés.

Inclusivité : Le Canada doit adopter une approche inclusive concernant l'espace qui est accessible et qui tient compte des rôles des enseignants, des étudiants, des experts juridiques – les STIM ne se limitent pas à la science et à la technologie. Une sensibilisation et un engagement précoces et soutenus à l'égard de la STIM sont nécessaires (pour inspirer les enfants à poursuivre des études en STIM, il est bon d'éveiller leur intérêt à un jeune âge, ce qui favorise plus tard un choix de carrière dans un domaine scientifique).

Principales idées et réalisations

Réformes réglementaires : Les cadres réglementaires du Canada devraient être modernisés, et certains changements à apporter aux règlements sur l'attribution des licences de télédétection ont été reconnus comme un champ d'action prioritaire à faible coût. Ce qui est nécessaire, c'est la volonté politique. De manière similaire aux États-Unis, où le département du Commerce est chargé de l'attribution des licences, il faudrait examiner la possibilité de confier la coordination de la législation relative à l'espace et des cadres d'attribution de licence à Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE), puisque cela permettrait d'assurer un meilleur équilibre entre la sécurité nationale et les intérêts commerciaux. (Affaires mondiales Canada administre actuellement la législation). 

Programme spatial équilibré : Le gouvernement devrait viser à établir une programmation équilibrée (c.-à-d. un ensemble de petits et de grands programmes). Les missions phares permettent la collaboration internationale et ouvrent pour le Canada des possibilités de contribution importantes, ce qui stimule l'activité dans le secteur spatial, si bien que la garantie de retombées pour les PME est essentielle. Le soutien visant à assurer un rythme de missions suffisant permettrait de s'assurer que le programme spatial canadien est en mesure de répondre aux priorités clés.

Continuité et processus de prise de décision : il faut une continuité dans le programme spatial du gouvernement pour permettre à l'industrie et au milieu universitaire de planifier ses activités et d'obtenir un financement de manière plus stable. Les intervenants souhaiteraient mieux comprendre le processus utilisé pour la prise de décisions en matière d'investissement et de financement relativement aux missions spatiales, et la façon dont on débloque des fonds pour certaines initiatives. Ils souhaiteraient également que le programme spatial canadien ait une structure de financement souple et adaptable qui permettrait à la communauté spatiale de saisir les possibilités de mission qui se présentent. 

Coordination et alignement : Le secteur spatial a besoin d'une stratégie qui apportera un réel changement et qui donnera l'occasion aux intervenants de l'ensemble du secteur de s'engager dans la mise en œuvre. Le financement et le soutien du gouvernement fédéral envers la science spatiale et l'innovation doivent être coordonnés. Une stratégie spatiale pourrait procéder d'une approche pangouvernementale visant à créer des grappes de différents ministères travaillant ensemble et mettant en commun leurs ressources.

Apprentissage sur le terrain : Les concours et les défis, comme le CCSDC ou le Space Apps Challenge (concours sur les applications spatiales), sont un moyen efficace de perfectionner les compétences, offrent des occasions de mentorat et permettent d'intégrer le secteur spatial aux autres secteurs (p. ex. l'informatique de pointe et les sciences informatiques). Sur le plan des résultats, les possibilités d'apprentissage expérientiel aident les étudiants à étoffer leur curriculum vitæ; et il a été suggéré que les étudiants participant à des programmes de construction de petits satellites réussissent par la suite à lancer leur propre entreprise, ou à trouver un emploi dans des entreprises bien établies.

Sensibilisation et engagement : Il a été suggéré que l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) devrait avoir un rôle renforcé dans l'éducation et la sensibilisation du public, et que des efforts devraient être renforcés pour sensibiliser les enfants à l'espace. En considération de l'objectif proposé d' «inspirer la prochaine génération», il a été souligné que l'ASC n'a pas de programme de sensibilisation et que cela pose un défi. Le gouvernement doit concentrer ses efforts pour créer une marque canadienne forte. Le secteur spatial doit mieux mettre en valeur les réalisations du Canada dans l'espace.

Vision audacieuse : Le Canada a besoin d'une vision audacieuse (comme le voyage vers Mars pour la NASA) afin d'éveiller l'intérêt des gens envers l'espace. Si vous demandez aux enfants quelle est leur vision pour le secteur spatial, ils ne vous répondront pas qu'ils veulent favoriser la croissance du secteur spatial, mais qu'ils veulent envoyer le premier Canadien sur Mars. Grâce au partenariat pour la Station spatiale internationale, le Canada a une occasion d'investir dans de nouvelles technologies pour la prochaine destination (la Lune ou Mars).

Présents

  • Adrian McCardle - 3v Geomatics Inc.
  • Adnan Khan - Ostara Nutrient Recovery Technologies
  • Adrian Bohane - Tre Altamira
  • Bernhard Rabus  - Université Simon Fraser, École des sciences de l'ingénierie
  • Cecile Lacombe - Gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique, ministère de la Technologie, de l'Innovation et des Services aux citoyens
  • Derek Chen - Archiact VR
  • Donald F. Osborne - MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)
  • Doug Johnstone- Université de Victoria, Département de physique et d'astronomie
  • Elena Ismail - Archiact VR
  • Eric Hine - Archiact VR
  • George Tyc - UrtheCast
  • Ian McEachern  - Orbital Research Ltd.
  • Ilaria Caiazzo - Université de la Colombie Britannique, Département de physique et d'astronomie
  • Javed Haque - Gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique, ministère du Commerce international
  • Jaymie Matthews - Université de la Colombie-Britannique, Département de physique et d'astronomie
  • Jeremy Heyl - Université de la Colombie-Britannique, Département de physique et d'astronomie
  • John Hutchings - Université de Victoria, Département de physique et d'astronomie
  • Larry Reeves – Canadian Satellite Design Challenge Management Society
  • Matt Killick - Université internationale de l'espace – Anciens étudiants
  • Mike Safyan - Planet Labs
  • Norman Hannaford - MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)
  • Robert Grace – Mitacs Inc.
  • Taylor Briggs – Association des industries aérospatiales du Canada
  • Warren Wall - D-Wave System Inc.
  • Ye Zhou - Dynamic Structures
Date de modification :